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ORDER CERTIFYING THE CHANGES TO REGULATIONS
OF THE BOARD OF BARBERS AND HAIRDRESSERS

The attached eighteen pages of regulations, dealing with practical examinations, application
requirements, and a proficiency examination, are hereby certified to be a correct copy of the
regulation changes that the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers adopted at its October 5-6, 2020
videoconference meeting, under the authority of AS 08.01.062: AS 08.13.030; AS 08.13.040; AS
08.13.070; AS 08.13.080; AS 08.13.082; AS 08.13.090; AS 08.13.100; AS 08.13.110; AS
08.13.120; AS 08.13.140; AS 08.13.180; and AS 08.13.220, and after compliance with the
Administrative Procedure Act (AS 44.62), specifically including notice under AS 44.62.190 and
44.62.200 and opportunity for public comment under AS 44.62.210.

This action is not expected to require an increased appropriation.

On the record, in considering public comments, the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers paid
special attention to the cost to private persons of the regulatory action being taken.

The regulation changes described in this order take effect on the 30th day after they have been
filed by the lieutenant governor, as provided in AS 44.62.180.

DATE: 10/7/2020

DocuSigned by:

Anchorage, Alaska

mbdrdo. Chair

. BathsuraticoHedigasers

o Sumgsin 4o¢’  FILING CERTIFICATION

[, " Kevin Meyer, Lieutenant Governor for the State of Alaska, certify that on

Nove Wow (o ,2020 at 12:\\ ¢ -m., I'filed the attached regulations according
to the provisions of AS 44.62.040 — 44.62.120.

B Zape

Kevin Meyer, Lieutenant Governor

Effective: Vetmbver (o . 1odo.
Register: 23 o, Qﬂﬁﬂ\b\nﬁ YAIAR




FOR DELEGATION OF THE LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR’S AUTHORITY

I, KEVIN MEYER, LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF ALASKA,
designate the following state employees to perform the Administrative Procedures Act
filing functions of the Office of the Lieutenant Governor:

Josh Applebee, Chief of Staff
Kady Levale, Notary Administrator
April Simpson, Regulations and Initiatives Specialist

IN TESTIMONY WHEREQF, I have
signed and affixed the Seal of the State of
Alaska, in Juneau, on December 11th,
2018.

KEVIN MEYER
LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR
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Chapter 09. Board of Barbers and Hairdressers.

12 AAC 09.002(b)(4) is amended to read:

(4) pays the written [AND PRACTICAL] examination fee [FEES] established in

12 AAC 02.140;

12 AAC 02.002(b)(5) is amended to read:

(5) passes the written examination described in 12 AAC 09.056; and

12 AAC 09.002(b)(6) is repealed:

(6) repealed |2 /o /o ;

12 AAC 09.002(c) is amended to read:
(¢) The following checklist is established by the board for review of an application for a
hairdresser license by examination. A hairdresser license will be issued to an applicant who

§5)
(1) submits the documents and fees required by (b)(1), ( b%‘,\ (b)(4). [(b)(1) —

(b)(4)] and (b)(7) of this section;

(2) submits original or certified true copies of

(A) student monthly records verifving that the applicant has

successfully completed 1,650 hours of training for a hairdresser license in a school

approved by the board;

(B) student monthly records verifying that the applicant has

successfully completed 2,000 hours of training for a hairdresser license in an

apprenticeship program approved by the board:
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(C) a certification from another state’s licensing agency, bearing the
rom an icensing ag

seal of that state, that the applicant has successfully completed,in a school approved
3

by that state’s licensing agency, 1,650 hours of training for a hairdresser license that
wdudes
M&Mumber of practical operations set out in 12 AAC 09.160; or

(D) a certification from another state’s licensing agency, bearing the

seal of that state, that the applicant has successfully completed in an apprenticeship
A
2
program approved by that state’s licensing agency, 2,000 hours of training for a
ndudes
hairdresser license that included the number of practical operations set out in
aoh,

12 AAC 09.160; [PASSES THE WRITTEN EXAMINATION DESCRIBED IN 12 AAC
09.060]; and
(3) passes the written [ALL SUBJECTS OF THE PRACTICAL] examination

described in 12 AAC 09.060.

12 AAC 09.002(d)(2)(D) is amended to read:
(D) a certification from another state’s licensing agency, bearing the seal
of that state, that the applicant has successfully completed 350 hours of training,
including the minimum number of practical operations set out in 12 AAC 09.163, in an

apprenticeship program approved by that state’s licensing agency; and

12 AAC 09.002(d)(3) is amended to read:

(3) passes the written examination described in 12 AAC 09.065; [AND]
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12 AAC 09.002(d)(4) is repealed:

(4) repealed \T /0 /7020,

12 AAC 09.002(e)(2)(B) is amended to read:

(B) qualified for licensure by passing a written [AND PRACTICAL]

examination;

12 AAC 09.002(f)(2)(B) is amended to read:
(B) qualified for licensure as an esthetician by passing a written [AND

PRACTICAL] examination;

12 AAC 09.002(i)(3)(B) is amended to read:
(B) one year of practice as a licensed barber, hairdresser, esthetician, or
manicurist in this state or another jurisdiction followed by 600 hours of student instructor

training in a school approved by the board or another licensing jurisdiction; and

12 AAC 09.02.002(i)(4) is amended to read:

(4) passes the written examination described in 12 AAC 09.070; [AND]

12 AAC 09.002(i)(5) is repealed:

(5) repealed \T /L /%2000,
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12 AAC 09.002(j)(3)(B) is amended to read:

(B) qualified for licensure as an instructor by passing a written [AND
PRACTICAL] examination.

The witodockty lenguage of
A 12 AAC 09.002(0)(3) is amended to read:

(3) submits [CERTIFIED TRUE] copies of current cards issued by the American
Red Cross, the American Heart Association, or a similar organization approved by the board,

showing that the applicant successfully completed training courses in

LN ]

The niroducdocy \endvage of
~ 12 AAC 09.002(p)(3) is amended to read:

(3) [CERTIFIED TRUE] copies of current cards issued by the American Red
Cross, the American Heart Association, or a similar organization approved by the board,

showing that the applicant successfully completed training courses in

The Wmductory aagiage of

A 12 AAC 09.002(q)(3) is amended to read:

(3) submits [CERTIFIED TRUE] copies of current cards issued by the American
Red Cross, the American Heart Association, or a similar organization approved by the board,

showing that the applicant successfully completed training courses in
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The Wioduchory language of
A 12 AAC 09.002(r)(3) is amended to read:

(3) submits [CERTIFIED TRUE] copies of current cards issued by the American
Red Cross, the American Heart Association, or a similar organization approved by the board,

showing that the applicant successfully completed training courses in

Twe Whodvetory laayvage of
» 12 AAC 09.002(s)(5) is amended to read:

(5) [CERTIFIED TRUE] copies of current cards issued by the American Red
Cross, the American Heart Association, or a similar organization approved by the board,

showing that the applicant successfully completed training courses in

The ndoducdory \angoade of
»~ 12 AAC 09.002(u)(4) is amended to read:

(4) [CERTIFIED TRUE] copies of current cards issued by the American Red
Cross, the American Heart Association, or a similar organization approved by the board,

showing that the applicant successfully completed training courses in

(Eff. 5/10/96, Register 138; am 3/19/99, Register 149; am 7/23/2000, Register 155; am
7/13/2002, Register 163; am 11/27/2002, Register 164; am 12/6/2002, Register 164; am

1/14/2004, Register 169; am 10/14/2006, Register 180; am 12/24/2006, Register 180; am
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4/21/2010, Register 194; am 6/8/2016, Register 218; am 6/21/2018, Register 226; am 3/30/2019,

Register 229; am \2 /b /o020 , Register 23 )

Authority:  AS 08.01.062 AS 08.13.080 AS 08.13.100
AS 08.13.030 AS 08.13.082 AS 08.13.120
AS 08.13.070 AS 08.13.090 AS 08.13.180

12 AAC 09.005(e) is amended to read:

(e) An [EXCEPT AS PROVIDED IN 12 AAC 09.075(g), AN] application is considered
abandoned if the applicant has not taken an examination within one year after the date of initial
application. (Eff. 11/2/81, Register 80; am 4/18/82, Register 82; am 8/ 12/87, Register 103; am
9/30/87, Register 103; am 5/20/88, Register 106; am 10/16/88, Register 108; am 11/28/88,
Register 108; am 5/10/96, Register 138; am 7/23/2000, Register 155; am 11/27/2002, Register
164; am 12/28/2008, Register 188; am 6/8/2016, Register 218; am 6/21/2018, Register 226; am

3/30/2019, Register 229;am _\Z/ © /220 , Register 23 )

Authority:  AS 08.13.030 AS 08.13.040 AS 08.13.080

12 AAC 09.020(b) is amended to read:
(b) Except for the purpose of receiving an identification number as described in (a) of this
section, an applicant may not reveal the applicant’s identity to an examiner [UNTIL GRADING

HAS BEEN COMPLETED BY THE EXAMINERS].

12 AAC 09.020(c) is amended to read:
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(c) An applicant may not make a reference orally or in writing to an examiner about any
school or instructor of barbering, non-chemical barbering, hairdressing, manicuring, esthetics,
body piercing, tattooing, or permanent cosmetic coloring, or present licenses held [UNTIL

GRADING HAS BEEN COMPLETED BY THE EXAMINERS].

12 AAC 09.020(d) is repealed:

(d) Repealed |7 /b /%010 . (Eff. 11/2/81, Register 80; am 5/10/96, Register 138; am
7/23/2000, Register 155; am 11/27/2002, Register 164; am 3/30/2019, Register 229; am
{12 /6 /%% ,Register 236)

Authority:  AS 08.13.030 AS 08.13.090

12 AAC 09.025(a) is amended to read:
(a) No applicant may leave the [PRACTICAL EXAMINATION SITE OR THE] written
examination site while the examination is being conducted without permission of an examiner.

(Eff. 8/12/87, Register 103;am |2 / (o /7020, Register 230 )

Authority:  AS 08.13.080 AS 08.13.090

12 AAC 09.030 is repealed:
12 AAC 09.030. Station assigned and equipment. Repealed. (Eff. 11/2/81, Register 80;

repealed |2 / & /2020  Register 23 )
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12 AAC 09.035 is repealed:
12 AAC 09.035. Models. Repealed. (Eff. 11/2/81, Register 80; am 2/28/88, Register 105;

am 3/19/99, Register 149; am 7/23/2000, Register 155; repealed |2 /@ /7070, Register

%)

12 AAC 09.038 is repealed:
12 AAC 09.038. Computation of grades. Repealed. (Eff. 4/18/82, Register 82; repealed

\7 /6 /07, Register 230 )

12 AAC 09 is amended by adding a new section in Article 3 to read:
or apprantice
12 AAC 09.050. Proficiency examination. (a) A studenEN in hairdressing, barbering, non-
chemical barbering, or esthetics must pass a practical proficiency examination in the subjects
or aprrendice
described in (b) of this section, after the student/\ completes a course of study in a school or in an
apprenticeship program.
(b) A student or apprentice must show proficiency in the following subject areas:
(1) for hairdressing or barbering, all subjects required under 12 AAC 09.1 60(a);
(2) for non-chemical barbering, all subjects required under 12 AAC 09.161(a);
and
(3) for esthetics, all subjects required under 12 AAC 09.163(a).
(c) Verification of passing the proficiency examination in the required subjects must be

aftidagit comeieted
documented on tht}\ Wl}training Rmijﬂescribed in 12 AAC 09.130(f) for a student in a

school, or 12 AAC 09.190(k) for an apprentice in an apprenticeship program. (Eff.

IZ_/ & /20% |, Register 23%0)
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Authority:  AS 08.13.030 AS 08.13.090

12 AAC 09.056 is repealed and readopted to read:

12 AAC 09.056. Content and grading criteria for barber and non-chemical barber
examinations. (a) The examination for a barber license consists of the written examination
entitled the National Barber-Stylist Test, sponsored by the National Interstate Council of State
Boards of Cosmetology.

(b) The examination for a non-chemical barber license consists of the written
examination entitled the Barber-No Chemical Test, sponsored by the National Interstate Council
of State Boards of Cosmetology.

(c) A passing grade on the written examination is 75 percent or above.

(d) Foreign language interpreters are not allowed in the examination room. (Eft. 5/20/88,
Register 106; am 10/16/88, Register 108; am 5/10/96, Register 138; am 3/19/99, Register 149;

am 3/30/2019, Register 229;am {2 / b /7070 , Register 230)

Authority:  AS 08.13.030 AS 08.13.090

12 AAC 09.060 is repealed and readopted to read:

12 AAC 09.060. Content and grading criteria for hairdresser examination. (a) The
examination for a hairdresser license consists of the written examination entitled the National
Hair Design Test, sponsored by the National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology.

(b) A passing grade on the written examination is 75 percent or above.

(¢) Foreign language interpreters are not allowed in the examination room. (Eff. 11/2/ 81,

Register 80; am 4/18/82, Register 82; am 10/21/82, Register 84; am 8/12/87, Register 103; am
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5/20/88, Register 106; am 10/16/88, Register 108; am 5/10/96, Register 138; am 6/8/2016,

Register 218;am |7 /& /%070, Register 230)

Authority:  AS 08.13.030 AS 08.13.090

12 AAC 09.065 is repealed and readopted to read:

12 AAC 09.065. Content and grading criteria for esthetician examination. (a) The
examination for an esthetician consists of the written examination entitled the National
Esthetician Test, sponsored by the National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology.

(b) A passing grade on the written examination is 75 percent or above.

(¢) Foreign language interpreters are not allowed in the examination room. (Eff. 11/2/81,
Register 80; am 4/18/82, Register 82; am 8/12/87, Register 103; am 2/28/88, Register 105; am

3/19/99, Register 149; am 7/23/2000, Register 155;am |2 / b /%020 , Register 236)

Authority:  AS 08.13.030 AS 08.13.090

12 AAC 09.070 is repealed and readopted to read:

12 AAC 09.070. Content and grading criteria for instructor examination. (a) The
instructor examination consists of the written examination entitled the National Teachers T est,
sponsored by the National Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology.

(b) A passing grade on the written examination is 75 percent or above.

(c) Foreign language interpreters are not allowed in the examination room. (Eff. 11/2/81,
Register 80; am 4/18/82, Register 82; am 9/26/84, Register 91; am 5/20/88, Register 106; am
10/16/88, Register 108; am 5/10/96, Register 138; am 7/23/2000, Register 155; am 7/13/2002,

Register 163;am {Z /& /9020, Register 236 )

10
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Authority:  AS 08.13.030 AS 08.13.090

12 AAC 09.075 is repealed and readopted to read:

12 AAC 09.075. Reexamination. (a) An applicant who fails the examination may be
reecxamined at a future examination.

(b) To be scheduled for reexamination, an applicant shall comply with 12 AAC
09.005(d) and (c) of this section, if applicable.

(c) Atleast 30 days before the next scheduled examination date, an applicant who
fails the written examination three times or more shall provide documentation to the board of
successful completion of remedial training before the applicant will be scheduled for
reexamination. An applicant applying under this subsection to retake the written examination
shall provide documentation to the board of successful completion of at least 50 hours of
theoretical training. The applicant shall complete the remedial training in a school approved by
the board or an apprenticeship program approved by the board and shall hold a valid student
permit during the training as required in AS 08.13.180.

(d) If the applicant does not retake the examination at least one time each year during the
three years after the date the examination was first administered, the applicant’s application will
be considered abandoned and the applicant is required to reapply for the applicable examination
under this chapter.

(¢) In this section, “applicant” means an individual who has applied to take the
examination for

(1) licensure as a barber, non-chemical barber, hairdresser, esthetician, or

instructor; or

11
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(2) endorsement as an advanced manicurist. (Eff. 11/2/81, Register 80; am
10/21/82, Register 84; am 5/10/96, Register 138; am 7/23/2000, Register 155; am 12/28/2008,

Register 188; am 4/21/2010, Register 194;am 12 / b/ 7070, Register 23 )

Authority:  AS 08.13.030 AS 08.13.040 AS 08.13.090

12 AAC 09.095(a)(4) is amended to read:
(4) documents verifying that a state in which the applicant was licensed as a
barber or hairdresser required the applicant to pass a [PRACTICAL AND] written examination

to qualify for licensure.

12 AAC 09.095(b)(4) is amended to read:

(4) documents verifying that a state in which the applicant was licensed as a non-
chemical barber required the applicant to pass a [PRACTICAL AND] written examination to
qualify for licensure.

(Eff. 11/2/81, Register 80; am 10/21/82, Register 84; am 2/28/88, Register 105; am 5/20/88,

Register 106; am 5/10/96, Register 138; am 3/19/99, Register 149; am 3/30/2019, Register 229;

am _\%/ b /%020, Register 230)

Authority:  AS 08.13.030 AS 08.13.082 AS 08.13.100

12 AAC 09.105(4) is amended to read:

(4) documents verifying that a state in which the applicant was licensed as an

esthetician required the applicant to pass a [PRACTICAL AND] written examination to qualify

12
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for licensure. (Eff. 11/2/81, Register 80; am 2/28/88, Register 105; am 5/20/88, Register 106; am

5/10/96, Register 138; am 7/23/2000, Register 155; am |% / & /7ol , Register 236 )

Authority:  AS 08.13.030 AS 08.13.100

12 AAC 09.106(d)(4) is amended to read:

(4) documents verifying that a state in which the applicant was licensed as an
instructor required the applicant to pass a [PRACTICAL AND] written examination to qualify
for licensure.

(Eff. 5/20/88, Register 106; am 5/10/96, Register 138; am 7/23/2000, Register 155; am
7/13/2002, Register 163; am 1/17/2008, Register 185; am 9/24/2014, Register 211; am 6/8/2016,

Register 218; am 6/21/2018, Register 226; am _|Z / b /oW, Register 23% )

Authority:  AS 08.13.030 AS 08.13.080 AS 08.13.100

AS 08.13.070

12 AAC 09.130(f) is amended to read:

(f) Not later than five working days after completion by a student of a course of study, the
school owner shall submit to the board an affidavit showing the total number of operations,
[AND] the total number of hours of training and theoretical instruction completed by the student,

[AND] the date of completion of the course, and verification the student passed the

proficiency examination as required by 12 AAC 09.050. This affidavit will serve as

certification by the school that the student meets eligibility requirements necessary for

examination for licensure.

13
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(Eff. 11/2/81, Register 80; am 8/12/87, Register 103; am 5/20/88, Register 106; am 10/1/93,
Register 127; am 3/19/99, Register 149; am 9/15/2002, Register 163; am 10/14/2006, Register

180; am 8/10/2012, Register 203; am 4/5/2018, Register 226; am it/ 6 /202 , Register

230)

Authority:  AS 08.13.030 AS 08.13.110 AS 08.13.180

12 AAC 09.160 is amended by adding a new subsection to read:
ﬂo\ﬁ&o«&

(g) A student must pass a proficiency examinatioz}\by the school in each subject area
described in (a) of this section as required by 12 AAC 09.050, after the student completes the
course of study. (Eff. 11/2/81, Register 80; am 10/21/82, Register 84; am 2/28/88, Register 105;
am 5/20/88, Register 106; am 7/23/2000, Register 155; am 4/21/2010, Register 194; am
8/10/2012, Register 203; am 6/8/2016, Register 218; am 4/5/2018, Register 226; am 6/21/2018,

Register 226; am 3/30/2019, Register 229; am 12 /6 /2020 , Register 230)

Authority:  AS 08.13.030 AS 08.13.090 AS 08.13.110

12 AAC 09.161 is amended by adding a new subsection to read:
peovided
(d) A student must pass a proficiency examination by the school in each subject area
A

described in (a) of this section as required by 12 AAC 09.050, after the student completes the

course of study. (Eff. 3/30/2019, Register 229;am %/ & /%olo , Register 23 )

Authority:  AS 08.13.030 AS 08.13.090 AS 08.13.110

12 AAC 09.163 is amended by adding a new subsection to read:
frovided

(c) A student must pass a proficiency examinationﬁby the school in each subject area

14
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described in (a) of this section as required by 12 AAC 09.050, after the student completes the
course of study. (Eff. 2/28/88, Register 105; am 7/23/2000, Register 155; am 4/5/2018, Register

226;am I / (o /fof0 , Register 236)

Authority:  [AS 08.13.020] AS 08.13.090 AS 08.13.110

AS 08.13.030

. . . m
The section heading of 12 AAC 09.170 is mmaﬁfg\to read:

12 AAC 09.170. Theory syllabus [AND CRITERIA FOR GRADING OF

EXAMINATIONS].

12 AAC 09.170(b) is repealed:

(b) Repealed |2 / © /2020 . (Eff. 11/2/81, Register 80; am 4/18/82, Register 82; am

7/23/2000, Register 155; am |, / b/ %o%0, Register 236 )

Authority:  AS 08.13.030 AS 08.13.110

12 AAC 09.173 is amended to read:
12 AAC 09.173. Out-of-state training in body piercing, tattooing, and permanent
cosmetic coloring. (2) Training [THE BOARD WILL APPROVE TRAINING] in body

piercing received outside of this state under AS 08.13.082(d)(1)(B) will be approved by [IF] the

board if [DETERMINES THAT] the training meets the [IS EQUIVALENT TO THE

is
TRAINING] requirements of 12 AAC 09.167(a) — (c) an(}\provided by a person knowledgeable
in the applicable techniques.

(b) Training [THE BOARD WILL APPROVE TRAINING] in tattooing received

15
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outside of this state under AS 08.13.082(d)(1)(B) will be approved by [IF] the board if

[DETERMINES THAT] the training meets the requirements of [IS EQUIVALENT TO THAT

is
DESCRIBED IN] 12 AAC 09.169(a) — (¢) an(iIABrovided by a person knowledgeable in the

applicable techniques.
(c) Training [THE BOARD WILL APPROVE TRAINING] in permanent cosmetic

coloring received outside of this state under AS 08.13.082(d)(1)(B) will be approved by [IF] the

board if [DETERMINES THAT] the training meets the requirements of [IS EQUIVALENT

\s
TO THAT DESCRIBED IN] 12 AAC 09.168(a) — (c)ﬂand provided by a person knowledgeable

in the applicable techniques. (Eff. 5/26/2004, Register 170; am 4/5/2018, Register 226; am

3/30/2019, Register 229; am 12 /b / 70T , Register 230)

Authority:  AS 08.13.030 AS 08.13.080 AS 08.13.082

12 AAC 09.190(a)(1)(B)(ii) is amended to read:

(1) instruction of the minimum hours of theoretical and practical
training, specified in 12 AAC 09.160 if the apprenticeship training is for
barbering or hairdressing, 12 AAC 09.161 if the apprenticeship training is for
non-chemical barbering, or 12 AAC 09.163 if the apprenticeship training is for

esthetics, and the proficiency examination described in 12 AAC 09.050;

12 AAC 09.190(k) is amended to read:
(k) Not later than five working days after completion by an apprentice of a course of
training, the instructor in a shop shall submit to the board an affidavit showing the total number

of operations, [AND] the total number of hours of training and theoretical instruction completed

16
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by the apprentice, [AND] the date of completion of the training, and verification of passing the

proficiency examination as required by 12 AAC 09.050. This affidavit will serve as

certification by the instructor that the apprentice meets eligibility requirements necessary for
examination for licensure.

(Eff. 10/21/82, Register 84; am 8/12/87, Register 103; am 2/28/88, Register 105; am 5/20/88,
Register 106; am 10/1/93, Register 127; am 4/23/98, Register 146; am 7/23/2000, Register 155;
am 7/13/2002, Register 163; am 11/16/2004, Register 172; am 10/14/2006, Register 180; am
12/24/2006, Register 180; am 8/10/2012, Register 203; am 6/8/2016, Register 218; am 4/5/2018,
Register 226; am 6/21/2018, Register 226; am 3/30/2019, Register 229; am iZ /b /2070 ,

Register 723, )
Authority:  AS 08.13.030 AS 08.13.082

12 AAC 09.900 is repealed:
12 AAC 09.900. Examiners. Repealed. (Eff. 11/2/81, Register 80; am 5/20/88, Register

106; am 7/23/2000, Register 155; repealed 12/ % /20720, Register 236 )

12 AAC 09.930(b)(3) is amended to read:

v

(3) successfully passes the written [AND PRACTICAL EXAMINATIONS]

examination ffor the license sought.

(Eff. 2/28/88, Register 105; em am 5/20/88 — 9/16/88, Register 106; am 5/10/96, Register 138;
am 7/23/2000, Register 155; am 11/27/2002, Register 164; am 3/30/2019, Register 229; am

12 /b /20 , Register 23v)
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Authority:  AS 08.13.030 AS 08.13.140

12 AAC 09.990(a) is amended by adding a new paragraph to read:

(11) “passing a proficiency examination” means demonstrating to the satisfaction
of the examiner that the student or apprentice has achieved a high degree of competency in the
subject matter and is able to perform the appropriate practical operations without intervention by
the examiner.

(Eff. 11/2/81, Register 80; am 10/21/82, Register 84; am 2/28/88, Register 105; am 7/23/2000,
Register 155; am 11/27/2002, Register 164; am 12/6/2002, Register 164; am 7/12/2007, Register
183; am 4/21/2010, Register 194; am 6/8/2016, Register 218; am 6/21/2018, Register 226; am

3/30/2019, Register 229; am 12/ b/ ZoZo , Register 23%)

Authority:  AS 08.13.030 AS 08.13.220
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MEMORANDUM State of Alaska

Department of Law
To:  The Honorable Kevin Meyer Date:  November 5, 2020
Lieutenant Governor

File No.: 2020200485

Tel. No.:  465-3600

From:  gysan R. Pollard SRP Re:  Board of Barbers and Hairdressers
Chief Assistant Attorney General Regulation re: 12 AAC 09: -
and Regulations Attorney Removal of Board Administered
Legislation and Regulations Section Practical Exams and Other
Regulations

The Department of Law has reviewed the attached regulations of the Board of Barbers
and Hairdressers against the statutory standards of the Administrative Procedure Act. Based
upon our review, we find no legal problems. This memorandum constitutes the written statement
of approval under AS 44.62.060(b) and (c) that authorizes your office to file the attached
regulations. The regulations were adopted by the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers after the
close of the public comment period. The regulations concern practical examinations, application
requirements, and a proficiency examination.

The August 19, 2020, public notice and the October 7, 2020, certification of adoption
order both state that this action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. Therefore, a
fiscal note under AS 44.62.195 is not required.

We have made some technical corrections to conform the regulations in accordance with
AS 44.62.125. The corrections are shown on the attached copy of the regulations.

SRP:sjw

cc w/enc: Jennifer Lombardo, Chair
Board of Barbers and Hairdressers
(via e-mail through Sher Zinn)

Amy Demboski, Assistant Commissioner and Regulations Contact
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Harriet Dinegar-Milks, Senior Assistant Attorney General
Commercial, Fair Business, and Child Support Section



NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES IN THE REGULATIONS OF THE
BOARD OF BARBERS AND HAIRDRESSERS

BRIEF DESCRIPTION: The Board of Barbers and Hairdressers proposes to update regulations regarding
practical examinations, application requirements, and adding a “proficiency examination” to the training
requirements for barbers, non-chemical barbers, hairdressers, and estheticians.

The Board of Barbers and Hairdressers (Board) proposes to adopt regulation changes in Title 12, Chapter
09 of the Alaska Administrative Code including the following:

1.

10.

11.

12.

13.

12 AAC 09.002. Review of license applications, is proposed to be amended by adding the training
required for the hairdresser license application requirements, removal of the practical examination
from the license requirements, and changing the requirements for the copies of the CPR and blood
borne pathogen cards for body piercing, tattooing, and permanent cosmetic coloring license
applications.

12 AAC 09.005 — 12 AAC 09.038. These sections are being proposed as conforming amendments
for the removal of the practical examination requirements.

12 AAC 09.050. Proficiency examination, is a proposed new section to add a “proficiency
examination” for completion of the barber, non-chemical barber, hairdresser, and esthetics training
requirements.

12 AAC 09.056 — 12 AAC 09.075. These sections are being proposed as conforming amendments
for removal of the practical examination requirements, making language consistent with other
sections, and clarifying foreign language interpreters are not allowed in the examination room.

12 AAC 09.095 — 12 AAC 09.106. These sections are being proposed as conforming amendments
for removal of the practical examination requirements.

12 AAC 09.130. School records, is proposed to add verification of passing a proficiency
examination to the final completion paperwork of a student completing a course of study in a
school.

12 AAC 09.160. Barber and hairdresser school curriculum, is proposed to add a new subsection
for the requirement of passing a proficiency examination.

12 AAC 09.161. Non-chemical barbering school curriculum, is proposed to add a new
subsection for the requirement of passing a proficiency examination.

12 AAC 09.163. Esthetics school curriculum, is proposed to add a new subsection for the
requirement of passing a proficiency examination.

12 AAC 09.170. Theory syllabus and criteria for grading of examinations, subsection (b) is
proposed to be repealed as a conforming amendment for removal of the practical examination, and
to amend the section heading.

12 AAC 09.173. Out-of-state training in body piercing, tattooing, and permanent cosmetic
coloring, is proposed to be changed by amending board approval of the out-of-state training
requirements.

12 AAC 09.190. Apprentices of barbering, non-chemical barbering, hairdressing, and
esthetics, is proposed to add the requirement of a proficiency examination to the apprentice
curriculum and to the final completion paperwork.

12 AAC 09.900. Examiners, is proposed as a conforming amendment to repeal the requirements



for the examiner of a practical examination.

14. 12 AAC 09.930. Reinstatement of a lapsed license, is proposed to be amended by removing the
practical examination requirement for reinstatement of a lapsed license.

15. 12 AAC 09.990. Definitions, is proposed to be amended by adding a definition for “passing a
proficiency examination”.

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private persons of
complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Sher Zinn, Regulations
Specialist, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK
99811-0806. Additionally, the Board will accept comments by facsimile at (907) 465-2974 and by
electronic mail at Regulations AndPublicComment@alaska.gov. Comments may also be submitted through
the Alaska Online Public Notice System by accessing this notice on the system at
http://notice.alaska.gov/199190, and using the comment link. The written comments must be received
not later than 4:30 p.m., September 29, 2020. Comments received after this deadline will not be
considered by the Board.

Oral comments relevant to the proposed regulations may also be submitted at an oral hearing to be held
October 5, 2020, by video and teleconference. You may register in advance for the video conference via
Zoom at https://zoom.us/j/95993343676, or by telephone at 253-215-8782, use the meeting ID 959 9334
3676 for both video and teleconference. The hearing will be held from 9:15 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. and might
be extended to accommodate those present before 9:15 a.m. who did not have an opportunity to comment.
Callers should be on the line before the hearing begins at 9:15 a.m. if they would like to provide oral
testimony. Due to the COVID-19 outbreak, no in-person testimony or written comments will be taken at
the hearing.

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist,
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806
or by e-mail at RegulationsAndPublicComment(@alaska.gov. The questions must be received at least 10
days before the end of the public comment period. The Board will aggregate its response to substantially
similar questions and make the questions and responses available on the Alaska Online Public Notice
System and on the Board’s website at
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/Pro fessionalLicensing/BoardofBarbersHairdressers.aspx
The Board may, but is not required to, answer written questions received after the 10-day cut-off date and
before the end of the comment period.

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this
process, please contact Sher Zinn at (907) 465-1049 or RegulationsAndPublicComment(@alaska.gov, no
later than September 22, 2020, to ensure that any necessary accommodation can be provided.

A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and by
contacting Sher Zinn at (907) 465-1049 or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov, or go to
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/BAH-0820.pdf.

After the public comment period ends, the Board will either adopt the proposed regulation changes or other
provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action. The language
of the final regulations may be different from that of the proposed regulations. You should comment
during the time allowed if your interests could be affected. Written comments and questions received
are public records and are subject to public inspection.

Statutory Authority: AS 08.01.062; AS 08.13.030; AS 08.13.040; AS 08.13.070; AS 08.13.080; AS
08.13.082; AS 08.13.090; AS 08.13.100; AS 08.13.110; AS 08.13.120; AS 08.13.140; AS 08.13.180;
AS 08.13.220

Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 08.01.062; AS 08.13.030; AS
08.13.040; AS 08.13.070; AS 08.13.080; AS 08.13.082; AS 08.13.090; AS 08.13.100; AS 08.13.110; AS



10.

11.

08.13.120; AS 08.13.140; AS 08.13.180; AS 08.13.220

Fiscal Information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased
appropriation.

DATE: __ S/ 8/Ra30

Sher Zinn, Regylations Specialist
Division of Corporations, Business and
Professional Licensing

For each occupation regulated under the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing,
the Division keeps a list of individuals or organizations who are interested in the regulations of that
occupation. The Division automatically sends a Notice of Proposed Regulations to the parties on the
appropriate list each time there is a proposed change in an occupation's regulations in Title 12 of the
Alaska Administrative Code. If you would like your address added to or removed from such a list, send
your request to the Division at the address above, giving your name, either your ¢-mail address or mailing
address (as you prefer for receiving notices), and the occupational area in which you are interested.

ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION
(AS 44.62.190(d))

Adopting agency: Board of Barbers and Hairdressers — Department of Commerce, Community, and
Economic Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing.

General subject of regulation: License application, examination, and training requirements.
Citation of regulation: 12 AAC 09.002 — 12 AAC 09.990.

Department of Law file number: 2020200485

Reason for the proposed action: Update and clarification of current regulations.
Appropriation/Allocation: Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing — #2360.

Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to:
A private person: None known.

Another state agency: None known.

A municipality: None known.

Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of dollars):
No costs are expected in FY 2021 or in subsequent years.

The name of the contact person for the regulation:
Cynthia Spencer, Records and Licensing Supervisor

Board of Barbers and Hairdressers

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Telephone: (907) 465-2547

E-mail: cynthia.spencer@alaska.gov

The origin of the proposed action: Board of Barbers and Hairdressers.

Date: S/, :Pélﬂé’» Y, Prepared by: %ﬁf oo
Sher Zinn
Regulations Sgécialist

(907) 465-1049




AFFIDAVIT OF NOTICE OF PROPOSED ADOPTION OF REGULATIONS
AND FURNISHING OF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

[, Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic
Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, being sworn, state

the following:

As required by AS 44.62.190, notice of the proposed adoption of changes to 12 AAC 09, dealing
with practical examinations, application requirements, and a proficiency examination, has been given by

being:

1. published in a newspaper or trade publication;

2. furnished to every person who has filed a request for notice of proposed action with the state
agency,

furnished to appropriate state officials;

furnished to interested persons;

furnished to the Department of Law, along with a copy of the proposed regulation;
furnished electronically to incumbent State of Alaska legislators;

posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System as required by AS 44.62.175(a)(1) and

(b) and 44.62.190(a)(1);

o 2 & E K

As required by AS 44.62.190, additional regulation notice information regarding the proposed
adoption of the regulation changes described above has been furnished to interested persons and
those in (2), (4) and (6) of the list above. The additional regulation notice information also has been
posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System.

Date: /'t 5/ 7. /ﬂﬂy?ﬂ

e Bipin

Sher Zinn, Iggé]lations Specialist

Subscribed and sworn to before me at Y sneaus : Alaska on
127 ;/ 2020

(date)
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s K Ngfary Public in and for the State of Alaska
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AFFIDAVIT OF AGENCY RECORD OF PUBLIC COMMENT

I, Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic
Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, being sworn, state
the following;:

In compliance with AS 44.62.215, the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic
Development has kept a record of its use or rejection of factual or other substantive information that
was submitted in writing as public comment and that was relevant to the accuracy, coverage, or
other aspect of the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers regulations on dealing with practical
examinations, application requirements, and a proficiency examination.

Date: / O/ ’7/@&&&" ,
. d/ﬁ‘/é 21 f/.—-% 2/

Sher Zinn, Regulyiéms Specialist

Subscribed and sworn to before me at ' Si ;;;gem > 9 \s ska. on

o ]’ 2 ) 2020
(date)

LLLENT
y":e Siiry ‘,, i, i
L%, LA
X Noghry Public in and for the State of Alaska
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AFFIDAVIT OF ORAL HEARING

[, Wanda Whitcomb, Licensing Examiner for the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers, being
sworn, state the following:

On October 5, 2020, at 9:15 a.m., in room B, 333 Willoughby Ave., 9 Floor, Juneau, Alaska, I
presided over a public hearing held under AS 44.62.210 for the purpose of taking testimony in
connection with the adoption of changes to 12 AAC 09.002 — 12 AAC 09.990, dealing with
practical examinations, application requirements, and a proficiency examination.

Date: /{?/5{’& 020
/224 LetlaFsrpp L

Wanda Whitcomb, Licensing Examiner

Subscribed E?"ld sworn to before me at . )mwean y , H l&Skq.__ on
Lo / 8l Z0Z0
{date)
RULLLLL T dﬁthm &IML—Q:\
~““6°.§-§!{’7’.7c9 "0,‘ Noté'y Public in and for the State of Alaska
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Excerpt from the October 5-6, 2020, Board of Barbers and Hairdressers videoconference
meeting.

Item 12. Adopt Regulations
12 AAC 09.002, 09.005, 09.020, 09.025, 09.030, 09.035, 09.038, 09.056, 09.060, 09.065, 09.070,
09.075, 09.095, 09.105, 09.106, 09.170, 09.900, 09.930, 09.050, 09.130, 09.160, 09.161, 09.163,
09.190, 09.990

The board having considered the written comment given and that no oral comments were given, has
decided to adopt the regulations.

On a motion duly made by Michelle McMullen, seconded by Terriann Shell, and
approved by roll call vote, it was

RESOLVED to adopt the public noticed regulations with amendments to 12 AAC
09.050 taking into consideration submitted written and oral comments and costs to
the public and licensees.

Roll Call Vote
NAME YES NO ABSTAIN Not in attendance
Terriann Shell X
Shawn Idom X
Jennifer Lombardo X
Michelle McMullin X
Blake Thomas X

Cheryl Brantley X

THE MOTION PASSED BY A VOTE OF THE MEMBERS PRESENT.



AFFIDAVIT OF BOARD OF BARBERS AND HAIRDRESSERS ACTION

I, Wanda Whitcomb, Licensing Examiner, for the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers, being duly
sworn, state the following:

The attached motion dealing with practical examinations, application requirements, and a
proficiency examination, was passed by the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers during its
October 5-6, 2020 videoconference meeting.

Date: LO/ 5/ /2020 L/U{W %7// L ANA
J u/neau, Alaska

Wanda Whitcomb, Licensing Examiner

Subscribed and sworn to before me at

Ouneay , Alaska
lo]8 [ zezo .
' "(date)

on
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Nogn'y Public in and for the State of Alaska
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ANCHORAGE DAILY NEWS

AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION
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