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Title 7 Health and Social Services. 

Chapter 145. Medicaid Payment Rates. 

 

7 AAC 145.012. Cost containment measure for inflation adjustments to Medicaid payment 

rates. 

7 AAC 145.012(a)(1) is amended to read: 

 (a) To address that appropriations for fiscal year 2020 [2018] are insufficient to cover the 

costs of medical assistance for all persons eligible under AS 47.07 and 7 AAC 100, the 

department will implement cost containment measures that prohibit the following adjustments to 

Medicaid payment rates for Medicaid claims with dates of services after June 30, 2019 [JUNE 

30, 2017], and before July 1, 2020[JULY 1, 2018]:  

(1) inflation adjustments required under 7 AAC 145.050(b)(3), except as noted  

in 7 AAC 145.050(c)-(e);  

 

7 AAC 145.012(a)(4) is repealed: 

  (4) repealed ____/____/2019; 

Notes to reader: 

1. Except as discussed in note 2, new text that amends an existing regulation is bolded and underlined. 

2. If the lead-in line above the text of each section of the regulations states that a new section, subsection, 

paragraph, or subparagraph is being added, or that an existing section, subsection, paragraph, or subparagraph is 

being repealed and  readopted (replaced), the new or replaced text is not bolded or underlined. 

3. [ALL-CAPS TEXT WITHIN BRACKETS] indicates text that is to be deleted. 

4. When the word “including” is used, Alaska Statutes provide that it means “including, but not  limited to.” 

5. Only the text that is being changed within a section of the current regulations is included in this draft. Refer to 

the text of that whole section, published in the current Alaska Administrative Code, to determine how a 

proposed change relates within the context of the whole section and the whole chapter. 
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(Eff. 7/1/2015, Register 215; am 7/1/2016, Register 219; am 10/1/2017, Register 223; am 

3/1/2018, Register 225; am ___/___/___, Register ____) 

Authority:  AS 47.05.010   AS 47.07.030  AS 47.07.036 

AS 47.07.020  

 

7 AAC 145.012(a)(5) is amended to read: 

(5) inflation adjustments required under 7 AAC 150.150,  except as noted in 7 

AAC 150.150(h);  

 

7 AAC 145.012(a)(7) is amended to read: 

(7) inflation adjustments required under 7 AAC 150.190(g) in accordance with  

7 AAC 150.190(d)(2)(B), except as noted in 7 AAC 150.190(g)(1). 

(Eff. 7/1/2015, Register 215; am 7/1/2016, Register 219; am 10/1/2017, Register 223; am 

3/1/2018, Register 225; am ___/___/___, Register ____) 

Authority:  AS 47.05.010   AS 47.07.030  AS 47.07.036 

AS 47.07.020  

 

7 AAC 145.025. Payment for services provided out of state. 

7 AAC 145.025 is amended by adding a new subsection to read: 

 (g) For state fiscal year 2020, the department will pay state fiscal year 2019 Alaska 

Medicaid payment rates for out of state transportation and accommodation services under 

7 AAC 120.405 and 7 AAC 120.425, with the exception of transportation services under 7 

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/Unknown_Title/query=%5bJUMP:'AS4705010'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d/hits_only?firsthit
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/Unknown_Title/query=%5bJUMP:'AS4707030'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d/hits_only?firsthit
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/Unknown_Title/query=%5bJUMP:'AS4707036'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d/hits_only?firsthit
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/Unknown_Title/query=%5bJUMP:'AS4707020'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d/hits_only?firsthit
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac/query=%5bJUMP:'7+aac+150!2E150'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d/hits_only?firsthit
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac/query=%5bJUMP:'7+aac+150!2E150'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d/hits_only?firsthit
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac/query=%5bJUMP:'7+aac+150!2E150'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d/hits_only?firsthit
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac/query=%5bJUMP:'7+aac+150!2E190'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d/hits_only?firsthit
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac/query=%5bJUMP:'7+aac+150!2E190'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d/hits_only?firsthit
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/Unknown_Title/query=%5bJUMP:'AS4705010'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d/hits_only?firsthit
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/Unknown_Title/query=%5bJUMP:'AS4707030'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d/hits_only?firsthit
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AAC 120.405(d), emergency transportation services under 7 AAC 120.415, and air 

ambulance services under 7 AAC 120.420. 

 (Eff. 2/1/2010, Register 193; am____/____/____, Register____) 

Authority: AS 47.05.010  AS 47.07.040   

 

Article 2 

RBRVS Methodology 

7 AAC 145.050. Resource-based relative value scale rate-setting methodology. 

7 AAC 145.050(b)(3) is amended to read: 

  (3) a conversion factor (CF), that is a dollar amount used to convert new and 

existing CPT and HCPCS codes adopted by reference in 7 AAC 160.900(a) into a fee amount; 

this conversion factor as of July 1, 2019 [JULY 1, 2017], is $39.781 [$40.573]; on the later 

date of August 1, 2019, or a 30 day notice to providers, the conversion factor will be 

$40.974; the CF will be adjusted [EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2017, AND] annually thereafter on July 

1 so that an adjustment provision results in an overall average net change for all procedures 

described in this subsection that equals the percent change from the previous year in the most 

recent annual Consumer Price Index for all Urban Consumers (CPI-U), all items, for Urban 

Alaska [ANCHORAGE, ALASKA] published by the United States Department of Labor, 

Bureau of Labor Statistics, adopted by reference in 7 AAC 160.900. [; THE DEPARTMENT 

WILL ANNOUNCE AND POST THE CF ADJUSTED UNDER THIS PARAGRAPH AT THE 

DEPARTMENT’S WEBSITE OR AT A DESIGNATED CONTRACTOR’S INTERNET 

WEBSITE; AND] 
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(Eff. 2/1/2010, Register 193; am 12/1/2011, Register 200; am 5/11/2012, Register 202; am 

3/22/2014, Register 209; am 10/1/2017, Register 223; am____/____/____, Register____) 

Authority: AS 47.05.010  AS 47.07.030  AS 47.07.040   

 

7 AAC 145.050(b)(4) is repealed: 

  (4) repealed ____/____/____; 

(Eff. 2/1/2010, Register 193; am 12/1/2011, Register 200; am 5/11/2012, Register 202; am 

3/22/2014, Register 209; am 10/1/2017, Register 223; am____/____/____, Register____) 

Authority: AS 47.05.010  AS 47.07.030  AS 47.07.040   

 

7 AAC 145.050(c) is amended to read:  

 (c) The fee for each procedure subject to RBRVS-based payment is determined using the 

following calculation: [(RVUw X GPCI Work) + (RVUp X GPCI PE) + (RVUm X GCPI MP)] 

X (CF). For state fiscal year 2020, starting on the later date of August 1, 2019, or after a 30 

day notice to the providers, providers who do not meet the Medicaid Management 

Information System (MMIS) enrolled provider type, or provider specialty designations in 

(c)(1) - (c)(3) of this subsection, and who are identified as the rendering provider on the 

claims submitted to the Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS) will have a 

conversion factor (CF) of $37.792: 

  (1) provider type 046 direct entry midwife, 050 school based services, 054 

family planning clinic, or 080 independent laboratory; or 

  (2) providers who are any provider type but have a provider specialty code in 

the Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS) that is 001 general practice, 008 
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family practice, 009 gynecology, 016 obstetrics and gynecology, 049 pediatrics, 054 

obstetrics,  125 adult health, 126 nurse midwife, 127 women’s health/OB-GYN, 128 family 

health, 129 pediatric, and 130 gerontological; 

  (3) in this subsection, provider specialty means the provider’s specialty 

identified in the provider enrollment file as of July 1, 2019. 

 

7 AAC 145.050(d) is amended to read: 

 d) The department will pay for anesthesiology services in accordance with the following 

calculation: ($42.90 X the number of base units for anesthesiology services) + ($36 X the 

number of time units), where the number of base units is determined in accordance with the 

Relative Value Guide, adopted by reference in 7 AAC 160.900, and the value of one time unit is 

10 minutes. The department will not make an additional payment for a physical status modifier 

as set out in Current Procedural Terminology, adopted by reference in 7 AAC 160.900.  For 

state fiscal year 2020, starting on the later date of August 1, 2019, or after a 30 day notice to 

the providers, the providers who are not enrolled in the Medicaid Management 

Information System (MMIS) as the provider types or provider specialties identified in 

(c)(1) – (c)(3) of this section, and who are identified as the rendering provider on the claims 

submitted to the Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS), will receive 95% of 

the $42.90 and $36 values referenced in (d). 

 

7 AAC 145.050(e) is amended to read: 

(e) Except as provided in (f) of this section, and subject to 7 AAC 145.020, if a procedure does 

not have an RVU established for Medicare by CMS, and is not subject to another payment 
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methodology or fee under this chapter, the department's payment for a covered procedure will 

not exceed 80 percent of billed charges for the first nine billings that reflect a charge for the 

service that complies with the applicable standards in 7 AAC 145.020. Thereafter, the fee will be 

established based on the 90th percentile of the first 10 billings. To be paid under this subsection, 

a billing must reflect a charge for the procedure that complies with the applicable standards in 7 

AAC 145.020. No more than three claims from a provider, group, or pay-to-provider will be 

used to establish a fee under this chapter. The department will periodically review and adjust 

specific payment rates established under this subsection.  For state fiscal year 2020, starting on 

the later date of August 1, 2019, or after a 30 day notice to the providers, the providers who 

are not enrolled in the Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS) as the provider 

types or provider specialties identified in (c)(1)-(c)(3) of this section, and who are identified 

as the rendering provider on the claims submitted to the Medicaid Management 

Information System (MMIS), will receive 95% of the payment rates in this subsection. 

 

7 AAC 145.050(f) is amended to read: 

 (f) The department's payment for an item or service described as an "unlisted procedure," 

"not otherwise classified (NOC)," or "not otherwise specified" will not exceed 50 percent of 

billed charges if the department agrees that the item or service cannot be billed under another 

code, and if the billing reflects a charge for the item or service that complies with the applicable 

standards in 7 AAC 145.020.  For state fiscal year 2020, starting on the later date of August 

1, 2019, or after a 30 day notice to the providers, the providers who are not enrolled in the 

Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS) as the provider types or provider 

specialties identified in (c)(1)-(c)(3) of this section, and who are identified as the rendering 
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provider on the claims submitted to the Medicaid Management Information System 

(MMIS), will receive 95% of the payment rates in this subsection. 

 

7 AAC 145.050(h) is amended to read: 

 (h) For providers who are not required to enroll under 7 AAC 120.200 or 7 AAC 

120.300, the department will pay for nonroutine office medical and surgical supplies in 

accordance with the same methodology and rates established in 7 AAC 145.420, and 7 AAC 

145.421  except that, for state fiscal year 2020, starting on the later of August 1, 2019 or 

after a 30 day notice to the providers, rates for providers who are not enrolled in the 

Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS) as the provider types or provider 

specialties identified in 7 AAC 145.050(c)(1) – (c)(3) will be reimbursed at 95% of the 

payment rates established in 7 AAC 145.420 and 7 AAC 145.421. 

 

7 AAC 145.050 is amended by adding a new sub-section to read: 

(j) RVU values are updated annually on July 1. 

(Eff. 2/1/2010, Register 193; am 12/1/2011, Register 200; am 5/11/2012, Register 202; am 

3/22/2014, Register 209; am 10/1/2017, Register 223; am____/____/____, Register____) 

Authority: AS 47.05.010  AS 47.07.030  AS 47.07.040   

 

Article 3 

Payment Rates; Professional Services. 

7 AAC 145.100. Advanced nurse practitioner services payment rates. 

7 AAC 145.100 is amended by adding a new sub-section to read: 
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 (f) The department will pay for laboratory services in accordance with payment 

methodology identified in 7 AAC 145.460. 

(Eff. 2/1/2010, Register 193; am 5/1/2016, Register 218; am ____/____/____, Register ____) 

Authority: AS 47.05.010  AS 47.07.030  AS 47.07.040 

 

Article 3 

Payment Rates; Professional Services 

7 AAC 145.120. Dental services payment rates. 

7 AAC 145.120(c) is amended to read: 

 (c) The department will review dental payment rates at the beginning of each fiscal year 

and may adjust the rates to reflect changes in the United States Department of Labor consumer 

price index and after reviewing fee profiles from the most recent calendar year's Medicaid dental 

claims to determine the need for adjusting payment rates. For state fiscal year 2020, payment 

rates will not be adjusted by the consumer price index. 

 

7 AAC 145.120 is amended by adding a new subsection to read: 

 (e) For state fiscal year 2020, the payment rates under (a) – (d) of this section will be 95 

percent of the state fiscal year 2019 payment rates. 

 (Eff. 2/1/2010, Register 193; am 11/1/2010, Register 196; am 1/15/2011, Register 197; am 

3/22/2014, Register 209; am 5/1/2016, Register 218; am____/____/____, Register____) 

Authority: AS 47.05.010  AS 47.07.030  AS 47.07.040   

 

7 AAC 145.200. Physician services payment rates. 
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7 AAC 145.200(e) is repealed: 

 (e) Repealed ____/____/____. (Eff. 2/1/2010, Register 193; am 1/1/2011, Register 196; 

am____/____/____, Register____) 

Authority: AS 47.05.010  AS 47.07.040  AS 47.07.070   

  AS 47.07.030   

7 AAC 145.250. Private-duty nursing payment rates. 

7 AAC 145.250 is amended to read: 

 (a)  The department will pay an in-state private-duty nurse in accordance with 7 AAC 

145.020. [.] For state fiscal year 2020, the payment rates will be 95 percent of the payment 

rates listed in this subsection. The payment rates must not exceed [NOT TO EXCEED] 

  (1) $20 per 15 minutes of service provided by a registered nurse or advanced 

nurse practitioner, including a nurse midwife; or   

  (2) $18.75 per 15 minutes of service provided by a licensed practical nurse.   

(Eff. 2/1/2010, Register 193; am____/____/____, Register____) 

Authority: AS 47.05.010  AS 47.07.030  AS 47.07.040   

 

7 AAC 145.265. Targeted case management payment rates. 

7 AAC 145.265(b)(10) is amended to read: 

  (10) for state fiscal year 2020 [2018], the department will not apply the inflation 

adjustment described in (9) of this subsection.   

(Eff. 2/1/2010, Register 193; am 10/1/2017, Register 223; am____/____/____, Register____) 

Authority: AS 47.05.010  AS 47.07.040  AS 47.20.070   

  AS 47.07.030  AS 47.20.060  AS 47.20.110   
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7 AAC 145.290. Long-term services and supports targeted case management. 

7 AAC 145.290(a)(2) is amended to read: 

 (a) For long-term services and supports targeted case management services provided 

under 7 AAC 128.010, the department will pay a unit of service at the lesser of the   

… 

  (2) the rate established in the department's Chart of Long Term Services and 

Supports Targeted Case Management Services Rates, adopted by reference in 7 AAC 160.900; 

for state fiscal year 2020, the payment rates under this paragraph will be 95 percent of the 

state fiscal year 2019 payment rates. 

7 AAC 145.290(c) is amended to read: 

 (c) Each July 1, except July 1, 2019, that the rate of payment listed in the Chart of Long 

Term Services and Supports Targeted Case Management Services Rates is not reestablished 

under (b) of this section, the department will adjust the payment rate for inflation using the CMS 

Home Health Agency Market Basket in the most recent quarterly publication of Global Insight's 

Healthcare Cost Review available 60 days before July l.   

(Eff. 10/1/2018, Register 227; am____/____/____, Register____) 

Authority: AS 47.05.010  AS 47.07.030  AS 47.07.040   

 

Article 4 

Payment Rates; Therapies and Related Services 

7 AAC 145.340. Hearing services payment rates. 

7 AAC 145.340(a)(2) is amended to read: 
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 (a) Subject to the limitations in 7 AAC 115.530, and this section, the department will pay 

an in-state audiologist for audiology services   

…  

  (2) in accordance with the CPT Fee Schedule for Audiology Services table and 

HCPC Fee Schedule for Audiology Services table, adopted by reference in 7 AAC 160.900; for 

state fiscal year 2020, starting the later date of August 1, 2019, or and after a 30 day notice 

to the providers, the payment rates for audiology services reimbursed under the Resource 

Based Relative Value Scale (RBRVS) methodology will be as described in 7 AAC 145.050 

and the payment rates for audiology services not reimbursed under RBRVS will be 95 

percent of the state fiscal year 2019 payment rates. 

(Eff. 2/1/2010, Register 193; am 3/22/2014, Register 209; am____/____/____, Register____) 

Authority: AS 47.05.010  AS 47.07.030  AS 47.07.040   

 

Article 5 

Payment Rates; Prescription Drugs and Medical Supplies; Durable Medical Equipment; 

Transportation; Laboratory Services 

7 AAC 145.410. Dispensing fee. 

Sec 410. Dispensing fee 

7 AAC 145.410(g) amended to read. 

 (g) A claim for a covered outpatient drug dispensed by a dispensing provider to a 

recipient for outpatient use will be reimbursed in accordance with 7 AAC 145.400 with no 

dispensing fee. A covered outpatient drug administered to an outpatient recipient by a physician, 

advanced nurse practitioner, or physician assistant, and billed using a covered code under the 
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Current Procedural Terminology (CPT) or Healthcare Common Procedure Coding System 

(HCPCS), adopted by reference in 7 AAC 160.900, will be reimbursed at the estimated 

acquisition cost defined in 7 AAC 145.400(p) for the amount administered with no dispensing 

fee. For state fiscal year 2020, starting on the later of August 1, 2019 or after a 30 day 

notice to the providers, a covered outpatient drug administered to an outpatient recipient 

by a physician, advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant that is not 

enrolled in the Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS) as a provider type or 

provider specialty identified in 7 AAC 145.050(c)(1) – (c)(3), and who is identified as the 

rendering provider on the claim submitted to the MMIS billed using a covered CPT or 

HCPCS code will be reimbursed at 95% of the estimated acquisition cost defined in 7 AAC 

145.400(p) with no dispensing fee. 

(Eff. 2/1/2010, Register 193; am 1/1/2011, Register 196; am 9/7/2011, Register 199; am 

1/4/2012, Register 201; am 5/18/2014, Register 210; am 6/16/2016, Register 218; am 

___/___/___, Register____) 

Authority: AS 47.05.010  AS 47.07.030  AS 47.05.040 

 

7 AAC 145.440. Transportation and accommodation services payment rates. 

7 AAC 145.440(a) is amended to read: 

 (a) The department will pay for transportation and accommodation services in accordance 

with 7 AAC 145.020, not to exceed the maximum amount identified in the 

Transportation/Accommodation Fee Schedule table, adopted by reference in 7 AAC 160.900.  

For state fiscal year 2020, the payment rates will be 95 percent of the state fiscal year 2019 
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payment rates. The services paid at 100 percent of billed charges during state fiscal year 

2019, will continue to be paid at 100 percent of billed charges during state fiscal year 2020. 

 (Eff. 2/1/2010, Register 193; am____/____/____, Register____) 

Authority: AS 47.05.010  AS 47.07.030  AS 47.07.040   

7 AAC 145.460. Laboratory services payment. 

7 AAC 145.460(a) is amended to read: 

 (a)  The department will pay for laboratory services provided in state by an independent 

laboratory in accordance with 7 AAC 145.020, at the rate established for Medicare in 42 

C.F.R. 405.515, adopted by reference in 7 AAC 160.900; laboratory services for which no 

rate is established will be paid at a rate established under 7 AAC 145.050(e) [NOT TO 

EXCEEED 100 PERCENT OF THE AMOUNT DETERMINED UNDER 7 AAC 145.050].  

 

7 AAC 145.460 is amended by adding a new subsection to read: 

 (e) For state fiscal year 2020, payment rates for laboratory services will be 95% of the 

payment rates established in (a) of this section starting on the later date of August 1, 2019, or 

after a 30 day notice to the providers, for providers who are not enrolled in the Medicaid 

Management Information System (MMIS) as the provider types or provider specialties listed in 7 

AAC 145.050(c)(1) – (c)(3), and who are identified as the rendering provider on the claims 

submitted to the Medicaid Management Information System (MMIS). 

(Eff. 2/1/2010, Register 193; am ___/___/___, Register _____) 

Authority: AS 47.05.010  AS 47.07.030  AS 47.07.040 
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Article 6 

Payment Rates; Personal Care and Home Health Care 

7 AAC 145.500. Personal care services payment rates. 

7 AAC 145.5009(a)(1) is amended to read: 

 (a) For providing personal care services under 7 AAC 125.010 - 7 AAC 125.199 and 7 

AAC 127, the department will pay a unit of service at the lesser of   

  (1) rates established in the department's Chart of Personal Care Services, 

Community First Choice Services [AND WAIVER SERVICES] Rates, adopted by reference in 

7 AAC 160.900; for state fiscal year 2020, the payment rates will be 95 percent of the state 

fiscal year 2019 payment rates; those rates will be adjusted in accordance with (b) of this 

section; or   

… 

 

7 AAC 145.500(b) is amended to read:  

 (b) Each July 1, except July 1, 2019, rates established in the Chart of Personal Care 

Services and Community First Choice Services [AND WAIVER SERVICES] Rates, adopted by 

reference in 7 AAC 160.900, are not re-established under (d) of this section, the department 

will adjust the rates of payment in the Chart of Personal Care and Community First Choice 

Services Rates for inflation using the CMS Home Health Agency Market Basket in the most 

recent quarterly publication of Global Insight’s Healthcare Cost Review available 60 days 

before July 1 [WILL BE ADJUSTED AS PROVIDED IN 7 AAC 145.525(b)]. 

 

7 AAC 145.500 is amended by adding a new subsection to read: 
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 (c) Each July 1, rates of payment in the Chart of Personal Care and Community First 

Choice Services Rates, adopted by reference in 7 AAC 160.900, are re-established under (d) of 

this section or adjusted under (b) of this section will be further adjusted to reflect regional 

differences in the cost of doing business based on the designated planning regions described in 

Table I-1 of the Alaska Geographic Differential Study 2008, dated April 30, 2019 and adopted 

by reference in 7 AAC 160.900 with a factor of 1.00 being the lowest factor applied and with the 

sour southeast regional factors being averaged to a single weighted applicable factor of 1.09. 

 

7 AAC 145.500 is amended by adding a new subsection to read: 

 (d) On or after July 1, 2018, rates of payment in the department's Chart of Personal Care 

Services Community First Choice Services Rates, adopted by reference in 7 AAC 160.900, will 

be re-established at least every four years using the department's Personal Care Assistant and 

Waiver Rate-Setting Methodology, adopted by reference in 7 AAC 160.900. 

Authority: AS 47.05.010  AS 47.07.030  AS 47.07.040   

(Eff. 2/1/2010, Register 193; am 3/1/2011, Register 197; am 8/18/2015, Register 215; am 

10/1/2017, Register 223; am 3/1/2018, Register 225; am 10/1/2018, Register 227; 

am____/____/____, Register____) 

 

Article 7 

Payment Rates; Home and Community-Based Waiver Services. 

7 AAC 145.520. Home and community-based waiver services payment rates. 

7 AAC 145.520(b)(1)(B) is amended to read: 

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac/query=%5bJUMP:'7+aac+160!2E900'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac/query=%5bJUMP:'7+aac+160!2E900'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit
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   (B) rates established in the department’s Chart of [PERSONAL CARE 

SERVICES, COMMUNITY FIRST CHOICE SERVICES, AND] Wavier Service Rates, adopted by 

reference in 7 AAC 160.900. 

 

7 AAC 145.520(b)(3) is amended to read:  

 (3) each July 1, except July 1, 2019, that the rates of payment for care coordination 

services in the Chart of [PERSONAL CARE SERVICES, AND COMMUNITY FIRST 

CHOICE SERVICES, AND] Waiver Services Rates are not reestablished under (2) of this 

section, the rates will be adjusted as provided in 7 AAC 145.525(b). 

 

7 AAC 145.520(f)(2) is amended to read: 

  (2) rates established in the department’s Chart of [PERSONAL CARE SERVICES, 

COMMUNITY FIRST CHOICE SERVICES, AND] Waiver Services Rates, adopted by reference 

in 7 AAC 160.900. 

 

7 AAC 145.520(h) is amended to read: 

  (h) A qualified recipient receiving residential supported-living services under 7 

AAC 130.255 that are assigned procedure code T2031 in the Healthcare Common Procedure 

Coding System (HCPCS), adopted by reference in 7 AAC 160.900, or group-home habilitation 

services under 7 AAC 130.265 that are assigned procedure code T2016 in the Healthcare 

Common Procedure Coding System, is eligible for, in addition to the qualified recipient's daily 

rate provided under (f) and (g) of this section, an acuity add-on rate at the daily rate established 

in the Chart of [PERSONAL CARE SERVICES, COMMUNITY FIRST CHOICE SERVICSE, 

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac/query=%5bJUMP:'7+aac+130!2E255'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac/query=%5bJUMP:'7+aac+160!2E900'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac/query=%5bJUMP:'7+aac+130!2E265'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit
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AND] Waiver Services Rates, adopted by reference in 7 AAC 160.900. For purposes of this 

subsection, a qualified recipient is a recipient for whom the department has given prior 

authorization under 7 AAC 130.267 for additional services. 

(Eff. 2/1/2010, Register 193; am 3/1/2011, Register 197; am 4/1/2012, Register 201; am 

7/1/2013, Register 206; am 1/1/2014, Register 208; am 7/1/2015, Register 214; am 8/18/2015, 

Register 215; am 10/1/2017, Register 223; am 3/1/2018, Register 225; am 10/1/2018, Register 

227; am____/____/____, Register____) 

Authority: AS 47.05.010  AS 47.07.030  AS 47.07.040   

 

7 AAC 145.525. Re-establishing and adjusting payment rates in the department's Chart of 

Personal Care Services, Community First Choice Services and Waiver Services Rates. 

7 AAC 145.525(a) is amended to read: 

 (a) On or after July 1, 2018, rates of payment in the department's Chart of [PERSONAL 

CARE SERVICES, COMMUNITY FIRST CHOICE SERVICES, AND] Waiver Services Rates, 

adopted by reference in 7 AAC 160.900, will be re-established at least every four years using the 

department's Personal Care Assistant and Waiver Rate-Setting Methodology, adopted by 

reference in 7 AAC 160.900, as follows: 

 

7 AAC 145.525(b) is amended to read:  

 (b) Each July 1, except July 1, 2019, that rates of payment in the Chart of Waiver 

Services Rates, adopted by reference in 7 AAC 160.900, are not re-established under (a) of this 

section, the department will adjust the rates of payment in the Chart of Waiver Services Rates for 

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac/query=%5bJUMP:'7+aac+160!2E900'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac/query=%5bJUMP:'7+aac+130!2E267'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac/query=%5bJUMP:'7+aac+160!2E900'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac/query=%5bJUMP:'7+aac+160!2E900'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit
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inflation using the CMS Home Health Agency Market Basket in the most recent quarterly 

publication of Global Insight's Healthcare Cost Review available 60 days before July 1.  

 

7 AAC 145.525(c) is amended to read:  

 (c) Each July 1, rates of payment in the Chart of [PERSONAL CARE SERVICES, 

COMMUNITY FIRST CHOICE SERVICES, AND] Waiver Services Rates, adopted by reference 

in 7 AAC 160.900, that are re-established under (a) of this section or adjusted under (b) of this 

section will be further adjusted to reflect regional differences in the cost of doing business based 

on the designated planning regions described in Table I-1 of the Alaska Geographic Differential 

Study 2008, dated April 30, 2009 and adopted by reference in 7 AAC 160.900, with a factor of 

1.00 being the lowest factor applied and with the four southeast regional factors being averaged 

to a single weighted applicable factor of 1.09 

Authority: AS 47.05.010  AS 47.07.030  AS 47.07.040   

(Eff. 3/1/2018, Register 225; am 10/1/2018, Register 227; am____/____/____, Register____) 

 

Article 8 

Payment Rates; Behavioral Health Services. 

7 AAC 145.580. Behavioral health services payment rates. 

7 AAC 145.580(a)(2) is amended to read:  

 (a) The department will pay a corresponding unit of service for providing community 

behavioral health services under 7 AAC 135.100 - 7 AAC 135.290, at the lesser of the following 

rates:   

… 

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac/query=%5bJUMP:'7+aac+160!2E900'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/aac/query=%5bJUMP:'7+aac+160!2E900'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit
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  (2) the rate established in the department's Chart of Community Behavioral 

Health Services Medicaid Rates, adopted by reference in 7 AAC 160.900; for state fiscal year 

2020, the payment rates will be 95 percent of the state fiscal year 2019 payment rates. 

 

7 AAC 145.580(c) is amended to read: 

 (c) Each July 1, except July 1, 2019, that rates of payment in the Chart of Community 

Behavioral Health Services Medicaid Rates, adopted by reference in 7 AAC 160.900, are not 

reestablished under (b) of this section, the department will adjust the rates of payment in the 

Chart of Community Behavioral Health Services Medicaid Rates for inflation using the CMS 

Home Health Agency Market Basket in the most recent quarterly publication of Global Insight's 

Healthcare Cost Review available 60 days after July 1.   

 

7 AAC 145.580 is amended by adding a new subsection to read: 

 (d) The department will pay a corresponding unit of service for providing autism services 

under 7 AAC 135.350 at the lesser of the following rates: 

  (1) the amount charged by the provider in accordance with 7 AAC 145.020; or  

  (2) the rate established in the department's Medicaid Procedure Codes and  

Rates – Autism Services, adopted by reference in 7 AAC 160.900; for state fiscal year 2020, the 

payment rates will be 95 percent of the state fiscal year 2019 payment rates. 

7 AAC 145.580 is amended by adding a new subsection to read: 

 (e) The department will pay a corresponding unit of service for providing residential 

behavioral rehabilitation services under 7 AAC 135.800 at the lesser of the following rates: 

  (1) the amount charged by the provider in accordance with 7 AAC 145.020; or  
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  (2) the rate established in the department's Residential Behavioral  

Rehabilitation Services Handbook adopted by reference in 7 AAC 160.900. 

(Eff. 2/1/2010, Register 193; am 10/1/2011, Register 199; am 4/9/2017, Register 222; am 

5/21/2017, Register 222; am 7/1/2018, Register 226; am 1/1/2019, Register 228; 

am____/____/____, Register____) 

Authority: AS 47.05.010  AS 47.07.030  AS 47.07.040   

 

Article 9 

Payment Rates; Facility and Facility-Based Services. 

The heading of 7 AAC 145.600 is amended to read: 

7 AAC 145.600. General acute care hospital [HOSPITAL] payment rates. 

 

7 AAC 145.600(b) is amended to read: 

 (b)  The department will pay an out-of-state general acute care hospital at the Medicaid 

rate used by the jurisdiction where the hospital is located, or if no Medicaid rate has been 

established, the Medicare rate for the hospital [, OR IF NO MEDICARE RATE HAS BEEN 

ESTABLISHED, THE BLUE CROSS RATE]. 

(Eff. 2/1/2010, Register 193; am____/____/____, Register____) 

Authority: AS 47.05.010  AS 47.07.030  AS 47.07.040   

 

 

 

7 AAC 145.620. Residential psychiatric treatment center payment rate. 
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7 AAC 145.620(c) is amended to read:  

 (c) Based on periodic review of appropriate cost studies, the department will determine a 

daily rate to be paid for residential psychiatric treatment center services that is sufficient to enlist 

enough providers so that residential psychiatric treatment center services are available to 

Medicaid recipients at least to the extent that those services are available to the general 

population. For state fiscal year 2020, the daily payment rates will be 95 percent of the state 

fiscal year 2019 payment rates. 

(Eff. 2/1/2010, Register 193; am 10/1/2011, Register 199; am____/____/____, Register____) 

Authority: AS 47.05.010  AS 47.07.030  AS 47.07.040   

7 AAC 145.680. Free-standing birth center payment rates. 

7 AAC 145.680(b) is amended to read: 

 (b)  The department will not set an all-inclusive flat rate that exceeds 75 percent of the 

weighted average of the Medicaid hospital inpatient rates paid to the general acute care hospitals 

in Anchorage, Fairbanks, Juneau, Palmer, and Soldotna, for one inpatient hospital day.  For state 

fiscal year 2020, the payment rate will be 95 percent of the payment rate that would have 

been calculated in this subsection. 

 

The introductory language of 7 AAC 145.680(c) is amended to read: 

 (c) The department will calculate the weighted average described in (b) of this section 

using the Medicaid hospital inpatient rates for each facility under (b) of this section that are in 

effect at the start of the fourth quarter of the state fiscal year preceding the July 1 effective date.  

For state fiscal year 2021, the inpatient hospital payment rates used in the calculation will 

be what the rates would have been April 1, 2020, had the 5 percent rate reduction not been 
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applied excluding the inflation that would have been granted in state fiscal year 2019. The 

department will base the weighted average on the number of paid Medicaid inpatient claims filed 

for a normal vaginal hospital delivery with a one-day length of stay   

… 

(Eff. 5/1/2016, Register 218; am____/____/____, Register____) 

Authority: AS 47.05.010  AS 47.07.030  AS 47.07.070   

 

Chapter 160. Medicaid Program; General Provisions. 

7 AAC 160.900. Requirements adopted by reference. 

7 AAC 160.900(d)(10) is amended to read: 

  (10) the Chart of Personal Care Services and Community First Choice Services 

[AND WAIVER SERVICES] rates, dated June 26, 2019 [AUGUST 2, 2018],  for providers of 

personal care services under 7 AAC 125.010 – 7 AAC 125.199 and Community First Choice 

personal care services under 7 AAC 127 [, AND HOME AND COMMUNITY-BASED 

WAIVER SERVICES UNDER 7 AAC 130]; 

 

7 AAC 160.900(d)(26) is amended to read: 

  (26) the Residential Behavioral Rehabilitation Services Handbook, 2019 [2013] 

Edition, revised as of January 2, 2019 [AUGUST 7, 2013];   

 

7 AAC 160.900(d) is amended by adding a new paragraph to read: 

  (61) Medicaid Procedure Codes and Rates – Autism Services, dated May 1, 2018. 
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7 AAC 160.900(d) is amended by adding a new paragraph to read: 

  (62) the Chart of Waiver Services Rates, dated June 26, 2019, for providers of 

home and community-based waiver services under 7 AAC 130; 

 

7 AAC 160.900(e) is amended to read: 

(e)  The following department fee schedules are adopted by reference:   

  (1) State Fiscal Year 2019 [2014] CPT Fee Schedule for Chiropractic Services, 

revised as of August 24, 2018 [JULY 12, 2013];   

  (2) State Fiscal Year 2019 [2014] CDT Fee Schedule: Dental Services for 

Children, revised as of April 19, 2019 [JULY 9, 2013], State Fiscal Year 2019 [2014] CDT Fee 

Schedule: Emergent Adult Dental Services, revised as of April 19, 2019 [AUGUST 1, 2013], 

State Fiscal Year 2019 [2014] CDT Fee Schedule: Prosthodontic Adult Dental Services, revised 

as of April 19, 2019 [JULY 9, 2013], and State Fiscal Year 2019 [2014] CDT Fee Schedule: 

Enhanced Adult Dental Services, revised as of April 19, 2019 [JULY 16, 2013];   

  (3) State Fiscal Year 2019 [2014] CPT Fee Schedule for Direct Entry Midwife 

Services, and State Fiscal Year 2019 [2014] HCPC Fee Schedule for Direct Entry Midwife 

Services, revised as of November 26, 2018 [JULY 29, 2013];   

  (4) State Fiscal Year 2019 [2013] CPT Fee Schedule for Audiology Services, 

Table I-2(a), State Fiscal Year 2019 [2013] HCPC Fee Schedule for Audiology Services, Table 

I-2(b), and State Fiscal Year 2019 [2013] HCPC Fee Schedule for Hearing Aid Dealer Services, 

Table I-3, revised as of January 15, 2019 [SEPTEMBER 5, 2012];   

  (5) 2019 [2010] CPT Fee Schedule for Home Infusion Therapy Services, Table I-

3(a), revised as of September 10, 2018 [MARCH 4, 2010], and 2019 [2010] HCPC Fee 
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Schedule for Home Infusion Therapy Services, Table I-3(b), revised as of September 10, 2018 

[March 4, 2010];   

  (6) repealed ___/___/___;  

  (7) State Fiscal Year 2019 [2014] CPT Fee Schedule for Occupational Therapy 

Services, revised as of January 22, 2019  [AUGUST 30, 2013], and State Fiscal Year 2019 

[2014] HCPC Fee Schedule for Occupational Therapy Services, revised as of January 22, 2019 

[JULY 26, 2013];   

  (8) State Fiscal Year 2019 [2014] CPT Fee Schedule for Outpatient Therapy 

Services, revised as of January 22, 2019 [AUGUST 30, 2013], and State Fiscal Year 2019 

[2014] HCPC Fee Schedule for Outpatient Therapy Services, revised as of January 22, 2019 

[JULY 26, 2013];   

  (9) State Fiscal Year 2019 [2014] CPT Fee Schedule for Independent Physical 

Therapists, revised as of January 22, 2019 [AUGUST 30, 2013], and State Fiscal Year 2019 

[2014] HCPC Fee Schedule for Independent Physical Therapists, revised as of January 22, 

2019 [JULY 26, 2013];   

  (10) State Fiscal Year 2019 [2014] CPT Fee Schedule for Podiatry Services, and 

State Fiscal Year 2019 [2014] HCPC Fee Schedule for Podiatry Services, revised as of August 

24, 2018 [JULY 30, 2013];   

  (11) State Fiscal Year 2019 [2014] CPT Fee Schedule for School-Based Services, 

and State Fiscal Year 2019 [2014] HCPC Fee Schedule for School-Based Services, revised as of 

January 22, 2019 [JULY 25, 2013];   
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  (12) State Fiscal Year 2019 [2014] CPT Fee Schedule for Speech Pathologists, 

revised as of January 22, 2019 [AUGUST 30, 2013], and State Fiscal Year 2019 [2014] HCPC 

Fee Schedule for Speech Pathologists, revised as of January 22, 2019 [JULY 26, 2013];   

  (13) Transportation/Accommodation Fee Schedule, revised as of June 29, 2018 

[AUGUST 2012];   

  (14) State Fiscal Year 2019 [2014] CPT Fee Schedule for Vision Services, and 

State Fiscal Year 2019 [2014] HCPC Fee Schedule for Vision Services, revised as of January 

22, 2019 [JULY 31, 2013].   

(Eff. 2/1/2010, Register 193; am 8/25/2010, Register 195; am 12/1/2010, Register 196; am 

1/1/2011, Register 196; am 1/15/2011, Register 197; am 2/9/2011, Register 197; am 3/1/2011, 

Register 197; am 10/1/2011, Register 199; am 12/1/2011, Register 200; am 1/26/2012, Register 

201; am 3/8/2012, Register 201; am 4/1/2012, Register 201; add'l am 4/1/2012, Register 201; am 

5/11/2012, Register 202; am 10/16/2012, Register 204; am 11/3/2012, Register 204; am 

12/1/2012, Register 204; am 12/2/2012, Register 204; am 1/1/2013, Register 204; am 1/16/2013, 

Register 205; am 7/1/2013, Register 206; add'l am 7/1/2013, Register 206; am 11/3/2013, 

Register 208; am 1/1/2014, Register 208; am 2/2/2014, Register 209; am 3/19/2014, Register 

209; am 3/22/2014, Register 209; am 5/18/2014, Register 210; am 2/26/2015, Register 213; am 

3/15/2015, Register 213; am 7/1/2015, Register 214; am 5/1/2016, Register 218; am 6/16/2016, 

Register 218; am 6/16/2016, Register 218; am 7/22/2017, Register 223; am 11/5/2017, Register 

224; am 3/1/2018, Register 225; am 10/1/2018, Register 227; am 1/1/2019, Register 228; am 

3/24/2019, Register 229; am____/____/____, Register____) 

Authority: AS 47.05.010  AS 47.07.030  AS 47.07.040 

  AS 47.05.012   


