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June 10, 2019 
 
 
Dear licensees and interested parties: 
 
Alaska’s professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and 
Professional Licensing (CBPL) to “annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of 
each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation.” Alaska’s licensing fee 
statutes go on to say, “If the review indicates that an occupation’s fee collections and regulatory costs are not 
approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations…to implement the 
adjustments.”   

The division conducted a thorough fee analysis and proposes a decrease in licensing fee amounts for the 
Pawnbrokers program to comply with AS 08.01.065. SB 292 enacted the Pawnbrokers program effective July 
1, 2011. Because the costs of the program were to be spread across such a small number of licensees, the 
initial fees were proposed based on the known costs of similarly sized licensing programs.  The division has 
been able to hold down costs, administering the program at far less expense than anticipated.  To that end, 
we recommend reducing licensing fees this time.   

The proposed fee amounts are enclosed and can also be found on the program’s web page: 
http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/pawnbrokers.  
 
This fee proposal is entering a public comment period. The division encourages all licensees and interested 
parties to comment on this proposal through the division’s regulations specialist. After the comment period 
closes and the division reviews all comments received, the division may adopt the regulation as drafted, may 
amend a proposed fee, or may withdraw the regulations in part or in whole.    

All comments received will be reviewed and taken into consideration prior to adopting the final regulations.  
The final decision will result in fee implementation prior to the upcoming license renewal. 

Follow the instructions enclosed to make written comments during the public comment period.  Comments 
must be addressed to CBPL Regulations Specialist, PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811 or 
regulationsandpubliccomment@alaska.gov.  

 
Sincerely, 
 

 
Sara Chambers 
Division Director 

http://professionallicense.alaska.gov/Pawnbrokers
mailto:regulationsandpubliccomment@alaska.gov


Register           ,                  2019  PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS 
 
 

Draft 6/6/19 1 

 Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions. 

(Words in boldface and underlined indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED 
AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.)   
 
12 AAC 02.380 is amended to read: 

 12 AAC 02.380. Pawnbrokers. The following fees are established for pawnbrokers:  

  (1) nonrefundable application fee for initial license, $250 [$200];  

  (2) license fee for all or part of the initial biennial licensing period, $100 [$800]; 

  (3) biennial license renewal fee, $100 [$800]. (Eff. 7/1/2011, Register 198; am 

11/30/2013, Register 208; am ____/____/_____, Register ____) 

Authority: AS 08.01.065  AS 08.76.110  AS 08.76.140 

   

    

 


