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8 AAC 78.530: Division of Labor Standards & Safety: Mechanical Inspections: Notification 

and inspection  

 

Question:  

I get my inspection at the same time every year. Does the certificate expire exactly one year after 

the inspection? 

 

Answer: 

Certificates of Operation will expire on the last day of the month one year after the last 

inspection. If an operator has an inspection in the same month each year, the certificate will be 

active for that entire month, which will allow for review and processing. 

 

Question: 

What is meant by the term “operate” in the proposed regulations? Does “operation” include use 

by employees for training or maintenance prior to opening to the public? 

 

Answer: 

“Operation” of a zip line includes use by an employee or member of the public. Alaska Statute 

05.20.010 requires that owners or operators of a recreational devices such as a zip line provide 

safe and adequate facilities and equipment to promote the safety of the patrons, employees, and 

the public. 

 

Question:  

What is the purpose of having an engineer state that a zip line is “substantially compliant” with 

the code? 

 

Answer: 

If a zip line was constructed prior to the effective date of the proposed regulations, and that zip 

line was not designed or constructed to one of the codes in the regulation, a licensed Alaska 

Engineer could certify that the zip line and associated structures “substantially comply” with one 

of the codes in the regulation. This would allow certification of an existing device when that 

device is not constructed to an adopted code.  

 

Question: 

How will the department bear the cost of zip line certification? 

 

Answer: 

The proposed regulations will not significantly increase costs for the state. There are less than a 

dozen known commercial zip line operations in Alaska at this time, and processing of inspection 

reports will be performed by current staff.  

 

Question: 

Does the 30 day period mentioned in section (a) apply to the inspection certificate required in 

section (b)? Meeting requirements 1-6 in section (a) at least 30 days prior to opening is not a 

problem, but submitting an annual inspection report 30 days prior would be very difficult due to 

location, snow depth, and the seasonal nature of many zip line operations. 

 

Answer: 

No. The proposed requirement in 8 AAC 78.530(a) is a one-time registration requirement prior 

to operating a zip line.  
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The proposed requirement in 8 AAC 78.530(b) regards annual inspections and certificates of 

operation. There is no requirement to have the device inspected any number of days prior to 

operation each year, however the operator must obtain an inspection in advance of the expiration 

of their previous certificate, or before the planned opening date for seasonal devices. Inspections 

are processed upon receipt from the inspector, and certificates of operation are available 

immediately when there are no outstanding compliance issues requiring correction. Certificates 

will not be issued for rides with outstanding compliance issues, so the operator should plan 

accordingly.  

 

Question: 

If we do not think there is enough time to comply with the 30 day notification requirement 

before the start of the 2019 operating season, can we start working with the department now to 

obtain a variance from the requirement? 

 

Answer: 

The department will work with operators individually prior to the start of the 2019 operating 

season to minimize disruption of the industry and ensure a smooth transition. Since the 

regulations have not been adopted, the department cannot currently work on implementing or 

granting variances to the proposed requirements. However, a variance should not be needed in 

this case. 

 


