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ORDER CERTIFYING THE CHANGES TO 
REGULATIONS OF ALASKA POLICE STANDARDS COUNCIL 

The attached twenty-three (23) pages ofregulations, dealing with 13 AAC 85.010 - 85.120, and 
85.900, regarding police officer basic standards, permanent employment, certification, 
reciprocity, records, basic police academies, and definitions, are certified to be a correct copy of 
the regulation changes that the Alaska Police Standards Council adopted at its August 16, 2016 
meeting, under the authority of AS 18.65.220, AS 18.65.240, and AS 18.65.270 and after 
compliance with the Administrative Procedure Act (AS 44.62), specifically including notice 
under AS 44.62.190 and 44.62.200 and opportunity for public comment under AS 44.62.210. 

This action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. 

On the record, in considering public comments, the Alaska Police Standards Council paid special 
attention to the cost to private persons of the regulatory action being taken. 

The regulation changes described in this order take effect on the 30th day after they have been 
filed by the lieutenant governor, as provided in AS 44.62.180. 

Date: 
I I 

FILING CERTIFICATION 

allott Lieutenant Governor for the State of Alaska, certify that on 

"""""'=~~a_i~..__, 20 lb_ at \t_ \b S\ .m., I filed the attached regulations according to 

isions of AS 44.62.040-44.62.120. l~~ ~ ~~ \\--
Lieut~~ 

Effective: 

Register: 



Register Jli, ~c.k ~er 2016 PUBLIC SAFETY 

13 AAC 85.0lO(a) is amended to read: 

(a) A participating police department may not hire a person as a police officer unless the 

person meets the following minimum qualifications at the time of hire: 

(1) is a citizen of the United States [OR A RESIDENT ALIEN WHO HAS 

DEMONSTRATED AN INTENT TO BECOME A CITIZEN OF THE UNITED STATES]; 

(2) is 21 years of age or older; 

(3) is of good moral character; 

(4) has a high school diploma recognized by a state, llas a diploma from a 

home school program recognized or ce1·tified by a state or by a local school district within a 

state as having met that state's graduation requirements, [OR ITS EQUIVALENT,] or has 

passed a General Educational Development (GED) test; 

(5) is[, AT THE TIME OF HIRE,] certified by a licensed physician, advanced 

practice registered nurse, or physician assistant on a medical record form supplied by the 

council to be physically capable of performing the essential functions of the job of police officer; 

(6) is certified by a licensed psychiatrist or psychologist, on a psychological 

record form supplied by the council, to be mentally capable of performing the essential 

functions of the job of police officer and is free from any emotional disorder that may adversely 

affect the person's performance as a police officer. 

13 AAC 85.0lO(b) is amended to read: 

(b) A participating police department may not hire as a police officer a person 

(1) who has been convicted of any [A] felony or a misdemeanor crime of 
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domestic violence by a civilian court ofthis state, the United States, or another state or territory, 

or by a military court; 

(2) who has been convicted, during the 10 years immediately before the date of 

hire as a police officer, of a crime of dishonesty or crime of moral turpitude, of a crime that 

resulted in serious physical injury to another person, or of two or more DUI [DWI] offenses, by 

a civilian court of this state, the United States, or another state or territory, or hy a military court; 

(3) who 

(A) has been denied certification, has had the person's basic certification 

revoked, or has surrendered the person's basic certificate, in this state or another 

jurisdiction, unless the denial,,, [OR] revocation, or surrender has been rescinded by the 

council under 13 AAC 85.110 or by the responsible certifying [LICENSING] agency of 

the issuing jurisdiction; or 

(B) is under suspension of a basic certification in another jurisdiction, for 

the period of the suspension, unless the suspension has been rescinded by the 

responsible certifying [LICENSING] agency of the issuing jurisdiction; or 

(4) who 

(A) has illegally manufactured, transported, or sold a controlled 

substance, unless the person was under the age of 21 at the time of the act and the act 

occurred more than 10 years before the date of hire; 

(B) within the five [TEN] years before the date of hire, has illegally used 

a Schedule IA, IIA. IDA, IV A, or VA controlled substance [OTHER THAN 

MARIJUANA], unless 
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ill the person was under the age of 21 at the time of using the 

controlled substance; or 

(ii) an immediate, pressing, or emergency medical 

circumstance existed to justify the use of a prescription Schedule IA, IIA, 

IHA, IV A, or VA controlled substance not specifically prescribed to the 

person;!!! 

(C) within the one year before the date of hire, has used marijuana, unless 

the person was under the age of 21 at the time of using marijuana. 

13 AAC 85.0lO(c) is amended to read: 

(c) A participating police department has 30 [90] days after the date of hire to confirm 

that a person hired as a police officer meets the standards of (a) and (b) of this section. The 

council may [WILL, IN ITS DISCRETION,] grant an extension of the 30-day [90-DAY] period 

if the council determines that the person will probably be able to meet the standards by the end of 

the extension period. The chief administrative officer of the police department where the person 

is employed shall make a written request for the extension, and shall explain the reason the 

extension is necessary. If a police department concludes at the end of the investigation that the 

person does not meet the required standards, the department shall immediately discharge the 

person from employment as a police officer. When deciding whether a person meets the 

standards of (a) and (b) of this section, the department shall 

(1) obtain proof of age, citizenship status, and education; 

(2) obtain fingerprints on two copies of FBI Applicant Card FD-258 and forward 
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both cards to the automated fingerprint identification section of the Department of Public Safety; 

(3) obtain a complete personal history of the person on a form supplied [OR 

APPROVED] by the council; 

(4) conduct a thorough personal-history investigation of the person to determine 

character traits and habits indicative of moral character and fitness as a police officer; 

(5) obtain a complete medical history report of the person; the report must be 

given to a licensed physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or pbysician assistant to 

use as a basis in conducting a physical examination of the person; 

( 6) require the person to undergo an examination by a licensed psychiatrist or 

psychologist [, APPROVED BY THE COUNCIL, IF A PREVIOUS PSYCHIATRIC OR 

PSYCHOLOGICAL EXAMINATION HAS INDICATED A PAST OR PRESENT 

PERSONALITY DEFECT OR MENTAL PROBLEM]; and 

(7) determine whether the person 

(A) has been denied certification, has had the person's basic certification 

revoked, or has surrendered the person's basic certificate, in this state or another 

jurisdiction, and whether the denial.i [OR] revocation, or surrender [IF ANY,] has been 

rescinded by the council under 13 AAC 85 .110 or by the responsible certifying 

[LICENSING] agency of the issuing jurisdiction; or 

(B) is under suspension of a basic certification in another jurisdiction, for 

the period of the suspension, and whether the suspension[, IF ANY,] has been rescinded 

by the responsible certifying [LICENSING] agency of the issuing jurisdiction. 
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13 AAC 85.0lO(d) is amended to read: 

( d) All information, documents, and reports obtained by a participating police 

department under ( c) of this section must be placed in the permanent files of the police 

department and must be available for examination at any reasonable time by representatives of 

the council. A copy of any criminal record discovered and of the following completed council 

forms must be sent to the council within 30 [90] days after the date of each hire: 

[AND] 

(1) the medical examination report [MEDICAL EXAM FORM]; 

(2) the health questionnaire [HEALTH QUESTIONNAIRE]; 

(3) the personal hlstorv statement [PERSONAL HISTORY STATEMENT]; 

(4) the psychological record form; and 

(5) the compliance form to record an agency's compliance with (c)(l) - (7) of 

this section [A VERIFICATION OF A PSYCHOLOGICAL OR PSYCHIATRIC 

EXAMINATION REPORT, WHEN THE EXAMINATION IS MANDATORY]. 

13 AAC 85.0lO(e) is repealed and readopted to read: 

( e) A police officer shall enroll in a council-certified basic police officer academy within 

six months after the date of hire. A police officer shall complete a council-certified field training 

program, and verification of completion shall be sent, on a form supplied by the council, to the 

council within the probationary period specified in 13 AAC 85.040(b)(3). 
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13 AAC 85.0lO(f) is amended to read: 

(f) The information in the council's files is confidential, and available only for use by the 

council in carrying out the requirements of AS 18.65.130 - 18.65.290 and the regulations adopted 

under AS 18.65.130 - 18.65.290. However, training records and the documents listed in (d) and 

( e) of this section relating to an applicant or police officer may be reviewed by the applicant or 

officer. Information that indicates that a person might not qualify for certification as a police 

officer, or that adversely reflects upon a person's ability to be a competent officer may [, WILL, 

IN THE COUNCIL'S DISCRETION,] be furnished by the council to a federal, state, or local 

law enforcement agency [PARTICIPATING POLICE DEPARTMENT] that has hired or is 

considering hiring the person. A police officer or applicant may not review information in the 

council's files that [WHICH] was supplied to the council with the understanding that the 

information or the source of the information would remain confidential, except that any 

information that serves as the basis for a decision to deny or revoke certification will be revealed 

to the police officer or applicant. 

13 AAC 85.0lO(h) is amended to read: 

(h) The council will[, IN ITS DISCRETION,] design and distribute forms to aid police 

departments in obtaining the information required in ( c) of this section. (Eff. 8/10/73, Register 

47; am 8/10/80, Register 75; am 9/23/84, Register 91; am 3/16/89, Register 109; am 8/8/90, 

Register 115; am 10/24/92, Register 124; am 8/5/95, Register 135; am 7/15/98, Register 147; am 

2120199, Register 149; am 8/16/2000, Register 155; am 3/25/2001, Register 157; am 8/8/2007, 

Register 183; am 2/13/2010, Register 193; am j_;:J.'f;2.0/6 Register~ 
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Authority: AS 18.65.220 

PUBLIC SAFETY 

AS 18.65.240 

13 AAC 85.020(b) is amended to read: 

(b) A participating police department may not employ a person as a police officer for 

more than 13 [14] consecutive months unless the person has a current basic certificate issued by 

the council under 13 AAC 85.040, or unless an extension is granted under (c) of this section. 

13 AAC 85.020(c) is amended to read: 

(c) The council may [WILL] grant an extension for employment for longer than 13 [14] 

months to allow a police officer· to complete the necessary training.based upon a written 

request for extension from [IF] the chief administrative officer of the participating police 

department The council may grant an extension one time only, not to [MAKES A WRITTEN 

REQUEST FOR EXTENSION. ADDITIONALLY, AN EXTENSION WILL BE GRANTED 

TO ALLOW AN OFFICER TO COMPLETE THE NECESSARY TRAINING IF THE 

WRITTEN REQUEST FOR EXTENSION STATES THAT THE OFFICER IS UNABLE TO 

DO SO IN THE FIRST 14 MONTHS OF EMPLOYMENT BECAUSE OF ILLNESS, INJURY, 

ORF AMIL Y EMERGENCY. AN EXTENSION MAY NOT] exceed six months. (Eff. 8/19/73, 

Register 47; am 9/17/76, Register 59; am 8/10/80, Register 75; am 9/23/84, Register 91; am 

8/8/90, Register 115· am 8/1 6/2000, Register 155; am _j;~:;.016, Register~ 

Authority: AS 18.65.220 AS 18.65.240 
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13 AAC 85.040(b)(l) is amended to read: 

(1) be a full-time paid police officer of a police department in this state 

[ALASKA]; 

13 AAC 85.040(b)(4) is amended to read: 

(4) have successfully completed, within 13 months after the applicant's date of 

hire as a police officer in this state, a council-certified basic police officer academy 

[WITHIN THREE YEARS OF THE APPLICANT'S EMPLOYMENT AS A POLICE 

OFFICER THE BASIC POLICE TRAINING PROGRAM] meeting the standards of 13 AAC 

85.050 or 13 AAC 85.060; 

13 AAC 85.040(c) is repealed and readopted to read: 

(c) To be eligible for an intermediate certificate, an applicant must 

(1) be a full-time paid police officer of a police department in this state; 

(2) possess a basic certificate; and 

(3) have acquired either or both of the following, subject to (h) of this section, 

and except that training hours earned while attending a basic police officer academy do not count 

towards an intermediate certificate: 

(A) the following minimum number of years of experience as a police 

officer, minimum education points, and minimum training hours: 
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Minimum years two four five SIX 

of experience as 

a police officer 

Minimum Bachelor of arts Associate of arts 45 None 

education points (B.A.) or (A.A.) or 

in college credit bachelor of associate of 

science (B.S.) science (A.S.) 

degree degree 

Minimum 40 80 100 120 

training hours 

(B) seven or more years of experience as a police officer and a minimum 

of 20 training hours for each year of police officer experience. 

13 AAC 85.040(d) is repealed and readopted to read: 

(d) To be eligible for an advanced certificate, an applicant must 

(1) be a full-time paid police officer of a police department in this state; 

(2) possess a basic certificate and an intermediate certificate; and 

(3) have acquired either or both of the following, subject to (h) of this section, 

and except that training hours earned while attending a basic police officer academy do not count 

towards an advanced certificate: 

(A) the following minimum number of years of experience as a police 

9 



Register 2 19, !Jc:& btr 2016 PUBLIC SAFETY 

officer, minimum education points, and minimum training hours: 

Minimum four SIX mne 11 13 

years of 

experience as a 

police officer 

Minimum Master Bachelor of Associate of 45 None 

education degree arts (B.A.) arts (A.A.) or 

points in or bachelor associate of 

college credit of science science (A.S.) 

(B.S.) degree 

degree 

Minimum 40 80 140 180 220 

training hours 

(B) 14 or more years of experience as a police officer and a minimum of 

20 training hours for each year of police officer experience. 

13 AAC 85.040(e) is repealed: 

( e) Repealed _i_; .;l'f J::l-0 IC . 

13 AAC 85.040(±) is amended to read: 

(f) College credits or degrees awarded by an institution of higher learning accredited 
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by a regional or national accl'Cditing agency recognized by the United States Secretary of 

Education [THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF POST-SCECONDARY EDUCATION] will 

be recognized by the council. College credits awarded for a basic police office1· academy 

[TRAINING PROGRAM] will not be recognized for education points toward an intermediate or 

advanced certificate. College credits awarded for advanced, supervisory, management, executive, 

or specialized law enforcement courses may [WILL, IN THE COUNCIL'S DISCRETION,] be 

recognized by the council for either training or education points. Education points will be 

awarded on the following basis: 

(1) one-quarter college credit equals two-thirds of an education point; 

(2) one semester college credit equals one education point. 

13 AAC 85.040(g) is amended to read: 

(g) [TWENTY HOURS OF COUNCIL-CERTIFIED OR RECOGNIZED POLICE 

OFFICER TRAINING EQUALS ONE TRAINING POINT TOWARD AN INTERMEDIATE 

OR ADVANCED CERTIFICATE.] All training must be documented and the course must have 

been completed successfully by the applicant. 

13 AAC 85.040 is amended by adding a new subsection to read: 

(h) After a basic certificate is awarded, a police officer must achieve the prescribed 

training hours towards the next level of certification. After an intermediate certificate is awarded, 

a police officer must achieve the prescribed training hours for an advanced certificate. The police 

officer may not count the same hours towards each subsequent level of certification. (Eff. 
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8/10/73, Register 47; am 9/17/76, Register 59; am 5/8/77, Register 62; am 8/10/80, Register 75; 

am 9/23/84, Register 91; am 5/23/85, Register 94; am 3/16/89, Register 109; am 8/8/90, Register 

115; am 9/6/96, Register 139; am j_p.'-/ !2c/fo , Register .2J1) 

Authority: AS 18.65.220 AS 18.65.240 

13 AAC 85.050 is amended to read: 

13 AAC 85.050. Basic police officer academy [TRAINING PROGRAM]. (a) The 

basic police officer academy [TRAINING PROGRAM] consists of a minimum of 650 

continuous [40 HOURS OF SUPERVISED FIELD TRAINING AS PRESCRIBED IN THE 

ALASKA POLICE STANDARDS COUNCIL FIELD TRAINING MANUAL AND AT LEAST 

400] hours of instruction in basic law enforcement subjects. 

(b) The basic police officer academy [TRAINING PROGRAM] must include the 

following topics of instruction: 

(1) the United States Department of Homeland Security, Transportation 

Security Administration, Law Enforcement Officer Flying Armed Training Course [10 

HOURS OF FIRST AID INSTRUCTION SUFFICIENT TO QUALIFY STUDENTS FOR A 

STANDARD RED CROSS FIRST AID CERTIFICATE ORA COUNCIL-APPROVED 

EQUIVALENT]; [AND] 

(2) bloodborne pathogens; 

(3) ethics; 

(4) constitutional law, civil rights, and disability awareness; 

(5) control tactics; 
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(6) cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), basic first aid, and use of an 

automated external defibrillator (AED); 

(7) criminal investigation, including 

(A) controlled substances; 

(B) crimes against minors; and 

(C) sex crimes and human trafficking; 

(8) the criminal justice system; 

(9) criminal law and procedure; 

(10) crime scene investigation; 

(11) cultural diversity; 

(12) domestic violence; 

(13) driving under the influence, field sobriety training, and use of a 

scientific instrument to analyze a sample of a person's breath and determine the breath 

alcohol content in that sample; 

(14) electronic evidence and identity theft; 

(15) classroom and practical emergency vehicle operations; 

(16) emotional survival, police stress, and trauma; 

(17) mental health issues; 

(18) firearms, including 

(A) classroom instruction; 

(B) handguns, practical instruction; 

(C) handguns, practical instruction, low-light opentions; 
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and radar; 

(D) long guns, practical instruction; and 

CE) long guns, p1·actical instruction, low-light operations; 

(19) hazardous materials; 

(20) interview and interrogation; 

(21) juvenile law and procedures; 

(22) patrol procedures; 

(23) police tools, including TASER, oleoresin capsicum, baton, handcuffs, 

(24) professional communication; 

(25) radio procedures; 

(26) report writing; 

(27) search-and-seizure and search warrants; 

(28) social media; 

(29) traffic law and stops, including practical scenarios and accident 

investigation; and 

(30) use of force [INSTRUCTION IN CRIMINAL LAW, ADMINISTRATION 

OF JUSTICE, CRIMINAL INVESTIGATION, INCLUDING INVESTIGATION OF CRIMES 

AGAINST CHILDREN, OFFENSIVE AND DEFENSIVE TACTICS, FIELD TECHNIQUES, 

TRAFFIC OPERATIONS, PRECISION DRIVING, ETHICS, HUMAN RELATIONS, AND 

FIREARMS]. 

( c) To receive credit for the basic police officer academy [TRAINING PROGRAM], a 

person must attend all sessions of the academy [COURSE], except for absences approved by 
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the academy commander [SCHOOL DIRECTOR OR COORDINATOR], and be awarded a 

certificate of graduation by the academy commander [DIRECTOR OR COORDINATOR OF 

THE PROGRAM]. A person may not be certified for successful completion of the basic 

police officer academy [TRAINING PROGRAM] ifthe person 

(1) has excused absences exceeding 10 percent of the total hours of academy 

inslruction; 

(2) fails to achieve a passing grade of 70 percent or higher on each block 

of academy instruction; 

(3) fails to achieve a cumulative average of 70 percent or higher; or 

(4) fails to achieve a grade of 75 percent or higher on the firearms portion of the 

basic police officer academy [PROGRAM]. 

(d) The council may [WILL, IN ITS DISCRETION,] refuse to authorize admission 

to any council-certified basic police officer academy [THE MUNICIPAL POLICE 

ACADEMY] for any civilian applicants or persons employed as police officers who are not 

eligible for certification as a police officer under 13 AAC 85.005 - 13 AAC 85.150. (Eff. 

8/10/73, Register 47; am 8/10/80, Register 75; am 9/23/84, Register 91; am 8/8/90, Register 115; 

am 10/24/92, Register 124; am _1;11.{ I .2.0l b Register~ 

Authority: AS 18.65.220 AS 18.65.230 AS 18.65.240 

13 AAC 85.060(a) is amended to read: 

(a) The council may [WILL, IN ITS DISCRETION,] waive part or all of the basic 

police officer academy [TRAINING] requirements if an applicant furnishes satisfactory 
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evidence that the applicant has successfully completed 

(1) an equivalent basic police officer academy [TRAINING PROGRAM]; 

(2) a 12-consecutive-month probationary [TWELVE-CONSECUTIVE­

MONTHS PROBATION] period with the [ONE ALASKA] police department the applicant is 

employed with in this state at the time of the waiver request; 

(3) a council-certified, department-supervised [THE COUNCIL'S] field 

training program; and 

(4) a council-certified recertification police training academy that consists of 

a minimum of 80 hours of classroom and practical training and that includes the following 

topics of instruction: 

(A) criminal laws in this state; 

(B) control tactics; 

CC) domestic violence; 

(D) ethics; 

(E) firearms; 

(F) use of force; 

(G) juvenile law and procedures in this state; 

(H) laws of arrest in this state; 

0) traffic law in this state; 

(J) laws in this state regarding detection of driving under the 

influence and enforcement; and 

(K) recognizing and working with disabled persons [IN SUBJECT 
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AREAS CONSIDERED TO BE UNIQUE TO ALASKA, INCLUDING ALASKA'S 

CRIMINAL JUSTICE SYSTEM, JUVENILE PROCEDURES, COURT SYSTEM, 

CRIMINAL LAWS AND PROCEDURES, AND THE ENFORCEMENT OF 

ALASKA'S LAWS RELATED TO DRIVING WHILE INTOXICATED AND USE OF 

THE INTOXIMETER, AS WELL AS A FIRST AID REFRESHER COURSE AND 

FIREARMS QUALIFICATIONS]. 

13 AAC 85.060(b) is amended to read: 

(b) The council may [WILL, IN ITS DISCRETION,] enter into reciprocity agreements 

with states that regulate or supervise the quality of police training and that require a minimum of 

400 hours of classroom and practical training for police officers. The council will not enter 

into a reciprocity agreement under this subsection after December 31, 2016. 

13 AAC 85.060(c) is amended to read: 

(c) Notwithstanding (a) of this section, the council will not grant a waiver if the applicant 

was previously issued a certificate that lapsed more than five [10] years before the waiver was 

sought. 

13 AAC 85.060 is amended by adding a new subsection to read: 

(d) On or after January 1, 2017, the council may enter into reciprocity agreements with 

states that regulate or supervise the quality of police training and that require a minimum of 650 

hours of classroom and practical training for police officers. (Eff. 8/10/73, Register 47; am 
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8/10/80, Register 75; am 9/23/84, Register 91; am 10/24/92, Register 124; am 8/5/95, Register 

135; am 8/16/2000, Register 155; am 3/31/2005, Register 173; am _1;;.r / 2.tJlfo , Register MJ 

Authority: AS 18.65.220 AS 18.65.240 

The section heading of 13 AAC 85.090 is changed to read: 

13 AAC 85.090. Personnel reports [AND TRAINING RECORDS]. 

13 AAC 85.090 is amended by adding a new subsection to read: 

( d) Within 30 days after the allegation being sustained by administrative review, a 

participating police department shall notify the council of an allegation of misconduct by an 

officer employed by that department if the misconduct alleged may be cause for revocation under 

13 AAC 85.110. (Eff. 8/10/73, Register 47; am 9/17/76, Register 59; am 8/10/80, Register 75; 

am 9/23/84, Register 91; am 8/8/2007, Register 183; ain _!}_/)L/ / 2ol-6, Register~ 

Authority: AS 18.65.220 AS 18.65.240 

Editor's note: The forms required in 13 AAC 85.090 are available from the Alaska 

Police Standards Council, Department of Public Safety, P.O. Box 111200, Juneau, AK 99811-

1200 or on the council's website at http://www.dps.alaska.gov/APSC/forms.aspx 

[HTTP:/ !WWW.DPS.STATE.AK.US/ APSC/FORMS.ASPX]. 

As of Register 204 (January 2013), the regulations attorney made a technical revision 

under AS 44.62.125(b)(6), to 13 AAC 85.090(b). 
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The introductory language of 13 AAC 85.lOO(a) is amended to read: 

(a) The council may [WILL, IN ITS DISCRETION,] deny a basic certificate upon a 

finding that the applicant for the certificate 

The introductory language of 13 AAC 85.lOO(b) is amended to read: 

(b) The council will [SHALL] deny a basic certificate upon a finding that the applicant 

for the certificate 

. . . 

13 AAC 85.lOO(b)(l) is amended to read: 

(1) has been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence or, after 

hire as a police officer, has been convicted of any [A] felony, or of a misdemeanor crime listed 

in 13 AAC 85.010(b)(2); 

13 AAC 85.100(b)(2)(B) is amended to read: 

(B) illegally used or possessed a Schedule IA, IlA, IIIA, IVA, or VA 

[ANY OTHER] controlled substance, unless an immediate, pressing, or emergency 

medical circumstance existed to justify the use of a prescript ion Schedule IA, TIA, 

IIIA, IV A, or VA controlled substance not specifically prescribed to the person; or 
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The introductory language of 13 AAC 85.lOO(d) is amended to read: 

( d) If a person has been denied a basic certificate under this section, the person may 

petition the council for rescission of the denial after one year following the date of the denial. 

The petitioner must state in writing the reasons why the denial should be rescinded. A 

denial may [WILL, IN THE DISCRETION OF THE COUNCIL,] be rescinded for the following 

reasons: 

(Eff. 8/10/80, Register 75; am 9/23/84, Register 91; am 8/8/90, Register 115; am 10/24/92, 

Register 124; am 9/6/96, Register 139; am 7/15/98, Register 147; am 8/8/2007, Register 183; am 

j_;.Q'{ I 7-J>IC:i, Register ~ 

Authority: AS 18.65.220 AS 18.65.240 AS 18.65.270 

The introductory language of 13 AAC 85.1 lO(a) is amended to read: 

(a) The council may [WILL, IN ITS DISCRETION,] revoke a basic, intermediate, or 

advanced certificate upon a finding that the holder of the certificate 

The introductory language of 13 AAC 85.1 lO(b) is amended to read: 

(b) The council will [SHALL] revoke a basic, intermediate, or advanced certificate upon 

a finding that the holder of the certificate 

20 



Register.2fL,Mk 2016 PUBLIC SAFETY 

13 AAC 85.lOO(b)(l) is amended to read: 

(1) has been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence or, after 

hire as a police officer, has been convicted of any [A] felony, or of a misdemeanor crime listed 

in 13 AAC 85.010(b)(2); 

13 AAC 85.l 10(b)(2)(B) is amended to read: 

(B) illegally used or possessed a Schedule IA, IIA, IIIA, IV A, or VA 

[ANY OTHER] controlled substance, unless an immediate, pressing, or emergency 

medical circumstance existed to justify the use of a prescription Schedule IA, IIA, 

DIA, IVA, or VA controlled substance not specifically prescribed to the person; or 

The introductory language of 13 AAC 85.1 lO(d) is amended to read: 

( d) If a basic, intermediate, or advanced certificate was revoked under this section, the 

former police officer may petition the council for rescission of the revocation after one year 

following the date of the revocation. The petitioner must state in writing the reasons why the 

revocation should be rescinded. A revocation may [WILL, IN THE DISCRETION OF THE 

COUNCIL,] be rescinded for the following reasons: 

. . . 
(Eff. 9/23/84, Register 91; am 8/8/90, Register 115; am 10/24/92, Register 124; am 9/6/96, 

Register 139; am 7/15/98, Register 147; am 8/8/2007, Register 183; am ..!l;JJ.l//2o/(, , Register 

21tl ) 

Authority: AS 18.65.220 AS 18.65.240 
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Register .2J1, I) J,ber 2O16 PUBLIC SAFETY 

13 AAC 85.120(b) is amended to read: 

(b) A person may request reinstatement of a lapsed certificate after serving an additional 

12-month probationary period. A person shall attend a council-certified recertification 

academy described in 13 AAC 85.060(a)(4) [THE COUNCIL MAY REQUIRE 

SUPPLEMENTAL TRAINING] as a condition ofreinstatement if the person's ce·rtificate has 

been lapsed for 12 consecutive months or longer. A certificate expires [WILL NOT BE 

REINSTATED] if it has been lapsed for more than four [10] years. (Eff. 9/23/84, Register 91; 

am 8/5/95, Register 135; am 6/13/2002, Register 162; am 3/31/2005, Register 173; am 

.:l_!J.'f 12.Cfb, Register 2!1J 

Authority: AS 18.65.220 AS 18.65.240 

13 AAC 85.900(18) is amended to read: 

(18) "DUI [DWI] offense" means an offense [OF OPERATING A MOTOR 

VEHICLE, AIRCRAFT, OR WATERCRAFT WHILE INTOXICATED] under AS 28.35.030 or 

another law or ordinance with substantially similar elements, or an offense of refusal to submit 

to a chemical test under AS 28.35.032 or another law or ordinance with substantially similar 

elements; 

(Eff. 8/10/73, Register 47; am 8/10/80, Register 75; am 9/23/84, Register 91; am 3/16/89, 

Register 109; am 8/8/90, Register 115; am 10/24/92, Register 124; am 9/6/96, Register 139; am 

7/15/98, Register 147; am 3/25/2001, Register 157; am 4/12/2001, Register 158; am 6/13/2002, 

Register 162; am 8/8/2007, Register 183; am 2/13/2010, Register 193; am _j_;J!f_;2.otf:: 

Register _ld) 

22 



Register~' &J,kt.r-2016 

Authority: AS 18.65.220 

AS 18.65.240 

PUBLIC SAFETY 

AS 18.65.242 

AS 18.65.285 
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MEMORANDUM 

To: Hon. Byron Mallott 
Lieutenant Governor 

From: 

Thru: 

Steven C. Weaver ,YC&­
Sr. Assistant Attorney General 
and Assistant Regulations Attorney 

Legislation and Regulations Section 

Susan R. Pollard~ 
Chief Assistant Attorney General 

and Regulations Attorney 
Legislation and Regulations Section 

State of Alaska 
Department of Law 

Date: August 24, 2016 

File No.: JU2015200562 

Tel. No.: 465-3600 

Re: Regulations re: basic standards, 
permanent employment, certificates, 
and reciprocity for police officers 
(13 AAC 85.010 - 13 AAC 85.060; 
13 AAC 85.090(d); 13 AAC 
85. lOO(a), (b), (d); 13 AAC 85.1 lO(a), 
(b), (d); 13 AAC 85.120(b); 13 AAC 
85.900(18)) 

We have reviewed the attached regulations from the Alaska Police Standards Council 
against the statutory standards of the Administrative Procedure Act. The regulations bring up to 
date requirements and procedures regarding basic standards, permanent employment, certificates, 
and reciprocity for police officers. 

We find no legal problems. This memorandum constitutes the written statement of 
approval under AS 44.62.060(b) and (c) that authorizes your office to file the attached 
regulations. 

We request that these regulations be filed on the same date as the Alaska Police 
Standards Council regulations regarding basic standards, permanent employment, certificates, 
and reciprocity for probation and parole officers and municipal and state corrections officers 
(Department of Law file number JU2016200230), so that the regulations in both projects share 
the same effective date. 



Hon. Byron Mallott, Lieutenant Governor 
Our file: JU2015200562 

August 24, 2016 
Page2 

The December 27, 2015 public notice and the August 17, 2016 certification of adoption 
order both state that this action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. Therefore, a 
fiscal note under AS 44.62.195 is not required. 

sew 

cc w/enc: (via email) 

Robert E. "Bob" Griffiths, Executive Director 
Alaska Police Standards Council 



MEMORANDUM 

To: Robert E. "Bob" Griffiths 
Executive Director 
Alaska Police Standards Council 

State of Alaska 
Department of Law 

Date: August 24, 2016 

File No.: JU2015200562 

From: Steven C. Weaver ~~ Cd1r Tel. No.: 465-3600 
Sr. Assistant Attorney General 

and Assistant Regulations Attorney 
Legislation and Regulations Section 

Thru: Susan R. Pollan~ 
Chief Assistant Attorney General 

and Regulations Attorney 
Legislation and Regulations Section 

Re: Regulations re: basic standards, 
permanent employment, certificates, 
and reciprocity for police officers 
(13 AAC 85.010 - 13 AAC 85.060; 
13 AAC 85.090(d); 13 AAC 
85.lOO(a), (b), (d); 13 AAC 85.1 lO(a), 
(b), (d); 13 AAC 85.120(b); 13 AAC 
85.900(18)) 

Under AS 44.62.060, we have reviewed the attached changes by the Alaska Police 
Standards Council and approve the regulations for filing by the lieutenant governor. 

You might wish to contact the lieutenant governor's office to confirm the filing date and 
effective date of the attached regulations changes. 

The December 27, 2015 public notice and the August 17, 2016 certification of adoption 
order both state that this action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. Therefore, a 
fiscal note under AS 44.62.195 is not required. 

sew 

cc w/enc: (via email) 

Robyn Ramos, Regulations Contact 
Department of Public Safety 

Sarah Hieb 
Alaska Police Standards Council 
Department of Public Safety 

Robert E. Henderson, Chief Assistant Attorney General 
Criminal Division, Office of Special Prosecutions 



AFFIDAVIT OF ALASKA POLICE STANDARDS COUNCIL ACTION 

I, Robert Griffiths, Executive Director for the Alaska Police Standards Council, being duly 
sworn, state the following: 

The attached motion dealing with 13 AAC 85.010 - 85.120, and 85.900, regarding police officer 
basic standards, permanent employment, certification, reciprocity, records, basic police 
academies, and definitions was passed by the Alaska Police Standards Council during its August 
16, 2016 meeting. 

Date: August 22, 2016 

WENDOLYN A. MENZE 
Nola l y Public 

Sta t e of Alaska 
My Commiss ion Expire s 

With o ffice 



Alaska Police Standards Council Meeting 
August 16, 2016 

Excerpt from Unapproved Minutes 

Council member Berni Troglio moved and member John Papasodora seconded the following 
motion: 

111 move to re-adopt the Police Regulations as amended (as written in the August 2, 2016, draft 
regulations). 11 

The motion carried unanimously. 

Council member Carrie Belden moved and member Ronda Wallace seconded the following 
motion: 

111 move to re-adopt the Corrections Regulations as amended (as written in the August 2, 2016, 
draft regulations). 11 

The motion carried unanimously. 



AFFIDAVIT OF NOTICE OF PROPOSED REGULATION 

AND FURNISHING OF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

I, Sarah Hieb, Administrative Investigator, of Alaska Police Standards Council, being sworn, state the 

following: 

As required by AS 44.62.190, notice of the proposed adoption of changes to 13 AAC 85.010 - 85.120, 

regarding basic standards, permanent employment, certificates, reciprocity, records and basic police 

officer academies, has been given by being 

(1) published in a newspaper or trade publication; 

(2) furnished to interested persons; 

(3) furnished to appropriate state officials; 

(4) furnished to the Department of Law, along with a copy of the proposed regulation; 

(5) furnished electronically to incumbent State of Alaska legislators; 

(6) furnished to the Legislative Affairs Agency, Division of Legal and Research Services; 

(7) posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System as required by AS 44.62.175(a)(1) and 

(b) and 44.62.190(a)(1); 

(8) furnished electronically, along with a copy of the proposed regulation, to the Legislative 

Affairs Agency, the chair of the State Affairs Committee of the Alaska Senate and House 

of Representatives, the Administrative Regulation Review committee, and the legislative 

council. 

As required by AS 44.62.190, additional regulation notice information regarding the proposed adoption 

of the regulation changes described above has been furnished to interested persons and those in (5) and 

(6) of the list above. The additional regulation notice information also has been posted on the Alaska 

Online Public Notice System. 

Date: April 7, 2016 

WENDOLYN A. MENZE 
Notary Public 

State ol Alaska 
My Commission Expires 

with office 

Jd_;u 
Sarah Hieb, Administrative Investigator, APSC 



AFFIDAVIT OF AGENCY RECORD OF PUBLIC COMMENT 

I, Robert Griffiths, Executive Director for the Alaska Police Standards Council, being duly sworn, state the 

following: 

In compliance with AS 44.62.215, the Alaska Police Standards Council has kept a record of its use or 

rejection of factual or other substantive information that was submitted in writing as public comment 

and that was relevant to the accuracy, coverage, or other aspect of the Alaska Police Standards Council 

regulation on basic standards, permanent employment, certificates, reciprocity, records and basic 

academies for police officers. 

Date: May 10, 2016 

Subscribed and sworn to before me at Juneau on May 10, 2016. 

WENDOLYN A. MENZE 
Notary Public 

State of Alaska 
My Commlulon Expires 

with olllc t 



NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES ON POLICE OFFICER STANDARDS 
IN THE REGULATIONS OF THE ALASKA POLICE STANDARDS COUNCIL 

BRIEF DESCRIPTION 

The Alaska Police Standards Council proposes to adopt regulation changes in Title 
13 of the Alaska Administrative Code, dealing with basic police standards and 
certification of police officers. 

The Alaska Police Standards Council proposes to adopt regulation changes in Title 
13 of the Alaska Administrative Code, dealing with the basic standards, 
permanent employment, and certification of police officers, and APSC reciprocity 
and personnel reports and training records, including the following: 

13 AAC 85.010 is proposed to be changed to update and clarify 
basic standards, establish a requirement for police officer applicants 
to pass a psychological exam prior to being hired. 

13 AAC 85.020 is proposed to be changed to update and clarify 
requirements for permanent employment as a police officer. 

13 AAC 85.040 is proposed to be changed to bring certification 
standards in-line and current with national model standards. 

13 AAC 85.050 is proposed to be changed to increase the minimum 
required hours and identify specific required courses of instruction to 
be taught at the basic police officer academy. 

13 AAC 85.060 is proposed to be changed to specify and standardize 
curriculum for APSC approved reciprocity police training academies. 

13 AAC 85.090 is proposed to be changed to require departments 
to notify APSC of alleged misconduct by an officer if the alleged 
misconduct may be cause for revocation under 13 AAC 85.110. 

13 AAC 85.100 is proposed to be changed for update and 
clarification. 

13 AAC 85.llO'is proposed to be changed to allow for exigent use of 
a prescription medication not prescribed to that person. 

13 AAC 85.120 is proposed to be changed to require attendance at a 



recertification (refresher academy) if a person has been separated 
from service as a police officer for between 2 and 4 years, and 
requires attendance at a full basic police officer training academy if a 
person has been separated from service as a police officer for five 
years or longer. 

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential 
costs to private persons of complying with the proposed changes, by submitting 
written comments to the Alaska Police Standards Council at P.O. Box 111200, 
Juneau, AK 99811. Additionally, the Alaska Police Standards Council will accept 
comments by facsimile at 907-465-3263 and by electronic mail at 
wendy.menze@alaska.gov. Comments may also be submitted through the Alaska 
Online Public Notice System, by accessing this notice on the system and using the 
comment link. All comments must be received no later than 4:00 pm on April 1, 
2016. 

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Sarah Hieb 
at sarah.hieb@alaska.gov or P.O. Box 111200, Juneau, AK 99811. The questions 
must be received at least 10 days before the end of the public comment period. 
The Alaska Police Standards Council will aggregate its response to substantially 
similar questions and make the questions and response available the Alaska 
Police Standards Council website http://www.dps.alaska.gov/apsc and on the 
Alaska Online Public Notice System. The Alaska Police Standards Council may, but 
is not required to, answer written questions received after the 10-day cut-off date 
and before the end of the comment period. 

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order 
to participate in this process, please contact Wendy Menze at 907-465-4378 no 
later than March 11, 2016 to ensure that any necessary accommodations can be 
provided. 

A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public 
Notice System, posted on the Alaska Police Standards Council website 
http://www.dps.alaska.gov/apsc and by contacting Wendy Menze at 907-465-
4378, wendy.menze@alaska.gov or P.O. Box 111200, Juneau, AK 99811. 

After the public comment period ends, the Alaska Police Standards Council will 
either adopt the proposed regulation changes or other provisions dealing with the 
same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action . The language of 



the final regulations may be different from that of the proposed regulations. You 
should comment during the time allowed if your interests could be affected. 

Statutory Authority: AS 18.65.220 

Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 18.65.240; AS 
18.65.230; AS 18.65.270 

Fiscal Information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require 
an increased appropriation. 

DATE: December 21, 2015 Bob Griffiths, Executive Director 



ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION 

(AS 44.62.190(d)) 

1. Adoption agency: Alaska Police Standards Council 

2. General subject of regulation: Basic police standards, permanent employment, and certification 

of police officers and police academy reciprocity and personnel reports and training records. 

3. Citation of regulation {may be grouped): 13 AAC 85 Article 1. 

4. Department of Law file number: JU2015200562 

5. Reason for the proposed action: 

( ) Compliance with federal law or action (identify): 

( ) Compliance with new or changed state statute 

( ) Compliance with federal or state court decision (identify): 

(X) Development of program standards 

( ) Other (identify): 

6. Appropriation/ Allocation: Zero. 

7. Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to: 

A private person: The current regulations require a new hire have a psychological exam 

only when it is determined to be necessary. The amended regulation would require a 

psychological exam for every new hire. The exam is paid for either by the municipality 

or the applicant. According to APSC records, the base cost of psychological exam varies 

from $350 to $700. This does not take into account any travel costs to get an applicant 

to the location of the exam. 

Another state agency: The current regulations require a new hire have a psychological 

exam only when it is determined to be necessary. The amended regulation would 

require a psychological exam for every new hire. There are three state agencies 

affected by these regulations: Department of Public Safety (Alaska State Troopers and 

Alaska Wildlife Troopers), Department ofTransportation (Airport police officers) and the 

University of Alaska (University police officers). All three agencies currently require all 

applicants/new hires to have a psychological exam and the agencies pay for the exam. 

This regulation would not change their current practice. According to APSC records, the 

base cost of psychological exam varies from $350 to $700. This does not take into 

account any travel costs to get an applicant to the location of the exam. 

A municipality: The current regulations require a new hire have a psychological exam 

only when it is determined to be necessary. The amended regulation would require a 

psychological exam for every new hire. While some municipalities already require a 

psychological exam for their new hires, some municipalities do not; thus this amended 



regulation would affect some municipalities. The exam is paid for either by the 

municipality or the applicant. According to APSC records, the base cost of psychological 

exam varies from $350 to $700. This does not take into account any travel costs for 

rural communities to get an applicant to the location of the exam. 

8. Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of dollars) : 

Initial Year Subsequent 

FY 2016 Years 

Operating Cost $0 $0 

Capital Cost $0 $0 

1002 Federal receipts $0 $0 

1003 General fund match $0 $0 

1004 General fund $0 $0 

1005 General fund/program $0 $0 

Other (identify) $0 $0 

9. The name of the contact person for the regulation: 

Name: Bob Griffiths 

Title: Executive Director 

Address: APSC, PO Box 111200, Juneau, AK 99811 

Telephone: (907)465-4378 

E-mail address: bob.griffiths@alaska.gov 

10. The origin of the proposed action: 

Staff of state agency 

Federal government 

General public 

Petition for regulation change 

X Other (identify): Council members recognized the need for regulation update. 

11. Date: December 16, 2015 Prepared by: 
iC<./LcL )./._d 

Name: Sarah Hieb 

Title: Administrative Investigator 

Telephone: (907)465-6296 
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AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION 

STATE OF ALASKA 

THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT 

Emma Dunlap 
being first duly sworn on oath deposes and 
says that he/she is a representative of the 
Alaska Dispatch News, a daily newspaper. 
That said newspaper has been approved 
by the Third Judicial Court, Anchorage, 
Alaska, and it now and has been published 
in the English language continually as a 
daily newspaper in Anchorage, Alaska, and 
it is now and during all said time was 
printed in an office maintained at the 
aforesaid place of publication of said 
newspaper. That the annexed is a copy of 
an advertisement as it was published in 
regular issues (and not in supplemental 
form) of said newspaper on 

December 27, 2015 

and that such newspaper was regularly 
distributed to its subscribers during all of 
said period. That the full amount of the fee 
charged for the foregoing publication is not 
in excess of the rate charged private 
individuals. 

Signed 

Subscribed and sworn to before me 

J is28th day of nmber. 2015 

OMhUj ' ,&umfSilh/ 
Notary Public in and for 
The State of Alaska. 
Third Division 
Anchorage, Alaska 

MY COMMISSIOr~~.._~._. ... ....., ..... ..._.._ 

. N 
State ot Alaska 

My Commission Expires Feb 23, 2019 
~ -~~ 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANOES ON POLICE OFFICER 
STANDARDS IN THE REGULATIONS OF THE ALASKA POLICE 

STANDARDS COUNCIL 

The Alaska Police standatds councll proposes to adopt regulation 
changes In Title 13 of the Alaska Administrative Code, dealfng with 
the basic standards, permanent employment, and certification of police 
officers. and APSC reclprocltY and personnel reports and training 
records, Including the following: 

13 AAC a5.010 Is proposed to be changed to update and 
clarify basle standards, establlsh a requ1remeht for police 
officer applleai:its to pass a psychological exam prior to being 
hired. 
13 AAC 85.020 is proposed to be changed to update and 

clarify requirements for permanent employment as a police 
officer. 

13 AAC 85.040 is proposed to be changed to bring 
certification standards in-line and current with national model 
standards. 
13 AAC 85.050 is proposed to be changed to Increase the 
minimum required hour.sand identify specific reQulred courses 
of lnstructlort to be taught at the basic police officer academy. 
13 AAC 85.060 is proposed to be changed to specify and 
standarc;llze curriculum for APSC approved recJproclty police 
training academies. 

13 AAC 85.090 Is proposed to be changed to require 
d1:1partments 'to notify APSC of alleged misconduct by an 
officer if the alleged misconduct may be ca1.1se for revocation 
under 13 AAC 85, 110. 
13 AAC 85.100 is proposed to be changed for update and 
clarification. 
13 AAC 85.11 o Is proposed to be changed to allow for exigent 
use of a prescrfptlon medication ni;>t prescribed to th!l"t person. 
13 AAC 85.120 Is proposed to be changed to require 
attendance at a recert;lflcatron (refresher academy) If a person 
has been separated from service as a police officer for 
between 2 and 4 years. and requires attendance at a full basic 
oollce officer training ~cademy If a person has been separated 
From service as a pollce officer for five years or longer. 

Yo1,1 may comment on the proposed regulation chan~es, Including the 
potential costs to private persons of complying with the proposed 
changes by submitting written comments to the Alaska Police 
Standards Council at P.O. Box 111200

1 
Juneau, AK 99811 . Additlonally, 

the Alaska Police Standards council w II accept comments by facsimile 
at 907-465-3263 and by electronic mall at wendy.menze@alaska.gov . 
comments may also be submitted through the Alaska Online Public 
Notice System, by accessing this nottce on the system and·using the 
comment link. All comments must be received no later than 4:00 pm 
on April 1, 2016. 

You may submit written questions relevcint to the proposed action Lo 
Sarah Hieb at sarah.hleb@alaska.gov or P.O. Box 111200. Juneau. AK 
99811. Tile questions must be received at least 10 days before the end 
of the public comment period. The Alaska Police stahdards council will 
aggregate Its response to $ubstantlally similar questions and make the 
questfons and response available the Alaska Police standards Councll 
Website http://WWW.dps.alaska.goV/apsc and on the Alaska Online 
Public Notice System. The Alaska Peirce Standards Col.Inell may, but is 
not required to, answer wrltte~19uestlons received after the 10-day cut­
oft'd.ate and before the end of me comment period, 

If you are a perso11· wltn a dlsabllllY who needs a special 
aecommodation In ort;ier to. participate In this process. please con~ct 
wently Menze at 907-465•4378 no later than March 11, 2016 to ensure 
that any necessary accommodatloQs can be provided. 

A copy of the pro,eosed regulation changes Is iivallable 011 the Alaska 
Online Public Notice svstem, posted on the Alaska Ponce Standards 
council website htto://WWW.dps.a1aska.gov/apsc and by contacting 
Wendy Menze at 901-465-4378, wendy.menze®alaska.gov or P.O. Box 
111200, Juneau, AK 99811. 

After the public comment period ends, the Alaska Police Standards 
council will either adopt the proposed regulation changes or other 
provisions de · · · 


