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ORDER ADOPTING CHANGES TO
REGULATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE,
COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

The attached one page of regulations, dealing with occupational licensing fees for
professions regulated by the Board of Massage Therapists, is adopted and certified
to be a correct copy of the regulation changes that the Department of Commenrce,
Community, and Economic Development adopts under the authority of AS
08.01.010, AS 08.01.065, and AS 08.61.090, and after compliance with the
Administrative Procedure Act (AS 44.62), specifically including notice under AS
44.62.190 and 44.62.200 and opportunity for public comment under AS 44.62.210.

This action is not expected to require an increased appropriation.
In considering public comments, the Department of Commerce, Community, and
Economic Development paid special attention to the cost to private persons of the

regulatory action being taken.

The regulation changes adopted under this order take effect on the 30th day after
they have been filed by the lieutenant governor, as provided in AS 44.62.180.

pate: Al 2, 202

Juneau, Alaska

Sara Chambers, Director
Division of Corporations, Business and
Professional Licensing
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I,' Kevin Meyer, Lieutenant Governor for the State of Alaska, certify that

2
on MM{"‘; 4’ , 2021 at 12°5°8 F.m., I filed the attached

regulations according to the provisions of AS 44.62.040 — 44.62.120.

AL

/ﬁ\/" Kevin Meyer, Lieutenant Governor

— _
Effective: \llﬂﬂ@ é’; Zo Z" )
Register: Zgg. /\‘ZMJ %Zl ;




FOR DELEGATION OF THE LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR’S AUTHORITY

I, KEVIN MEYER, LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF ALASKA,
designate the following state employees to perform the Administrative Procedures Act
filing functions of the Office of the Lieutenant Governor:

Josh Applebee, Chief of Staff
Kady Levale, Notary Administrator
April Simpson, Regulations and Initiatives Specialist

IN TESTIMONY WHEREQF, I have
signed and affixed the Seal of the State of
Alaska, in Juneau, on December 11th,
2018.
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KEVIN MEYER
LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR




Register 238, ’ﬂlﬂ 2021 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions.

12 AAC 02.396 is amended by adding new paragraphs to read:
(7) massage therapy establishment biennial registration renewal fee, $300;
(8) massage therapy establishment change of location fee, $65. (Eff. 8/1/2015,

Register 215; am 6/14/2017, Register 222; am 3/25/2020, Register 233;am © /& /Zz!| ,

Register 2.8 )

Authority:  AS 08.01.010 AS 08.01.065 AS 08.61.090
T
AS 08.6l.020

—




MEMORANDUM State of Alaska

Department of Law

To:  The Honorable Kevin Meyer Date:  May 6, 2021

Lieutenant Governor
FileNo.: 2021200046

Ds
Thru:  Sysan R. Pollard l = Tel. No.:  465-3600
Chief Assistant Attorney General

and Regulations Attorney
Legislation and Regulations Section

From:  Steven C. Weaver SCW Re:  Department of Commerce,
Senior Assistant Attorney General Community, and Economic
Legislation and Regulations Section Development regulations re:

occupational licensing biennial
registration renewal fees for massage
therapy establishments and fees for
changes of location (12 AAC 02.396)

The Department of Law has reviewed the attached regulations of the Department of
Commerce, Community, and Economic Development against the statutory standards of the
Administrative Procedure Act. Based upon our review, we find no legal problems. This
memorandum constitutes the written statement of approval under AS 44.62.060(b) and (c) that
authorizes your office to file the attached regulations. The regulations were adopted by the
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development after the close of the public
comment period.

The regulations establish new occupational licensing biennial registration renewal fees
for massage therapy establishments and fees for changes of location. We have previously
approved regulations setting fees for the registration and investigation of massage therapy
establishments, reflecting amendments to AS 08.61.020(2) that took effect July 1, 2019, to
require the Board of Massage Therapists to adopt regulations governing massage therapy
establishments. Secs. 2 and 7, ch. 10, SLA 2018.

The older regulations and these regulations fall in part under the authority of
AS 08.61.090, allowing the establishment of "fees under AS 08.01.065 for application, license
issuance, license renewal, and investigation under this chapter." The legislature has not amended
AS 08.61.090 since 2014, when the legislature first regulated massage therapy. The 2018
amendments did not include a conforming change to AS 08.61.090, but the legislature would not
have amended AS 08.61.020(2) without expecting "that the total amount of fees collected for an
occupation approximately [equal] the actual regulatory costs for the occupation."”
AS 08.01.065(c). Because the umbrella provisions of AS 08.01.065(a) require the establishment



Honorable Kevin Meyer, Lieutenant Governor May 6, 2021
File No. 2021200046; Massage Therapy; Biennial Registration Fees Page 2 of 2

of "all other fees as appropriate for the occupations covered by this chapter," fees pertaining to
massage therapy establishments are required under AS 08.01.065(a) and (c) and AS 08.61.090,

In accordance with AS 44.62.125, we have made a single edit to the authority citation for
12 AAC 02.396, adding a citation to AS 08.61.020. The edit is shown on the attached copy of the
regulations.

The February 9, 2021 public notice and the April 2, 2021 adoption order both state that
this action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. Therefore, a fiscal note under
AS 44.62.195 is not required.

SCW

cc w/enc: Hon. Julie Anderson, Commissioner
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Amy Demboski, Assistant Commissioner and Regulations Contact
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Sara Chambers, Director
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Harriet Dinegar-Milks, Senior Assistant Attorney General
Commercial, Fair Business, and Child Support Section



THE STATE

f Department of Commerce, Community,
G AL ASKA and Economic Development
; OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER
GOVERNOR MICHAEL J. DUNLEAVY

PO Box 110800

Juneau, Alaske 998110800
M 207 4652500

Toli free tax: 907.465.2500

In accordance with AS 44.17.010, the authority and responsibility for adopting regulations, outside
of the Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office (AMCO), but for the Division of Cotporations,
Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL), under the Alaska Administrative Procedure Act, is
hereby delegated to:

Sara Chambers

Division Director

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
DCCED

P.O. Box 110806

Juneau, AK 99811-0806

907-465-2536

sara.chambers@alaska.gov

In accordance with AS 44.17.010, the authority and responsibility for adopting regulations of the
Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office, under the Alaska Administrative Procedure Act, is hereby
delegated to:

Amy Demboski

Assistant Commissioner

DCCED

550 West Seventh Avenue, Suite 1535

Anchorage, AK 99501

907-269-8100

amy.dem I(@alaska.

This Delegation of Authority will remain in effect until modified or revoked by a subsequent
delegation. This Delegation supersedes and revokes all delegations preceding it.

Dated the 30" day of October 2019

Julie Andetson
Commissioner

Department of Commerce, Community,
and Economic Development




NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES TO OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING FEES FOR PROFESSIONS
REGULATED BY THE BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPISTS IN THE REGULATIONS OF THE
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

BRIEF DESCRIPTION: The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development proposes to
add massage therapy establishment renewal fee and massage therapy establishment change of location fee.

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development (Department) proposes to adopt
regulation changes in Title 12, Chapter 02 of the Alaska Administrative Code including the following:

12 AAC 02.396. Board of Massage Therapists, is proposed to be amended by adding massage therapy
establishment biennial registration renewal fee and massage therapy establishment change of location fee.

Under AS 08.01.065, the Department must establish fee levels so that the total amount of fees collected for an
occupation approximately equals the actual regulatory costs for the occupation. The Department has reviewed the
income and expenses for the occupational licensing program for the Board of Massage Therapists and proposes
fee changes that reflect, to the extent possible, the actual costs of the activities related to the program.

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private persons of
complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist,
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806.
Additionally, the Department will accept comments by facsimile at (907) 465-2974 and by electronic mail at
RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov. Comments may also be submitted through the Alaska Online
Public Notice System by accessing this notice on the system at http://notice.alaska.gov/201352, and using the
comment link. The comments must be received not later than 4:30 p.m. on March 12, 2021. Comments
received after this deadline will not be considered by the Department.

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist,
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 or by
e-mail at RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov. The questions must be received at least 10 days before
the end of the public comment period. The Department will aggregate its response to substantially similar
questions and make the questions and responses available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and on the
Board’s website at
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofMassageTherapists.aspx. The
Department may, but is not required to, answer written questions received after the 10-day cut-off date and before
the end of the comment period.

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this process,
please contact Jun Maiquis at (907) 465-2537 or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov not later than
March 5, 2021 to ensure that any necessary accommodation can be provided.

A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and by
contacting Jun Maiquis at (907) 465-2537 or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov, or go to
https.//www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/MAS-Fees-0121 .pdf.

After the public comment period ends, the Department will either adopt the proposed regulation changes or other
provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action. The language of the
final regulation may be different from that of the proposed regulation. You should comment during the time
allowed if your interests could be affected. Written comments and questions received are public records and are
subject to public inspection.

Statutory Authority: AS 08.01.010; AS 08.01.065; AS 08.61.090
Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 08.01.010; AS 08.01.065; AS 08.61.090

Fiscal Information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased appropriation.



DATE: 2 /3/707’/ —74/%64"4

For each occupation regulated under the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, the
Division keeps a list of individuals or organizations who are interested in the regulations of that occupation. The
Division automatically sends a Notice of Proposed Regulations to the parties on the appropriate list each time
there is a proposed change in an occupation's regulations in Title 12 of the Alaska Administrative Code. If you
would like your address added to or removed from such a list, send your request to the Division at the address
above, giving your name, either your e-mail address or mailing address (as you prefer for receiving notices), and

Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist
Division qf C]?D) rations, Business and
Professional Ticensing

the occupational area in which you are interested.

10.

11.

ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION
(AS 44.62.190(d))

Adopting agency: Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development, Division of
Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing.

General subject of regulation: Occupational licensing fees.

Citation of regulation: 12 AAC 02.396.

Department of Law file number: To be assigned.

Reason for the proposed action: Update and compliance with state statute.
Appropriation/Allocation: Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing — #2360.

Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to:

A private person: $300 massage therapy establishment biennial registration renewal fee; $65 massage
therapy establishment change of location fee.

Another state agency: None known.

A municipality: None known.

Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of dollars):
No costs are expected in FY 2021 or in subsequent years.

The name of the contact person for the regulation:

Cynthia Spencer, Licensing Supervisor

Alaska Board of Massage Therapists

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Telephone: (907) 465-6246

E-mail: cynthia.spencer@alaska.gov

The origin of the proposed action: Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing.

Date: 2-/3 /202,/ Prepared by: sz /%M

Jun Maiqus
Regul@pecialist
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AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION

Account #: 100493 ST OF AK/DEC/OCCU
Attention To: ATTN TO: JUN MAIQUIS
PO BOX 110806, JUNEAU, AK 99811

Order #: W0020504

STATE OF ALASKA
THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT

Lisi Misa being first duly sworn on oath deposes
and says that she is a representative of the An-
chorage Daily News, a daily newspaper. That
said newspaper has been approved by the Third
Judicial Court, Anchorage, Alaska, and it now
and has been published in the English language
continually as a daily newspaper in Anchorage,
Alaska, and it is now and during all said time
was printed in an office maintained at the afore-
said place of publication of said newspaper.
That the annexed is a copy of an advertisement
as it was published in regular issues (and not in

supplemental form) of said newspaper on

02/09/2021

and that such newspaper was regularly distrib-
uted to its subscribers during all of said period.
That the full amount of the fee charged for the
foregoing publication is not in excess of the rate

charged private individuals.

Signed

Subscribed and sworn to before me
this 12th day of February 2021,

Cost: $503.02

Nihary Public in and f(V
)Jhc State of Alaska. _

Third Division

Anchorage, Alaska
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES TO OCCUPATIONAL
LICENSING FEES FOR PROFESSIONS REGULATED BY THE
BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPISTS IN THE REGULATIONS
OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, AND

ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic

bevelopment ([Department) proposes to a:lnft ragulation changes

{?1 ;IH:?I J&_rg:;apler 02 of the Alaska Administrative Code including
ing:

12 AAC 02.396. Board of Mnssaﬁe Therapists, |s proposed to
be amenced by adding massage therapy establishment biennial
registration renewal fee and massage therapy establishment
change of location fee,

Under AS 08.01.065, the Department must establish fee levels
50 that the total amount of fees collected for an occupation
approximately equals the actual regulatory costs for the
occupation. Department has reviewed the income and
expenses for the occupational llicensing program for the Board of
Massage Therapists and proposes fee changes that reflect, to the
extent possible, the actual costs of the activities related to the
program.

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes,
Including the potential costs lo private persons of complying
with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments
to Jun Malqusk Regulations Specialist, Division of Corporations,
Business and Professional Licensing, PO, Box 110806, Juneau,
AK  99811-0806. Additionally, the Deparfment will accept
comments by facsimlle at (907) 465-2974 and by electronic
mail at Regulat PublicComment@®alaska.gov. Comments
may also be submitted through the Alaska Online Public Natice
System by accessing this notice on the system at hitp:/notice.
alaska gov/201352, and using the comment link. The comments
must be received not later than 4:30 p.m. on March 12, 2021,
comments recelved aftér this deadline will not be considered by
the Department

You ma{ﬂsuhmlt written guestions rel t to the p d action
to Jun Malquis, Regulations Specialist, Division of Corporations,
Business and Professional Licensing, PO. Box 110806, Juneau,
AK 99811-0806 or by e-mall at RegulationsAndPublicComment@®
glaska.gov. The questions must be recelved at least 10 days
before the end of the public comment period. The Department
will regate Its response to substantially similar questions
and make the questions and responses avallable on the Alaska
Online Public Notice System and on the Board's webslte at https://
www ecommerce.alaska.gow/web/chpl/Professionall lcensing/
BoardofMassageTherapists.aspx. The Department may, but is not
required to, answer written questions recelved after the 10-day
cut-off date and before the end of the comment period.

If you are a person with a disahilltl\; who needs a special
acmrnmodallnninordertugam:ipatelnt lsprocess, please contact
Jun Maiguis at (907) 465-2537 or RegulationsAndPublicCommentd
alaskagov not later than March §, 2021 to ensure that any
necessary accommodation can be provided

A copy of the proposed regulation changes Is avallable on the
Alaska Online Public No1|c2¥rslam and gﬁ contacting Jun Maiquis
al (907) 465-2537 or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov,
or go to hnf?.‘{“lwwwf .commerce alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/

MAS-Fees-01

After the public comment period ends, the Department will either
adopt the proposed regulation changes or other provisions dealing
with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no
action. The language of the final regulation may be different from
that of the proposed regulation. You should comment during the
time aliowed if your interests could be affected, Written comments
and questions received are public records and are subject to
public inspection,

Statutory Authorlty: AS 08.01.010; AS 08.01.065; AS 08.61.090

Statutes Belng Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS
08.01.010; AS 08.01.065; AS 08.61.090

Fiscal Infofmathn: The proposed regulation changes are not
expected to require an increased approprlation.

DATE: 2/8/2021

73/ Jun Malquis, Regulations Speclalist
Division of Corporations, Business and
Professional Licensing

For each occupation regulated under the Divislon of Corporations,
Business and Professional Licensing, the Division keeps a list of
Individuals or arganizations who are Interested in the regulations
of that occupation. The Division automatically sends a Notice of
Proposed Regulations to the parties on the appropriate list each
time there is a proposed change in an accupation's regulations in
Title 12 of the Alaska Administrative Code. If you would like your
address added to or removed from such a list, send your request
to the Division at the address above, giving your name, either your
e-mall atdress or mafling address fas u prefer for receiving
notices), and the occupational area In which you are interested.

Pub: February 9, 2021

T

RECEIVED
- Juneau

APR 16 2021
CBPL



AFFIDAVIT OF NOTICE OF PROPOSED REGULATION
AND FURNISHING OF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

I, Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist, of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic

Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, being sworn, state the
following:

As required by AS 44.62.190, notice of the proposed adoption of changes to 12 AAC 02.396,
dealing with occupational licensing fees for professions regulated by the Board of Massage
Therapists, has been given by being

1. published in a newspaper or trade publication;

2. furnished to every person who has filed a request for notice of proposed action with the state
agency,

furnished to appropriate state officials;
furnished to interested persons;
furnished to the Department of Law, along with a copy of the proposed regulation;

furnished electronically to incumbent State of Alaska legislators;

N o » s W

posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System as required by AS 44.62.175(a)(1) and (b) and
44.62.190(a)(1).

As required by AS 44.62.190, additional regulation notice information regarding the proposed adoption of
the regulation chan}%es described above has been furnished to persons in (2), (4), and (6) of the list above.

The additional regulation notice information also has been posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice
System.

DATE: VA /2’
Juneau, Alaska p% i
% 2204

Jun h@s,}egulations Specialist

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this _ "2 day of lfh‘; rl'nl , 2021.
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AFFIDAVIT OF AGENCY RECORD OF PUBLIC COMMENT

I, Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist for the Department of Commerce,

Community, and Economic Deyelopment, Division of Corporations, Business and
Professional Licensing, being duly sworn, state the following:

In compliance with AS 44.62.215, the Department of Commerce, Community, and
Economic Development has kept a record of its use or rejection of factual or other
substantive information that was submitted in writing as public comment and that
was relevant to the accuracy, coverage, or other aspect of the Department of
Commerce, Community, and Economic Development regulations on dealing with

occupational licensing fees for professions regulated by the Board of Massage
Therapists.

DATE: ‘/A for
Juneau, Alaska /%‘b”
7@ \

Jun W, Regulations Specialist

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this _"Z day of Pn‘ml\\_ , 2021.

1.
Notary Public in and for the

TN State of Alaska
“u‘ 'l:;,' A 0 . . ' D@\
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AFFIDAVIT OF DEPARTMENT CONSIDERATION OF
BOARD RECOMMENDATIONS

I, Jun M_aiﬁuis, Regulations Specialist for the Department of Commerce, Community, and
Economic Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing,

being duly sworn, state the following:

As required by AS 08.01.065(c), the Department of Commerce, Community, and
Economic Development has considered the recommendations of the Board of Massage

Therapists before adopting changes to the fees in 12 AAC 02.396.

DATE: ‘/A A/

Juneau, Alaska

A
J un@% Regulations Specialist
SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this _Z. day of A—Fﬂl , 2021.

%tary Public in an% for the
ate of Alaska

My commission expires: (0 ! office.
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