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ORDER ADOPTING CHANGES TO REGULATIONS
OF THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & SOCIAL SERVICES

The attached 2 pages of regulations, dealing with the Child Care Facilities Licensing, are adopted and
certified to be a correct copy of the regulation changes that the Department of Health & Social Services
adopts under the authority of AS 44.29.020, AS 47.32.010, and AS 47.32.030, and after compliance with
the Administrative Procedure Act (AS 44.62), specifically including notice under AS 44.62.190 and
44.62.200 and opportunity for public comment under AS 44.62.210.

This action is not expected to require an increased appropriation.

In considering public comments, the Department of Health & Social Services paid special attention to the
cost to private persons of the regulatory action being taken.

The regulation changes adopted under this order take effect on the 30th day after they have been filed by
the lieutenant governor, as provided in AS 44.62.180.

ah /e

Adam Crum
Commissioner,
Department of Health & Social Services
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I, Kevin Meyer, Lieutenant Governor for the State of Alaska, certify that on

;s Al 1M§ } , 2020, at Lﬁpm | filed the attached regulations according to the provisions
of AS 44.62.040 - 44.62.120.
- /7 1
C&MW&’J
Loy Lieutenant Governor H"‘&\ N‘; ""’g”"

Effective: Teowacy fo;’LOZO-
Register: 223, | {'h\ 9020 .




FOR DELEGATION OF THE LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR’S AUTHORITY

I, KEVIN MEYER, LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF ALASKA,
designate the following state employees to perform the Administrative Procedures Act
filing functions of the Office of the Licutenant Governor:

Josh Applebee, Chief of Staff
Kady Levale, Notary Administrator
April Simpson, Regulations and Initiatives Specialist

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have
signed and affixed the Seal of the State of
Alaska, in Juneau, on December 11th,
2018.

KEVIN MEYER
LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR




Register 233, A\‘m\ 2020 HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES

Title 7 Health and Social Services.
Chapter 57. Child Care Facilities Licensing.

7 AAC 57.350(%) is amended to read:
(f) Except as provided in the training requirements of 7 AAC 57.300 for the

administrator, and of 7 AAC 57.330 for a child care associate, a child care center, child care
group home, or child care home shall ensure that each administrator, child care associate, and
caregiver receives at least 24 hours of annual training relevant to child care and development, at

least one hour of which must be on one of the health and safety training topics identified in

(a)(4) of this section [EACH YEAR], based on the individual's hire date with the facility.

Except as provided in (j) of this section, the [THE] 24 hours must be in addition to the

orientation and training required under (a) of this section and the training in first aid and CPR
required under (e) of this section. The annual training requirements of this subsection may be
satisfied each year by obtaining college credit relevant to child care and development if

approved by the department. Approved coursework must include at least one of the health

and safety training topics identified in (2)(4) of this section.

7 AAC 57.350(1) is amended to read:
(i) In addition to meeting the requirements of (a) and (b) of this section, a part-time
caregiver working 15 hours or less a week shall complete at least 12 hours of annual training

relevant to child care and development, at least one hour of which must be on one of the

health and safety training topics identified in (a)(4) of this section [EACH YEAR], based on

the individual's hire date with the facility. The annual training requirements of this subsection

may be satisfied each year by obtaining college credit relevant to child care and development if



Register 233, _frod\ 2020 HEALTH AND SOCIAL SERVICES

approved by the department. Approved coursework must include at least one of the health

and safety training topics identified in (a)(4) of this section.

7 AAC 57.350(j) is amended to read:

(j) An administrator, child care associate, or caregiver may count up to six hours of the

orientation and pre-service training hours required under 7 AAC 57.030(a) for the first vear’s
[THAT EXCEED SIX HOURS TOWARD] training hours required under (f) of this section.
(Eff. 6/23/2006, Register 178; am 5/15/2016, Register 218; am 9/30/2018, Register 227; am < /

(o /2020, Register 233)

Authority:  AS 44.29.020 AS 47.32.010 AS 47.32.030

7 AAC 57.350 is amended by adding an editor’s note to read:

Editor’s note: A copy of the approved list of health and safety training courses may be
obtained from the Department of Health and Social Services, Child Care Program Office,
Division of Public Assistance, Frontier Building, 3601 C St., Suite 140, Anchorage, AK 99503;
telephone number (907) 269-4500, or may be viewed at that office or on the internet at

http://dhss.alaska.gov/dpa/Pages/ccare/default.aspx.



MEMORANDUM State of Alaska

Department of Law

To:  The Honorable Kevin Meyer Date:  January 6, 2020
Lieutenant Governor
FileNo.: (019200489

Tel. No.:  465-3600

AKX

From:  Qugsan R. Pollard Department of Health and Social

Chief Assistant Attorney General Services Regulation re: 7 AAC 57:
and Regulations Attorney Div. of Public Assistance: Child
Legislation and Regulations Section Care Facilities Licensing

The Department of Law has reviewed the attached regulations of the Department
of Health and Social Services against the statutory standards of the Administrative
Procedure Act. Based upon our review, we find no legal problems. This memorandum
constitutes the written statement of approval under AS 44.62.060(b) and (c) that
authorizes your office to file the attached regulations. The regulations were adopted by
the Department of Health and Social Services after the close of the public comment
period. The regulations concern minimum training hours required to comply with the
Child Care and Development Fund plan requirements. The amendments do not create
additional training requirements; they simply specify that one hour of the already
required training hours must be in a health and safety training topic. The amendment to 7
AAC 57.350(j) allows for six hours of initial-year training to count for purposes of the 24
hour annual training.

The public notice and adoption order both state that this action is not expected to
require an increased appropriation. Therefore, a fiscal note under AS 44.62.195 is not
required.

We have made some technical corrections to conform the regulations in

accordance with AS 44.62.125. The corrections are shown on the attached copy of the
regulations.

SRP:sjw



Honorable Kevin Meyer, Lieutenant Governor January 6, 2020
Re: 7 AAC 57: Div. of Public Assistance: Child Care Facilities Licensing Page 2 of 2

cc:  Honorable Adam Crum, Commissioner,
Department of Health and Social Services

Triptaa Surve, Regulations Contact
Department of Health and Social Services

Stacie Collier, Child Care Licensing Program Manager
Department of Health and Social Services

Kimberly Allen, Assistant Attorney General
Human Services Section



NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES ON CHILD CARE FACILITIES LICENSING
IN THE REGULATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & SOCIAL SERVICES

BRIEF DESCRIPTION

The Department of Health & Social Services proposes to change regulations on child care
facilities licensing related to annual health and safety training requirements for child care
providers.

The Department of Health & Social Services proposes to adopt regulation changes in Title 7 of the Alaska
Administrative Code, dealing with Child Care Facilities Licensing, including the following:

e 7 ACC 57.350. Orientation and training, is proposed to be changed as follows: clarify annual health
and safety training requirements for child care providers.

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private persons of
complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to the Department of Health &
Social Services, Child Care Program Office, 3601 C St., Suite 140, Anchorage, AK 99503. Additionally, the
Department of Health & Social Services will accept comments by facsimile at (907) 269-4536 and by
electronic mail at nicole.fritz@alaska.gov . The comments must be received not later than 5 p.m. on August
29, 2019.

Oral or written comments also may be submitted at a hearing to be held on August 15, 2019, at conference
room 890, 3601 C Street, Anchorage, AK 99503. The hearing will be held from 1:00 p.m. to 3 p.m. and
might be extended to accommodate those present before 3 p.m. who did not have an opportunity to
comment. If you are unable to attend in person, but would like to comment during the oral public hearing,
you can call the teleconference number 1-800-707-7427 (Toll Free).

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Ms. Nicole Fritz by e-mail at
nicole.fritz@alaska.gov or at the Department of Health & Social Services, Child Care Program Office, 3601
C St., Suite 140, Anchorage, AK 99503. The questions must be received at least 10 days before the end of
the public comment period. The Department of Health & Social Services will aggregate its response to
substantially similar questions and make the questions and responses available on the Alaska Online
Public Notice System at https://aws.state.ak.us/OnlinePublicNotices/ and its website at
http://dhss.alaska.qov/dpa/Pages/ccare/default.aspx .

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this
process, please contact Nicole Fritz at nicole.fritz@alaska.gov or by telephone at (907) 269-7667 not later
than June 10, 2019, to ensure that any necessary accommodations can be provided.

A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and by
contacting Nicole Fritz at nicole fritz@alaska.qgov or by telephone at (907) 269-7667.




A copy of material proposed for adoption by reference is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System
and may be viewed at the agency's office at the Department of Health & Social Services, Child Care Program
Office, 3601 C St., Suite 140, Anchorage, AK 99503.

After the public comment period ends, the Department of Health & Social Services will either adopt the
proposed regulation changes or other provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or
decide to take no action. The language of the final regulation may be different from that of the proposed
regulation. You should comment during the time allowed if your interests could be affected. Written
comments received are public records and are subject to public inspection.

Statutory authority: AS 44.29.020; AS 47.32.010; AS 47.32.030.

Statutes being implemented, interpreted, or made specific: AS 44.29.020; AS 47.32.010; AS
47.32.030.

Fiscal information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased
appropriation.

The Department of Health & Social Services, Division of Public Assistance, Child Care Program Office,
keeps a list of individuals and organizations interested in its regulations. Those on the list will automatically
be sent a copy of all of the Division of Public Assistance, Child Care Program Office notices of proposed
regulation changes. To be added to or removed from the list, send a request to the Department of Health &
Social Services, Division of Public Assistance, Child Care Program Office at nicole.fritz@alaska.gov , giving
your name, and either your e-mail address or mailing address, as you prefer for receiving notices.

DATE: ;ﬂ/w H/; Wﬂl %/ % L—f

Adam Crum
Commissioner,
Department of Health & Social Services




NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES ON CHILD CARE FACILITIES LICENSING
IN THE REGULATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH & SOCIAL SERVICES

The Department of Health & Social Services proposes to adopt regulation changes in Title 7 of the Alaska
Administrative Code, dealing with Child Care Facilities Licensing, including the following:

e 7 ACC 57.350. Orientation and training, is proposed to be changed as follows: clarify annual health
and safety training requirements for child care providers.

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private persons of
complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to the Department of Health &
Social Services, Child Care Program Office, 3601 C St., Suite 140, Anchorage, AK 99503. Additionally, the
Department of Health & Social Services will accept comments by facsimile at (907) 269-4536 and by
electronic mail at nicole.fritz@alaska.gov . The comments must be received not later than 5 p.m. on August
29, 2019.

Oral or written comments also may be submitted at a hearing to be held on August 15, 2019, at conference
room 890, 3601 C Street, Anchorage, AK 99503. The hearing will be held from 1:00 p.m. to 3 p.m. and
might be extended to accommodate those present before 3 p.m. who did not have an opportunity to
comment. If you are unable to attend in person, but would like to comment during the oral public hearing,
you can call the teleconference number 1-800-707-7427 (Toll Free).

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Ms. Nicole Fritz by e-mail at
nicole.fritz@alaska.gov or at the Department of Health & Social Services, Child Care Program Office, 3601
C St., Suite 140, Anchorage, AK 99503. The questions must be received at least 10 days before the end of
the public comment period. The Department of Health & Social Services will aggregate its response to
substantially similar questions and make the questions and responses available on the Alaska Online
Public Notice System at https://aws.state.ak.us/OnlinePublicNotices/ and its website at
http://dhss.alaska.gov/dpa/Pages/ccare/default.aspx .

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this
process, please contact Nicole Fritz at nicole.fritz@alaska.qov or by telephone at (907) 269-7667 not later
than June 10, 2019, to ensure that any necessary accommodations can be provided.

A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and by
contacting Nicole Fritz at nicole.fritz@alaska.gov or by telephone at (907) 269-7667.

A copy of material proposed for adoption by reference is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System
and may be viewed at the agency's office at the Department of Health & Social Services, Child Care Program
Office, 3601 C St., Suite 140, Anchorage, AK 99503.

After the public comment period ends, the Department of Health & Social Services will either adopt the
proposed regulation changes or other provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or
decide to take no action. The language of the final regulation may be different from that of the proposed
regulation. You should comment during the time allowed if your interests could be affected. Written
comments received are public records and are subject to public inspection.



Statutory authority: AS 44.29.020; AS 47.32.010; AS 47.32.030.

Statutes being implemented, interpreted, or made specific: AS 44.29.020; AS 47.32.010; AS
47.32.030.

Fiscal information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased
appropriation.

The Department of Health & Social Services, Division of Public Assistance, Child Care Program Office,
keeps a list of individuals and organizations interested in its regulations. Those on the list will automatically
be sent a copy of all of the Division of Public Assistance, Child Care Program Office notices of proposed
regulation changes. To be added to or removed from the list, send a request to the Department of Health &
Social Services, Division of Public Assistance, Child Care Program Office at nicole.fritz@alaska.gov , giving
your name, and either your e-mail address or mailing address, as you prefer for receiving notices.

DATE: /ﬁVW v, W //% o

T ' Adarf Cfum
Commissioner,
Department of Health & Social Services
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ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION
(AS 44.62.190(d))

Adopting agency:_Department of Health & Social Services.
General subject of regulation: Child Care Faciliies Licensing.
Citation of regulation (may be grouped): 7 AAC 57.
Department of Law file number, if any: 2019200489.

Reason for the proposed action:

(X)  Compliance with federal law or action (identify): Child Care & Development Block Grant Act
of November 2014

Compliance with new or changed state statute
Compliance with federal or state court decision (identify):
Development of program standards

Other (identify):

Appropriation/Allocation:_N/A

Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to:

Estimated annual costs will vary depending on health and safety training and certification,
administrator oversight of one (1) child care facility only, continuing education requirement, child-to-
caregiver ratio, and a provider establishing their own business practices.

A private person: $0.
Another state agency:_$0.
A municipality: $0.

Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of dollars): $0.

Initial Year Subsequent

FY Years

Operating Cost $ $
Capital Cost $ $
1002 Federal receipts $ $
1003 General fund match $ $
1004 General fund $ $
1005 General fund/

program $ $
Other (identify) $ $




10.

11.

The name of the contact person for the regulation:

Name:_Nicole Fritz

Title:_Program Coordinator |

Address:_3601 C Street, Suite 140, Anchorage AK 99516.
Telephone:_{907) 269-7667

E-mail address: nicole.fritz@alaska.qov

The origin of the proposed action:

Staff of state agency

Federal government

General public

Petition for regulation change
Other (identify):

j||I><I><

Date:\)u.hq‘ | QO Prepared by: L/I/IMJ /iﬂ/‘?‘?
[signatﬁ're] L/
Name (printed); _I\h(‘,(':u Fridz
Tite printed)._Proowvoun _Coovdinocbiov |
Telephone;_ ClOA~> Qe - A lalo\
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STATE OF ALASKA
THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT

Joleesa Stepetin being first duly swormn on oath
deposes and says that she is a representative of
the Anchorage Daily News, a daily newspaper.
That said newspaper has been approved by the
Third Judicial Court, Anchorage, Alaska, and
it now and has been published in the English
language continually as a daily newspaper in
Anchorage, Alaska, and it is now and during all
said time was printed in an office maintained at
the aforesaid place of publication of said news-
paper. That the annexed is a copy of an adver-
tisement as it was published in regular issues
(and not in supplemental form) of said new

07/17/2019 - 07/17/2019

and that such newspaper was regularly distrib-
uted to its subscribers during all of said period.
That the full amount of the fee charged for the
foregoing publication is not in excess of the rate
charged private individuals.

Signed QM%{%&

Subscribe'dJand sworn to before me
this 17th day of July 2019.

tary Public in and for
¢ State of Alaska.

/Third Division
Anchorage, Alaska
MY COMMISSION EXPIRES
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%
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES ON CHILD CARE FACILITIES
LICENSING IN THE REGULATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF
HEALTH & SOCIAL SERVICES

The Department of Health & Social Services proposes to a%g:t
regulation chanFes in Title 7 of the Alaska Administrative Code,
dealing with Child Care Facllities Licensing, including the following:

7 ACC 57.350. Orientation and training, is proposed to be
changed as follows: clarify annual health and safety training
requirements for child care providers.

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including
the potential costs to private persons of complying with the
oposed changes, by submitting written comments to the
gﬁpﬂﬂment of Health & Social Services, Child Care Program
Office, 3601 C St., Suite 140, Anchorage, AK 99503. Additionally,
the Departrment of Health & Social Services will accept comments
facsimile at (907) 269-4536 and by electronic mall at nicole.
fritz@alaska.gov . The comments must be received not later than
5 p.m. on August 29, 2019.

Oral or written comments also may be submitted at a hearing to be
held on August 15, 2019, at conference room 890, 3601 C Street,
Anchorape, AK 99503, The hearing will be held from 1:00 pm. to
3 p.m. and might be extended to accommodate those present
before 3 p.m. did not have an apportunity to comment. If you
are unable to attend in person, but would like to comment during
the oral public hearing, you can call the teleconference number
1-800-707-7427 (Toll Free),

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed
action to Ms. Nicole Fritz by e-mall at nicole.fritz@alaska.gov or at
the Department of Health & Social Services, Child Care Program
Office, 3601 C St., Suite 140, Anchorage, AK $9503. The questions
must be re-:e;ved at least 10 days before the end of the public
comment period, The Department of Health & Social Services will
aggregate its response to substantially similar questions and make
the questions and responses avalilable on the Alaska Online Public
Notice System at https://faws.state.ak.us/OnlinePublicNotices/
gn? Iitts website at http.//dhss.alaska.gov/dpa/Pages/ceare/
efault.aspx .

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special
accommodation in order to participate in this process, please
contact Nicole Fritz at nicole.fritz@alaska.gov or by telephone at
(907) 269-7667 not later than Augsl &, 2019, to ensure that any
necessary accommodations can be provided,

A copy of the proposed regulation changes s avallable on the
Alaska Online Public Notice System and by contacting Nicole Fritz
at nicole.fritz@alaska.gov or by teIePhone at (907) 269-7667. A
ct:;:¥| of material proposed for adoption by reference is avallable
on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and may be viewed at
the agency’s office at the Department of Health & Social Services,
ggggaca:e Program Office, 3601 C St., Suite 140, Anchorage, AK

After the public comment period ends, the Department of Health &
Social Services will either adopt the proposed regulation changes
or other provisions dealing with the same subject, without further
notice, or decide to take no action. The language of the final
regulation may be different from that of the proposed regulation.
You should comment during the time allowed if your interests
could be affected. Written comments received are public records
and are subject to public inspection,

Statutory authority: AS 44.29.020; AS 47.32.010; AS 47.32.030.

Statutes belng implemented, Interpreted, or made speclfic:
AS 44.29.020; AS 47.32.010; AS 47.32.030.

Fiscal information: The proposed regulation changes are not
expected to require an increased appropriation.

The Department of Health & Soclal Services, Division of Public
Assistance, Child Care Program Office, keeps a list of individuals
and organizations interested in its regulations, Those on the list
will automatically be sent a copy of all of the Division of Public
Assistance, Child Care Program Office notices of proposed
regulation changes. To be added to or removed from the list, send
a request to the Department of Health & Soclal Services, Division
of Public Assistance, Child Care Pri m Office at nicole.fritz@
alaska.gov , giving your name, and either your e-mall address or
malling address, as you prefer for recelving notices.

DATE: July 12, 2019,

/s/adam Crum

Commissioner,

Department of Health & Social Services.

PUBLISHED: JULY 17, 2019




AFFIDAVIT OF NOTICE OF PROPOSED REGULATION
AND FURNISHING OF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

I, Nicole Fritz, Program Coordinator I, of the Department of Health & Social Services, being sworn, state the

following:

As required by AS 44.62.190, notice of the proposed adoption of changes to 7 AAC 57. Child Care
Facilities Licensing, has been given by being

(1)
(2)

O O b~ w

~J

published in a newspaper or trade publication;

furnished to every person who has filed a request for notice of proposed action with the state
agency;

furnished to appropriate state officials;

furnished to interested persons;

furnished to the Department of Law, along with a copy of the proposed regulation;

furnished electronically to incumbent State of Alaska legislators;

posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System as required by AS 44.62.175(a)(1) and (b)
and 44.62.190(a)(1).

As required by AS 44.62.190, additional regulation notice information regarding the proposed adoption of
the regulation changes described above has been furnished to interested persons and those in (2), (4) and
(6) of the list above. The additional regulation notice information also has been posted on the Alaska Online
Public Notice System.

Date:

al|a)iq

on

Nicole Fritz, Progra Coofdihator |

2. Aot 4

Subscribed and sworn to before me at Mmr&l,o N WQA

(date)

ISTATE OF ALASKA
NOTARY PUBLIC ;—.@?

\s ”
m(?ml Ia@lro@ Qm

Notary Public in and for the State of Alaska

Pl b e i e



AFFIDAVIT OF ORAL HEARING

I, Nicole Fritz, Program Coordinator I, of the Department of Health & Social Services, being sworn, state the
following:

On August 15, 2019, at 1:00 p.m. in room 890, Department of Health & Social Services, 3601 C Street,
Anchorage, AK 99503, | presided over a public hearing held under AS 44.62.210 for the purpose of taking
testimony in connection with the adoption of changes to 7 AAC 57. Child Care Facilities Licensing.

pae: 11D ] [
] i A i,

Nicole Fritz, Program Goortfinator |

Subscribed and sworn to before me at &N\J/Qomge . @ﬂmﬁﬂl
on wa/r 12, 2209 :

e LY
S'IATE OF ALASI“(“A""--—-..

NOTARY PUBLIc A2

Lewls uly
T wL]
o C”T’IL@M 21168 With Ofeg

At o

Notary Public in and for the State of Alaska




AFFIDAVIT OF AGENCY RECORD OF PUBLIC COMMENT

I, Nicole Fritz, Program Coordinator |, of the Department of Health & Social Services, being sworn, state the
following:

In compliance with AS 44.62.215, the Department of Health & Social Services has kept a record of its use
or rejection of factual or other substantive information that was submitted in writing and orally as public
comment and that was relevant to the accuracy, coverage, or other aspect of the Department of Health &
Social Services regulation on 7 AAC 57. Child Care Facilities Licensing.

Date: q/ [91 [01

H/W P JN
Nicole Fritz, Prograni Cordinator |

A 12, 2619
(date)

on

Subscribzd and sworn to before me at Mmﬁm ! &Ocu.Qa

STATE OF ALASKA
NOTARY PUBLI Notary Public in and for the State of Alaska
Lewls sl.NWﬁilig :

My Commission Expires With Offiee




