



Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING Juneau Office

> P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Toll free fax: 907.465.2974

August 22, 2019

Licensees and Interested Parties:

Alaska's professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL) to "annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation." Alaska's licensing fee statutes go on to say, "If the review indicates that an occupation's fee collections and regulatory costs are not approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations...to implement the adjustments."

The division conducted a thorough fee analysis and reviewed the analysis with the Real Estate Commission at a regular meeting on May 23, 2019. The licensing program has maintained a surplus for the past six years. The division and commission considered future cost increases and potential fluctuations in legal expenses. After careful consideration of those costs, there was agreement that another reduction in license fees is warranted.

The Real Estate Recovery fund is in jeopardy of falling below the minimum required balance of \$250,000 and therefore after thorough review the division and commission have decided to increase the fee. The <u>net</u> effect of these two changes is an overall decrease in fees.

The proposed fee amounts are enclosed and can also be found on the commission's web page at http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/RealEstateCommission.

This fee proposal is entering a public comment period. The division encourages all licensees and interested parties to comment on this proposal through the division's Regulations Specialist, whose contact information is enclosed on the public notice. After the comment period closes and the division reviews all comments received, the division may adopt the regulation as drafted, may amend a proposed fee, or may withdraw the regulations in part or in its whole.

All comments received will be reviewed and taken into consideration prior to adopting the final regulations. The final decision will result in the fee to be implemented during the next licensing renewal.

Follow the instructions enclosed to make written comments during the public comment period. Comments must be addressed to Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811, or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov.

Sincerely,

Sharon J. Walsh Deputy Director Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing

Encl.

Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions.

(Words in **boldface and underlined** indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.)

12 AAC 02.360(a) is amended to read:

12 AAC 02.360. Real Estate Commission. (a) The following fees are established for

real estate salespersons, associate brokers, and brokers:

(1) license fee, for all or part of the initial biennial license period, whether

licensure is by examination or endorsement, <u>\$140</u> [\$200];

(2) biennial license renewal fee for both active and inactive licenses,

<u>**\$140</u>** [\$200];</u>

(3) fee for office changes, including change of broker and company name, <u>\$120</u>

[\$75] for each license;

- (4) transfer of license fee, \$225;
- (5) application fee for initial license, \$200;
- (6) initial office registration fee, <u>**\$200**</u> [\$225];
- (7) license inactivation or reactivation fee, \$150;
- (8) duplicate license fee, <u>\$20</u> [\$50];
- (9) name change fee, \$75;
- (10) post-license education certification and new license document fee, <u>\$50</u> [\$30];
- (11) reinstatement fee for a lapsed license, <u>\$225</u> [\$275].

12 AAC 02.360(b) is amended to read:

Register ______ 2019 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

(b) The following fees are established for real estate education course certification and instructor approval:

(1) initial course certification fee, <u>\$50</u> [\$30] per credit hour;

(2) biennial course recertification fee, <u>\$30</u> [\$25] per credit hour;

(3) instructor approval fee, \$200 per instructor;

(4) temporary instructor approval fee, \$250 per instructor;

(5) instructor approval recertification fee, \$100.

(Eff. 3/6/91, Register 117; am 5/28/93, Register 126; am 6/5/94, Register 130; am 11/10/95,

Register 136; am 11/22/97, Register 144; am 12/28/97, Register 144; am 11/6/99, Register 152;

am 10/28/2000, Register 156; am 10/20/2001, Register 160; am 12/2/2005, Register 176; am

1/1/2006, Register 176; am 1/1/2010, Register 192; am 5/28/2011, Register 198; am 9/17/2011,

Register 199; am 1/8/2012, Register 201; am 11/30/2013, Register 208; am 10/24/2015, Register

216; am 12/08/2017, Register 224; am ___/___, Register ___)

Authority: AS 08.01.065 AS 08.88.221