



Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING Juneau Office

> P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Toll free fax: 907.465.2974

December 9, 2019

Dear licensees and interested parties:

Alaska's professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL) to "annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation." Alaska's licensing fee statutes go on to say, "If the review indicates that an occupation's fee collections and regulatory costs are not approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations...to implement the adjustments."

The division conducted a thorough fee analysis and proposes a <u>decrease</u> in licensing fee amounts for the Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy program to comply with the AS 08.01.065. The board reviewed the fee analysis and after careful discussion on their meeting on October 4, 2019, the board determined to accept the recommended proposed fee decrease by the division. The division has been able to hold down costs, administering the program at far less expense than anticipated. To that end, we recommend reducing licensing fees this time. The proposed fee amounts are enclosed and can also be found on the program's web page at: http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/PhysicalTherapyOccupationalTherapy

This fee proposal is entering a public comment period. The division encourages all licensees and interested parties to comment on this proposal through the division's regulations specialist. After the comment period closes and the division reviews all comments received, the division may adopt the regulation as drafted, may amend a proposed fee, or may withdraw the regulations in part or in whole.

All comments received will be reviewed and taken into consideration prior to adopting the final regulations. The final decision will result in fee implementation prior to the upcoming license renewal. Follow the instructions enclosed to make written comments during the public comment period. Comments must be addressed to CBPL Regulations Specialist, PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 or regulationsandpubliccomment@alaska.gov.

Sincerely,

Java Chamber

Sara Chambers Division Director

Register ______ 2020 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions.

(Words in **boldface and underlined** indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.

12 AAC 02.320 is amended to read:

12 AAC 02.320. State Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy Board. The

following fees are established for physical therapists, physical therapy assistants, occupational therapists, and occupational therapy assistants:

(1) application fee for initial license, \$150;

(2) license fee for physical or occupational therapist for all or part of the initial

biennial license period, <u>**\$200**</u> [\$240];

(3) biennial license renewal fee for physical or occupational therapist, <u>\$200</u>

[\$240];

(4) temporary permit fee, \$65;

(5) limited permit fee, \$65;

(6) license fee for physical or occupational therapy assistant for all or part of the initial biennial license period, <u>\$130</u> [\$175];

(7) biennial license renewal fee for physical or occupational therapy assistant,

<u>\$130</u> [\$175]. (Eff. 11/20/86, Register 100; am 10/1/88, Register 107; am 5/20/92, Register 122;

am 5/28/93, Register 126; am 3/12/98, Register 145; am 10/28/2000, Register 156; am 6/4/2008,

Register 186; am 6/11/2010, Register 194; am 5/18/2014, Register 210; am 6/16/2016, Register

218; am ___/___, Register ___)

Authority: AS 08.01.065 AS 08.84.050