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ORDER ADOPTING CHANGES TO
REGULATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE,
COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

The attached one page of regulations, dealing with occupational licensing fees for professions
regulated by the Board of Massage Therapy, are adopted and certified to be a correct copy of the
regulation changes that the Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development
adopts under the authority of AS 08.01.010, AS 08.01.065, and AS 08.61.090, and after compliance
with the Administrative Procedure Act (AS 44.62), specifically including notice under AS
44.62.190 and 44.62.200 and opportunity for public comment under AS 44.62.210.

This action is not expected to require an increased appropriation.

In considering public comments, the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic
Development paid special attention to the cost to private persons of the regulatory action being
taken.

The regulation changes described in this order take effect on the 30th day after they have been
filed by the lieutenant governor, as provided in AS 44.62.180.

pate: (N 20

Jurfeau, Alaska f
L.
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(\Sa»t‘a Chambers, Director
Division of Corporations, Business and
Professional Licensing

FILING CERTIFICATION

[, Kevin Meyer, Lieutenant Governor for the State of Alaska, certify that on

;-;9 by . 4t ,2020 at 2. 34 e.m., [ filed the attached regulations according
to the provisions of AS 44.62.040 — 44.62.120.

plez /oy —

Kevin Meyer, Lieutenant Governor

Effective: MM“ t‘ML 1€, 2070
Register: 2373, 'P’Tc‘?(-.“. 1000




\
Register 222, 1&({‘?(\ 2020 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions.

The introductory language of 12 AAC 02.396 is amended to read:
12 AAC 02.396. Board of Massage Therapists. The following fees are established for

massage therapists and massage therapy establishments:

12 AAC 02.396(4) is amended to read:

(4) nonrefundable fingerprint processing fee, $60; [.]

12 AAC 02.396 is amended by adding new paragraphs to read:
(5) nonrefundable massage therapy establishment registration fee, $300;

(6) fee for each investigation of an unregistered massage therapy establishment,

1lo
$%QOO. (Eff. 8/61/2015, Register 215; am 6/14/2017, Register 222; am 2 |/ 25/ 2020,
»

Régister 23%)

Authority:  AS 08.01.010 AS 08.01.065 AS 08.61.090



MEMORANDUM State of Alaska

Department of Law

To:  The Honorable Kevin Meyer Date: February 14, 2020

Lieutenant Governor
FileNo.: 2019104243

Thew: Susan R, Pollard S Tel.No:  465-3600
Chief Assistant Attorney General
and Regulations Attorney
Legislation and Regulations Section

From: Steven C. Weaver C/y‘ Re:  Department of Commerce,
Senior Assistant Attorney General Community, and Economic
Legislation and Regulations Section Development regulations re: fees for

massage therapy establishments
regulated by the Board of Massage
Therapists (12 AAC 02.396)

The Department of Law has reviewed the attached regulations of the Department of
Commerce, Community, and Economic Development against the statutory standards of the
Administrative Procedure Act. Based upon our review, we find no legal problems. This
memorandum constitutes the written statement of approval under AS 44.62.060(b) and (c) that
authorizes your office to file the attached regulations. The regulations were adopted by the
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development after the close of the public

comment period.

The regulations establish fees for massage therapy establishments, now subject to
regulation by the Board of Massage Therapists as a result of amendments to AS 08.61.020 made
under sec. 2., ch. 10, SLA 2018 and effective July 1, 2019. The regulations establish a $300
registration fee for a massage therapy establishment. If a massage therapy establishment is
unregistered, the regulations impose a $2,000 fee on the establishment for each investigation of
the premises.

We note that these fee regulations are related to a set of substantive regulation changes
that include new regulations for massage therapy establishments (Department of Law file
number 2018201001). We ask that the set of substantive regulations be filed on the same date as
this fee regulation project so that the regulations in each project share the same effective date
(i.e., 30 days after the date of filing).

The October 27, 2019 public notice and the January 17, 2020 adoption order both state
that this action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. Therefore, a fiscal note
under AS 44.62.195 is not required.



Honorable Kevin Meyer, Lieutenant Governor February 14, 2020
File No. 2019104243 Page 2 of 2

We have made some technical corrections to conform the regulations in accordance with
AS 44.62.125. The corrections are shown on the attached copy of the regulations.

SCwW

cc w/enc: Hon. Julie Anderson, Commissioner
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Amy Demboski, Assistant Commissioner and Regulations Contact
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Sara Chambers, Director
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Harriet Dinegar Milks, Senior Assistant Attorney General
Commercial, Fair Business, and Child Support Section



Department of Commerce, Community,
of AL ASKA and Economic Development

OFFIUE OF THY COMMISSIONER
GOVERIOR MICHALL I DUNLFAYY

In accordance with AS 44.17.010, the authority and responsibility for adopting regulations, outside
of the Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office (AMCO), but for the Division of Cotporations,
Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL), undet the Alaska Administrative Procedure Act, is
hereby delegated to:

Sara Chambers

Division Ditector

Division of Cotporations, Business and Professional Licensing
DCCED

P.O. Box 110806

Juneau, AK 99811-0806

907-465-2536

L t aia L0V

In accordance with AS 44.17.010, the authority and responsibility for adopting regulations of the
Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office, under the Alaska Administrative Procedure Act, is hereby

delegated to:

Amy Demboski
Assistant Commissioner

DCCED

550 West Seventh Avenue, Suite 1535
Anchorage, AK 99501
907-269-8100

a m i@alaska.gov

This Delegation of Authority will remain in effect until modified or revoked by a subsequent
delegation. This Delegation supersedes and reyokes all delegations preceding it.

Dated the 30™ day of October 2019

S

Julie Anderson

Commissioner

Department of Commerce, Community,
and Economic Development




Notice of Proposed Changes to Fees for Massage Therapy Establishments Regulated by the
Board of Massage Therapy in the Regulations of the Department of Commerce,
Community, and Economic Development

BRIEF DESCRIPTION: The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
proposes to add a registration fee for massage therapy establishments, and an investigation fee for
unregistered establishments, to implement amendments to AS 08.61 enacted under Chapter 10, SLA 2018
(HB 110).

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development (Department) proposes to adopt
regulation changes in Title 12, Chapter 02 of the Alaska Administrative Code, dealing with new fees,
including the following:

12 AAC 02.396. Board of Massage Therapists, is proposed to add a fee for massage therapy
establishment registration, and an investigation fee for unregistered establishments.

Under AS 08.01.065, the Department must establish fee levels so that the total amount of fees collected for
an occupation approximately equals the actual regulatory costs for the occupation.

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private persons of
complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Sher Zinn, Regulations
Specialist, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK
99811-0806. Additionally, the Department will accept comments by facsimile at (907) 465-2974 and by
electronic mail at Regulations AndPublicComment(@alaska.gov. Comments may also be submitted through
the Alaska Online Public Notice System by accessing this notice on the system at
http:/notice.alaska.gov/195862, and using the comment link. The comments must be received not later
than 4:30 p.m. on November 29, 2019. Comments received after this deadline will not be considered by
the Department.

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist,
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806
or by e-mail at RegulationsAndPublicComment(@alaska.gov. The questions must be received at least 10
days before the end of the public comment period. The Department will aggregate its response to
substantially similar questions and make the questions and responses available on the Department’s website
at https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/Professional Licensing/BoardofMassageTherapists.aspx

or on the Alaska Online Public Notice System. The Department may, but is not required to, answer written
questions received after the 10-day cut-off date and before the end of the comment period.

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this
process, please contact Sher Zinn at (907) 465-1049 or RegulationsAndPublicComment(@alaska.gov not
later than November 22, 2019, to ensure that any necessary accommodations can be provided.

A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and by
contacting Sher Zinn at (907) 465-1049 or RegulationsAndPublicComment(@alaska.gov, or go to
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/M ASFees-1019.pdf.

After the public comment period ends, the Department will either adopt the proposed regulation changes
or other provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action. The
language of the final regulation may be different from that of the proposed regulation. You should
comment during the time allowed if your interests could be affected. Written comments and questions
received are public records and are subject to public inspection.

Statutory Authority: AS 08.01.010; AS 08.01.065; AS 08.61.090.
Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 08.01.010; AS 08.01.065; AS
08.61.090.



Fiscal Information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased
appropriation.

DATE: /0/B5/% v Zouin

Sher Zinn, ulations Specialist
Division of Corporations, Business and
Professional Licensing

For each occupation regulated under the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing,
the Division keeps a list of individuals or organizations who are interested in the regulations of that
occupation. The Division automatically sends a Notice of Proposed Regulations to the parties on the
appropriate list each time there is a proposed change in an occupation's regulations in Title 12 of the Alaska
Administrative Code. If you would like your address added to or removed from such a list, send your request
to the Division at the address above, giving your name, either your e-mail address or mailing address (as
you prefer for receiving notices), and the occupational area in which you are interested.

ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION
(AS 44.62.190(d))

1. Adopting agency: Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development — Division
of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing,

2. General subject of regulation: Occupational licensing fees.

3. Citation of regulation: 12 AAC 02.396.

4, Department of Law file number: To be assigned.

5. Reason for the proposed action: Compliance with state statute.

6. Appropriation/Allocation: Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing — #2360.

7. Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to:
A private person: Fee for the owner of a massage therapy establishment, $300 for initial
registration, $2000 investigation fee for unregistered establishments.
Another state agency: None known.
A municipality: None known.

8. Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of dollars): No
costs are expected in FY 2020 or in subsequent years.

9. The name of the contact person for the regulation:
Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Telephone: (907) 465-1049
E-mail: RegulationsAndPublicComment(@alaska.gov

10. The origin of the proposed action: Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing.

11. Date: /d’/;?f/? Prepared by: %&LM
Sher Zi
Regulations Specialist
(907) 465-1049




STATE OF ALASKA )
) ss.
FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT )

AFFIDAVIT OF NOTICE OF PROPOSED ADOPTION OF REGULATIONS
AND FURNISHING OF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

I, Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic
Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, being sworn, state
the following:

As required by AS 44.62.190, notice of the proposed adoption of changes to 12 AAC 02.396,
occupational licensing fees for the Board of Massage Therapy, has been given by being:

1. published in a newspaper or trade publication;

2. furnished to every person who has filed a request for notice of proposed action with the state
agency;

furnished to appropriate state officials;

furnished to interested persons;

furnished to the Department of Law, along with a copy of the proposed regulation;
furnished electronically to incumbent State of Alaska legislators;

posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System as required by AS 44.62.175(a)(1) and
(b) and 44.62.190(a)(1);

= P8

As required by AS 44.62.190, additional regulation notice information regarding the proposed
adoption of the regulation changes described above has been furnished to interested persons and
those in (2), (4) and (6) of the list above. The additional regulation notice information also has been
posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System.

Date: //ﬂ 74?/?&

Sher Zinn, Wﬁlations Specialist

Subscribed and sworn to before me at \L\n’\/h’wx : A’L on
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STATE OF ALASKA )

) ss.
FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT )

AFFIDAVIT OF AGENCY RECORD OF PUBLIC COMMENT

I, Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic

Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, being sworn, state
the following:

In compliance with AS 44.62.215, the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic
Development has kept a record of its use or rejection of factual or other substantive information that
was submitted in writing as public comment and that was relevant to the accuracy, coverage, or
other aspect of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development regulations

on dealing with occupational licensing fees for professions regulated by the Board of Massage
Therapy.

ate: o4 i
e N7

Sher Zinn, %ulations Specialist

Subscribed and sworn to before me at A\/\v\w,u\ !f{' lr&
|~ - QoD
(date)
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ANCHORAGE DAILY NEWS

AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION

Account #: 268972 ST OF AK/DEC/OCCU

Attention To: ATTN TO: JUN MAIQUIS RECE’VED
PO BOX 110806, JUNEAU, AK 99811 J
uneau
Order #: W0012153 Cost: $473.14 0CT 31 zmg
KA Notice of Proposed Changes to Fees for Massage Thera)
STATE OF ALAS Estah!lshmemg Regulated by the Board of Massgge Tnerggy CBPL
THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT In the Regulations of the Department of Commerce,
community, and Economic Development
Lisi Misa being first duly sworn on oath deposes The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic
) . Development {Department) proposes to adopt regulation changes
and says that she is a representative of the An- in Title 12, Chapter 02 of the Alaska Administrative Code, dealing
. . with new fees, including the following:
chorage Daily News, a daily newspaper. That o
R ) 12 AAC 02,396, Board of Massage Therapists, is proposed to
said newspaper has been approved by the Third add a fee for massage therapy establishment registration, and an
J d . 1 C rt A h Al k d t mvastlgadnn fee fnrunreg]stared establishments.
HESIa o OUTE, r_lc Ora,ge’ as a_’ UG It BOM Under AS 08.01.065, the Department must establish fee levels
and has been published in the English language 50 that the total amount ol fees collected for an occupation
i . ~ approximately equals the actual regulatory costs for the
continually as a daily newspaper in Anchorage, occupation.
Alaska, and it is now and during all said time You may comment on the proposed regulation changes,
i di i ntained at the af In.(;‘(lrl]‘ldgﬁg the pot%ntéil costs gg prgl:jtﬁt ,persur}a of complynlg
= wi e propose anges, sul ing written comments
W?.s printed 1n an o . ce.mamtalnc':d at the afore §° Shar “Q? f“ﬁ”’af'm% f da;" ey ,93' JsBon :1]11 g%w o by
usiness an rotessional  Licensin, 0. Box , Junead,
said place of publication of said newspaper. Business. 1_&?? o Aﬁdmm@% 4‘2593;9339""31&" il e
1 1 comments acsimile at . an electronic mai
Th?\t the anne?(ed 1s a copy of an advertlsemept & HoglaiotsArdeubl cCommonGalsca ou. ‘Camnorts oy
a{so pe submitte: rou e Alas niine C Nolice tem
as it was published in regular issues (and not in i sccesine "“,“ hos % Aic A iy BB otic f‘“ﬁs";‘
OV, . and usin e comment link. e comments mu.
supplemental form) of said newspaper on ﬁn recelved not Inte% than 4:30 p.m. on November 29, 2019.

Comments recelved after this deadline will not be considered by
the Department.

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action
to Sher Zinm, ulations Specialist, Division of Corporations,
Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau,
10/27/2019 AK 99811-0806 or by e-mail at RegulationsAndPublicComment@

alaska.gov. The qu must be received at least 10 days
befare the end of the public comment Far!oq. The Department
will aggregate its response to substantiall \l similar guestions and
make the questions and responses available on the Department's
website  at https://www.commerce.alaska, gov/web/chpl/
ProfessionalLicensing/BoardolMassageTherapists.aspx or on the
Alaska Online Public Notice System. The Department may, but is
not required to, answer written questions received after the 10-
day cut-off date and before the end of the comment period.

and that such newspaper was regularly distrib-

i ) d g 9 If you are & person with a disability who needs a special

uted to its subscribers during all of said period. _2,ﬁ°°’2-’“0““39'3}",";2‘;'1‘823””‘ o tisprocoss pleasecontact
er Zinn at - or Regulation ublicComment

That the full amount of the fee charged for the alaska.gov not later than November 22, 2019, to ensure that any

foregoing publication is not in excess of the rate FEESES Sy SEEemMERHOnS ARl pIOVeE:

: I L A copy of the proposed regulation changes Is avallable on the
charged private individuals. Alaska online PUBIic Notice Systermn and by contacting Sher Zinn
at (907) 465-1049 or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov,
or go o hllps:JMw.comrrlerce.sLaska,gmMebrpnrtalsprubf
/1/4\ MASFees-1019,pd.
Signed S After the public comment period ends, the Department will either

adapt the proposed regulation chianges or other provisions dealing
with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no
) action. The language of the final regulation may be different from
Subscribed and sworn to before me that of the proposed regulation. You should comment during
the time allowed if your interests could be affected. Written

this 28th day of October 2019, g{)?en;ﬁés pggﬁc?ﬁse;u &?osn.receww are public records and are

Statutory Authority: AS 08.01.010; AS 08.01.065; AS 08.61.090.

Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific:
AS 08,01.010; AS 08.01.065; AS 08.61.090.

Fiscal Information: The proposed regulation changes are not
expected to require an increased appropriation,

DATE: 10/25/19 ' .
By: /s/ Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist
Division of Corporations, Business and

Notary Public in and for MLASK, 4 Professional Licensing
The/State of Alaska. 0? For each occupation regulated under the Division of Corporations,
{ AR & - Business and Professional Licensing, the Division keeps a list of
THird Division A P& individuals or organizations who are Interested in the regulations
,ff O‘i of that occupation. The Division automatically sends a Naotice of
Anchorage, Alaska o W Proposed Regulations {0 the partles on the appropriate list each
me there is @ proposed change in an occupation’s regulations in

\¢ time th sed ch 'S regul

W Title 12 of the Alaska Administrative Code. If you would like your

o
§ address added to or removed from such a list, send your request

MY COMMISSION EXPIRES to the Division at the address above, giving your name, either your
N e-mail address or mailing address %zs you prefer for receiving

s . i notices), and the occupational area in which you are interested.
4 2 Jada V
. € Published: October 27, 2019




STATE OF ALASKA )

) ss.
FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT )

AFFIDAVIT OF DEPARTMENT CONSIDERATION OF
BOARD RECOMMENDATIONS

I, Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic

Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, being sworn, state
the following:

As required by AS 08.01.065(c), the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic
Development has considered the recommendations of the Board of Massage Therapy before
adopting changes to the fees in 12 AAC 02.396.

Date: {é Zéé‘éﬂ )
(s T

Sher Zinn, %g’ulations Specialist

Subscribed and sworn to before me at m AL, /“ (C. on
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