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ORDER ADOPTING CHANGES TO
REGULATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE,
COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

The attached two pages of regulations, dealing with occupational licensing fees for professions
regulated by the Real Estate Commission, are adopted and certified to be a correct copy of the
regulation changes that the Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development
adopts under the authority of AS 08.01.065 and AS 08.88.221, and after compliance with the
Administrative Procedure Act (AS 44.62), specifically including notice under AS 44.62.190 and
44.62.200 and opportunity for public comment under AS 44.62.210.

This action is not expected to require an increased appropriation.

Although no public comments were received, the Department of Commerce, Community, and
Economic Development paid special attention to the cost to private persons of the regulatory action
being taken.

The regulation changes described in this order take effect on the 30th day after they have been
filed by the lieutenant governor, as provided in AS 44.62.180.

DATE: 4‘_@(4 {q
Juneau, Alaska

A_ AA /'1 iLAL
g bers, Director

»vision of Corporations, Business and
Professional Licensing

FILING CERTIFICATION
oo Samggon fol

I,A' Kevin Meyer, Lieutenant Governor for the State of Alaska, certify that on
Othiver 79 ,2019 at_|(: 7o a.m., I filed the attached regulations according
to the provisions of AS 44.62.040 — 44.62.120.

foe Kevin Meyer, Lieutenant Governor

Effective: NNMW Z%, 70\9
Register: @%Zl'rl\\w«/b\} 2070 .




FOR DELEGATION OF THE LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR’S AUTHORITY

I, KEVIN MEYER, LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR OF THE STATE OF ALASKA,
designate the following state employees to perform the Administrative Procedures Act
filing functions of the Office of the Lieutenant Governor:

Josh Applebee, Chief of Staff
Kady Levale, Notary Administrator
April Simpson, Regulations and Initiatives Specialist

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have
signed and affixed the Seal of the State of
Alaska, in Juneau, on December 11th,
2018.

---------------------------------------------------

KEVIN MEYER
LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR




Register 252 . {aavasl 2020 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS
.

12 AAC 02.360(a) is amended to read:
Iﬁmw) The following fees are established for

real estate salespersons, associate brokers, and brokers:

(1) license fee, for all or part of the initial biennial license period, whether
licensure is by examination or endorsement, $140 [$200];

(2) biennial license renewal fee for both active and inactive licenses,
$140 [$200];

(3) fee for office changes, including change of broker and company name, $120
[$75] for each license;

(4) transfer of license fee, $225;

(5) application fee for initial license, $200;

(6) initial office registration fee, $200 [$225];

(7) license inactivation or reactivation fee, $150;

(8) duplicate license fee, $20 [$50];

(9) name change fee, $75;

(10) post-license education certification and new license document fee, $50 [$30];

(11) reinstatement fee for a lapsed license, $225 [$275].

12 AAC 02.360(b) is amended to read:
(b) The following fees are established for real estate education course certification and
instructor approval:
(1) initial course certification fee, $50 [$30] per credit hour;

(2) biennial course recertification fee, $30 [$25] per credit hour;



Register 230 Naavwy 2020 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

(3) instructor approval fee, $200 per instructor;

(4) temporary instructor approval fee, $250 per instructor;

(5) instructor approval recertification fee, $100.
(Eff. 3/6/91, Register 117; am 5/28/93, Register 126; am 6/5/94, Register 130; am 11/10/95,
Register 136; am 11/22/97, Register 144; am 12/28/97, Register 144; am 11/6/99, Register 152;
am 10/28/2000, Register 156; am 10/20/2001, Register 160; am 12/2/2005, Register 176; am
1/1/2006, Register 176; am 1/1/2010, Register 192; am 5/28/2011, Register 198; am 9/17/2011,
Register 199; am 1/8/2012, Register 201; am 11/30/2013, Register 208; am 10/24/2015, Register
216; am 12/08/2017, Register 224; am _\(_ /26 /70\4 , Register 232 )

Authority:  AS 08.01.065 AS 08.88.221



MEMORANDUM State of Alaska

Department of Law

To:  The Honorable Kevin Meyer Date:  Qctober 22, 2019

Lieutenant Governor
FileNo.: 2019200681

Tel. No.:  465-3600

From:  Sysan R. Pollard@W Re:  Department of Commerce,
Chief Assistant Attorney General Community, and Economic
and Regulations Attorney Development Regulation re: 12 AAC
Legislation and Regulations Section 02.360: Real Estate Commission

license fees

The Department of Law has reviewed the attached regulations of the Department of
Commerce, Community, and Economic Development against the statutory standards of the
Administrative Procedure Act. Based upon our review, we find no legal problems. This
memorandum constitutes the written statement of approval under AS 44.62.060(b) and (c) that
authorizes your office to file the attached regulations. The regulations were adopted by the
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development after the close of the public
comment period. The regulations concern occupational licensing fees for professions regulated
by the Real Estate Commission. Please note that the department wishes to have these regulations
in effect by December 1, 2019.

The August 26, 2019, public notice and the October 1, 2019, adoption order both state
that this action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. Therefore, a fiscal note
under AS 44.62.195 is not required.

We have made a technical correction to conform the regulations in accordance with
AS 44.62.125. The correction is shown on the attached copy of the regulations.

SRP:sjw



Honorable Kevin Meyer, Lieutenant Governor

Our File No. 2019200681

CcC:

Honorable Julie Anderson, Commissioner

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development
Sara Chambers, Division Director

Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development
Amy Demboski, Assistant Commissioner

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development
Glenn Hoskinson, Special Assistant to the Commissioner

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development
Nancy Harris, Acting Executive Administrator

Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development
Peggy Ann McConnochie, Chair

Real Estate Commission

(via e-mail through Sher Zinn)
Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist

Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development
Debbie Morgan, Regulations Contact

Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development
Harriet Milks, Assistant Attorney General

Department of Law

October 22, 2019
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THE STATE

Deparumnent of Commerce, Community,
GfAj I ASKA and Economic Development
]

OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER
GOVERIOR MICHAEL ] DUNIEAVY

In accordance with AS 44.17.010, the authority and responsibility for adopting regulations, outside
of the Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office (AMCO), but for the Division of Corporations,

Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL), under the Alaska Administrative Procedure Act, 15
hereby delegated to:

Sata Chambers

Division Director

Division of Cotporations, Business and Professional Licensing
DCCED

P.O. Box 110806

Juneau, AK 99811-0806

907-465-2536

sara.chambers(@alaska.goy

In accordance with AS 44.17.010, the authority and responsibility for adopting regulations of the

Alcohol and Marijuana Control Office, under the Alaska Administrative Procedure Act, is hereby
delegated to:

Shawn Williams

Assistant Commissioner

DCCED

550 West Seventh Avenue, Suite 1535
Anchorage, AK 99501

907-269-8100

This Delegation of Authority will remain in effect until modified or revoked by a subsequent
delegation. This Delegation supersedes and revokes all delegations preceding it.

Dated the 30" day of April, 2019

A2 -

Julie Andetson

Commissioner

Department of Commerce, Community
and Economic Development




NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES TO LICENSING FEES FOR PROFESSIONS
REGULATED BY THE REAL ESTATE COMMISSION IN THE REGULATIONS OF
THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE,

COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

BRIEF DESCRIPTION: The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
proposes to change occupational license fees charged to occupations regulated by the Real Estate
Commission.

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development (Department) proposes to adopt
regulation changes in Title 12, Chapter 02 of the Alaska Administrative Code, dealing with occupational
licensing fees for professions regulated by the Real Estate Commission, including the following:

12 AAC 02.360. Real Estate Commission, is proposed to be changed to alter the license and biennial
renewal fees for real estate salespersons, brokers, and associate brokers, duplicate license fee, fee for
office changes, reinstatement fee for a lapsed license, post-license education certification fee, education
course initial certification and biennial course recertification fee.

Under AS 08.01.065, the Department must establish fee levels so that the total amount of fees collected for
an occupation approximately equals the actual regulatory costs for the occupation. The Department has
reviewed the income and expenses for the occupational licensing programs mentioned above and proposes
fee changes that reflect, to the extent possible, the actual costs of the activities under these occupational
licensing programs.

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private persons of
complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Sher Zinn, Regulations
Specialist, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK
99811-0806. Additionally, the Department will accept comments by facsimile at (907) 465-2974 and by
clectronic mail at RegulationsAndPublicComment(@alaska.gov. Comments may also be submitted through
the Alaska Online Public Notice System by accessing this notice on the system at
http://notice.alaska.gov/195245, and using the comment link. The comments must be received not later
4:30 p.m., September 25, 2019. Comments received after this deadline will not be considered by the
Department.

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist,
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 1 10806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806
or by e-mail at RegulationsAndPublicComment(@alaska.gov. The questions must be received at least 10
days before the end of the public comment period. The Department will aggregate its response to
substantially similar questions and make the questions and responses available on the Department’s website
at https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/Professional Licensing/Real EstateCommission.aspx, or on
the Alaska Online Public Notice System. The Department may, but is not required to, answer written
questions received after the 10-day cut-off date and before the end of the comment period.

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this
process, please contact Sher Zinn at (907) 465-1049 or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov not
later than September 18, 2019, to ensure that any necessary accommodations can be provided.

A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and by
contacting Sher Zinn at (907) 465-1049 or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov, or go to
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/REC-Fees-0819.pdf.

After the public comment period ends, the Department will either adopt the proposed regulation changes
or other provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action. The
language of the final regulation may be different from that of the proposed regulation. You should



comment during the time allowed if your interests could be affected. Written comments and questions
received are public records and are subject to public inspection.

Statutory Authority: AS 08.01.065, AS 08.88.221
Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 08.01.065, AS 08.88.221

Fiscal Information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased
appropriation.

DATE: 5% 3/% @29 \://J.!/;M‘-_—«

Sher Zinn, Reglilations Specialist
Division of Corporations, Business and
Professional Licensing

For each occupation regulated under the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing,
the Division keeps a list of individuals or organizations who are interested in the regulations of that
occupation. The Division automatically sends a Notice of Proposed Regulations to the parties on the
appropriate list each time there is a proposed change in an occupation's regulations in Title 12 of the Alaska
Administrative Code. If you would like your address added to or removed from such a list, send your request
to the Division at the address above, giving your name, either your e-mail address or mailing address (as
you prefer for receiving notices), and the occupational area in which you are interested.

ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION
(AS 44.62.190(d))

1. Adopting agency: Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development — Division of
Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing.

2. General subject of regulation: Occupational licensing fees.

3. Citation of regulation: 12 AAC 02.360.

4. Department of Law file number: To be assigned.

5. Reason for the proposed action: Compliance with state statute.

6. Appropriation/Allocation: Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing — #2360.

7. Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to:
A private person: For persons regulated by the Real Estate Commission: $60 decrease in the initial
license and biennial renewal fees for licensees, $45 increase in the fee for office changes, $25
decrease in the initial office registration fee, $30 decrease in the duplicate license fee, $20 increase in
the post-license education certification and new license document fee, $50 decrease in the
reinstatement of a lapsed license fee, $20 increase in the initial education course certification fee, and
$5 increase in the biennial course recertification fee.
Another state agency: None known.
A municipality: None known.

8. Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of dollars): No
costs are expected in FY 2020 or in subsequent years.

9. The name of the contact person for the regulation:
Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist



Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Telephone: (907) 465-1049

E-mail: sher.zinn@alaska.gov

10. The origin of the proposed action: Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing.

11. Date: m Eé 7 Prepared by: M S P
Sher ZjAn
Re tions Specialist

(907) 465-1049




ANCHORAGE DAILY NEWS
AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION

Account #: 268972 ST OF AK/DEC/OCCU

Order #: W0011283

STATE OF ALASKA
THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT

Joleesa Stepetin being first duly sworn on oath
deposes and says that she is a representative of
the Anchorage Daily News, a daily newspaper.
That said newspaper has been approved by the
Third Judicial Court, Anchorage, Alaska, and
it now and has been published in the English
language continually as a daily newspaper in
Anchorage, Alaska, and it is now and during all
said time was printed in an office maintained at
the aforesaid place of publication of said news-
paper. That the annexed is a copy of an adver-
tisement as it was published in regular issues
(and not in supplemental form) of said news-
paper on

08/26/2019

and that such newspaper was regularly distrib-
uted to its subscribers during all of said period.
That the full amount of the fee charged for the
foregoing publication is not in excess of the rate
charged private individuals.

Subscribed and swom to before me
this 27th day of August 2019.

" Noflary Public in and fof .~

e State of Alaska.
hird Division

Anchorage, Alaska
SKTE Ox
MY COMMISSION EXPIRES
/‘/07;4
7z Ry
3 / Uellc

[
©.
%

¢ Nowlin®

Cost: $547.84

Notice of proposed changes to Licensing fees for PROFESSIONS REGULATED BY THE REAL
ESTATE COMMISSION IN THE REGULATIONS of the DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY,
AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development (Department) proposes
to adopt regtulatlon.changes In Title 12, Chapter 02 of the Alaska Administrative Code, dealing with
?c“wpla'ticvna licensing fees for prnfess{nns regulated by the Real Estate Commission, including the
ollowing:

12 AAC 02.360. Real Estate Commission, Is proposed to be changed to alter the license and biennial
renewal fees for real estate salespersons, brokers, and associate brokers, duplicate license fee, fee
for office changes, reinstatement fee for a lapsed license, post-license education certification fee,
education course initial certification and blennial course recertification fee.

Under AS 08.01.065, the Department must establish fee levels so that the total amount of fees
collected for an occupation ?fprommately equals the actual regulatory costs for the occupation.
The Department has reviewed the income and esr(fanses for the occupational licensing programs
mentioned above and proposes fee changes that reflect, to the extent possible, the actual costs of the
activities under these occupational licensing programs.

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, Including the potential costs to private persons
of camplying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Sher Zinn, Regulaltions
Specialist, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK
99811-0806. Additionally, the Department will accept comments by facsimile at (907) 465-2974 and
by electronic mail at RegulationsandPublicComment@alaska.gov. Comments may also be submitted
through the Alaska Online Public Notice System by accessing this notice on the system at http./
notice.alaska.gov/195245, and using the comment link. The comments must be received not later
;1‘.:“39% p‘m.l. septtember 25, 2019. Comments received after this deadline will not be considered by
epartment.

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist,
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, PO, Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806
or by e-mall at RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov. The guestions must be received at
least 10 days before the end of the public comment period. Tne Department will aggregate its
response to substantially similar questions and make the guestions and responses avallable on the
Department's website at https:waw.commarce.alnska,ﬁo\rm.rebfcbpHProfessmnalLlcensiny
RealEstateCommission.aspx, or on the Alaska Online Public Notice System. The Department may, but
is not required to, answer written questions received after the 10-day cut-off date and before the end
of the comment period.

If you are a person with a disabllity who needs a special accommaodation in order to participate in this
process, mease contact Sher Zinn at (907) 465-1049 or ReguialionsAndPuhllccamment@alaska,gov
not later than September 18, 201%, 1o ensure that any necessary accommaodations can be provided,

A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and
by contacting Sher Zinn at (907) 465-1049 or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov, or go to
hitps://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pUb/REC-Fees-0819.pdf.

After the public comment period ends, the Department will either adopt the proposed regulation
changes or other provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no
action, The language of the final regulation may be different from that of the proposed regulation, You
should comment during the time allowed if your interests could be affected. Written comments
and questions received are public records and are subject to public inspection,

Statutory Authority: AS 08.01.065, AS 08,88.221
Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 08.01.065, AS 08.88.221

Fiscal Information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased
appropriation. )

DATE: 8/23/19

BY./s/Sher Zinn, Reglglations Specialist . e

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing )

For each occupation regulated under the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing,
the Division keeps a list of Individuals or oagamzatims who are interested in the regulations of that
occupation. The Division automatically sends a Natice of Proposed Regulations to the parties on the
appropriate list each time there Is a proposed change in an occupation's regulations In Title 12 of
the Alaska Administrative Code. If you would like your address added to or removed from such a list,
send your request to the Division at the address above, givln%hyaur name, either your e-mall address
prtmallitg address (as you prefer for recelving notices), and the occupational area in which you are
interested.

Published: August 26, 2019




STATE OF ALASKA )
) ss.
FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT )

AFFIDAVIT OF NOTICE OF PROPOSED ADOPTION OF REGULATIONS
AND FURNISHING OF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

I, Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic
Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, being sworn, state
the following:

As required by AS 44.62.190, notice of the proposed adoption of changes to 12 AAC 02.360,
occupational licensing fees for the Real Estate Commission, has been given by being:

1. published in a newspaper or trade publication;

2. fumished to every person who has filed a request for notice of proposed action with the state
agency;

furnished to appropriate state officials;

furnished to interested persons;

furnished to the Department of Law, along with a copy of the proposed regulation;
furnished electronically to incumbent State of Alaska legislators;

posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System as required by AS 44.62.175(a)(1) and
(b) and 44.62.190(a)(1);

ST S8 O Y

As required by AS 44.62.190, additional regulation notice information regarding the proposed
adoption of the regulation changes described above has been furnished to interested persons and
those in (2), (4) and (6) of the list above. The additional regulation notice information also has been
posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System.

Date: /(9{// "7// ?

Sher Zinn, Rewﬁons Specialist

Subscribed and sworn to before me at Idantoiu i /‘HC‘— on
[PE W
(date)
“||Ilil..
i Benngste,
ST
n:? SR %w"- %
- s i
N NOTARY e Q&—w '@3’@%
= 3 U'BLIC et NoMubhc in and for the State of Alaska
K 3 . fof My commission expires (] OLfec
0" . H’Hh 0‘!‘\ -"ék;:
%y *= Y



STATE OF ALASKA )
) ss.

FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT )

AFFIDAVIT OF AGENCY RECORD OF PUBLIC COMMENT

I, Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic
Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, being sworn, state

the following:

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development did not receive any
factual or other substantive information that was submitted in writing as public comment and that
was relevant to the accuracy, coverage, or other aspect of the Department of Commerce,
Community, and Economic Development regulations on dealing with occupational licensing fees
for professions regulated by the Real Estate Commission.

Date: /) /709 ~

Sher Zinn, Regujéations Specialist

Subscribed and swomn to before me at ~_\Am A 74\' [C on
\6 - (1~ (4 :
(date)

‘\

“‘|'I|l!""
oo BeNNes s, Q W@&ﬂ‘%
G B, Q o1 14 A
S g bt Notaf§Public in and for the State of Alaska
;'5' ﬁO'Y PR gt My commission expires: / a ,ﬁﬁ e
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-------



STATE OF ALASKA )
) ss.

FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT )

AFFIDAVIT OF DEPARTMENT CONSIDERATION OF
BOARD RECOMMENDATIONS

I, Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic
Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, being sworn, state

the following:

As required by AS 08.01.065(c), the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic
Development has considered the recommendations of the Real Estate Commission before adopting

changes to the fees in 12 AAC 02.360.

Date: /9//{7//”9

%MM

Sher'Zinn, Rewtions Specialist

Subscribed and sworn to before me at \)\A I~ aw | /AY L(_, on

(0-(7-9

(date)
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pUBLIC *: Notafy Public in and for the State of Alaska
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