

## Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING Juneau Office

P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Toll free fax: 907.465.2974

# Notice of Proposed Changes in The Regulations of the Alaska Board of Chiropractic Examiners

### Proposed Regulations - FAQ

*April 2022* 

#### 1. What is the purpose of the proposed regulations? What will this regulation do?

#### 12 AAC 16.037. National examination requirements.

- It will clarify the examination requirements for applicants based upon their graduation date from chiropractic college and to conform 12 AAC 16.037(d) with the rest of section 12 AAC 16.037.
- It will eliminate the need to take a remedial exam for those applicants who have been in practice in other states before September 1, 1998, and speed the licensing process for those applicants.

### 12 AAC 16.206. Temporary military courtesy license to practice as a chiropractic physician.

- To implement statutory changes made under Sections 1 and 2, Chapter 29, SLA 2021 (SB 21).
- Establish temporary courtesy license for an active duty military member or spouse of an active duty military member of the armed forces of the United States who meets the requirements of the regulations to practice as a chiropractic physician.
- Allow for an expedited temporary licensing pathway for those in the military and their spouses stationed in Alaska, and will allow military members and their spouses the ability to quickly practice in Alaska until a permanent license can be obtained.
- Assist military spouses to enter the Alaskan Workforce in an expeditious manner will have positive financial impacts for military families and help the overall growth of Alaska's economy.
- Transition to Alaska after reassignment with minimal disruption to employment.
- Military members and spouses will still need to complete the full application and review process for permanent licensure, however this will allow them an option to begin working while they complete the permanent licensure process.

#### 2. What are the costs to comply with the proposed regulations?

\$100 application fee and \$100 temporary military courtesy license fee.

#### 3. When will the regulations be effective?

After the public comment deadline, comments received are compiled and given to the Board for consideration. The Board may adopt the regulation as written/publicly noticed, may amend and adopt them, choose to take no action, or may withdraw the proposed regulations in part or in its whole. After Board action, the adopted regulations goes to Department of Law (DOL) for final review/approval. DOL either approves or disapproves regulations. Once approved by DOL, it goes to the Lt. Governor for filing. Regulation takes effect on the 30th day after they have been filed by the Lt. Governor.

Do you have a question that is not answered here? Please email <u>RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov</u> so it can be added.