View

Notice

Share

Notice of Proposed Changes to Occupational Licensing Fees for Professions Regulated by the Board of Dental Examiners in the Regulations of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

BRIEF DESCRIPTION: The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development proposes to amend regulations regarding fees for dentists and dental hygienists.

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development proposes to adopt regulation changes in Title 12, Chapter 02 of the Alaska Administrative Code including the following:

         12 AAC 02.190. Board of Dental Examiners, is proposed to amend the fees for dentists
          and dental hygienists.

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private persons of complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811-0806. Additionally, the Board will accept comments by facsimile at (907) 465-2974 and by electronic mail at RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov. Comments may also be submitted through the Alaska Online Public Notice System by accessing this notice on the system at https://notice.alaska.gov/199463, and using the comment link. The comments must be received not later than 4:30 p.m. on October 20, 2020. Comments received after this deadline will not be considered by the Board.

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811-0806 or by e-mail at RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov. The questions must be received at least 10 days before the end of the public comment period. The Department will aggregate its response to substantially similar questions and make the questions and responses available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and on the Board’s website at https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofDentalExaminers.aspx. The Department may, but is not required to, answer written questions received after the 10-day cut-off date and before the end of the comment period.

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this process, please contact Sher Zinn at (907) 465-1049 or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov, not later than October 13, 2020, to ensure that any necessary accommodation can be provided.

A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and by contacting Sher Zinn at (907) 465-1049 or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov, or go to https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/DEN-Fees-0920.pdf.

After the public comment period ends, the Department will either adopt the proposed regulation changes or other provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action. The language of the final regulations may be different from that of the proposed regulations. You should comment during the time allowed if your interests could be affected. Written comments and questions received are public records and are subject to public inspection.

Statutory Authority: AS 08.01.065; AS 08.01.100; AS 08.32.030, AS 08.32.070; AS 08.32.071; AS 08.32.081; AS 08.36.250

Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 08.01.065; AS 08.01.100; AS 08.32.030, AS 08.32.070; AS 08.32.071; AS 08.32.081; AS 08.36.250

Fiscal Information:  The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased appropriation.

DATE: 9/16/2021
          Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist
          Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

For each occupation regulated under the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, the Division keeps a list of individuals or organizations who are interested in the regulations of that occupation.  The Division automatically sends a Notice of Proposed Regulations to the parties on the appropriate list each time there is a proposed change in an occupation's regulations in Title 12 of the Alaska Administrative Code.  If you would like your address added to or removed from such a list, send your request to the Division at the address above, giving your name, either your e-mail address or mailing address (as you prefer for receiving notices), and the occupational area in which you are interested.

ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION
(AS 44.62.190(d))


1. Adopting agency: Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing.

2. General subject of regulation: Dentist and dental hygienist fees.

3. Citation of regulation: 12 AAC 02.190

4. Department of Law file number: To be assigned.

5. Reason for the proposed action: Comply with statutes.

6. Appropriation/Allocation: Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing - #2360.

7. Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to:

    A private person: For a dental hygienist, a range between $200 and $600 depending on the type
    of two-year license or permit, $100 to $300 for a two-year renewed license or restorative function  
    endorsement; for a dentist, a range between $293 and $300 for a temporary or courtesy license,
    $1650 to $1850 for an initial two-year dental license, $650 to $1500 for initial two-year sedation   
    permit, $500 to $850 for a two-year renewed license or sedation permit.
    Another state agency:
None known.
    A municipality:
None known.

8. Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of dollars):

    No costs are expected in FY 2021 or in subsequent years.

9. The name of the contact person for the regulation:
    Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist
    Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
    Telephone: (907) 465-1049
    E-mail: sher.zinn@alaska.gov

10. The origin of the proposed action: Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing.

11. Date: 9/16/2021
      Prepared by: Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist
  

Leave a Comment

Attachments, History, Details

Revision History

Created 9/14/2020 2:13:05 PM by skzinn
Modified 9/14/2020 2:13:29 PM by skzinn
Modified 9/15/2020 10:42:34 AM by skzinn
Modified 9/15/2020 2:00:35 PM by skzinn
Modified 9/16/2020 7:39:06 AM by skzinn
Modified 9/16/2020 2:46:14 PM by skzinn

Details

Department: Commerce, Community and Economic Development
Category: Regulations
Sub-Category: Notice of Proposed Regulations
Location(s): Statewide
Project/Regulation #:
 
Publish Date: 9/16/2020
Archive Date: 10/21/2020
 
Events/Deadlines:
  • Public Comment Deadline
    10/20/2020 4:30pm