

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING Juneau Office

P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Toll free fax: 907.465.2974

Notice of Proposed Changes in The Regulations of the Alaska Board of Social Work Examiners

Proposed Regulations - FAQ

January 2022

1. What is the purpose of the proposed regulations? What will this regulation do?

12 AAC 18.108. Temporary military courtesy licenses. To implement statutory changes made under Section 1 and 2, Chapter 29, SLA 2021 (SB 21). The proposed regulations will create a temporary military courtesy licenses for an active duty military member or spouse of an active duty military member of the armed forces of the United States to practice as a baccalaureate social worker, master social worker, or clinical social worker. The regulation allows for an expedited temporary licensing pathway for those in the military and their spouses.

This regulation change will allow military members and their spouses the ability to quickly begin working as social workers in Alaska. Military members and spouses will still need to complete the full application and review process for permanent licensure, however this will allow them an option to begin working while they complete the permanent licensure process.

12 AAC 18.115. Supervision of experience for clinical social work license. The proposed regulations will minimize and streamline the supervision processes for applicants and board. This regulation change will assist applicants receiving clinical supervision in remote locations. In addition, many social workers are currently required to send requests to be approved by the board to receive telesupervision. This regulation change will minimize the requests sent to the board and streamline supervision processes for applicants and the board.

Many social workers and their employers are currently providing teletherapy to clients due to both COVID-19 and the more frequent use of technology. Applicants are unable to start receiving distance supervision hours until their requests have been reviewed by the board and approved. With this regulation change, applicants will be able to receive more supervision without delay, and the board will have more time to regulate the profession.

2. What are the costs to comply with the proposed regulations?

\$100 application fee; \$100 temporary courtesy license fee.

3. When will the regulations be effective?

After the public comment deadline, comments received are compiled and given to the Board for consideration. The Board may adopt the regulations as proposed/publicly noticed, may amend and adopt them, choose to take no action, or may withdraw the proposed regulations in part or in its whole. After Board action, the adopted regulations goes to Department of Law (DOL) for final review/approval. DOL either approves or disapproves regulations. Once approved by DOL, it goes to the Lt. Governor for filing. Regulation takes effect on the 30th day after they have been filed by the Lt. Governor.

Do you have a question that is not answered here? Please email <u>RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov</u> so it can be added.