



DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING Juneau Office

> P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Toll free fax: 907.465.2974

Notice of Proposed Changes in The Regulations of the Alaska Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers

Proposed Regulations - FAQ

March 2022

1. What is the purpose of the proposed regulations? What will this regulation do?

<u>12 AAC 70.111. Application for trainee appraiser to residential real estate appraiser certification</u>

- Clarify the requirements of transcripts as required in 12 AAC 70.111.
- To conform with the required regulation references.

12 AAC 70.135. Temporary military courtesy licenses

• To implement statutory changes made under Sections 1 and 2, Chapter 29, SLA 2021 (SB 21).

• Establish temporary courtesy licenses for an active duty military member or spouse of an active duty military member of the armed forces of the United States who meets the requirements of the regulations to practice as a general real estate appraiser, residential real estate appraiser, registered trainee, appraisal management company, or institutional real estate appraiser.

• Allow for an expedited temporary licensing pathway for those in the military and their spouses, and will allow military members and their spouses the ability to quickly practice in Alaska.

• Military members and spouses will still need to complete the full application and review process for permanent licensure, however this will allow them an option to begin working while they complete the permanent licensure process.

2. What are the costs to comply with the proposed regulations?

\$100 application fee and \$100 temporary military courtesy license fee.

3. When will the regulations be effective?

After the public comment deadline, comments received are compiled and given to the Board for consideration. The Board may adopt the regulation as written/publicly noticed, may amend and adopt them, choose to take no action, or may withdraw the proposed regulations in part or in its whole. After Board action, the adopted regulations goes to Department of Law (DOL) for final

APR Regs FAQ March 2022 Page 2

review/approval. DOL either approves or disapproves regulations. Once approved by DOL, it goes to the Lt. Governor for filing. Regulation takes effect on the 30th day after they have been filed by the Lt. Governor.

Do you have a question that is not answered here? Please email <u>RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov</u> so it can be added.