

# Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING Juneau Office

P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Toll free fax: 907.465.2974

Notice of Proposed Changes to Occupational Licensing Fees for Professions Regulated by the Big Game Commercial Services Board in the Regulations of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

# **Proposed Regulations - FAQ**

July 2023

# 1. Why are new fees being proposed?

By law, fees must be analyzed annually and set to approximately recover the cost of program operations. Alaska's professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL) to "annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation". Alaska's licensing fee statutes go on to say "If the review indicates that an occupation's fee collections and regulatory costs are not approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations...to implement the adjustments".

The division has conducted a thorough fee analysis and proposes a <u>decrease</u> in the hunt record annual filing fee, Class-A assistant and assistant guide license fees for both residents and nonresidents, Class-A assistant and assistant guide biennial license renewal fees for both residents and nonresidents, and the transporter activity report annual filing fee to comply with AS 08.01.065.

## 2. What are the proposed fees?

The proposed fees will be a <u>decrease</u> in the hunt record annual filing fee; the Class-A assistant and assistant guide license fee for both residents and nonresidents; the Class-A assistant and assistant guide biennial license renewal fee for both residents and nonresidents, and the transporter activity report annual filing fee.

By regulation, nonresident Class-A assistants and assistant guides pay twice the resident fees.

(Words in <u>boldface and underlined</u> indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted. Complete new sections are not in boldface or underlined.)

12 AAC 02.230(a)(8) is amended to read:

- (8) hunt record annual filing fee, **\$0** [\$300];
- 12 AAC 02.230(b)(2) is amended to read:
- (2) Class-A assistant and assistant guide license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, **\$310** [\$410];
- 12 AAC 02.230(b)(3) is amended to read:
- (3) Class-A assistant and assistant guide biennial license renewal fee, \$310 [\$410];
- 12 AAC 02.230(c)(4) is amended to read:
- (4) transporter activity report annual filing fee, **\$0** [\$300].

#### 3. How are the estimated costs determined?

AS 08.01.065 requires *all costs* of regulating the profession to be borne by its licensees. The proposed fees are based on known and anticipated costs.

### 4. What do licensing fees pay for?

The agency must create, publish, and manage licensing application forms and fees, which entail adherence to the state's recordkeeping, security, payment, and refund policies and procedures.

- Requirement of licensees to meet professional fitness standards, which are evaluated by the license examiner and referred to the agency's investigative unit if necessary for further review.
- Enforcement of disciplinary sanctions available to the agency if a licensee violates the state licensing statutes or regulations or an individual practices the profession without a license. Because state law requires all costs of a licensing program to be borne by the licensees of that program (AS 08.01.065), any investigative, attorney, or appeal expenses of the state will be recovered in the licensing fee.

#### 3. When will the new fees be effective?

After the public comment deadline, comments received are compiled and given to the Division for consideration. The Division Director may adopt the regulations as written/publicly noticed, may amend and adopt them, choose to take no action, or may withdraw the proposed regulations in part or in its whole. After Department action, the adopted regulations go to the Department of Law (DOL) for final review/approval. DOL either approves or disapproves the regulations. Once approved by DOL, it goes to the Lt. Governor for filing. The regulations take effect on the 30th day after they have been filed by the Lt. Governor.

Do you have a question that is not answered here? Please email <a href="mailto:RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov">RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov</a> so it can be added.