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1. Why are new fees being proposed? 

 
By law, fees must be analyzed annually and set to approximately recover the cost of program 
operations. Alaska’s professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of 
Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL) to “annually review each fee level to 
determine whether the regulatory costs of each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections 
related to that occupation.” Alaska’s licensing fee statutes go on to say, “If the review indicates that 
an occupation’s fee collections and regulatory costs are not approximately equal, the department 
shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations … to implement the adjustments.” 
 
The division conducted a thorough fee analysis and proposes an increase in the licensing fees for 
dentists and dental hygienists to stabilize the program and to more closely align with AS 08.01.065.  

If licensing fees are not increased, the projected deficit for FY2020/2021 will be -$228,125. 

There is a Schedule of Revenues and Expenditures at the end of this FAQ showing a summary for 
the FY14/15 to the FY18/19 bienniums, and the first 3 quarters of FY 2020. 

2.   What are the proposed fees? 
 
The fees proposed will be an increase in the initial biennial license and the renewal of the biennial 
license for dentists and hygienists, temporary and courtesy licenses, local anesthetic permits, nitrous 
oxide permits, restorative function endorsements, and sedation permits for dentists. In addition to 
proposed license and permit fee increases, the fees for submitting and resubmitting continuing 
education courses for approval are also proposed to be increased. The proposed new fees are in 
bold and underlined in the following draft regulations. 
 
(Words in boldface and underlined indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED AND 
BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted. 
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12 AAC 02.190. Board of Dental Examiners. (a) The following fees for dental hygienists are 
established: 

(1) nonrefundable application fee for  
(A) initial license, $200 [$100]; 
(B) courtesy license, $100 [$50]; 
(C) initial restorative function endorsement, $150 [$100]; 
(D) local anesthetic permit, [.] $150 $100; 
(E) nitrous oxide certification, $150 [$100]; 

(2) repealed 12/13/2014; 
(3) license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, $300 [$200]; 
(4) biennial license renewal fee, $300 [$200]; 
(5) local anesthetic permit, $150 [$100]; 
(6) credential review fee, $120 [$110]; 
(7) repealed 2/21/2019; 
(8) courtesy license fee, $100 [$50] 
(9) restorative function endorsement fee, for all or part of the initial endorsement  

period, $100 [$60]; 

  (10) restorative function endorsement renewal fee, $100 [$60]; [.] 
  (11) nitrous oxide certification one-time fee, $150 [$100]. 
 (b) The following fees for dentists are established: 
  (1) nonrefundable application fee for 
   (A) initial license by examination, $800 [$600]; 
   (B) repealed 12/13/2014; 
   (C) courtesy license, $200 [$50]; 
   (D) repealed 12/13/2014; 

  (E) deep sedation, moderate sedation, minimal sedation, or general anesthetic 
permit, $150 [$100]; 

   (F) temporary permit, $80 [$50]; 
  (2) nonrefundable application and review fee for license by credentials, $1,000; 
  (3) repealed 12/13/2014; 
  (4) license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, $850 [$450]; 
  (5) repealed 12/13/2014; 
  (6) biennial license renewal fee, $850 [$450]; 
  (7) repealed 12/13/2014; 
  (8) repealed 12/13/2014; 
  (9) deep sedation, moderate sedation, or minimal sedation permit fee for all or part of 
the initial biennial permit period, $1,000; 
  (10) biennial deep sedation, moderate sedation, or minimal sedation, permit renewal 
fee, $500 [$350]; 
  (11) repealed 12/13/2014; 
  (12) general anesthetic permit fee for all or part of the initial biennial permit period, 
$1,000; 
  (13) biennial general anesthetic permit renewal fee, $500 [$350]; 
  (14) courtesy license fee, $100 [$50]; 
  (15) temporary permit fee, $212.50 [$112.50]; 
  (16) temporary permit extension fee, $80 [$50]. 
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 (c) The following fees are established for submission of dental and dental hygiene continuing 
education courses for approval under 12 AAC 28.410: 
  (1) initial continuing education course submittal fee, $200 [$50]; 
  (2) continuing education course resubmittal fee, $200 [$50]. 

 
3.   How are the estimated costs determined? 
 
AS 08.01.065 requires all costs of regulating the profession to be borne by its licensees.  The 
proposed fees are based on known and anticipated costs. 
 
4.   What do licensing fees pay for? 
 
The agency must create, publish, and manage licensing application forms and fees, which entail 
adherence to the state’s recordkeeping, security, payment, and refund policies and procedures.  

• Requirement of licensees to meet professional fitness standards, which are evaluated by the 
license examiner and referred to the agency’s investigative unit if necessary for further 
review.  

• Enforcement of disciplinary sanctions available to the agency if a licensee violates the state 
licensing statutes or regulations or an individual practices the profession without a license.  
Because state law requires all costs of a licensing program to be borne by the licensees of 
that program (AS 08.01.065), any investigative, attorney, or appeal expenses of the state will 
be recovered in the licensing fee.  

5.   When will the new fees be effective? 
 
After the public comment deadline, comments received are compiled and given to the Division 
Director for consideration.  The Division Director may adopt the regulation as written/publicly 
noticed, may amend and adopt them, or choose to take no action, or may withdraw the proposed 
regulations in part or in its whole.  After Department action, the adopted regulations goes to 
Department of Law (DOL) for final review/approval.  DOL either approves or disapproves 
regulations. Once approved by DOL, it goes to the Lt. Governor for filing.  Regulation takes effect 
on the 30th day after they have been filed by the Lt. Governor. 

 

Do you have a question that is not answered here?  Please email RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov so it 
can be added. 

mailto:RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov


Department of Commerce Community, and Economic Development
Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Summary of All Professional Licensing
Schedule of Revenues and Expenditures

Board of Dental Examiners FY 14 FY 15 Biennium FY 16 FY 17 Biennium FY 18 FY 19 Biennium
 FY 20          

1st ‐ 3rd QTR 

Revenue   
Revenue from License Fees 75,095$             479,846$           554,941$           103,201$           686,060$           789,261$           179,011$           636,660$           815,671$           63,610$            
Allowable Third Party Reimbursements ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐  127  127  ‐$  
TOTAL REVENUE 75,095$             479,846$           554,941$           103,201$           686,060$           789,261$           179,011$           636,787$           815,798$           63,610$            

Expenditures
Non Investigation Expenditures 

1000 ‐ Personal Services 61,692                76,334                138,026             95,580                68,010                163,590             113,144             117,120             230,264             68,294               
2000 ‐ Travel 12,796                14,040                26,836                8,138  5,286  13,424                9,189  5,862  15,051                2,232 
3000 ‐ Services 7,534  21,614                29,148                16,955                27,740                44,695                26,606                62,283                88,889                9,190 
4000 ‐ Commodities 525  1,102                  1,627  427  846  1,273  493  309  802  595 
5000 ‐ Capital Outlay ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐  ‐ 
Total Non‐Investigation Expenditures 82,547                113,090             195,637             121,100             101,882             222,982             149,432             185,574             335,006             80,311               

Investigation Expenditures
1000‐Personal Services 92,394                40,575                132,969             36,948                99,335                136,283             51,494                115,538             167,032             83,971               
2000 ‐ Travel ‐  ‐  ‐ 
3023 ‐ Expert Witness 15,637                ‐  15,637                ‐  14,800                14,800                14,800                ‐  14,800                ‐ 
3088 ‐ Inter‐Agency Legal 81,128                29,978                111,106             536  15,896                16,432                8,011  29,796                37,807                31,270               
3094 ‐ Inter‐Agency Hearing/Mediation 1,619  3,845  5,464  ‐  2,976  2,976  1,264  563  1,827  2,105 
3000 ‐ Services other 579  579  98 
 4000 ‐ Commodities ‐  ‐  ‐ 
Total Investigation Expenditures 190,778             74,398                265,176             37,484                133,007             170,491             75,569                146,476             222,045             117,444            

Total Direct Expenditures 273,325             187,488             460,813             158,584             234,889             393,473             225,001             332,050             557,051             197,755            

Indirect Expenditures
Internal Administrative Costs 61,643                43,586                105,229             64,849                112,465             177,314             113,011             129,737             242,748             97,303               
Departmental Costs 28,056                29,915                57,971                27,858                58,120                85,978                57,385                72,191                129,576             54,143               
Statewide Costs 18,528                16,586                35,114                9,544  16,002                25,546                18,400                24,144                42,544                18,108               

   Total Indirect Expenditures 108,227             90,087                198,314             102,251             186,587             288,838             188,796             226,072             414,868             169,554            

TOTAL EXPENDITURES 381,552$           277,575$           659,127$           260,835$           421,476$           682,311$           413,797$           558,122$           971,919$           367,309$          

Cumulative Surplus (Deficit)
Beginning Cumulative Surplus (Deficit) 180,038$           (126,419)$          75,852$             (81,782)$            182,802$           (51,984)$            26,681$            
Annual Increase/(Decrease) (306,457)            202,271             (157,634)            264,584             (234,786)            78,665                (303,699)           

Ending Cumulative Surplus (Deficit) (126,419)$          75,852$             (81,782)$            182,802$           (51,984)$            26,681$             (277,018)$         

*

Statistical Information
Number of Licensees 2,314                  2,448                  2,461                  4,774                  5,144                  5,350                  ‐ 

Additional information:

• Most recent fee change: Fee increase FY17
• Annual license fee analysis will include consideration of other factors such as board and licensee input, potential investigation load, court cases, multiple license and fee types under one program, and program changes per AS 08.01.065.

• Fee analysis required if the cumulative is less than zero; fee analysis recommended when the cumulative is less than current year expenditures; no fee increases needed if cumulative is over the current year expenses  *
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Department of Commerce Community, and Economic Development
Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Summary of All Professional Licensing
Schedule of Revenues and Expenditures

Appropriation (All)
AL Sub Unit (All)
PL Task Code DEN1

Sum of Expenditures Object Type Name (Ex)
Object Name (Ex) 1000 ‐ Personal Services 2000 ‐ Travel 3000 ‐ Services 4000 ‐ Commodities Grand Total
1011 ‐ Regular Compensation 77,621.18  77,621.18    
1014 ‐ Overtime 84.44  84.44            
1023 ‐ Leave Taken 16,476.73  16,476.73    
1028 ‐ Alaska Supplemental Benefit 5,783.64  5,783.64       
1029 ‐ Public Employee's Retirement System Defined Benefits 11,747.00  11,747.00    
1030 ‐ Public Employee's Retirement System Defined Contribution 2,145.54  2,145.54       
1034 ‐ Public Employee's Retirement System Defined Cont Health Reim 1,656.84  1,656.84       
1035 ‐ Public Employee's Retiremnt Sys Defined Cont Retiree Medical 538.54  538.54          
1037 ‐ Public Employee's Retiremnt Sys Defined Benefit Unfnd Liab 4,634.56  4,634.56       
1039 ‐ Unemployment Insurance 312.01  312.01          
1040 ‐ Group Health Insurance 25,388.80  25,388.80    
1041 ‐ Basic Life and Travel 36.50  36.50            
1042 ‐ Worker's Compensation Insurance 849.71  849.71          
1047 ‐ Leave Cash In Employer Charge 2,082.09  2,082.09       
1048 ‐ Terminal Leave Employer Charge 1,244.03  1,244.03       
1053 ‐ Medicare Tax 1,317.24  1,317.24       
1062 ‐ GGU Business Leave Bank Contributions 204.49  204.49          
1063 ‐ GGU Business Leave Bank Usage ‐  ‐                
1069 ‐ SU Business Leave Bank Contributions 43.17  43.17            
1077 ‐ ASEA Legal Trust 125.51  125.51          
1079 ‐ ASEA Injury Leave Usage 16.67  16.67            
1080 ‐ SU Legal Trst 29.87  29.87            
1970 ‐ Personal Services Transfer (86.10)  (86.10)           
2000 ‐ In‐State Employee Airfare 343.78  343.78          
2001 ‐ In‐State Employee Surface Transportation 19.50  19.50            
2002 ‐ In‐State Employee Lodging 229.00  229.00          
2003 ‐ In‐State Employee Meals and Incidentals 90.00  90.00            
2005 ‐ In‐State Non‐Employee Airfare 497.44  497.44          
2007 ‐ In‐State Non‐Employee Lodging 687.00  687.00          
2008 ‐ In‐State Non‐Employee Meals and Incidentals 240.00  240.00          
2009 ‐ In‐State Non‐Employee Taxable Per Diem 125.00  125.00          
3002 ‐ Memberships 5,385.00  5,385.00       
3044 ‐ Courier 25.39  25.39            
3045 ‐ Postage 99.90  99.90            
3046 ‐ Advertising 847.46  847.46          
3069 ‐ Commission Sales 25.50  25.50            
3085 ‐ Inter‐Agency Mail 536.90  536.90          
3088 ‐ Inter‐Agency Legal 33,638.05  33,638.05    
3094 ‐ Inter‐Agency Hearing/Mediation 2,104.90  2,104.90       
4002 ‐ Business Supplies 254.95  254.95          
4005 ‐ Subscriptions 340.00  340.00          
1016 ‐ Other Premium Pay 11.34  11.34            
Grand Total 152,263.80  2,231.72  42,663.10  594.95  197,753.57  

FY20 3rd Qtr Board Report by Profession DEN1

Updated: 01/08/2020
Printed: 4/17/2020




