

# Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING Juneau Office

P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Toll free fax: 907.465.2974

# Notice of Proposed Changes in The Regulations of the Alaska Board of Professional Counselors

# **Proposed Regulations - FAQ**

September 2020

# 1. What is the purpose of the proposed regulations? What will this regulation do?

12 AAC 62.130. The proposed regulations will make the continuing education requirements for applicants seeking licensure by credential comparable with the renewal requirements for Alaska licensees. The board believes that the public is most protected by well trained and qualified clinicians. In order to sustain and further develop quality competencies, licensees are required to complete 40 contact hours of continuing education every two years as part of their renewal application. The board believes that having the opportunity to have access to the instructor as well as interaction with peers enhances the learning experience and therefore requires that 20 of the hours be synchronous. In addition, the board believes that clinicians need to remain mindful of ethical dilemmas and therefore, also requires 3 of the 40 CEUs to be in ethics. Since applicants applying by credential have already obtained a license in another state, the board believes that the applicants by credential should comply with the same continuing education standards as those required of Alaska licensees.

12 AAC 62.200. The proposed regulations will increase the contact hours of continuing education from 6 CEUs to 45 CEUs to become certified approved counselor supervisor. The board believes strongly that there is great responsibility and liability in providing supervision to new master's level clinicians who are accruing their 3,000 hours towards licensure. To ensure that Alaska approved counselors supervisors have sufficient training and experience, not only as a clinician, but also as a supervisor, the board desires to increase the required number of CEUs to become certified from 6 CEUs to 45 CEUs. While this may seem like an aggressive increase, 45 CEUs is consistent with the number of CEUs required by the National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC) for Certified Supervisors. NBCC previously required 30 CEUs for certification, but, too, increased their required amount due to the gravity of the responsibility of a supervisor to guide and direct new clinicians in safe, ethical, and professional services.

12 AAC 62.220. The proposed regulations will update the supervised experience requirements, including the board will accept the hours of supervised experience, accumulated by an applicant for licensure under the supervision of a person who has not been certified as an approved counselor supervisor. The proposals will also remove outdated provisions and provide a definition for "face-to-face".

**12 AAC 62.900.** The proposed regulations will adopt the most recent version of the American Mental Health Counselors Association's (AMHCA) Code of Ethics that the board adopts by reference.

**12 AAC 62.990.** The proposed regulations will further define terms used in AS 08.29 and 12 AAC 62 by adding a definition for "synchronous".

#### 2. What are the costs to comply with the proposed regulations?

Additional cost may range from \$250 to \$500 for the increase in CEU hours. These CEUs may also be applied to the licensee's biennial license renewal.

#### 3. Do online platforms that are in real time count?

Yes, the board defines synchronous as happening at the same time; therefore, an in person or online educational experience happening in at the same time will qualify for the 20 hours of synchronous education.

### 4. Isn't increasing from 6 to 45 CEUs a large increase?

The board has spent much time comparing the supervision requirements with other states and have found Alaska to fall sorely under the level of requirements in comparison to other states. With such a significant level of responsibility, the board feels that while the increase in training requirements may reduce the number of supervisor applicants, the board believes that those willing to put forth the effort will have a strong commitment to their supervisees which will foster strong, well prepared clinicians

#### 5. When will the regulations be effective?

After public comment deadline, comments received are compiled and given to the board for consideration. The board may adopt the regulation as written/publicly noticed, may amend and adopt them, choose to take no action, or may withdraw the proposed regulations in part or in its whole. After board action, the adopted regulations goes to Department of Law (DOL) for final review/approval. DOL either approves or disapproves regulations. Once approved by DOL, it goes to the Lt. Governor for filing. Regulation takes effect on the 30th day after they have been filed by the Lt. Governor.

PCO Regs FAQ October 2020 Page 2

Do you have a question that is not answered here? Please email <u>RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov</u> so it can be added.