

# Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING Juneau Office

P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Toll free fax: 907.465.2974

Notice of Proposed Changes to Occupational Licensing Fees for audiologists, hearing aid dealers, speech-language pathologists, and speech-language pathologist assistants in the Regulations of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

## Proposed Regulations - FAQ

March 2022

## 1. Why are new fees being proposed?

By law, fees must be analyzed annually and set to approximately recover the cost of program operations. Alaska's professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL) to "annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation." Alaska's licensing fee statutes go on to say, "If the review indicates that an occupation's fee collections and regulatory costs are not approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations ... to implement the adjustments."

The division has conducted a thorough fee analysis and proposes a <u>decrease</u> in licensing fee amounts for the audiologist and speech-language pathologist licenses to comply with AS 08.01.065. The analysis reflected the need to decrease the fees for FY2023 renewal to prevent the accumulation of large surplus. The proposed fee amounts are enclosed and can also be found on the program's web page at <a href="http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/audiologistsandspeech-languagepathologists">http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/audiologistsandspeech-languagepathologists</a>.

#### 2. What are the proposed fees?

The fees proposed will be a decrease in the application, temporary license, registration, license, and renewal fees. Fees proposed for the 2022-2024 licensing period are below.

Fees in **bold and underlined** are proposed; [bracketed] amounts being changed.

12 AAC 02.130. Audiologists, hearing aid dealers, speech-language pathologists, and speech-language pathologist assistants. The following fees are established for audiologists, hearing aid dealers, speech-language pathologists, and speech-language pathologist assistants:

- (1) application fee for initial license or registration, **\$200** [\$250];
- (2) temporary license fee for audiologists or speech-language pathologists, \$70 [\$225];

AUD/SLP Fees FAQ March 2022 Page 2

- (3) audiologist or speech-language pathologist license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, **\$70** [\$225];
  - (4) biennial audiologist or speech-language pathologist license renewal fee, \$\frac{\$70}{2}\$ [\$225];
- (5) hearing aid dealer license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, <u>\$70</u> [\$225];
  - (6) hearing aid dealer biennial license renewal fee, <u>\$70</u> [\$225];
  - (7) delinquent fee for delayed renewal, \$50;
- (8) speech-language pathologist assistant registration fee for all or part of the initial biennial registration period, **\$70** [\$225];
  - (9) biennial speech-language pathologist assistant registration renewal fee, \$70 [\$225].

#### 3. How are the estimated costs determined?

AS 08.01.065 requires *all costs* of regulating the profession to be borne by its licensees. The proposed fees are based on known and anticipated costs.

### 4. What do licensing fees pay for?

The agency must create, publish, and manage licensing application forms and fees, which entail adherence to the state's recordkeeping, security, payment, and refund policies and procedures.

- Requirement of licensees to meet professional fitness standards, which are evaluated by the license examiner and referred to the agency's investigative unit if necessary for further review.
- Enforcement of disciplinary sanctions available to the agency if a licensee violates the state licensing statutes or regulations or an individual practices the profession without a license. Because state law requires all costs of a licensing program to be borne by the licensees of that program (AS 08.01.065), any investigative, attorney, or appeal expenses of the state will be recovered in the licensing fee.

#### 5. When will the new fees be effective?

After the public comment deadline, comments received are compiled and given to the Division Director for consideration. The Division Director may adopt the regulation as written/publicly noticed, may amend and adopt them, or choose to take no action, or may withdraw the proposed regulations in part or in its whole. After Department action, the adopted regulations goes to Department of Law (DOL) for final review/approval. DOL either approves or disapproves regulations. Once approved by DOL, it goes to the Lt. Governor for filing. Regulation takes effect on the 30th day after they have been filed by the Lt. Governor.

Do you have a question that is not answered here? Please email <u>Regulations And Public Comment@alaska.gov</u> so it can be added.