



DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING Juneau Office

> P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Toll free fax: 907.465.2974

Notice of Proposed Changes on Continued Competency Requirements in The Regulations of the Alaska Board of Social Work Examiners

Proposed Regulations - FAQ

May 2022

1. What is the purpose of the proposed regulations? What will this regulation do?

12 AAC 18.112. Continued competency.

• This regulation update will change the continuing education requirements for initial licensure if applying by credentials

• Require three contact hours in teletherapy practice for initial licensure

• This regulation change will assist in keeping the social work regulations up to date with the ongoing increased use of teletherapy

• Most social workers who are applying from out of state will be providing social work to Alaskans only through teletherapy; requiring proof of having gained continuing education regarding teletherapy will help the public feel at ease that these social workers are educated in this field

• Updating this regulation now will keep the board's regulations up to date with the current social work field

• Teletherapy is not going anywhere and will likely increase in the future, therefore being knowledgeable in this field will benefit both social workers and Alaskans

Does this increase the total amount of hours for continuing education I need to provide proof of?

No. 45 hours will still be the total amount of continuing education.

Does this change the continuing education hours I need to receive for renewal?

No. Those regulations will stay the same.

Can I use the teletherapy CEs for initial licensure toward my renewal?

No. You may not use any CEs used for initial licensure towards your renewal.

2. What are the costs to comply with the proposed regulations?

An estimate of \$50 for additional three CEs.

CSW Proposed Regs FAQ May 2022 Page 2

3. When will the regulations be effective?

After the public comment deadline, comments received are compiled and given to the Board for consideration. The Board may adopt the regulations as proposed/publicly noticed, may amend and adopt them, choose to take no action, or may withdraw the proposed regulations in part or in its whole. After Board action, the adopted regulations goes to Department of Law (DOL) for final review/approval. DOL either approves or disapproves regulations. Once approved by DOL, it goes to the Lt. Governor for filing. Regulation takes effect on the 30th day after they have been filed by the Lt. Governor.

Do you have a question that is not answered here? Please email <u>RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov</u> so it can be added.