NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES ON CERTIFICATIONS IN THE REGULATIONS OF ALASKA POLICE STANDARDS COUNCIL

The Alaska Police Standards Council proposes to adopt regulation changes in 13 AAC 85.215 and 13 AAC 85.900 of the Alaska Administrative Code, dealing with minimum hiring age of a correctional officer, including the following:

- (1) 13 AAC 85.210 is proposed to be amended to change the minimum age requirement for hire as a correctional officer to 18 years of age at the time of hire.
- (2) 13 AAC 85.900 is proposed to change the definition of "conviction" to include convictions of a person 18 years of age or older hired as a correctional officer.

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private persons of complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to the Alaska Police Standards Council at PO Box 111200, Juneau, Alaska 99811. Additionally, the Alaska Police Standards Council will accept comments by facsimile at 907-465-3263 and by electronic mail at apsc@alaska.gov. Comments may also be submitted through the Alaska Online Public Notice System by accessing this notice on the system and using the comment link. The comments must be received not later than 4:30 pm on October 31, 2023.

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to the Alaska Police Standards Council at PO Box 111200, Juneau, Alaska 99811 or by electronic mail at apsc@alaska.gov. The questions must be received at least 10 days before the end of the public comment period. The Alaska Police Standards Council will aggregate its response to substantially similar questions and make the questions and responses available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and agency website at https://dps.alaska.gov/APSC/Home.

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this process, please contact Sarah Hieb at electronic mail at <u>sarah.hieb@alaska.gov</u> or telephone 907-465-6296 not later than October 17, 2023, to ensure that any necessary accommodation can be provided.

A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and by contacting the Alaska Police Standards Council at apsc@alaska.gov and 907-465-6296.

A copy of material proposed for adoption by reference is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System or on the agency website at https://dps.alaska.gov/APSC/Home or by contacting the Alaska Police Standards Council at apsc@alaska.gov or 907-465-6296.

After the public comment period ends, the Alaska Police Standards Council will either adopt the proposed regulation changes or other provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action. The language of the final regulation may be different from that of the proposed regulation. You should comment during the time allowed if your interests could be affected.

Statutory authority: AS 18.65.220

Statutes being implemented, interpreted, or made specific: AS 18.65.242; AS 18.65.248; AS 18.65.285

Fiscal information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased appropriation.

The Alaska Police Standards Council keeps a list of individuals and organizations interested in its regulations. Those on the list will automatically be sent a copy of all the Alaska Police Standards Council notices of proposed regulation changes. To be added to or removed from the list, send a request to the Alaska Police Standards Council at apsc@alaska.gov, giving your name, and either your e-mail address or mailing address, as you prefer for receiving notices.

Individuals can also signup to receive automated notifications of all State of Alaska notices, including public notice for regulation changes, by subscribing to the Alaska Online Public Notices System: https://aws.state.ak.us/OnlinePublicNotices/Default.aspx.

Date: September 27, 2023

<u>/s/</u> Joseph Gamache, APSC Executive Director