State of Alaska « Department of Health and Social Services « Senior and Disabilities Services

Transportation Services
Conditions of Participation

Transportation services may be provided to recipients when natural supports are not available to provide
transportation, and the services are necessary to enable recipients to travel to locations where waiver or grant
services are provided, or to other community services and resources.

The provider who chooses to offer transportation services must be certified as a provider of transportation
services under 7 AAC 130.220 (b)(1)(I), meet with the requirements of 7 AAC 130.290, and operate in
compliance with the following standards.

Program administration: Provider-agencies-with-Agency-based transportation services programs

A. Personnel.

1.

Transportation services program director.
a. The provider must designate a transportation services program director whe-that is responsible for the

day- to-day management of the program.

b. The director must be 18 years of age or older, have education or management experience sufficient to
direct the program, and have the capacity to facilitate communications between staff and recipients.

2. Drivers.

a. Drivers must be 18 years of age or older, have a current Alaska driver license with a class designation
appropriate to the type of vehicle operated, and have a safe driving record.
b. The provider must ensure that all drivers are physically capable and willing to assist recipients.

B. Policies.

1. The provider must have written policies regarding program operations, including, at a minimum, the type of
services offered, the hours of operation, scheduling, waiting periods, and the availability of alternate
transportation when the provider’s vehicles are not operational.

2. The provider must have written incident and accident protocols, including evacuation procedures for
recipients in case of accidents, or of medical or weather emergencies.

C. Training.

1. The provider must tratn-have on file for staff drivers and volunteers written verification of attendance at, and
successful completion of, training regarding safe transportation and the needs of the ———recipient

population.

2. The provider must require all drivers and volunteers to attend the PASS (Passenger Assistance Safety and

Securement) course offered by the Community Transportation Association of America, or an equivalent

course that addressesAt-a-mirimum,-safety-trathing-must-nclude

a. defensive-drivingprofessional customer service;

b. use of securement systems for mobility devices and individuals, including requirements regarding child
safety;

moenitoring-the-interiorof the-vehielelift operation procedures;

Americans with Disabilities Act;

universal precautions and basic infection control procedures;

service animals;

emergency and evacuation procedures:

awareness of inappropriate behaviors;

—l=le e a0

disability awareness

e]. incident and accident protocols in case of accidents, or of medical or weather emergencies; and

—+F—__ k. the provider’s policy, incorporating the requirements of 7 AAC 130.229, on the use of restrictive

interventions.
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D.
___The provider must make available to recipients written information,-#-printform; outlining program
operations, including:

rata-minkmum,-the-information-ineludes-1. the types of services offered,

2.
3.

Program operations information.

-the hours of operation,
the process for recipient -scheduling_of rides;;

4.

1.
A

1.

= o

5.

-waiting periods, and
the availability of alternate transportation when the provider’s vehicles are not operational.

Program administration: Transportation business providers

Personnel.

Drivers must be 18 years of age or older, have a current Alaska driver license with a class designation
appropriate to the type of vehicle operated, and have a safe driving record.

The provider must ensure that all drivers are physically capable and willing to assist recipients.

Training.

The provider must ensure that drivers are trained regarding

defensive driving;

disability sensitivity and passenger assistance;

monitoring the interior of the vehicle;

universal precautions and basic infection control procedures;

incident and accident protocols in case of accidents, or of medical or weather emergencies; and
the provider’s policy, incorporating the requirements of 7 AAC 130.229, on use of restrictive
interventions.

P o0 T

I11. Assessment of recipient needs

A

B.

The provider must assess the transportation needs of the recipient by evaluating need for mobility
assistance and whether an escort is required for safe transportation.

For non-ambulatory recipients, the provider must identify the type of mobility device used by the
recipient and evaluate capacity to provide service appropriate for that mobility device.

IV. Vehicle requirements

A

1.
2.

Suitability.

The provider must operate vehicles suitable for the transportation needs of the recipient population.

The provider must equip vehicles used to transport recipients with emergency supplies, including a First Aid
kit, fire extinguisher, and tools necessary for emergency release of riders.

The provider must keep the interior of the vehicle, while in transit, at a temperature appropriate for the
comfort and health of recipients throughout the year.

Communications.

The provider must equip all vehicles with communications capability for two-way contact with emergency
personnel or with provider dispatch personnel who are capable of conveying emergency information to
appropriate authorities.
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C. Securement.

1. The provider must fit all vehicles used to transport recipients with securement systems appropriate to the
needs of the recipients.

2. The provider must use the type of securement system recommended by the manufacturer of a mobility
device provided it requires hardware mounted to the vehicle and allows release of both device and rider
within 60 seconds without the use of tools.

3. When the recipient’s mobility device is not compatible with the provider’s securement system, the provider
may transfer a recipient to a seat or a mobility device suitable to its installed system if it is safe to do so, the
recipient agrees to the transfer, and the recipient’s mobility device is transported and available for use at the
destination.

4. Transportation business providers must use vehicles equipped with a seat and seat belt for every rider,
and comply with regulations regarding the use of seat belts.

D. Maintenance.
The provider must maintain vehicles used to transport recipients in accordance with the vehicle
manufacturer’s recommended preventive maintenance schedule.
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