



# Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING Juneau Office

> P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Toll free fax: 907.465.2974

## Notice of Proposed Changes Relating to Occupational Licensing Fees for Professions Regulated by the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers in the Regulations of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

## **Proposed Regulations - FAQ**

August 2023

### 1. Why are the new fees being proposed?

By law, fees must be analyzed annually and set to approximately recover the cost of program operations. Alaska's professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL) to "annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation". Alaska's licensing fee statutes go on to say "If the review indicates that an occupation's fee collections and regulatory costs are not approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations...to implement the adjustments".

The division has conducted a thorough fee analysis and proposes to repeal obsolete fees for written examination that are no longer administered by the Department for barbers, non-chemical barbers, hairdressers, estheticians, advanced manicurists and instructors, and practitioners of body piercing, tattooing, and permanent cosmetic coloring.

#### 2. What are the proposed fee changes?

The proposed changes will update the fee regulations in Title 12 Chapter 2 of the Alaska Administrative Code relating to the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers (Board). The proposal will remove fees currently charged by the Department to take a written examination for professions regulated by the Board. The purpose of which is to align the regulations in with recent administrative changes made by the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers (the Board) relating to the examination process and associated fees.

The following written examination fees are now obsolete following the appointment of Prov to administer examinations for barbers, non-chemical barbers, hairdressers, estheticians, advanced manicurists and instructors, and practitioners of for body piercing, tattooing, and permanent cosmetic coloring.

(Words in **boldface and underlined** indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.)

BAH Fees FAQ August 2023 Page 2

12 AAC 02.140(a)(4) is repealed:

(4) repealed \_\_\_\_/\_\_\_ [BARBER, NON-CHEMICAL BARBER, HAIRDRESSER, ESTHETICIAN, ADVANCED MANICURIST, OR INSTRUCTOR WRITTEN EXAMINATION FEE, \$60];

12 AAC 02.140(a)(7) is repealed:
(7) repealed \_\_\_\_/\_\_\_ [WRITTEN EXAMINATION FEE FOR
PRACTITIONERS OF BODY PIERCING, TATTOOING, OR PERMANENT COSMETIC
COLORING, \$60];

#### 3. Are examination fees still applicable?

Yes, fees still apply for applicants to take the relevant examination required on application for a license for a profession regulated by the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers. The administration of the examinations and associated fees are now managed by Prov and will no longer be charged by CBPL.

#### 4. How are the estimated costs determined?

AS 08.01.065 requires *all costs* of regulating the profession to be borne by its licensees. The proposed fees are based on known and anticipated costs.

#### 5. When will the new fees be effective?

After the public comment deadline, comments received are compiled and given to the Division for consideration. The Division Director may adopt the regulations as written/publicly noticed, may amend and adopt them, choose to take no action, or may withdraw the proposed regulations in part or in its whole. After Department action, the adopted regulations go to the Department of Law (DOL) for final review/approval. DOL either approves or disapproves the regulations. Once approved by DOL, it goes to the Lt. Governor for filing. The regulations take effect on the 30th day after they have been filed by the Lt. Governor.

Do you have a question that is not answered here? Please email <u>RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov</u> so it can be added.