

Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation Spill Prevention and Response Division Contaminated Sites Program

Amendments to 18 AAC 78
Update Fees for UST Workers and Inspectors

Frequently Asked Questions

July 11, 2019

1. What are the fee changes?

The department is proposing to raise the application fee for certification from \$75 to \$100; lower fees for initial, renewal and reciprocity certifications from \$130 to \$60 each; and repeal the \$5 fee for duplicate certificates.

2. Why are the fees being changed?

Alaska professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL) within the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development to "annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation." Alaska's licensing fee statutes go on to say, "If the review indicates that an occupation's fee collections and regulatory costs are not approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations… to implement the adjustments."

Fee changes are being proposed by the CBPL based on their annual review of these fees that identified a surplus of revenue greater than what is necessary to operate the certification program.

3. When would these changes go into effect?

If the proposed changes are adopted and signed by the Lt. Governor by August 31, 2019, the changes would become effective September 30, 2019 in time for the fall application and renewal period.

4. Are there other changes to the regulations?

No other changes to the regulations governing Underground Storage Tanks are proposed at this time.

5. How can I learn more?

You can find more information in the public notice and the proposed amendments, which are posted on the web page for these proposed regulations, here: http://dec.alaska.gov/spar/regulation-projects/ust-worker-fee-amendments. DEC's website has additional information about the Underground Storage Tank Section of the Contaminated Sites Program here: http://dec.alaska.gov/spar/csp/tanks/.

For additional questions about the regulations, you can email Sally Schlichting at sally.schlichting@alaska.gov.

Responses to questions received at least 10 days prior to the end of the comment period will be made available in this FAQ document and posted on our regulations project page and on Alaska Online Public Notice System here: https://aws.state.ak.us/OnlinePublicNotices/.