DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH



PROPOSED CHANGES TO REGULATIONS.

Medicaid Payment Rates: Pharmacy Dispensing Fees.

7 AAC 145.410. Medicaid Payment Rates; Pharmacy Dispensing Fees.

٠

PUBLIC REVIEW DRAFT. May 15, 2024.

COMMENT PERIOD ENDS: June 24, 2024.

Please see the public notice for details about how to comment on these proposed changes.

Notes to the reader:

1. Except as discussed in note 2, new text that amends an existing regulation is **bolded and underlined**.

2. If the lead-in line above the text of each section of the regulations states that a new section, subsection, paragraph, or subparagraph is being added, or that an existing section, subsection, paragraph, or subparagraph is being repealed and readopted (replaced), *the new or replaced text is not bolded or underlined*.

3. [ALL-CAPS TEXT WITHIN BRACKETS] indicates text that is to be deleted.

4. When the word "including" is used, Alaska Statutes provide that it means "including, but not limited to."

5. Only the text that is being changed within a section of the current regulations is included in this draft. Refer to the text of that whole section, published in the current Alaska Administrative Code, to determine how a proposed change relates within the context of the whole section and the whole chapter.

Title 7. Health and Social Services.

Chapter 145. Medicaid Payment Rates.

7 AAC 145.410. Dispensing fee.

7 AAC 145.410(a) is repealed and readopted to read:

7 AAC 145.410. Dispensing fee. (a) Except as provided under (b) of this section, and in

accordance with the following, the department will pay a per recipient dispensing fee for a

covered outpatient drug, including a compound drug, if the claim satisfies all coverage criteria

under 7 AAC 120.110 - 7 AAC 120.140:

(1) to a nontribal pharmacy located on the road system, \$15.03 to be paid not

more than once every 22 days per pharmacy per covered outpatient drug;

(2) to a nontribal pharmacy not located on the road system, \$26.94 to be paid not

more than once every 22 days per pharmacy per covered outpatient drug;

(3) to a tribal pharmacy, \$28.21 to be paid not more than once every 22 days per pharmacy per covered outpatient drug;

(4) to a nontribal or tribal mediset pharmacy, \$16.58 to be paid not more than once every 14 days per pharmacy per covered outpatient drug; Register _____ 2024 HEALTH

(5) to an out-of-state pharmacy, \$10.76 to be paid not more than once every 22 days per pharmacy per covered outpatient drug;

(6) a claim submitted by a provider for the same covered outpatient drug for which a dispensing fee was paid within the last 14 or 22 days, as applicable under (1) - (5) of this subsection, will be paid without the dispensing fee listed in (1) - (5) of this subsection. (Eff. 2/1/2010, Register 193; am 1/1/2011, Register 196; am 9/7/2011, Register 199; am 1/4/2012, Register 201; am 5/18/2014, Register 210; am 6/16/2016, Register 218; am 7/1/2019, Register 231; am 4/24/2020, Register 234; am 1/10/2021, Register 237; am ____/____; Register ____)

Authority: AS 47.05.010 AS 47.07.030 AS 47.07.040