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ORDER CERTIFYING THE CHANGES TO REGULATIONS
OF THE BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPISTS

The attached eleven pages of regulations, dealing with licensure requirements,
school education requirements, renewal, continuing education requirements, and
application submissions, are hereby certified to be a correct copy of the regulation
changes that the Board of Massage Therapists adopted at its December 6-7, 2018
meeting, under the authority of AS 08.61.020, AS 08.61.030, AS 08.61.040, AS
08.61.050, AS 08.61.090, and AS 08.61.100, and after compliance with the
Administrative Procedure Act (AS 44.62), specifically including notice under AS
44.62.190 and 44.62.200 and opportunity for public comment under AS 44.62.210.

This action is not expected to require an increased appropriation.
On the record, in considering public comments, the Board of Massage Therapists
paid special attention to the cost to private persons of the regulatory action being

taken.

The regulation changes described in this order take effect on the 30th day after they
have been filed by the lieutenant governor, as provided in AS 44.62.180.

DATE: ,;z( l’b} J0(3
Anchorage, Alaska
‘lldb Smith, LMT, Chair

Board 0 assage Theraplsts

FILING CERTIFICATION

I, Kevin Meyer, Lieutenant Governor for the State of Alaska, certify that on

a0l
Mevel |8 2018 at G.4S [Pm., 1 filed the attached regulations

according to the provisions of AS 44.62.040 — 44.62.120.

‘f&-:/m«,\

Kevin Meyer, Lieutenant Governor

Effective: ’ﬁ{‘?\(i\ |1, Zo\q
Register: Z;O.jd\t\) 2o\
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Chapter 79. Massage Therapists.

12 AAC 79.100 is amended to read:

12 AAC 79.100. Application for licensure by examination. (a) The board will issue a
license by examination to practice massage therapy to an applicant who meets the requirements
of AS 08.61.030 and this section.

(b) An applicant for licensure by examination under this section must submit

(1) a completed application, on a form provided by the department; the completed
application must include
(A) the personal identification information requested on the form;
(B) information related to the grounds of disciplinary sanctions under

AS 08.61.060;

(C) the applicant's fingerprint information described in 12 AAC 79.130;
and

(D) the application fee, fingerprint processing fee, and license fee
specified in 12 AAC 02.396;

(2) verification of massage therapy education, sent directly from the school or

program to the division office; verification must consist of

(A) on or before June 30, 2019, an official school transcript evidencing

completion of a course of study of at least 500 hours of in-class supervised instruction
and clinical work from a massage therapy school or program that
(1) has authorization to operate from the Alaska Commission on
Postsecondary Education under AS 14.48 or from a similar agency of another

state; or

DOL-File#2018200985) 1
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(i1) is accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting agency;

(B) on or after July 1, 2019, an official school transcript evidencing

completion of a course of study of at least 625 hours of in-class supervised

instruction and clinical work from a massage therapy school or program that

(i) has authorization to operate from the Alaska Commission
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on Postsecondarv Education under AS 14.48 or from a similar agency of

another state: or
(ii) is accredited by a nationally recognized accrediting agency:

or

! — (O) [(B) SATISFACTORY] evidence satisfactory to the board of
" J.x.oluufyl
T loeasmarck completion of an [A BOARD-APPROVEDY] apprenticeship program that meets the

requirements and standards of the Commission on Massage Therapy Accreditation
(o.ncl. standord.s lj l Coali¥ion of Nahonal ﬁ”*‘—“ﬂméf i%yﬁrﬂﬁniza&inng
the req mrements‘of theﬁEntrv Level Analysis Project (ELAP)

(COMTA) and
dated December 2013, and adopted by reference;

(3) verification, sent directly from the appropriate agency to the division

office, of having passed
(A) the Massage and Bodywork Licensing Examinationfadministered by

the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards; or

(B) the National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage or the

National Certification Examination for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork, each
administered by the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and

Bodywork, if the applicant took the examination before February 1, 2015;

DGI:-FHe#’z‘&i‘S?OO%?; L
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(4) a current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation from the American

Red Cross, American Heart Association, American Safety and Health Institute, or an equivalent

| Ho ‘Fo"c!u:mtli
FLAD

(5)jon or before June 30, 2019, verification of having completed at least four

organization; and

hours of safety education in bloodbormne pathogens and universal precautions in the two years

preceding the application; or
": on or after July 1, 2019, verification of having completed at least two

hours of safety education in bloodborne pathogens and universal precautions in the two

years preceding the application. (Eff. 1/17/2016, Register 217; am 4 /|3 /Z0l4 , Register

7.%0 ) : The Cere: Enir v-Leyel
eIV AR At A s :
Mas se E.LUCAJW
Authority:  AS 08.61.020 AS 08.61.030 AS 08.61.090 | Grueprin
Ehl EEf‘mi‘:
Editor's note: A copy of sts-Projeci(EL: f
& AL
published by the Coalition of National Massage Therapy Organizations, adopted by i J&K&
Tia
reference in 12 AAC 79.100, may be obtained from the ELAP website: M;a;

http://www.elapmassage.org/ files/ELAP Blueprint.pdf.
1 )
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12 AAC 79.110 is amended to read: e e
12 AAC 79.110. Application for licensure by credentials. (a) The board will issue a
license by credentials to practice massage therapy to an applicant who meets the requirements of
AS 08.61.040 and this section.
(b) An applicant for licensure by credentials under this section must submit
(1) a completed application, on a form provided by the department; the completed

application must include

(A) the personal identification information requested on the form;

Mﬁ‘&k&%@%ﬁ?\ 3
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(B) information related to the grounds of disciplinary sanctions under
AS 08.61.060;

(C) the applicant's fingerprint information described in 12 AAC 79.130;
and

(D) the application fee, fingerprint processing fee, and license fee
specified in 12 AAC 02.396;

(2) verification, sent directly from the appropriate agency to the division

office, that the applicant
(A) holds a current license to practice massage therapy in another state,
jurisdiction, or country where licensing requirements are substantially equal to or greater
than the requirements of this state; or
(B)|certified by the American Massage Therapy Association, the National
Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork, or other board-approved
credentialing entity; and
(3) current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation through the American
Red Cross, American Heart Association, American Safety and Health Institute, or an equivalent
organization. (Eff. 1/17/2016, Register 217; am 4 /17 /Z0l4 , Register 730 )
Authority:  AS 08.61.020 AS 08.61.040 AS 08.61.090

AS 08.61.030
12 AAC 79 is amended by adding a new section to read:

12 AAC 79.140. Massage school education requirements. (a) For applications

submitted on or before June 30, 2019, applicants must show successful completion of at least

-B@L—F-i-l-e#%&l-ﬂiﬁﬂ%éa‘ . 4
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500 hours of education or instruction in massage therapy that includes the following subjects for
the minimum number of hours specified:
(1) anatomy, physiology, pathology, and kinesiology: 130 hours, including
instruction in
(A) at least 40 hours in pathology, including indications and
contraindications;
(B))muscular system;

e,
(C)Jnervous system,;

(Dﬁolog}';
(E)[circulatory system;
(F) kinesiology;
(2) massage theory and practical application: 220 hours, including instruction in
(A) basic massage therapy techniques dedicated to the study of massage
therapy and various clinically related modalities; I
(B) assessment;

(3) clinical practice: 110 hours, including instruction in

(A) universal and standard precautions;

(B) self-care;
(C) body mechanics;
(D) draping;
(E) record keeping;
( ond )
(F) business practice and professional development; |

(G) medical terminology;

(4) ethics and laws: 40 hours, including instruction in

DOL—F-H@J&%O-LSQQGQS@ 5
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~J

(A) professional boundaries;
(B) therapeutic relationships; 'I

(C) local and state laws;

not
(S)Qore than 50 hours in techniques that are exempt from license

requirements;
() o
(6) practical application/\ fza-y notfexceed 20 percent ofjtotal hours of the massage
b

program.
(b) For applications submitted on or after July 1, 2019, applicants must show successful
completion of at least 625 hours of education or instruction in massage therapy that includes the
following subjects for the minimum number of hours specified:
(1) anatomy, physiology, pathology, and kinesiology: 162 hours, including
instruction in

(A) at least 40 hours in pathology, including indications and

contraindications;
. (B)Amuscular system;
the

(C)Inervous system;

(D) osteology;
(Eulatory system
(F) kinesiology;
(2) massage theory and practical application: 275 hours, including instruction in
(A) basic massage therapy techniques dedicated to the study of massage
therapy and various clinically related modalities; :_“WL

(B) assessment;

(3) clinical practice: 138 hours, including instruction in

Borrie#2018200085 6
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(A) universal and standard precautions;
(B) self-care;
(C) body mechanics;
(D) draping;
(E) record keeping;
(F) business practice and professional development; _ [@
(G) medical terminology;
(4) ethics and laws: 50 hours, including instruction in
(A) professional boundaries;
(B) therapeutic relationships;
(C) local and state laws;
(5)0re than 50 hours in techniques that are exempt from license
requirements;
(6) practical applicatior}«iz&y notjexceed 20 percent oa total hours of the massage
5
program. (Eff. 4 /|3 /2014, Register 230)

Authority:  AS 08.61.020 AS 08.61.100

12 AAC 79.200 is amended to read:

12 AAC 79.200. License renewal. (a) A massage therapy license must be renewed
biennially on or before September 30 of odd-numbered years. A renewal reminder document will
be mailed to each currently licensed massage therapist at least 30 days before the renewal date.
Failure to receive a renewal notice does not relieve a licensee from the responsibility of renewing

a license on time.

%-L—-E-ile&@-l-ﬁ% 7
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(b) An applicant for renewal of a massage therapy license must meet the requirements of
AS 08.61.050 and this section. A massage therapist applying for license renewal must submit

(1) a completed renewal application on a form provided by the department;
Can

el

(2) beginning October 1, 2017, at least once every six vears thereafter, the
A

applicant's fingerprint information described in 12 AAC 79.130 and the fingerprint processing

fee specified in 12 AAC 02.396;

(3) the [FINGERPRINT PROCESSING FEE AND THE] license renewal fee
specified in 12 AAC 02.396;

(4) a current certification in cardiopulmonary resuscitation through the American
Red Cross, American Heart Association, American Safety and Health Institute, or an equivalent
organization; and

(5) documentation that the massage therapist satisfied the continuing education

requirements in 12 AAC 79.210. (Eff. 5/28/2016, Register 218; am 4 /1% / 2014, Register

720 )

Authority:  AS 08.61.020 AS 08.61.050
g
@M ondk, rw@
12 AAC 79.210 is Amended to read:

12 AAC 79.210. Continuing education requirements. (a) An applicant for renewal of a
massage therapy license,
(1) for a biennial licensing period that begins on or after July 1, 2015, must
document at least six continuing education credits, all of which may be met through Internet-

based continuing education courses;
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(2) for a biennial licensing period that begins on or after July 1, 2017, must
document at least 16 continuing education credits, all of which may be met through Internet-
based continuing education courses.

. (b) An applicant for renewal under (a)(2) of this section may receive two hours of
continuing education credit for completion of hands-on cardiopulmonary resuscitation through

the American Red Cross, American Heart Association, American Safety and Health Institute, or

an equivalent organization.

) _ng;e.d.go\u an
MM (c) On or before June 30, 2019, an 'éﬁﬂ%] applicant for renewal under (a)(2) of this
. " --—_J

section may receive four hours of continuing education credit for completion of a bloodborne

pathogens and universal and standard precautions course once every six years.

(d) On or after July 1, 2019, an applicant for renewal under (a)(2) of this section

may receive two hours of continuing education credit for completion of a bloodborne

pathogens and universal and standard precautions course once every six vears.

{(gl Continuing education must be completed through a
(1) board-approved massage therapy or bodywork therapy school or training
program;

(2) regionally or nationally accredited institution of higher education; a course,
seminar, workshop, or other program through that institution must be approved by the board as
directly related to the skills and knowledge required for the practice of massage therapy, and
includes a bloodborne pathogens and universal and standard precautions course under (c
section; or

(3) local, state, or national professional organization that serves the massage
therapy profession, including

(A) Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals;

DQ&W 9
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(B) the American Massage Therapy Association;
(C) the Federation of State Massage Therapy Boards; and
(D) the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and

Bodywork.

N ti) ﬁc}} For the purposes of this section,
s

"_\_‘ . . . . . .
(1) one continuing education credit equals one hour of classroom instruction

between instructor and participant;
(2) one academic semester credit equals 15 contact hours; and
(3) one academic quarter credit equals 10 contact hours.
—-—-———-){ (2) %’} An applicant for renewal is responsible for maintaining adequate and detailed
records of all continuing education hours claimed and shall make the records available to the

board upon request under 12 AAC 79.220. Records must be retained for four years from the date

the contact hours were obtained.

MMWMWM%»

EEE— { (g)_?(-g)-} An applicant for renewal under (a) of this section may receive one continuing
education credit for attending at least 80 percent of a regularly scheduled board meeting once
every biennial licensing period.

{ (i) R-’h-ﬁ An applicant for renewal under (a) of this section who has been licensed more
than 90 days but less than 12 months of the concluding biennial license period is not required to
submit proof of completion of continuing education. (Eff. 5/28/2016, Register 218; am
7/15/2016, Register 219; am 7/5/2017, Register 223; am 4 /11 /2019 , Register 230)

Authority:  AS 08.61.020 AS 08.61.030 AS 08.61.050

Editor's rotes As of Regqstd 223 CJ“"“‘”’Y 20\4), e mﬁ{}h&‘dn: m;rgg
ads. o Yechnicad ey under AS . G2 ZS(0)(@), +o \Z ARG T9. 210
M o Teonnm

(forrearly 12 ARG T9. 210 (n)J.
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12 AAC 79 is amended by adding a new section to read:

12 AAC 79.920. Application form and verifications for licensure. (a) If, upon receipt
by the division of the last document required to complete an application file, the file contains an
application form or verification that has a postmark date that is more than six months old, the
document will be considered to be stale and the applicant must resubmit the document or cause
the document to be resubmitted as appropriate before the application will be considered by the
board or the board's designee.

(b) Verifications from massage schools and programs will not be considered stale under
(a) of this section.

(¢) An applicant whose license application has been approved pending receipt of the
license fee must submit the license fee to the department within six months after being notified
that the license application was approved. An applicant who does not submit the license fee to
the department within six months after being notified that the license application was approved
must reapply for licensure.

(d) In this section, "application form or verification" means

(1) an application for a license or permit;
(2) a verification of licensure from an appropriate licensing authority in a state,
territory, province, or other country; or

Qforoud—icn descrbed. in 12 Anc 7‘).\'30.,_)
(3) fingerprint ard- (Eff. 4 /1% / 2014, Register 230 )

Authority:  AS 08.61.020

12. AAC T1.390(k) 15 arandad 4o read:
(1) "division” maans tha ohivi .

P@t@ssgow) lienghe it 4k ciz_yw‘rmcm’". (EFf 1/17/20145, Flzgasnr 217; am 7/.:/20!7)

Register 223; om 4 /1t /2014, Rzﬂisi'er_zéi)

ARMordy: AS 0%.61.020

S;On Or wrPoraj'i:)ﬁ,S) bU.SifLQ.Ss, &MA.
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