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ORDER CERTIFYING THE CHANGES TO
REGULATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION AND EARLY DEVELOPMENT

The attached nine pages of regulations, dealing with updates to the fees in the Division of
Libraries, Archives, and Museums are certified to be a correct copy of the regulation changes
that the State Board of Education and Early Development adopted at its September 16-17, 2020,
meeting, under the authority of AS 14.07.020, AS 14.07.060, AS 14.07.165, AS 14.56.020, AS
14.56.030, AS 14.57.010, AS 40.21.030, AS 40.21.050, and AS 40.21.120, and after compliance
with the Administrative Procedure Act (AS 44.62), specifically including notice under AS
44.62.190 and 44.62.200 and opportunity for public comment under AS 44.62.210.

This action is not expected to require an increased appropriation.

Although there was no public comment, the State Board of Education and Early Development
paid special attention to the cost to private persons of the regulatory action being taken.

The regulation changes described in this order take effect on the 30th day after they have been
filed by the lieutenant governor, as provided in AS 44.62.180.
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I, Kevin Meyer, Lieutenant Governor for the State of Alaska, certify that on
N owomey 20 2070 at 12:33 e .m, I filed the attached regulations according to
the provisions of AS 44.62.040 - 44.62.120.

,f%{ Lieutenant Governor Kevin w« cju/
Effective: ’D,L(gm\o(?( 20, 2070 -
Register: 29‘9.'&‘\%"‘3 20\




FOR DELEGATION OF THE LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR’S AUTHORITY

I, KEVIN MEYER, LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF ALASKA,
designate the following state employees to perform the Administrative Procedures Act
filing functions of the Office of the Lieutenant Governor:

Josh Applebee, Chief of Staff
Kady Levale, Notary Administrator
April Simpson, Regulations and Initiatives Specialist

IN TESTIMONY WHEREQF, I have
signed and affixed the Seal of the State of
Alaska, in Juneau, on December 11th,
2018.

KEVIN MEYER
LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR
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4 AAC 57.910(a) is amended to read:

(a) The division shall charge fees for each of the following services provided by the

division through the state library, in the amounts set out after each:

(1) for photographic services, the division processes requests for the duplication
of photographs from its collections using the duplication services of a private vendor; the
processing fee payable to the division is $30 [$25] per photograph, except that the processing fee
payable by a person who is a student is $1; the provisions of this paragraph apply to the use of an
image in publishing, video production, self-copy, exhibits product presentations, interior design,
digital format, advertising, or similar use, including for-profit work done by consultants or
commercial design firms on behalf of government agencies or non-profit institutions; the
processing fee is for one-time non-exclusive use; in addition to the processing fee, the person
making a request for a photograph duplication service may be billed by the vendor for the fee or

processor's cost of providing the duplicate photograph;
(2) for interlibrary loan services,
(A) for a rush request: $15 [$10] per request;
(B) for the loan of material for an out-of-state request: $20 [$15] per loan;

(C) for a request for photocopying material for an out-of-state request:
m[%lg} plus $.25 per page;

(3) for photocopying services,

(A) $.20 [$.10] per page for self-service;
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(B) $.20 [$.10] per page, plus $60 [$50] per hour for photocopying by
division personnel; for photocopying services that are subject to the fee charged under

this subparagraph, the per-hour fee is not charged for the first 10 photocopies of material;

(C)_$1 per page for color photocopies:

(D) $75 replacement fee for a lost book, which includes a $15 non-

refundable service fee;

(4) for special services rendered by the staff, the division shall charge a person

who requests special services rendered by the staff in an amount based on
(A) actual costs; and

(B) actual staff time rendered that takes into consideration the hourly cost
of the salary and benefits payable to any staff member assigned to respond to the request;
however, the charge made for staff time under this subparagraph may not exceed $60

[$507 per hour per staff member.

(Eff. 12/13/87, Register 104; am 2/24/88, Register 105; am 7/1/89, Register 110; am 5/1/98,

Register 146; am 8/28/2015, Register 215; am |7 /29/020. Register 23)

Authority:  AS 14.07.060 AS 14.56.020 AS 14.56.030

4 AAC 58.010(a) is amended to read:
(a) The admission fee to the Alaska State Museum is $9 [$7] per visit. The admission fee
to the Sheldon Jackson Museum is $7 [$5] per visit. However, during the period in the summer

months in which the Alaska State Museum and Sheldon Jackson Museum have extended hours,
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the admission fee to the Alaska State Museum is $14 [$12] and the admission fee to the Sheldon
Jackson Museum is $9 [$7]. The museums may not charge an admission fee to a person who is

younger than 19 years of age. A $1 discount is available to a visitor [VISITORS] who is [ARE]

65 years of age or older.

4 AAC 58.010(b) is amended to read:

(b) The fee for an annual pass to the Alaska State Museum and the Sheldon Jackson
Museum is $40 [$35]. An annual pass allows the holder to visit both museums without paying an

additional admission fee. An annual pass is valid for the calendar year in which it is issued.

4 AAC 58.010(d) is amended to read:

(d) For extraordinary services rendered by staff, the Alaska State Museum and Sheldon
Jackson Museum may charge for actual material costs and staff time. The charge for staff time

may not exceed $60 [$50] per hour.

4 AAC 58.010(e) is amended to read:

(¢) The Alaska State Museum and Sheldon Jackson Museum shall charge a fee for a

traveling exhibition or a special exhibition rented from another entity. The fee must be

equivalent to the museum's costs in providing the exhibition.

4 AAC 58.010(f) is amended to read:
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(f) The Alaska State Museum and the Sheldon Jackson Museum shall charge a $30 [$25]
fee for use of a photograph in publishing, video production, exhibits, product presentations,
interior design, digital format, advertising, or similar use, including for-profit work done by a
consultant or commercial design firm on behalf of a government agency or a non-profit
institution. The fee charged under this subsection is for one-time non-exclusive use and is levied
in addition to other processing and service charges. The fee charged under this subsection applies
whether the photographic image is provided by a [THE] state museum [MUSEUMS] or is made
by the user. The museum shall waive, in whole or in part, a fee for photographic use if the
director of the departmental division that oversees libraries, archives, and museums determines

that it is in the public interest.

4 AAC 58.010(h) is amended to read:

(h) The departmental division that oversees libraries, archives, and museums shall charge
a fee for the rental of space within the Father Andrew P. Kashevaroff State Library, Archives,
and Museum Building that covers the actual costs associated with hosting an event or program.
The division may waive applicable fees if the director determines that the event or program is
consistent with the mission and duties of the division, as described in AS 14.56.020,
AS 14.57.010, and AS 40.21.020. Rental requests shall be made on a form prescribed by the

department. Rental fees and requirements under this subsection are as follows:
(1) for rentals during regular business hours the fees are as follows:
Atrium Lecture Hall ~ Classroom

Base fee $75 per hour $50 per hour  $25 per

4
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hour
Set-up and
take-down for
rental period $100 per hour $50 per hour
Janitorial services $150 for events with fewer [LESS]
than 100 people in
attendance; $225 for
events with 100 or more
people in attendance ~ $150 for events
with fewer [LESS] than
100 people in
attendance;
$225 for events
with 100 or

more people in

attendance
Security services  $50 per hour $50 per hour
Facility services $100 $100
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(2) for rentals outside of business hours the fees are as follows:

Atrium Lecture Hall Classroom
Base fee $300 per hour $100 per hour $25 per
hour

Set-up and
take-down for
rental period $100 per hour $50 per hour
Janitorial services $150 for events with fewer [LESS]
than 100 people in
attendance; $225 for
events with 100 or more
people in attendance ~ $150 for events
with fewer [LESS] than
100 people in
attendance;
$225 for events
with 100 or

more people in
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attendance
Security services  $100 per hour $100 per hour  $100 per
hour
Facility services ~ $200 $200 $100 per
hour

(3) for grand piano rental - $25;

(4) for stage set-up and take-down - $150;
A

‘(QA[G)]?@(Jertiﬁcatc of liability insurance is required if the program or event will
~
be attended by more than 75 persons or if alcohol is going to be served; the certificate is

due to the division one week before a scheduled event and must meet the following

coverage limit:
(A) for all claims resulting from a single occurrence - $1,000,000;

(B) medical - $5,000;

(C) general aggregate for all claims during the policy period - $2,000,000;

(D) damage to premises rented - $300,000. (Eff. 2/20/87, Register 101;
am 10/21/89, Register 112; am 4/19/95, Register 134; am 5/10/98, Register 146; am 5/3/2000,

Register 154; am 11/26/2011, Register 200; am 8/28/2015, Register 215; am 6/14/2017, Register

222; am (L /70 /2078 Register 23©)

Authority:  AS 14.07.060 AS 14.57.010
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4 AAC 59.065(a) is amended to read:

(a) The Alaska State Archives and the Records and Information Management Services
shall charge fees for copies of records provided by the Alaska State Archives and Records and

Information Management Services in the amounts set out as follows:
(1) for photocopying services,
(A) $.20[5.10] per page for self-service;

(B) $.20 [$.10] per page, plus $60 [$50] per hour if an employee of the

Alaska State Archives photocopies the material;

(C)_$1 per page for color photocopies:

(2) for microfiche duplication, reel-to-reel microfilm duplication, microfilm
copies of microfilmed records, audio-visual records, and electronic records, the charge is the
actual cost of materials plus $60 [$50] per hour if an employee of the Alaska State Archives

provides assistance in duplicating the material.

4 AAC 59.065(c) is amended to read:

(c) If a person requests duplication of photographs from its collection, the Alaska State
Archives and Records and Information Management Services shall charge a $30 [$25] fee for
use of a photograph in publishing, video production, exhibits, product presentations, interior
design, digital format, advertising, or similar use, including for-profit work done by a consultant
or commercial design firm on behalf of a government agency or a non-profit institution. The fee

charged under this subsection is for one-time non-exclusive use and is levied in addition to other
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processing and service charges. The fee charged under this subsection applies whether the

photographic image is provided by the state archives[[ MUSEUMS]|or)is made by the user. The

Alaska State Archives and Records and Information Management Services shall waive, in whole
or in part, a fee for photographic use if the director of the departmental division that oversees

libraries, archives, and museums determines that it is in the public interest.

(Eff. 10/2/94, Register 131; am 5/1/98, Register 146; am 10/18/2007, Register 184; am

8/28/2015, Register 215; am V2 /20 /200 Register 230)

Authority:  AS 40.21.030 AS 40.21.050 AS 40.21.120



MEMORANDUM State of Alaska

Department of Law

To:  The Honorable Kevin Meyer Date:  November 19, 2020

Lieutenant Governor
File No.: 2020200419

Tel. No.:  465-3600

0s
s
From:  Sysan R. Pollard Re:  Department of Education and Early
Chief Assistant Attorney General Development Regulations - 4 AAC
and Regulations Attorney 57.910, 58.010, 59.06; Fee Increases
Legislation and Regulations Section for the Division of Libraries,

Archives, and Museums

The Department of Law has reviewed the attached regulations of the Department of
Education and Early Development against the statutory standards of the Administrative
Procedure Act. Based upon our review, we find no legal problems. This memorandum
constitutes the written statement of approval under AS 44.62.060(b) and (c) that authorizes your
office to file the attached regulations. The regulations were adopted by the Department of
Education and Early Development after the close of the public comment period. The regulations
concern fee increases for various services the Division of Libraries, Archives, and Museums
provide to the public, including photocopying and museum admission.

The July 26, 2020, public notice and the September 29, 2020, certification of adoption
order both state that this action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. Therefore, a
fiscal note under AS 44.62.195 is not required.

We have made some technical corrections to conform the regulations in accordance with
AS 44.62.125. The corrections are shown on the attached copy of the regulations.

SRP:sjw

Honorable Michael Johnson, Commissioner ’
Department of Education and Early Development

Linda Mattson, Executive Secretary
Department of Education and Early Development

Luann Weyhrauch, Senior Assistant Attorney General
Department of Law



NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES TO FEES OF THE
DIVISION OF LIBRARIES, ARCHIVES, AND MUSEUMS IN THE REGULATIONS
OF THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION AND EARLY DEVELOPMENT

BRIEF DESCRIPTION: The proposed amendments would update fees charged by the Division of
Libraries, Archives, and Museums.

The Department of Education and Early Development proposes to adopt regulation changes in Title 4 of
the Alaska Administrative Code, dealing with fees charged by the Division of Libraries, Archives, and
Museums under 4 AAC 57.910, 4 AAC 58.010, and 4 AAC 59.065. The fee increases are for a variety of
services offered to the public, including charges for photocopies, photographs, and museum admissions
and hourly charges for special services. The fee increases are necessary to offset increases in building
operating costs for the facilities of the Division.

The Department of Education and Early Development invites the public to submit written comments
during the written comment period, which begins with the date of this notice and ends on Tuesday,
August 25, 2020, at 4:30 p.m. The written comment period closes in advance of the meeting of the State
Board of Education and Early Development at which the board will consider the adoption of the proposed
regulations. This allows the Department of Education and Early Development an opportunity to prepare
changes based on written comment and to distribute any proposed changes to the board for its
consideration prior to the meeting.

You may comment in writing on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private
persons of complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to the Commissioner’s
Office, Department of Education and Early Development, Attn: Regulations Review, 801 West Tenth
Street, Suite 200, PO Box 110500, Juneau, Alaska 99811-0500. You also may submit written comments
by facsimile at (907) 465-4156; by electronic mail to rochelle.lindlev(@alaska.gov and online at the
website of the Department of Education and Early Development

at https://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfin. Written comments also may be submitted through the
Alaska Online Public Notice System by accessing this notice on the system and using the comment link.

All written comments must be received not later than 4:30 p.m. on August 25, 2020.

After the written comment period has ended, you may submit oral comments to the State Board of
Education and Early Development at a hearing to be held by the board on September 16, 2020, by
audio-conference. The teleconferencing facilities will be operated from the Department of Education and
Early Development Commissioner’s Office Conference Room, 801 West Tenth Street, Juneau, AK
99801. The hearing will be held from 8:40 a.m. to 10:40 a.m. but may be extended. To mitigate the spread
of the COVID-19 virus, in-person attendance will not be permitted.

You may submit oral comments at this hearing, during this time only, using a call-in number to be
provided for an Internet platform that has not yet been selected. DEED is currently considering a change
in the online platform to be used for its teleconferenced State Board meetings, so the call-in information is
not yet available. The call-in information, when it becomes available, will be published in a supplemental
notice. The call-in information will also be included in the public notice for the September 16, 2020
meeting, which will be published in the Anchorage Daily News and the State of Alaska Online Public
Notice System approximately 10 days before the September 16, 2020 meeting. The call-in information
may also be obtained when it becomes available by calling the Office of the Commissioner at (907) 465-
2802.



You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Rochelle Lindley

at rochelle.lindley(@alaska.gov or the Department of Education and Early Development, Attn: Rochelle
Lindley, PO Box 110500, Juneau, Alaska 99811-0500. If a question is relevant to the proposed change in
the regulations and the question is received by August 15, 2020, which is ten days before the end of the
public comment period, the department will make a good faith effort to answer the question before the
end of the public comment period. The Department of Education and Early Development will aggregate
its response to substantially similar questions and make the questions and responses available on the
Alaska Online Public Notice System and on the website of the Department of Education and Early
Development at https://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfm. The Department of Education and Early
Development may, but is not required to, answer written questions received after the ten day cut-off date
and before the end of the comment period.

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this
process, please contact Rochelle Lindley at (907) 465-6535 or rochelle.lindley(@alaska.gov not later than
August 15, 2020, to ensure that any necessary accommodation can be provided.

A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System, on the
website of the Department of Education and Early Development

at https://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfm, and by contacting Rochelle Lindley

at rochelle.lindley(@alaska.gov or 907-465-6535.

After the public comment period ends, the Department of Education and Early Development will either
adopt the proposed regulation changes or other provisions dealing with the same subject, without further
notice, or decide to take no action. The language of the final regulation may be different from that of the
proposed regulation. You should comment during the time allowed if your interests could be affected.
Written comments received are public records and are subject to public inspection.

Statutory authority: AS 14.07.060, AS 14.56.020, AS 14.57.010, AS 40.21.050

Statutes being implemented, interpreted, or made specific: AS 14.56.030, AS 14.57.010,
AS 40.21.030, AS 40.21.120

Fiscal information: The proposed regulation changes are nof expected to require an increased
appropriation.

Date: 7/21/20 — —
Karen Melin, Deputy Commissioner



SUPPLEMENTAL NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES REGARDING THE REGULATIONS OF

THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION AND EARLY DEVELOPMENT

This is a SUPPLEMENTAL NOTICE providing the call-in information needed for the public to provide
oral comment regarding the six proposed regulation changes listed below at the meeting of the State

Board of Education and Early Development on September 16, 2020. Because of a planned change in the
online platform for the meeting, the call-in information was not available at the time of the earlier public

notices.

For proposed changes numbered 1-5, below, this information is supplemental to the NOTICES OF
PROPOSED CHANGES issued on July 21, 2020. For proposed changes numbered 6, below, this
information is supplemental to the NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES issued on June 23, 2020. The
public notice of July 21, 2020, did not include the call-in information as the online platform had not then
been selected. The June 23, 2020 notice provided call-in information for the Legislative Information
Office, but that platform is no longer planned to be used.

1.

Proposed changes to update the energy efficiency code for schools - the proposed amendment
would adopt updated energy efficiency standards for school construction and renovation.

Proposed changes to update library standards - the proposed amendments would adopt updated
standards for library and information literacy.

Proposed changes on high school credit for Army National Guard military training - the proposed
regulation would require school districts to award high school credit to eligible students who have
completed Alaska Army National Guard military training.

Proposed changes to fees of the Division of Libraries, Archives, and Museums - the proposed
amendments would update fees charged by the Division of Libraries, Archives, and Museums.

Proposed changes to temporary emergency certificates - the proposed amendments would repeal
the current authority for an emergency special services certificate and would provide authority for
the issuance of an emergency initial teaching certificate and an emergency administrative
certificate if a district is unable to locate a qualified applicant.

Proposed changes to make emergency Internet upgrade regulations permanent: Emergency
regulations regarding increased Internet access for schools are proposed to become permanent.

The opportunity for written comment ended on August 25, 2020, for proposals 1-5 and on July 27,
2020, for proposal 6, but you may submit oral comments to the State Board of Education and Early
Development for any or all of these proposed regulation changes at a hearing to be held by the
board on September 16, 2020, starting at 8:40 a.m. by joining the online Zoom meeting at
https://zoom.us/j/99391482721 or by calling 1-253-215-8782 and selecting *9 on your phone’s
keypad. When public comment is over, the meeting will continue to be broadcast at the above website.

A copy of all proposed regulation changes and any material proposed for adoption by reference is
available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System, on the website of the Department of Education and
Early Development at https://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfm, and by contacting Linda Mattson
at linda.mattson(@alaska.gov or 907-465-2802. A copy of the material proposed for adoption by reference

may also be viewed at the offices of the Department of Education and Early Development, 801 West 10
Street, Juneau, Alaska 99801.



If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this
process, please contact Linda Mattson at 907-465-2802 or linda.mattson(@alaska.gov not later than
September 7, 2020, to ensure that any necessary accommodation can be provided.

After the public comment period ends, the Department of Education and Early Development will either
adopt the proposed regulation changes or other provisions dealing with the same subject, without further
notice, or decide to take no action. The language of the final regulation may be different from that of the
proposed regulation. You should comment during the time allowed if your interests could be affected.

Statutory authority: AS 14.07.020, AS 14.07.060, AS 14.11.132, AS 14.20.010, AS 14.20.020,
AS 14.56.020, AS 14.57.010, AS 40.21.050

Statutes being implemented, interpreted, or made specific: AS 14.03.015, AS 14.03.120,
AS 14.03.127, AS 14.07.020, AS 14.07.160, AS 14.11.013, AS 14.11.014, AS 14.11.015, AS 14.20.020,
AS 14.20.680, AS 14.56.030, AS 14.57.010, AS 40.21.030, AS 40.21.120

Fiscal information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased

appropriation. / éu‘u( / Luﬂu_/

Date: 09/04/20
Karen Melin, Deputy Commissioner



ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION
(AS 44.62.190(d))

Adopting agency: Department of Education & Early Development

General subject of regulation: Update Fees in Division of Libraries, Archives, and
Museums

Citation of regulation (may be grouped): 4 AAC 57.910; 4 AAC 58.010; and 4 AAC
59.065

Department of Law file number, if any: 2020200419

Reason for the proposed action:

( ) Compliance with federal law or action

( ) Compliance with new or changed state statute
( ) Compliance with federal or state court decision
( ) Development of program standards

(X)  Other

Appropriation/Allocation: Alaska State Libraries, Archives, and Museums/Library
Operations

Estimated annual costs in the aggregate to comply with the proposed action to:
Private Persons: none.

Other State Agencies: none.

Municipalities: none.

Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of
dollars): none.

Initial Year ~ Subsequent

FY 21 Years

Operating Cost $0 $0
Capital Cost $0 $0
1002 Federal receipts $0 $0
1003 General fund match $0 $0
1004 General fund $0 $0
1005 General fund/

program $0 $0

Other $0 $0



10.

1.

The name of the contact person for the regulations:

Name: Patience Frederiksen

Title: Director, Division of Libraries, Archives, and Museums
Address: Department of Education & Early Development

801 W. 10" Street, Suite 200, Juneau, AK 99811-0500
Telephone: (907) 465-2911

E-mail address: patience.frederiksen@alaska.gov

The origin of the proposed action:
(X) Staff of state agency
Federal government
General public
Petition for regulation change
Other:

Date: July 24, 2020 Prepared by: Lincla Mattaon

Name: Linda Mattson
Title: Regulations Contact
Telephone: (907) 465-2802
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mhe!l , 2020, by audio-conference. The l.‘lL'mnIurcm:hﬁ
cifitips wil bo from the of
Enrly Develepmen Commi<sipnes s oilice Canfeserice finom, A01
‘Wast Tenth Streol. Junoau, AX 99801, The hearlng will bo
from &40 arm. to 1040 a.m, but may De oxtended. To mitigato
they spread of the CoVID- 19 virus, In-person attendance Wi not
be permitted,

:]nvnllumltwnrmnunlthhlwurm his Umeonly.

Lralnga: |-In number 1o boe providod for on platiorm lhnl
istri I 1he oo, parci 30 b ‘ﬂ&‘mﬁ”éﬁ#&mﬁ.

and that such newspaper was regularly distrib- In the oniive platioem to hio used fur 1t teleconforenced Sielo

calldn inforrmation, when |t becomes avallabla, wﬁlh Bublished in

uted to its subscribers during all of said period. o supploraentol nlice Tho caln mﬂ:n‘mgg oo nclydad

That the full amount of the fee charged for the o Gnine FublNotlce Sy P 10y ok
foregoing publication is not in excess of the rate bu cotuinattvnoh |t Baconies VRIS by callg Uie Cillcg ol s

charged private individuals. Yo may m‘::r.‘:&:,&wmmf““‘ 10 the proposed

uunmmen: of Educallon and Early nwclom’nen:. nluﬂwnm
Lindlyy, PO Box 110500, lunnnu. Alaskn F9811-0500. llnum“on
Is u-Iu rﬂ w t;wrﬁrrn I ‘nn o n u:e lh nllors ond
uestion s recelve 3 4
o the end of the m oL: wu‘nent will ioke

i B falth effort In Srrawer 111& beloeo the end of the
Slgned WV f g.}ﬂﬁ:d: l| popatment of Educslinn anid Early

nmrnen
vk 1 mesnln |Il maann;n 1o, sutistan ;lmllnr
ﬂlgsllﬂm ond make the quostions and 1esponses ml
Alpska Onling Public Notliee S?m “on the wnlnhr.' nl

Subscribed and sworn to before me e ey et ol s Eadly Bovelopmont ot hiipsf
Edlltn‘llloﬂ and Edtly Dovel 1y, bt ls not required ll!.

opma
this 27th day of July 2020. e vt e b of T Covant a’p;,"i' he ton oy cutol dats

mm" Sormodaii muguer to mcuwta Iu "m’ 5 ’mm
i & oo
contact Hochetle Lindloy ol (¢ Ab5-4535 ur rm:lu'!ln Irlqu.
alas!za‘iw not later fhan August 15, 2020, lo enaue thit any
1y accommodation can be provlded

S4E:

scthha proposed regudation changes Is avallable on the Alaska

L
; e Pubilic Notlce tie wedsiie of the Dopariment of
// Educnﬂonmmw%'" fopmant ot nitpa-//odUcation atssk gous
regsfeomment.cfim, and by contacting Rochele |ingey ot rochelle
/ — & c,/ g /./ lindly@alaska gov or 907465 4535,
e e

Aftor the public comment period onds, the riment_of
Edm:nnnll and Eatly Dovelopmient will elther woﬂ 0 roposod

regulation changes or othor provisions deall e Sarm
h
%ﬂﬁary Public in and for e itk o o g M e It
usm:lr eguintion. You shiould carmment during the lime alowed
he State of Alaska. P areats couid ba Alfocted WALor COMIGANts tetehed ore

DUtlIc mcutds and are subject 1o public Inspection.

Third Division ; statutory o authorlty: AS 14.07.060, AS 14.56 020, AS 1457.010,
Anchorage, Alaska JALA L N WLING belng * made specic
P bl S 14.56,030, A 1457 010, AS 40,21 30, AS 40.21.120
MY COMMISSION EXPIR _ voae . ‘I’«iaska s!(peclted to requlre an lncr'éas"ed appropriation. EaES ol
I8! E.ofres Jul 14, 2024 Date: 7/21/20

By: /s/ i Ml
7/ /71 .5 — B o,
/ Published: July 26, 2020
77 / 7



ANCHORAGE DAILY NEWS

AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION

Account #: 270220 ST OF AK/EDUCATION AND EARLY DEV
OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER, JUNEAU, AK 99811

Order #: W0017695

STATE OF ALASKA " 51 -
THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT

Lisi Misa being first duly sworn on oath deposes
and says that she is a representative of the An-
chorage Daily News, a daily newspaper. That
said newspaper has been approved by the Third
Judicial Court, Anchorage, Alaska, and it now
and has been published in the English language
continually as a daily newspaper in Anchorage,
Alaska, and it is now and during all said time
was printed in an office maintained at the afore-
said place of publication of said newspaper.
That the annexed is a copy of an advertiscment
as it was published in regular issues (and not in
supplemental form) of said newspaper on

09/06/2020

and that such newspaper was regularly distrib-
uted to its subscribers during all of said period.
That the full amount of the fee charged for the
foregoing publication is not in excess of the rate
charged private individuals.

Signed v/

Subscribed and sworn to before me
this 8th day of September 2020.

s

Notarpf‘fib‘iic in and for
The State of Alaska.
Third Division
Anchorage, Alaska

MY COMMISSION EXPIRES

U4t

ANGELA M SIMMONS
NOTARY PUBLIC
State of Alaska
My Commlasion Explres Apr. 14, 2021

Cost: $503.02

SUPPLEMENTAL NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES
REGARDING THE REGULATIONS OF
THE DEPARTMENT QF EDUCATION AND EARLY DEVELOPMENT

Ihls Is @ SUPPLEMENTAL NOTICE providing the call-in Infarmation
needed for the public lo provide oral comment regarding the six
qu regulation changes listed befow ab the meeling of the
Stale Board of Educalion and Early Development on September
16, 2020. Because of a planned chango In the online platform for
tha meeting, the call-In | was not avallable al the time
of tha eatlier public notices.

For proposed chnngns numbared 1.5, below, this information 15
supptcmnntal lo tha NOTICES OF PAOPOSED CHANGES Issued

IT 2020. For propesed changes numbered 6, below,
II\]s Infarmation Is supplemental 1o the NOHCE OF PROPOSED
CHANGES Issued on June 23, 2020. The public notice of July 21,
2020, did not Include the call-In hlotmallnn 05 the onling platform
had not then been selecied. The june 23, 2020 notlce providod
call-in Information for the Legislative Information Office, but that
platform Is no langer planned to be used.

1 Pranosed changes lo update the energy efficloncy code for
- the proposed amendment would adopt updated energy
nrllc[enq standards for scheol canstruction and renovalion,

2. Proposed changas to update library standards - the proposed
amendments would adopt updated standards for |lh?:lnl'y and
Information teracy.

3, Propased changas an high schoal credit for Arm» XN-'!I]OMI Guiard

m]litaré lrainlng - the proposed ru§ ation would require school
districts to award high schoal credit 1o eligible students who have

completed Alaska Army Natlonal Guard military training

4, Prunosuu chanﬁws 1o fees of the Dhrlslon of Uibrarles, Archives,
and Museums oposed amendments would update fees
chargad by the nMslon uf Librarles, Archives, and Museums.

5. Proposed changas to tem| ran,r emergency certificates - the
pr amendmoents wo al the cutrent authorlty for an
emergency speclal services curli La-and would provide authority
for the ssuance of an emargency Inltial teaching certificate and an
emrﬁeedywmllislrallw certificate If a distrletis unable to locate
a qualifled applicant

PI‘O?OSQCI changes to make emergency Intermet upgrade
regu!nlons permanent: Emerﬁ:u regulalions  regarding
Increased |rnlemel access for schools are proposed lo become
permanen

The opportunity for wiltten comment ended on August 25, 2020,
for proposals 1-5 and an ulg? 2020, lo INJJroposnl , but you may
submit oral comments to Whe State Board of Education nn-u Early
Du\rnlc-prnen for ﬂg or all of these propesed regulatlon changes at

a hear ng lo be tha board on September 16, 2020, starling
al 8:40 a ;u!nln the online Zoom meeling al hitps://zoom.
tlSo‘]MJ?MS n:arling 1 253 215- 8?3[2; and sulﬁging 'Flun
your pl egpad bile comment Is over, the meall

witl conlinl.m o braadcat at the above website e

A copy of all proposed regulation r.‘hanges anu anr material
mrﬂsed for adoption by reference Is nvaﬂ'abla on the Alaska
ne Public Nollr.a Systnrn‘ on the wehsile of the Department
and al hitps:/feducation.alask
gumeg!l:omment cfrn and by conlacting Linda Matlson at linda,
mattson@alaska gov or 507-165-2802. A copy of fhe malerial
proposed for adoplion by reference may also be viewed at the
offices of the Department of Education and Early Development,
801 Wesl 10th Streel, Juneau, Alaska 99801,

Il you are a person with a disability who needs a speclal
accommodation In cn.lnr lo participate In his process, please
contact Linda Mallson at 907-445:2802 or (Inda.maltzontalaska
gav nol later than SQplember7 2020, to ensure that any necessary
accommadation can be provlded

Allor Whe public comment perind ends, the Department of

Educalion and Eardy Developmient will either adopt the proposed

regulation changes or other provisions deaEnE with the same

subject, wl’houl. further nolice, or decide to take no acllon. The

ianguage of tha fnal rnsulatlun may ba ditferent from that of the

Fl nposed regulation. You should comment duting the time allowod
Iy

c

ur Interests could be alfected,

Statutory aumorly AS 14.07.020, AS 14.07.060, AS 14.11.132, AS
14.20.010, AS 14.20.020, AS 14.56.020, AS 14.57.010, AS 40.21.050

% of made specific: AS
14 03. 015 AS 14, Di 120 AS 14 03 127, A5 i-l 07.020, A5 14,07.160,

14, 3, A5 1 'IIDM AS 1-11ID‘15 AS 14.20.020, AS
14 20, 680 AS 14.56. 030, AS 14,57 010, AS 40, 21 1030, AS 40,21.120

Fiscal Informallon: The proposed regulalion changes are not
expected lo require an Increased approprlation.

Dale: 09/04/20
8y: /s/ Karen Melln,
Deputy Commissioner

Published: seplember 6, 2020




AFFIDAVIT OF NOTICE OF PROPOSED REGULATION
AND FURNISHING OF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

I, Linda Mattson, Executive Secretary for the Department of Education and Early Development,
being sworn, state the following:

As required by AS 44.62.190, notice of the proposed regulation changes to 4 AAC 57.910; 4
AAC 58.010; and 4 AAC 59.065, update the fees in the Division of Libraries, Archives, and
Museums has been given by being

(1) published in a newspaper or trade publication;

(2) furnished to every person who has filed a request for notice of proposed action with
the state agency;

(3) furnished to appropriate state officials;

(4) furnished to interested persons;

(5) furnished to the Department of Law, along with a copy of the proposed regulation;

(6) furnished electronically to incumbent State of Alaska legislators;

(7) posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System as required by
AS 44.62.175(a)(1) and (b) and 44.62.190(a)(1).

As required by AS 44.62.190, additional regulation notice information regarding the proposed
adoption of the regulation changes described above has been furnished to those in (2), (4), and
(6) of the list above. The additional regulation notice information also has been posted on the
Alaska Online Public Notice System.

Date: 24@21@0@
Lin Mattsn, Kxecutive Secretary

Subscribed and,sworn to before me at lh!\ e ,CUU_ ; \Pf\Mta on
Ya1/r2 | ;

Notary Rublic in and for 'the'ﬂﬁate of Alaska

[STATE OF ALASKA
NOTARY PUBLIC @
Justine Bishop




AFFIDAVIT OF ORAL HEARING

I, Linda Mattson, Executive Secretary for the Department of Education and Early Development,

being sworn, state the following:

On September 16, 2020 at 8:30 a.m. via Zoom virtual platform, a public hearing presided over by
the State Board of Education and Early Development, was held under AS 44.62.210 for the
purpose of taking oral testimony in connection with the adoption of updates to 4 AAC 57.910; 4
AAC 58.010; and 4 AAC 59.065 update fees in the Division of Libraries, Archives, and

Museums.

To mitigate the spread of the COVID-19 virus, in-person testimony was not permitted.

Date: i /224 (&!:Z )

Subscribed and sworn to before me at

724/20

LinZa éattson, %cutive Secretary

T Muska .

’ T

WTM@ Mﬁ

Notary Pl&glic in and for the 'State of A%ska

ST OF ALASKA g |

L SATY TR




AFFIDAVIT OF AGENCY RECORD OF PUBLIC COMMENT

I, Linda Mattson, Executive Secretary for the Department of Education and Early Development,
being sworn, state the following:

The Department of Education and Early Development did not receive any factual or other
substantive information that was submitted orally or in writing as public comment and that was
relevant to the accuracy, coverage, or other aspects of the Department of Education and Early
Development regulation on updates to fees in the Division of Libraries, Archives, and Museums.

Date: zé;’ ?/Z Q 026
ﬂﬁﬁm(/ Mﬁvm

Linda attson ﬁ/cutlvc Secretary

Subscribed and swopn to before me at \ﬂ V\ WA ﬂ/ [ aé L ﬂ

0
skl Qmm/ %//4/1/47

Notary ublic in and for the State of Alaska

L e e e ——

cs.tA 'H OF ALASKA
| NOTARY PUBLIC
| Justine Bishop

ﬂ My Commission Expires With Office

a\‘_\ 72

oy

\q!




State Board of Education and Early Development Meeting
September 16-17, 2020
Excerpt from Unapproved Minutes

Member Hamilton moved and Member Van Diest seconded the following motion: I move the
State Board of Education & Early Development adopt the proposed amendments to fee increases
for the Division of Libraries, Archives, and Museums at 4 AAC 57.910; 4 AAC 58.010; and 4
AAC 59.065.

The motion passed unanimously in a roll call vote.



AFFIDAVIT OF BOARD ACTION

I, Linda Mattson, Executive Secretary for the Department of Education and Early Development,
being sworn, state the following:

The attached motion to adopt the amendments to 4 AAC 57.910; 4 AAC 58.010; and 4 AAC
59.065 update fees in the Division of Libraries, Archives, and Museums was passed by the State
Board of Education and Early Development during its September 16-17, 2020, meeting.

Date: ?4??/%90

<
Lindazéattson, E';gcutive Secretary

—

Subscribed and sworn to before me at \\“ \LV\Q M A (ﬁﬁk@ on

il
Toats0

M’k‘\'\‘l W«xﬂ

Notaity Public in and for ﬂﬁ State of Alaska

e

STATE OF ALASKA _
NOTARY PUBLIC B&=%
Justine Bishop 7




