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ORDER CERTIFYING THE CHANGES TO
REGULATIONS OF THE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

The attached ten pages of regulations, dealing with sedation permit requirements, continuing
education requirements, license qualifications, and courtesy license requirements, are hereby
certified to be a correct copy of the regulation changes that the Board of Dental Examiners
adopted at its February 15, 2019 meeting, under the authority of AS 08.01.062; AS 08.01.065;
AS 08.32.014; AS 08.32.030; AS 08.32.070; AS 08.32.081; AS 08.32.110; AS 08.32.160;

AS 08.32.165; AS 08.36.070; AS 08.36.100; AS 08.36.110; AS 08.36.234; AS 08.36.250; and
AS 08.36.315, and after compliance with the Administrative Procedure Act (AS 44.62),
specifically including notice under AS 44.62.190 and 44.62.200 and opportunity for public
comment under AS 44.62.210.

This action is not expected to require an increased appropriation.

On the record, in considering public comments, the Board of Dental Examiners paid special
attention to the cost to private persons of the regulatory action being taken.

The regulation changes described in this order take effect on the 30th day after they have been
filed by the lieutenant governor, as provided in AS 44.62.180.

DATE: /S [Fe& 2005

Anchorage, Alaska 7 P
£ ., f’/_/ S - s

Dr. Paul Silvéira, President
Board of Dental Examiners

FILING CERTIFICATION

I, Kevin Meyer, Lieutenant Governor for the State of Alaska, certify that on

M l s , 2019 at f¢:{| Am., I filed the attached regulations
according to the provisions of AS 44.62.040 — 44.62.120.

Ko Moo

Kevin Meyer, Lieutenant Governor

Effective: m Ay "';.l 2019
Register: 220 .'3—\)\\3\} 7014 .




Register 7270, Tyl 2019 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS
J

Chapter 28. Board of Dental Examiners.

12 AAC 28.010(e)(5)(B) is amended to read:
(B) provide documentation that at least 20 of the 50 anesthesia or deep
sedation cases were individually managed patients younger than 13 years of age.
(Eff. 4/10/70, Register 34; am 5/29/98, Register 149(am 6/24/2012, Register 202; am
12/15/2013, Register 208; am 4/14/2018, Register 2’26; am 12/9/2018, Register 228; am

S /\ /2014, Register 250 )

Authority:  AS 08.01.065 AS 08.36.100 AS 08.36.234

AS 08.36.070 AS 08.36.110 AS 08.36.250

12 AAC 28.015(e)(1)(B) is amended to read:
(B) a board-approved continuing education course in sedation consistent
with the Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental

Students, adopted by reference in (A) of this paragraph, and required under 12 AAC

28.026; the course must consist of a minimum of 60 hours of instruction plus
administration of sedation for at least 20 individually managed patients per participant to
establish competency and clinical experience in moderate sedation and management of a

compromised airway; and

12 AAC 28.015(¢)(2)(A) is amended to read:
(A) provide proof that the applicant completed an additional 30 hours of

( required l ~
board-approved coursework in pediatric moderate sedationtunder 12 AAC 28.02_73‘));
A -

and

DOL#ZQ—FSQG%OE—E? I



Register 250 , TO\U\ 2019 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS
)]

12 AAC 28.015(e)(2)(B) is amended to read:
(B) provide proof of administration of sedation for at least 20 individually

managed patients younger than 13 years of age while under the supervision of a

sedation provider holding a current moderate or deep sedation permit in good

standing for patients under 13 vears of age anesthesiologist] or-z certified

(licznsedh )
registered nurse anesthetist/in this state or another jurisdiction.

12 AAC 28.015(f) is amended to read:

(f) In addition to meeting the requirements of (d) and (g) of this section, an applicant for
an initial permit to administer moderate or minimal sedation only to patients who are younger
than 13 years of age under this section must provide proof of administration of sedation for at
least 20 individually managed patients younger than 13 years of age to establish competency and
clinical experience in management of a comprised airway, and provide documentation that the
applicant has completed

[(1)] a Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) accredited residency in
pediatric dentistry[; OR
(2) AT LEAST 60 HOURS OF CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSEWORK

IN PEDIATRIC MODERATE SEDATION APPROVED BY THE BOARD].
12 AAC 28.015(h)(5)(B) is amended to read:

(B) provide documentation that at least 10 of the 25 moderate sedation

cases were individually managed patients younger than 13 years of age.

DG-E#QB-I—B%GHH?;‘ 2



Register 230 ,“Ku\t\l 2019 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

12 AAC 28.015(j)(1) is amended to read:

(1) provide proof of an add1t10na1 30 hours of board-approved continuing

education in pediatric moderate sedatlon under 12 AAC 28.027; and

12 AAC 28.015(j)(2) is amended to read:
(2) provide proof of administration of sedation for at least 20 individually

managed patients younger than 13 years of age while under the supervision of a sedation

provider holding a current moderate or deep sedation permit in good standing for patients

ar an
under 13 vears of age;@sed anesthesiologist] or Zcertiﬁed registered nurse anesthetist)’
[

licanged
Lzﬁf{his state or another jurisdiction.

(Eff. 4/14/2018, Register 226; am 12/9/2018, Register 228;am S /' /7014, Register 2.50)

Authority:  AS 08.01.065 AS 08.36.100 AS 08.36.234

courseworic re_cy./vmal
unchker 12 ARC
28.0\5 (2 )(2)CA)

or continuing tduce i 23.015(2)C1XCE) or GGX1)
cequires UNTeT

12 AAC 28 is amended by adding new sections Ta-Articke+ to read:
Udpurtncone ) L oursewark or c;.m'l‘m..:m:Lcim_;,L-\‘mn)

12 AAC 28.025. [Approval of tburse of instruetion in moderate sedation, or minimal

AS 08.36.070 AS 08.36.110 AS 08.36.250

sedation of patients younger than 13 years of age. The board may upon its own motion or

upon the request of any interested pm upon receipt of

C31)1(Zmpleted form provided by the department that includes the name of the
provic mg g
college or university b the courseyi i -pregraﬁa, or if the course is

4 (3he
completed through a continuing education course,iname of the sponsor, accredited program and

faculty member presenting the course;

BQI:#—Z@-E—S—EQ-% 3



Register 250 'Su\% 2019 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

(2) a course outline that verifies inclusion of the subjects and procedures required

under
(A)12 AAC 28.026 if certification to administer moderate sedation only
for patients 13 years of age and older is sought; and
(B) 12 AAC 28.027 if certification to administer moderate or minimal
sedation for patients younger than 13 years of age is sought; and
(3) an explanation of the evaluation procedures used to determine successful

completion of the course. (Eff. S /! /20\, Register 7.%0)

Authority:  AS 08.36.070
[dscum‘?a:\f.lcm of ‘\fou'm'nj or l

12 AAC 28.026. Requirements for[a continuing education course%r—trﬂinhig-in—r

kps'h;u HQII"'L‘CH on of +r¢.1.'l ~ n 3 ar

“Postgraduate-resideney in moderate sedation for patients 13 years of age and older. (a)

c required vadar 12 ARC 23.015(e )} )(B)J
continuing education coml-frﬂiﬁiﬂg—pfegmm for an initial permit in moderate
sedation only for patients 13 years of age and older lﬁlst-imeﬁhc-feeﬁmcmms-eﬂ%me-
2K.045¢e)(Hand must include

O
(1)Jcertification of competence in moderate sedation techniques;

(2) [certification of competence in rescuing patients from a deeper level of
sedation than intended, including managing the airway, intravascular or intraosseous access, and
reversal medications;

+ha
(3)Aprovision byjcourse director or faculty of additional clinical experience if

participant competency has not been achieved in time allotted; and
A

-DOLE#2618201025 4



Register 250 | July\ 2019 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS
J

(4) records of instruction and clinical experience that are maintained and available

for participant review, including!number of patients managed by each participant in each

l'l'lodalily o1 Ioute ° EJ ¥ w (A RAC . 2.‘3 OlS(Q)(!)(B) b
rQ‘iU)r (478 ) he
Jo feeiye. aMw}” [].r

boacd spprovaly 3)(b) A continuing education courseffor an initial permit in moderate sedation for patients
13 years of age and older Mﬁeﬂﬁ'ﬁﬁdﬂﬁfmﬂnd—(-ﬁ)ﬂ%memeﬁ must be certified
by the American Dental Association (ADA) Continuing Education Recognition Program
(CERP), or the Academy of General Dentistry (AGD) Program Approval for Continuing

Education (PACE). (Eff. © /\ /204, Register 220 )

Authority:  AS 08.36.070

P coursvz.work or

12 AAC 28.027. Requirements for|continuing educationZourses in moderate

To reerive
sedation and minimal sedation for patients younger than 13 years of age. he-
bosrd a.ppravaJ for courszwork r»zq,u.red ondar 12 AAC 23, ow'(,g)a)CA) or ulx'hnumj

x elglll’:_\lﬂnintadg.el.—lql'di'-l:‘i eYE = O : CALES—A ; = - e " -

Quc,a:‘"\o/\ vnoler 12 AA(— 2?’ ‘3' CJ.)CI) 'ﬂ‘lSLJ

ar Cormh ﬁU‘l ng ed-UCl-lﬁ()h

@G&Hﬁ-ﬁ&iﬁgedﬂe&tiewcoursework E must be certified by the

American Dental Association (ADA) Continuing Education Recognition Program (CERP), the

Academy of General Dentistry (AGD) Program Approval for Continuing Education (PACE), or



Register 220 , Jv hj 2019 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS
the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry (AAPD), or offered by other organizations
approved by the board including, the American Dental Society of Anesthesiology (ADSA), and
the Society for Pediatric Sedation (SPS). Course titles and outlines must be provided to the
board and must include the following subject areas:

(1) physical, psychologiCEﬂ;\and social child development, and ag%ppropriate
behavior response;

(2) principles and objectives of sedation and gntrzﬂ anesthesia as behavior
guidance techniques in children, and indication and contraindications for sedatives and their use;

(3) prevention, recognition, treatmer%\and management of pharmacological
related emergencies in pediatric patients, and rescuing a child from a deeper level of sedation
than intended;

(4) pre-operative evaluation and risk assessment of the pediatric patient;

(5) assessing the effects of pharmacologic agents on the pediatric patient;

(6) at least three hours of hand$1 simulated airway management specific to the
pediatric patient;

(7) pediatric patient monitoring; and

(8) recovery room management and pediatric post-operative appraisal and follow)

up. (Eff. 5 /\ / 2o\9 , Register 250 )

Authority:  AS 08.36.070

12 AAC 28.360 is amended to read:

J2 AAC 28.360. Registry. The board will maintain a registry of all [BOARD
—
b 25l )



Register 220 | —Suw\\j 2019 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

APPROVED COURSES OF INSTRUCTION AND ALL] dental hygienists certified to
administer local anesthetic agents or nitrous oxide sedation. (Eff. 5/31/81, Register 78; am
4/14/2018, Register 226;am 9/ | /2014, Register 230 )

Authority:  AS 08.32.110 AS 08.36.070

12 AAC 28.925(a)(2) is amended to read: @

(2) pays the rencwal fee established in 12 AAC 02.190( a)(4)?’and ( 10} (b)(6),
- % Queolnezant, ) ’ ’

Y, b s, ~
(10). and (13) [12 AAC 02.190(A)(4), (A)(8), (B)(5), (B)(6), AND (B)(14)], as applicable; and

(Eff. 1/15/2003, Register 165; am 12/15/2013, Register 208; am © /| / 2019, Register

1%0 )
Authority:  AS 08.32.081 AS 08.36.070 AS 08.36.250

12 AAC 28.937(c)(4)(B) is amended to read:

(B) that the applicant has been licensed for five yearsfand in active
L

clinical practice documenting at least 2,500 hours for five years immediately preceding

the date of
application,;

12 AAC 28.937(c)(7) is amended to read:

(7) affidavits from three licensed dentists or licensed dental hygienists stating the
¢/ MOre
applicant has been licensed for five vears and in active clinical practice documenting at least
A

2,500 hours during the five years immediately preceding the date of application.
(Eff. 1/22/2004, Register 169; am 5/5/2006, Register 178; am 12/5/2009, Register 192; am

12/15/2013, Register 208; am 3/11/2016, Register 217;am 5 /\ /2004 Register 730

-9943#2-048-2-61“62?;1 7



Register 220 ,"Tyln_ 2019 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS
J

Authority:  AS 08.32.014 AS 08.32.070 AS 08.36.070

AS 08.32.030 ‘
”"ﬂm; &A.L:j 12 ARAC 29.938 rewouna M:JAM%«&?(..)))

{5 AAC28-938 75 amemted o read— .

12 AAC 28.938. Dental educational requirements. An applicant for a i

practice dentistry must be a graduate of a dental school or a two post-graduate residency

y the Commission on Dental Kot anrn
ARaa 2011
Sociation. (Eff. 12/15/2013, Register 208; am 2 ){ C‘S’r

program that, at the time of graduation, is accredite

Accreditation of the American Denta

12 AAC 28.940(b)(8)(B)(vi) is amended to read:
(vi) patient based operative examination that includes one class II

posterior alloy or [AND ONE] composite procedure, and one additional

operative procedure, either anterior class III or posterior class II; or

(Eff. 1/28/2000, Register 153; am 8/15/2001, Register 159; am 1/15/2003, Register 165; am
1/22/2004, Register 169; am 4/27/2007, Register 182; am 10/19/2008, Register 188; am
12/2/2012, Register 204; am 12/15/2013, Register 208; am 9/26/2018, Register 227; am

9 /\ /709, Register 1,30 )

Authority:  AS 08.36.070 AS 08.36.110



Register 22,0 ,’g"uj% 2019 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

12 AAC 28.951(c)(6)(B) is amended to read:
(B) the applicant has been licensed for five yearsjand in active clinical
A

practice documenting at least 5,000 hours;

12 AAC 28.951(c)(11) is amended to read:

(11) affidavits from three licensed dentists documenting the applicant has been
or old.

licensed for five years[and in active clinical practice for at least 5,000 hours during the five

years immediately preceding the date of application;

(Eff. 2/18/93, Register 125; am 2/4/94, Register 129; am 2/22/98, Register 145; am 1/28/2000,
Register 153; am 8/15/2001, Register 159; am 1/22/2004, Register 169; am 5/5/2006, Register
178; am 10/19/2008, Register 188; am 12/15/2013, Register 208; am 3/11/2016, Register 217;

am 9/26/2018, Register 227;am 5 / \ /Z0V), Register 2%0 )

Authority:  AS 08.36.070 AS 08.36.110 AS 08.36.234

12 AAC 28.955(a) is amended to read:

(a) The board will issue a courtesy license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene to a
nm@m sident for only a limited purpose that is approved by the board under (b) of this section to
an applicant who meets the requirements of this section. The board will specify the limitations on
scope of the approved practice and duration of the courtesy license. A courtesy license does not

authorize the licensee to practice dentistry or dental hygiene outside the limited purpose that is

specified on the courtesy license.



Register 2% ’“f""ﬁ} 2019 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS
HACK, )
: ilitary stati in-thi (Eff. 12/24/2006, Register 180; am 12/15/2013,

Register 208;am 9 /| /20l9, Register 230 )

Authority:  AS 08.01.062 AS 08.32.165 AS 08.36.234

AS 08.32.160 AS 08.36.110 AS 08.36.315



MEMORANDUM State of Alaska

Department of Law

To:  The Honorable Kevin Meyer Date:  March 26, 2019
Lieutenant Governor
File No.:  2(18201025.001

Thru: Susan R. Pollard §X/P Tel. No:: 4653600
Chief Assistant Attorney General
and Regulations Attorney
Legislation and Regulations Section
From:  Steven C. Weaver‘)d CDAF Re:  Board of Dental Examiners
Senior Assistant Attorney General regulations re: sedation permit
and Assistant Regulations Attorney training requirements, continuing
Legislation and Regulations Section education, requirements regarding

dental hygienists, lapsed licenses, and
courtesy licenses (12 AAC
28.010(e)(5)(B); 12 AAC 28.015;

12 AAC 28.025 - 12 AAC 28.027,

12 AAC 28.360; 12 AAC
28.925(a)(2); 12 AAC 28.937(c);

12 AAC 28.940(b)(8)(B)(vi);

12 AAC 28.951(c); 12 AAC
28.955(a))

The Department of Law has reviewed the attached regulations of the Board of Dental
Examiners against the statutory standards of the Administrative Procedure Act. Based upon our
review, we find no legal problems. This memorandum constitutes the written statement of
approval under AS 44.62.060(b) and (c) that authorizes your office to file Part 1 of the attached
regulations. The regulations were adopted by the Board of Dental Examiners after the close of
the public comment period. The regulations concern sedation permit training requirements,
continuing education, requirements regarding dental hygienists, lapsed licenses, and courtesy
licenses.

We have confirmation that the board has requested that we defer our review, to Part 2 of
this project (Department of Law file 2018201025.002), of a proposed amendment to 12 AAC
28.938, pending additional board work on that provision. We also have confirmation from
agency staff to defer our review, to Part 2 of this project, of proposed 12 AAC 28.955(1), pending
additional board work on that provision. The provisions that are withdrawn are shown on the
attached copy of regulations. The remainder of the regulations, grouped as Part 1, are ready for
filing.

The January 7, 2019 public notice and the Februrary 15, 2019 certification of adoption



Hon. Kevin Meyer, Lieutenant Governor March 26, 2019
Our file: 2018201025.001 Page 2

order both state that this action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. Therefore, a
fiscal note under AS 44.62.195 is not required.

We have made some technical corrections to conform the regulations in accordance with
AS 44.62.125. The corrections are shown on the attached copy of the regulations.

SCW

cc: Dr. David Nielson, President
Board of Dental Examiners
(by e-mail through Sher Zinn)

Debbie Morgan, Regulations Contact
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Sara Chambers, Director
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Joan M. Wilson, Assistant Attorney General
Commercial, Fair Business, and Child Support Section



NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES RELATING TO LICENSE AND SEDATION
PERMIT QUALIFICATIONS, RENEWAL, COURTESY LICENSES IN THE
REGULATIONS OF THE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

BRIEF DESCRIPTION: The Board of Dental Examiners proposes to update regulations regarding licensing
qualifications, sedation permit initial qualifications and renewal, courtesy licenses and updating other
regulations.

The Board of Dental Examiners (Board) proposes to adopt regulation changes in Title 12, Chapter 28 of
the Alaska Administrative Code including the following:

1. 12 AAC 28.010. Permit requirements for use of deep sedation or general anesthesia, is
proposed to be updated to require a minimum number of sedation cases for patients younger than
13 years of age for renewal of a sedation permit.

2. 12 AAC 28.015. Permit requirements for use of moderate sedation, or for use of minimal
sedation for a patient younger than 13 years of age, is proposed to be updated by changing the
qualifications for obtaining a moderate sedation permit.

3. 12 AAC 28.025. Approval of course of instruction in moderate sedation, or minimal sedation
of patients younger than 13 years of age, is a proposed new section outlining the requirements for
board approval of a course of instruction for a moderate or minimal sedation permit.

4. 12 AAC 28.026. Requirements for a continuing education course, or training in a
postgraduate residency in moderate sedation for patients 13 years of age and older, is a
proposed new section outlining the requirements for a moderate sedation course of instruction for
patients 13 years of age and older.

5. 12 AAC 28.027. Requirements for continuing education courses in moderate and minimal
sedation for patients younger than 13 years of age, is a proposed new section outlining the
requirements for continuing education coursework for adding a pediatric designation to a moderate
sedation permit.

6. 12 AAC 28.360. Registry, is proposed to remove the requirement of keeping a registry for board-
approved courses of instruction for local anesthesia and nitrous oxide sedation for dental hygienists.

7. 12 AAC 28.925. Lapsed licenses, is proposed to update the citations for applicable fees in
centralized regulations.

8. 12 AAC 28.937. Dental hygienist licensure by credentials, is proposed to clarify the requirement
of five years of licensure to qualify for a license by credentials.

9. 12 AAC 28.938. Dental educational requirements, is proposed to add an accredited post graduate
residency program for educational requirements of a dental license.

10. 12 AAC 28.940. Dental licensure by examination, is proposed to change the examination
requirements for a dental license by examination.

11. 12 AAC 28.951. Dental licensure by credentials, is proposed to clarify the requirement of five
years of licensure to qualify for a license by credentials.

12. 12 AAC 28.955. Courtesy license, is proposed to be changed by adding a definition for “non-
resident”.

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private persons of
complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Sher Zinn, Regulations



Specialist, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK
99811-0806. Additionally, the Board will accept comments by facsimile at (907) 465-2974 and by
electronic mail at RegulationsAndPublicComment(@alaska.gov. Comments may also be submitted through
the Alaska Online Public Notice System by accessing this notice on the system at
http://notice.alaska.gov/192439, and using the comment link. The comments must be received not later
than 5:00 p.m. on February 6, 2019. Comments received after this deadline will not be considered by the
Board.

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist,
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806
or by e-mail at RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov. The questions must be received at least 10
days before the end of the public comment period. The Board will aggregate its response to substantially
similar questions and make the questions and responses available on the Alaska Online Public Notice
System and on the Board’s website at
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofDental Examiners.aspx. The
Board may, but is not required to, answer written questions received after the 10-day cut-off date and before
the end of the comment period.

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this
process, please contact Sher Zinn at (907) 465-1049 or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov, no
later than January 30, 2019, to ensure that any necessary accommodation can be provided.

A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and by
contacting Sher Zinn at (907) 465-1049 or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov, or goto
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/DEN-12-18.pdf.

After the public comment period ends, the Board will either adopt the proposed regulation changes or other
provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action. The language
of the final regulations may be different from that of the proposed regulations. You should comment
during the time allowed if your interests could be affected. Written comments and questions received
are public records and are subject to public inspection.

Statutory Authority: AS 08.01.062; AS 08.01.065; AS 08.32.014; AS 08.32.030; AS 08.32.070;
AS 08.32.081; AS 08.32.110; AS 08.32.160; AS 08.32.165; AS 08.36.070; AS 08.36.100; AS 08.36.110;
AS 08.36.234; AS 08.36.250; AS 08.36.315

Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 08.01.062; AS 08.01.065;
AS 08.32.014; AS 08.32.030; AS 08.32.070; AS 08.32.081; AS 08.32.110; AS 08.32.160; AS 08.32.165;
AS 08.36.070; AS 08.36.100; AS 08.36.110; AS 08.36.234; AS 08.36.250; AS 08.36.315

Fiscal Information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased
appropriation,

DATE: //4’//7 e/” ﬁ///zlﬁ;/t_/

Sher Zinn, Regylations Specialist
Division of Edrporations, Business and
Professional Licensing

For each occupation regulated under the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing,
the Division keeps a list of individuals or organizations who are interested in the regulations of that
occupation. The Division automatically sends a Notice of Proposed Regulations to the parties on the
appropriate list each time there is a proposed change in an occupation's regulations in Title 12 of the
Alaska Administrative Code. If you would like your address added to or removed from such a list, send
your request to the Division at the address above, giving your name, either your e-mail address or mailing
address (as you prefer for receiving notices), and the occupational area in which you are interested.



10.

1.

ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION
(AS 44.62.190(d))

Adopting agency: Board of Dental Examiners — Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic
Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing.

General subject of regulation: License qualifications, sedation permit qualifications, sedation permit
renewal requirements, and courtesy licenses.

Citation of regulation: 12 AAC 28.010; 12 AAC 28.015; 12 AAC 28.025; 12 AAC 28.026: 12 AAC
28.027; 12 AAC 28.360; 12 AAC 28.925; 12 AAC 28.937; 12 AAC 28.938; 12 AAC 28.940; 12 AAC
28.951; 12 AAC 28.955

Department of Law file number: 2018201025

Reason for the proposed action: Update license and sedation permit qualifications, clarification of
existing regulations, define “non-resident” for courtesy licenses.

Appropriation/Allocation: Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing — #2360.

Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to:

A private person: Cost for a dentist for completing a course or residency in moderate sedation. Actual
cost is unknown at this time.

Another state agency: None known.

A municipality: None known.

Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of dollars):
No costs are expected in FY 2019 or in subsequent years.

The name of the contact person for the regulation:

Amber Treston, Records and Licensing Supervisor

Board of Dental Examiners

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Telephone: (907) 465-2542

E-mail: amber.treston@alaska.gov

The origin of the proposed action: Board of Dental Examiners.
4 -
Date: // 4 // 7 Prepared by: C/%}é& B ane o

Sher Zinn A
Regulations Spécialist




STATE OF ALASKA )
) ss.
FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT )

AFFIDAVIT OF NOTICE OF PROPOSED ADOPTION OF REGULATIONS
AND FURNISHING OF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

I, Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic
Development Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Llcensmg, being sworn, state
the following:

As required by AS 44.62.190, notice of the proposed adoption of changes to 12 AAC 28.010 —
12 AAC 28.955 dealing with sedatlon permit requirements, eontmulng education requirements,
license qualifications, and courtesy license requirements, has been given by being;

1. published in a newspaper or trade publication;

2. furnished to every person who has filed a request for notice of proposed action with the state
agency;

furnished to appropriate state officials;

furnished to interested persons;

furnished to the Department of Law, along with a copy of the proposed regulation;
furnished electronically to incumbent State of Alaska legislators;

posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System as required by AS 44.62.175(a)(1) and
(b) and 44.62.190(a)(1);

N o v s W

As required by AS 44.62.190, additional regulation notice information regarding the proposed
adoption of the regulation changes described above has been furnished to interested persons and
those in (2), (4) and (6) of the list above. The additional regulation notice information also has been
posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System.

Date: _)V? /ﬂ’?ﬁ? // 9
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Sher Zinn, lations Specialist
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Notary Public in and for t d}&ﬁ of Alaska
My commission expires




STATE OF ALASKA )
) ss.
FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT )

AFFIDAVIT OF AGENCY RECORD OF PUBLIC COMMENT

I, Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic
Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, being sworn, state
the following:

In compliance with AS 44.62.215, the Board of Dental Examiners has kept a record of its use or
rejection of factual or other substantive information that was submitted in writing as public
comment and that was relevant to the accuracy, coverage, or other aspect of the Board of Dental
Examiners regulations on dealing with sedation permit requirements, continuing education
requirements, license qualifications, and courtesy license requirements.

Date: ol /RAR/N 3 Mm W

Sher Zinn, R&ﬁllations Specialist

Subscribed and sworn to before me at \) Wl ail /4/& KZ%—/

w  2l2ag

&d]

* a + . .
,.-m‘ y 'c'é}r}?{% ,%':-“ Notary Public in and for tth/((:}/ate ﬁﬂf\laska
o IR L P * 3 B .
S RS A My commission expires: O )Ca_
TN
: @ " by d\/‘é}'\ﬂ“? g Em :
merd ) Sy &
EORE 4‘:’0 S5 F
A RIS



STATE OF ALASKA )

) ss.

FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT )

AFFIDAVIT OF BOARD ACTION

I, Tracy Wiard, Licensing Examiner for the Board of Dental Examiners, being duly sworn, state the
following:

Date:

The attached motion dealing with sedation permit requirements, continuing education
requirements, license qualifications, and courtesy license requirements, was passed by the
Board of Dental Examiners during its February 15, 2019 meeting.

2laaj20 se) MIﬂMQ

Juneau, Alaska Tracy Wiard, Licensing Examiner
y g
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questioning who verifies military training can be a substitute for training, or a component of the
exam, etc. It was asked if the board would like to clear up the decision regarding military experience
in lieu of training. There was a discussion regarding the statute and how the board does not want to
give rubber stamp approvals for licensees that may not be qualified.

On a motion duly made by Ross, seconded by Scheller, and approved unanimously, it was
RESOLVED to go in to executive session in accordance with Alaska Statute 44.62.310(c)(3)
for the putpose of discussing investigative matters which by law, municipal charter, or
ordinance are required to be confidential. Board staff to temain during this session.

Off the Record at: 1:20 pm
On the Record at: 1:32 pm

On a motion duly made by Scheller, seconded by Walden, and approved unanimously by a
roll call vote, it was RESOLVED to approve Richard Lauderback’s Dental Application by
Exam Level II.

The board wanted to note on the record that further military applications would be considered on a
case by case basis. There was evidence to show that the licensing qualifications have been met but

the board does like to review qualifications on a case by case basis.

Agenda Item 10 — Regulation Review

Drt. Nielsen addressed the board and said he would like to discuss a few changes to the regulations.
He informed the board he had gotten a2 comment from someone that would be considered public
comment and asked the person to draft a letter but they did not. Regulations Specialist Zinn
stopped Dr. Nielsen and explained that public comment cannot be delivered by a board member.
Public comment must be completed in writing and submitted through the appropriate channels in
the public comment process to be considered. The board did review the public comments propetly
submitted and considered the cost to the public.

The board reviewed the regulations that were previously out for public comment. It was noted that
12 AAC 28.015(¢)(2)(B) has left out a physician anesthesiologist. There was a question as to if
licensed medical anesthesiologist was covered under the term, “sedation provider?” Regulations
Specialist Zinn stated that because CRNA was listed then a licensed anesthesiologist would also
need to be listed. A medical anesthesiologist would not fall under a moderate ot deep sedation
permit because an anesthesiologist is a license outside the dental boatds jurisdiction. The board
would need to add licensed anesthesiologist to the current regulations.

On a motion duly made by Silveira, seconded by Ross, and approved unanimously, it was
RESOLVED to adopt the regulations amending to add licensed anesthesiologist as an
acceptable 12 AAC 28.015(e)(2)(B), 12 AAC 28.015(j)(2), 12 AAC 28.027(a). It was also
tesolved to approve 12 AAC 28.940(b)(8)(B) as amended with the word, “one,” removed after
the word, “or.”

The board reviewed the application again and discussed the content to be covered. They discussed
the course covering implants and sinus grafts and how the course offers 40 hours of CEU’s. The
board discussed perhaps each course being reviewed individually. There was discussion of the

7
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STATE OF ALASKA
THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT

Sarah Jennett

being first duly sworn on oath deposes and says
that he/she is a representative of the Anchorage
Daily News, a daily newspaper. That said
newspaper has been approved by the Third
Judicial Court, Anchorage, Alaska, and it now
and has been published in the English language
continually as a daily newspaper in Anchorage,
Alaska, and it is now and during all said time
was printed in an office maintained at the
aforesaid place of publication of said newspaper.
That the annexed is a copy of an advertisement
as it was published in regular issues (and not in
supplemental form) of said newspaper on

January 07, 2019

and that such newspaper was regularly
distributed to its subscribers during all of said
period. That the full amount of the fee charged
for the foreg

Subgcribed and sworn to be me
this 7th day of January, 2019

The State of Alagka.
Third Division
Anchorage, Alaska

S
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/ - —

i Hotary Public
: BRITMEY 1, THOMPSTN
State of Alaska
Ry Gommission E4pires Feb 23, 2019




STATE OF ALASKA )

) ss.

FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT )

AFFIDAVIT OF BOARD ACTION

I, Tracy Wiard, Licensing Examiner for the Board of Dental Examiners, being duly sworn, state the

following:

The attached motion dealing with revisions of regulations from the regulation project
regarding sedation permit requirements, continuing education requirements, license
qualifications, and courtesy license requirements, was passed by the Board of Dental

Examiners during its March 8, 2019 meeting.

Date: g/ (?:., lc7

/I(/WA J Umuéo

Juneau, Alaska

Subscribed and swom to before me at

Tracy Wifrd, Licensing Examiner
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(date)

STATE OF ALASKA . "%,
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Lacey E. Bartlett r}.e-ki,,

NOTARY PUBLIC 7%
My Commission Expires 04/01/2020
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Notary Public i\ and for the
State of Alask
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Miller, Linda J (LAW)

From: Zinn, Sher K (CED)

Sent: Tuesday, March 12, 2019 2:28 PM

To: Wilson, Joan M (LAW)

Subject: RE: Dental Board Sedation Project 2018201025

See below excerpt of minutes from the March 8, 2019, Dental Board meeting withdrawing 12 AAC 28.938 from the
regulation project. Let me know if there is anything else you need. Thank you!

STATE OF ALASKA
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY AND
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT
DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS,
BUSINESS & PROFESSIONAL LICENSING
BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

MINUTES OF MEETING
March 08, 2019

Agenda Item 4 - 2 Year Residency for Foreign Dental Graduates

Drt. Nielsen overviewed the history of the of the board having to deny applicants that have not graduated from a
dental school accredited by CODA. CODA accreditation only occurs in the US and that would mean only US
dental school graduates would meet the qualification. The board tried adding a section to 12 AAC 28.938 allowing
applicants who have not graduated from a CODA accredited school to complete a 2-year residency program to be
eligible for licensure.

It was determined by Department of Law that the board did not have the statutory authority to make that

change. AS 08.36.110(1)(A) states that the applicant must graduate from a dental school approved by the

board. The Department of Law states that a dental school and a residency program are not the same thing. The
board cannot require a residency in lieu of dental school approved by the board. It was recommended a statute
change or regulation change be made to qualify applicants who have not graduated from a CODA accredited dental
school.

Dr. Nielsen stated that the boatd may remove the requirement of graduation from a CODA accredited dental
school by removing 12 AAC 28.938 from the regulations project. Previous considerations the board had with not
having the CODA accreditation is that an orthodontist or other specialty licensed person may have been eligible for
licensure and begin placing fillings, etc., without ever having taken a US board exam or graduated from a US
school. Dt. Nieslen suggested complete removal of the 2-year residency requirement from current regulations
projects.

On a motion made by Gail Walden, seconded by Dominic Wenzell, and passed unanimously, it was
RESOLVED to withdtaw any changes from 12 AAC 28.938 from the regulation project.

Sher Zinn

Regulations Specialist

State of Alaska

Dept. of Commerce

Corp., Business & Professional Licensing



Phone- 907-465-1049
fax- 907-465-2974
sher.zinn@alaska.qgov

From: Wilson, Joan M (LAW) <joan.wilson@alaska.gov>
Sent: Tuesday, March 12, 2019 9:50 AM

To: Zinn, Sher K (CED) <sher.zinn@alaska.gov>

Subject: RE: Dental Board Sedation Project 2018201025

Okay. Then we will break this portion into Part 2 and have the Board remove it at their next meeting. We can still have
the amendment that adds “non-resident” to a courtesy license. The Board can determine non-residency consistent with

State law.



