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ORDER GERTIFYING THE CHANGES TO
REGULATIONS OF THE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

The attached ten pages of regulations, dealing with continuing education, licensure requirements,
and additional requirements for sedation permits, are hereby certified to be a correct copy of the
regulation changes the Board of Dental Examiners adopted at its September 28, 2018
teleconference meeting, under the authority of AS 08.01.065, AS 08.36.070, AS 08.36.100, AS
08.36.234, and AS 08.36.250, and after compliance with the Administrative Procedure Act (AS
44.62), specifically including notice under AS 44.62.190 and 44.62.200 and opportunity for
public comment under AS 44.62.210.

This action is not expected to require an increased appropriation.

On the record, in considering public comments, the Board of Dental Examiners paid special
attention to the cost to private persons of the regulatory action being taken.

The regulation changes described in this order take effect on the 30th day after they have been
filed by the lieutenant governor, as provided in AS 44.62.180.

DATE: _/0/0%/ 29/ &
Anchorage, Alaska

{PaukSilveira, DDS, Board Chair o
Board of Dental Examiners
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FOR DELEGATION OF THE LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR’S AUTHORITY

I, VALERIE NURR’ARAALUK DAVIDSON, LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR OF THE

STATE OF ALASKA, designate the following state employees to perform the
Administrative Procedures Act filing functions of the Office of the Lieutenant Governor:

Claire Richardson
Scott Meriwether
April Simpson
Kady Levale

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have
signed and affixed the Seal of the State of
Alaska, in Anchorage, on October 2 ¥
2018.

VALERIE NURR’ARAALUK DAVIDSON
LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR
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Chapter 28. Board of Dental Examiners.

12 AAC 28.010(e) is amended to read:

(e) In addition to meeting the requirements of (b) of this section, on or after March 1,
2019, a dentist who seeks to renew a permit to administer deep sedation or general anesthesia
must

(1) during each biennial licensing period participate in four or more contact hours

of continuing education that relates specifically to hands-on advanced airway management or

general anesthesia; ;F—?HE-PEW%H@EBE&?R@VPDESTNESTHE&#F@R—P#HENTS-

2:&} if the permit holder providesf}ianestl_lesia for patients younger than
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13 years of age, the course must be a pediatric course: .
s
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n_ [EMQM&M anesthesia for patients older and

younger than 13 years of age, at least four contact hours of continuing education
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must relate specifically to hands-on advanced airway management of patients older

than 13 vears of age, and at least four additional contact hours of continuing

education must relate specifically to hands-on advanced airway management of

patients younger than 13 vears of age;

(2) during each biennial licensing period participate in eight contact hours of
continuing education that focuses on one or more of the following;:
(A) physical evaluation;
(B) medical emergencies;
(C) monitoring and use of monitoring equipment;

(D) pharmacology of drugs and agents used in deep sedation and general
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anesthesia;

(3) completelat least 50 general anesthesia or deep sedation cases each biennial

licensing penod;Enﬂ Tt Meavplate® AXonTio oSty wm i Jt L cadital "o
ot sheudol st o, )
(4) maintain continuing education records that can be audited, including course

. ) P
titles, instructors, dates attended, sponsors, and number of contact hours for each courseF-]) ;and
LN

(5) if seeking to renew a permit to administer general anesthesia or deep

sedation to a patient younger than 13 vears of age, Kdel_mst.mast-

(A) meet the requirements of this section; and

(B) provide documentation that 20 of the 50 anesthesia or deep

sedation cases were individually managed patients younger than 13 vears of age.

: : , o JoAA e
(Eft. 4/10/70, Register 34; am 5/29/98, Register 146; am 6/24/2012, Register 202; am aprda~inz
B PINES N
12/15/2013, Register 208; am 4/14/2018, Register 226; am \2 /4 /20\%  Register 228 ) Gruod i)
Authority:  AS 08.01.065 AS 08.36.100 AS 08.36.234
AS 08.36.070 AS 08.36.110 AS 08.36.250

12 AAC 28.015 is repealed and readopted to read:

12 AAC 28.015. Permit requirements for use of moderate sedation, or for use of
minimal sedation for a patient younger than 13 years of age. (a) Unless exempt under
12 AAC 28.065, before administering moderate sedation to a patient, or minimal sedation to a
patient younger than 13 years of age, a dentist licensed under AS 08.36 must have a moderate

sedation permit issued by the board.
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(b) The requirement to obtain a permit to administer moderate or minimal sedation under
this section does not apply to a dentist currently permitted under 12 AAC 28.010 to administer
deep sedation and general anesthesia.

(c) A dentist who holds a permit under this section may not administer or employ an
agent or technique that has so narrow a margin for maintaining consciousness that the agent or
technique is most likely to produce deep sedation or general anesthesia. These agents include
ketamine, propofol, brevital, and sodium pentothal.

(d) An applicant for an initial or renewed permit to administer moderate or minimal
sedation under this section must

(1) submit a completed application on a form provided by the board;

(2) submit a dated and signed affidavit stating that the information provided is
true, and that the dentist has read and complied with all applicable statutes and regulations;

(3) submit, on a form provided by the board, a dated and signed affidavit attesting
that the dentist’s facility meets the requirements of this chapter for the administration of
moderate or minimal sedation under this section;

(4) hold a current registration to prescribe and administer controlled substances in
this state issued by the United States Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA);

(5) provide proof of current certification in advanced resuscitative techniques with
hands-on simulated airway and megacode training for healthcare providers, including basic
electrocardiographic interpretation; qualifying certification for an applicant who seeks to treat
patients 13 years of age and older includes the American Heart Association’s Advanced Cardiac

Life Support (ACLS) for Health Professionals; qualifying certification for an applicant who

!
~5

seeks to treat patients younger than 13 year of age includes Pediatric Advanced Life Support

‘ée{.—#%B‘I'S‘ZGG-S-l-é— 3
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(PALS) for Health Professionals; an applicant who seeks to treat patients of any age must also be
certified in both ACLS for Health Professionals and PALS for Health Professionals or must be
certified in equivalent qualifying certifications under this paragraph, one for advanced cardiac
life support for health professionals and one for pediatric advanced life support for health

professionals; and

(6) submit the applicable fees specified in 12 AAC 02.190.

(e) In addition to meeting the requirements of (d) and (g) of thii’s_—ectiﬂ(an applicant for

an initial permit to administer moderate sedation to a patient who is at least 13 years of age under
___.__——-—F‘__ ‘-_Hl—‘-_-—'_‘—-- —

this section must

(1) provide documentation that the applicant completed either
A
(A) training in moderate sedation consistent with the Guidelines for

Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental Students, as adopted by the

American Dental Association (ADA) House of Delegates, October 2016, adopted by
{ svb parag ralf'h)
reference; the applicant must complete the training required under thim while

enrolled in
(1) a dental program accredited by the Commission on Dental
Accreditation (CODA) of the American Dental Association; or
(i1) a post-doctoral university or teaching hospital program; or
(B) a board-approved continuing education course in sedation consistent
with the Guidelines for Teaching Pain Control and Sedation to Dentists and Dental
A (Pagraphs

Students, adopted by reference in &4 of this i the course must consist of a

minimum of 60 hours of instruction plus administration of sedation for at least 20

BOL#26482005+6- 4
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individually managed patients per participant to establish competency and clinical

experience in moderate sedation and management of a compromised airway; and
AZrwrncant b
(2) Before administering moderate or minimal sedation to a patient younger than
13 years of age, an applicant for an initial permit must
(A) provide proof that the applicant completed an additional 30 hours of
board-approved coursework in pediatric moderate sedation; and
(B) provide proof of administration of sedation for at least 20 individually
managed patients younger than 13 years of age.

(f) In addition to meeting the requirements of (d) and (g) of this section, an applicant for
an initial permit to administer moderate or minimal sedation only to patients who are younger
than 13 years of age under this section must provide proof of administration of sedation for at
least 20 individually managed patients younger than 13 years of age to establish competency and
clinical experience in management of a compromised airway, and provide documentation that
the applicant has completed

(1) a Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) accredited residency in
pediatric dentistry; or

(2) at least 60 hours of continuing education coursework in pediatric moderate
sedation approved by the board.

(g) In addition to meeting the requirements of (d) and £g) of this section, or (f) of this
section if administering moderate or minimal sedation to a patient who is younger than 13 years

of age, an applicant for an initial permit to provide moderate sedation and minimal sedation

under this section must provide documentation that
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(1) within three years immediately before application, the applicant completed

training or education as required in this section in moderate sedation;

(2) if more than three years but less than five years have elapsed since completing
training or education as required in this section in moderate sedation, the applicant completed all
continuing education that would have been required for a permit under this section;

(3) if more than three years but less than five years have elapsed since completing
training or education as required in this section in moderate sedation, the applicant completed a
comprehensive review course approved by the board in moderate sedation;

(4) if more than five years have elapsed since completing training or education as
required in this section in moderate sedation, the applicant holds a permit for moderate sedation
from another jurisdiction where the applicant is also licensed to practice dentistry and where the
applicant completed at least 25 anesthesia cases at the moderate sedation level not earlier than
the 24 months immediately preceding application; or

(5) demonstrates current competency to the satisfaction of the board that the
applicant has skill in moderate sedation to safely deliver moderate sedation services to the
public.

(h) In addition to meeting the requirements of (d) of this section, on or after March 1,
2019, a dentist who seeks to renew a permit to administer moderate or minimal sedation under
this section must

(1) during each biennial licensing period participate in four or more contact hours
of continuing education that relates specifically to hands-on advanced airway management;
contact hours earned from certification in health care provider basic life support (BLS), advanced

cardiac life support (ACLS), and pediatric advanced life support (PALS) courses may be used to

DOE#2018200516 - 6
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meet the continuing education requirements for obtaining or renewing a permit to administer

. . . . . v
moderate or minimal sedation under this section; 5

(A)\if the permit holder provic@moderate or minimal sedation for

patients younger than 13 years of age, the course must be a pediatric course;

(B) ail-he-pcnm-r-l-m'l'dm-prmﬁles moderate or minimal sedation for
patients older and younger than 13 years of age, at least four contact hours of continuing
education must relate specifically to hands-on advanced airway management of patients
older than 13 years of age, and at least four additional contact hours of continuing
education must relate specifically to hands-on advanced airway management of patients
younger than 13 years of age;

(2) during each biennial licensing period participate in four contact hours of
continuing education that focuses on one or more of the following:

(A) venipuncture;

(B) intravenous sedation;

(C) enteral sedation;

(D) physiology;

(E) pharmacology;

(F) nitrous oxide analgesia;

(G) patient evaluation, patient monitoring, or medical emergencies;

(3) complete at least 25 moderate sedation cases each biennial renewal period;
Ui
(4) maintain continuing education records that can be audited, including course

titles, instructors, dates attended, sponsors, and number of contact hours for each course; and

-DOEH20T8200516 '
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(5) if seeking to renew a permit to administer moderate or minimal sedation to a
patient younger than 13 years of agej—jf}en{-is{-mns-i-
(A) meet the requirements of this section;
(B) provide documentation that 10 of the 25 moderate sedation cases were
individually managed patients younger than 13 years of age.
(1) A dentist who holds a permit for parenteral sedation that the board issued before April
14, 2018 will be issued a moderate sedation permit immediately.
(j) After March 1, 2019, in order to provide moderate or minimal sedation to patients

) (for = patiest 13 years of apfd— oF older
younger than 13 years of age, a dentist who holds # moderate sedation permit, mustz

(1) provide proof of an additional 30 hours of boar%?pproved continuing
education in pediatric moderate sedation; and

(2) provide proof of administration of sedation for at least 20 individually
managed patients younger than 13 years of age.

(k) A dentist who has met the requirements of this section to administer moderate or
minimal sedation to patients younger than 13 years of age will be issued a permit that so
indicates.

() A permit to administer moderate or minimal sedation under this section

(1) will be renewed when the dentist’s license to practice is renewed if the dentist
demonstrates continued compliance with AS 08.36 and this chapter; and
(2) expires on the date the dentist’s license expires.
(m) For purposes of this section,
(1) one contact hour equals 50 minutes of instruction;

(2) one academic semester credit hour equals 15 contact hours;

—BG-I:-#%J%SQG{)&!-E() 8
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L
(3) one academic quarter credit equals 10 contact hours; and

(4) one continuing education credit equals one contact hour.
(n) Credit is given only for class hours and not hours devoted to class preparation. (Eff.

4/14/2018, Register 226; am \Z /A /Z0\6 | Register 223 )

Authority:  AS 08.01.065 AS 08.36.100 AS 08.36.234

AS 08.36.070 AS 08.36.110 AS 08.36.250

12 AAC 28.060(d)(2) is repealed:
-iomc.m)))

Xd)(2) Repealed 12/9 j201‘(¢2

(Eft. 4/10/70, Register 34; am 6/24/2012, Register 202; am 12/15/2013, Register 208; am

4/14/2018, Register 226;am 12 /4 /701§ , Register 228 ) ¢4 Pulbtindan: Jo noflloct Thix
o f,{ nawr 12 ARG 23.06\013),
Authority:  AS 08.36.070 A Rost ratoeda, frow I oumd o{.
12 ARC 28,0¢4()y) i Ahe el
2 RAC 28.001002), i, “and ™

12 AAC 28.061 is amended by adding a new paragraph to read:

‘-d'mf-ffyv e e mmgah Mo
(13) the provider must continually monitor a patient’s heart rate, blood pressure, o T
d 1 ardio Honitoring. pulse oxi lood w.,»f!?.,q,qc
and respiration using electro ographic monitoring, pulse 0x1rnetry,,1b ood pressure g a¢\r12) 1
o agmicaCon . )

monitoring device, and a respiration monitoring device. (Eff. 4/14/2018, Register 226; am

V2 /4 /90)8 , Register 218 ) W Culslinkiar.: Tz ,,_,_(;QM)(- s aotdytion
-Emeu 12 MC 23062 0), flaare ralready,

T, annol af’JZAA\, 23,062(2) 2o Tha
Mgﬁ. 2 AAC 2y 0‘“‘2(';) e ami"mMJm

Authority:  AS 08.36.070

P, Taa A2rdza 7? of-dis . Aas oy
12 AAC 28.062 is amended by adding a new paragraph to read: v_/uu, d ot tha 2ast .
iZ RAC
(4) the dentist shall continually monitor the patient’s heart rate, blood pressure, 23 0‘03‘(")
oo

and respiration using electrocardiographic monitoring, pulse oximetry, blood pressure
/

m% 9
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monitoring device, and a respiration monitoring device, unless the patient’s behavior prevents it
and is documented in the patient record. (Eff. 4/14/2018, Register 226;am |2 /¢ /20\8 ,

Register 7,1.%)
Authority:  AS 08.36.070




MEMORANDUM

To:

Thru:

From:

The Honorable Valerie Nurr'araaluk
Davidson
Lieutenant Governor

Susan R. Pollard

Chief Assistant Attorney General
and Regulations Attorney

Legislation and Regulations Section

Steven C. Weaver MCDP

Senior Assistant Attorney General
and Assistant Regulations Attorney
Legislation and Regulations Section

Date:

File No.:

Tel. No.:

State of Alaska

Department of Law
November 8, 2018
2018200516

465-3600

Board of Dental Examiners
regulations re: continuing education,
licensure, and additional
requirements for sedation permits
(12 AAC 28.010(e); 12 AAC 28.015;
12 AAC 28.060(d)(2); 12 AAC
28.061(13); 12 AAC 28.062(4))

The Department of Law has reviewed the attached regulations of the Board of Dental

Examiners against the statutory standards of the Administrative Procedure Act. Based upon our
review, we find no legal problems. This memorandum constitutes the written statement of
approval under AS 44.62.060(b) and (c) that authorizes your office to file the attached
regulations. The regulations were adopted by the Board of Dental Examiners after the close of
the public comment period. The regulations concern continuing education and licensure,
particularly with respect to sedation permits, and establish additional requirements for sedation

permits.

The August 8, 2018 public notice and the October 4, 2018 certification of adoption order

both state that this action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. Therefore, a
fiscal note under AS 44.62.195 is not required.



Hon. Valerie Nurr'araaluk Davidson, Lieutenant Governor November 8, 2018
Our file: 2018200516 Page 2

We have made some technical corrections to conform the regulations in accordance with
AS 44.62.125. The corrections are shown on the attached copy of'the regulations.

SCW
cc w/enc:

Paul Silveira, DDS, Chair
Board of Dental Examiners
(via e-mail through Sher Zinn)

Linda Mattson, Regulations Contact
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Sara Chambers, Deputy Director
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Megyn A. Weigand, Assistant Attorney General
Commercial, Fair Business, and Child Support Section



STATE OF ALASKA )
) ss.
FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT )

AFFIDAVIT OF BOARD ACTION
I, Amber Treston, Licensing Examiner for the Board of Dental Examiners, being duly sworn,
state the following:
The attached motion dealing with continuing education, licensure requirements,

and additional requirements for sedation permits, was passed by the Board of
Dental Examiners during its September 28, 2018 meeting.

bee 1014 iR Ao N A st

Juneau, Alaska Amber Treston, Licensing Examiner

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this T — day of OcteeC s,

STATE OF ALASKA " /',

S e

OFFICIAL SEAL i % PR " -
Jedediah A. Smith ) i) No lf’\[{ubllc mn and fOI the

| NOTARY PUBLIC P Staté of Alaska .
ﬂ\ 0f‘ cl

| My Commission Expires With Office My commission expires: !
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Reviewing the regulation 12 AAC 28.062 (4) the board would like to add the language
that if the patient’s behavior prevents being monitored then it needs to be documented
in the patient’s record.

Requested clarification by changing the language from a moderate to an adult moderate
in 12 AAC 28.015 (j)

The board discussed the 20 individually managed patients and if these should be
required to be supervised. Discussion on who would qualify to supervise these cases.
The board would prefer these cases be supervised by someone who holds a higher
level of sedation permit than the one the applicant is applying for.

On a motion made by Dr. Silveira, seconded by Wahto, and approved by roll call
vote, it was

RESOLVED to adopt the regulation project that was sent out for public
comment regarding continuing education that is required to renew their
sedation permits with the changes that were recommended to 12 AAC
28.015(j) to change a moderate to an adult and 12 AAC 28.062 (4) add and is
documented in the patient’s record and remove 12 AAC 28.062 (5).

Silveira — yea, Kovaleski — yea, Walden — yea, Wahto — yea, Wenzell - yea.
5 yeas, 0 nays.
Motion passed.

Reviewed the course work that must be covered in a program or continuing education
course. Will place this on the website as a guideline for applicants and start a regulation
project to add this into regulation. Also discussed having the 20 individually managed
patients supervised by someone who holds a higher level of sedation permit. Will
anticipate a subcommittee to discuss this further.

Dr. Nielson joined the meeting at 11:27 a.m.

The board requested these course requirements be drafted into regulation and propose
a teleconference to review the drafted regulation at the end of October. Will require the
regulations to state the approval of course of instruction and requirements for course of
instructions. Continued discussion on the sedated cases and how to effectively
document these were performed safely if they were not supervised. Dr. Nielson and Dr.
Wenzell will work on the language for the supervised cases. The board cannot work on
this together unless they public notice this. Only two board members can discuss board
business at a time.

Agenda ltem 5 — Temporary Permit Reqgulations and FAQ Worksheet




NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES RELATING TO CONTINUING EDUCATION
AND LICENSURE REQUIREMENTS FOR DEEP SEDATION, GENERAL
ANESTHESIA, MODERATE SEDATION, AND MINIMAL SEDATION PERMITS, IN
THE REGULATIONS OF THE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS

BRIEF DESCRIPTION: The Board of Dental Examiners proposes to update regulations regarding general
anesthesia and deep sedation permit renewal requirements, and moderate sedation permit initial
qualifications and renewal requirements.

The Board of Dental Examiners (Board) proposes to adopt regulation changes in Title 12, Chapter 28 of
the Alaska Administrative Code including the following:

1. 12 AAC 28.010. Permit requirements for use of deep sedation or general anesthesia, is
proposed to be changed to amend the requirements for renewal of a permit.

2. 12 AAC 28.015. Permit requirements for use of moderate sedation, or for use of minimal
sedation for a patient younger than 13 years of age, is proposed to be changed to amend the
requirements for initial application and the requirements for renewal of a permit.

3. 12 AAC 28.060. Requirements for administering deep sedation, general anesthesia, moderate
sedation, or minimal sedation for a patient younger than 13 years of age, is proposed to repeal
a paragraph dealing with monitoring of a patient during sedation.

4. 12 AAC 28.061. Additional requirements for administering deep sedation or general
anesthesia, is proposed to change by establishing requirements for monitoring a patient during
sedation.

5. 12 AAC 28.062. Additional requirements for administering moderate sedation, or minimal
sedation for a patient younger than 13 years of age, is a proposed to change by establishing
requirements for monitoring a patient during sedation.

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private persons of
complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Sher Zinn, Regulations
Specialist, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK
99811-0806. Additionally, the Board will accept comments by facsimile at (907) 465-2974 and by
electronic mail at RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov. Comments may also be submitted through
the Alaska Online Public Notice System by accessing this notice on the system at
http://notice.alaska.gov/190972, and using the comment link. The comments must be received not later
than 5:00 p.m. on September 10, 2018. Comments received after this deadline will not be considered by
the Board.

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist,
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806
or by e-mail at RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov. The questions must be received at least 10
days before the end of the public comment period. The Board will aggregate its response to substantially
similar questions and make the questions and responses available on the Alaska Online Public Notice
System and on the Board’s website at
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofDentalExaminers.aspx. The
Board may, but is not required to, answer written questions received after the 10-day cut-off date and before
the end of the comment period.

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this
process, please contact Sher Zinn at (907) 465-1049 or RegulationsAndPublicComment(@alaska.gov, no
later than September 4, 2018, to ensure that any necessary accommodation can be provided.




A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and by
contacting Sher Zinn at (907) 465-1049 or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov, or go to

https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/DEN-Notice-0818.pdf.

After the public comment period ends, the Board will either adopt the proposed regulation changes or other
provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action. The language
of the final regulations may be different from that of the proposed regulations. You should comment
during the time allowed if your interests could be affected. Written comments and questions received
are public records and are subject to public inspection.

Statutory Authority: AS 08.01.065; AS 08.36.070; AS 08.36.100; AS 08.36.110; AS 08.36.234; AS
08.36.250

Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 08.01.065; AS 08.36.070; AS
08.36.100; AS 08.36.110; AS 08.36.234; AS 08.36.250

Fiscal Information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased
appropriation.

DATE: _ &/ 9/r & s S oo
Sher Zinn, Regfilations Specialist
Division of Corporations, Business and
Professional Licensing

For each occupation regulated under the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing,
the Division keeps a list of individuals or organizations who are interested in the regulations of that
occupation. The Division automatically sends a Notice of Proposed Regulations to the parties on the
appropriate list each time there is a proposed change in an occupation's regulations in Title 12 of the
Alaska Administrative Code. If you would like your address added to or removed from such a list, send
your request to the Division at the address above, giving your name, either your e-mail address or mailing
address (as you prefer for receiving notices), and the occupational area in which you are interested.

ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION
(AS 44.62.190(d))

Adopting agency: Board of Dental Examiners — Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic
Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing.

General subject of regulation: Continuing education requirements, and licensure requirements for
administering sedation to patients.

Citation of regulation: 12 AAC 28.010, 12 AAC 28.015, 12 AAC 28.060,12 AAC 28.061, and 12 AAC
28.062.

Department of Law file number: 2018200516.
Reason for the proposed action: Update and clarification of current regulations.
Appropriation/Allocation: Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing — #2360.

Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to:

A private person: For current licensed dentists, or new applicants for a permit to administer deep
sedation, general anesthesia, moderate sedation, or minimal sedation to a patient younger than 13 years
of age, the cost of specific training and continuing education courses.

Another state agency: None known.

A municipality: None known.
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Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of dollars):

No costs are expected in FY 2019 or in subsequent years.

The name of the contact person for the regulation:

Amber Treston, Licensing Examiner

Board of Dental Examiners

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Telephone: (907) 465-2542

E-mail: amber treston@alaska.qov

The origin of the proposed action: Board of Dental Examiners.

Date: ?/ 8 // 5 Prepared by:

Sher Zinn
Reguiations



. % - RECEIVED

Juneau
A n et TN s v w v RTwewwres  AUG 132018
/ TORAGE DAILY NEWS
A A A ~
CBPL
Account #: 268972 000142 .
ST OF AK/DEC/OCCU g:«:r# $56247 45940 lF:Irc:aduct Q?OI\(I]-Anchorage Daily News
PO BOX 110806 ' D 0301
JUNEAU, AK 998110806 Rositien :
NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES RELATING TO CONTINUING
SEDATION, GENERAL ANESTHESIA, MODERATE SEDATION. AND
STATE OF ALASKA MINIMAL SEDATION PERMITS, IN THE REGULATIONS OF THE -
THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS
. The Board of Dental Examiners (Board) proposes to adopt
Joleesa Stepetin -re;u[latilon changes in Title 12,_f ﬁha;latar 28 of the Alaska
being first duly sworn on oath deposes and says AdmnBYEENG Ceds Inclliding g kv
i i 1. 12 AAC 28.010. Permit requirements for use of deep sedation
tha.t he/she is a rgpresentatwe of the An.chorage or general anesthesia, Is proposed to be changed to amend the
Daily News, a daily newspaper. That said requirements for renewal of a permit. - TR
neV\{sPaper has been approved by the Th"d ‘1 2. 12 AAC 28.015. Permit requirements for use of moderate
Judicial Court, Anchorage, Alaska, and it now ?r?datﬁ%n, or forfuse 0{ minimal getdatggn ;‘or a gattéagt ymén er
: : . an rs o , Is proposed to be change mend the
and has been published in the English language raqulr_em‘ée:ts for Initial application and thegrequirements for
continually as a daily newspaper in Anchorage, renewal of a permit.
Alaska, and it is now and during all said time ‘1312 A;?\C 28 _3160_‘ Requléem?nts g)rtﬁdmmls@r}ng FE&%’ %edagion.
i i intai i general anesthesia, moderate sedation, or minimal sedation for a
was prlpted inan ofﬁce. ma.untalned.at the gatjent younger than 13 years of age, is proposed to repeal a
aforesaid place of publication of said newspaper. || paragraph dealing with monitoring of a patient during sedation.
Th?t the anne?(ed |s.a copy of.an advertlseme.nt I‘ 4,12 AAC 28.061. Additional requirements for administering deep
as it was published in regular issues (and not in sedation or general anesthesia, Is Proposed to change by
supplemental form) of said newspaper on | ggéaatz%gmlng requirements for monitoring a patient during
5. 12 AAC 28.062. Additional requirements for administering
A t 08 2018 moderate sedation, or minimal sedation for a patient younger
ugust US, than 13 years of age, is a proposed to change by establishing
requirements for mon\toring a patientduring sedation.
and that such newspaper was regularly You may comment on the proposed regulation changes,
distributed to its subscribers during all of said l[';i:éﬁ“#{‘g 'ﬁ!&e Dg}?g}‘:gln C:sSt% to f\ﬁtt#, D&rﬁ?tgg 23 mcﬁ_lﬂgﬁglrtig
period. That the full amount of the fee charged A - o ST ations

oo

for the foregoing publication is not in excess of
the rate charged private individuals.

e L oy

Subscribed and sworn to before me
this 8th day of August, 2018
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Notary PublicJﬁ and for
The State of Alaska.

Third D ‘Asea pue »pInd
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Anchorage, Alaska
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i Notary Public .

S BRITNEY L. THOMPSON | m

? State of Alaska i

1 My commission Expires Feb 23, 2019 t . .
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STATE OF ALASKA )
) ss.
FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT )

AFFIDAVIT OF NOTICE OF PROPOSED ADOPTION OF REGULATIONS
AND FURNISHING OF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

I, Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic
Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, being sworn, state
the following;:

As required by AS 44.62.190, notice of the proposed adoption of changes to 12 AAC 28.010-062,
dealing with changes to continuing education, licensure requirements, and additional requirements for
sedation permits, has been given by being:

1. published in a newspaper or trade publication;

furnished to every person who has filed a request for notice of proposed action with the state
agency;

furnished to appropriate state officials;

furnished to interested persons;

furnished to the Department of Law, along with a copy of the proposed regulation;
furnished electronically to incumbent State of Alaska legislators;

posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System as required by AS 44.62.175(a)(1) and
(b) and 44.62.190(a)(1);

S o

As required by AS 44.62.190, additional regulation notice information regarding the proposed
adoption of the regulation changes described above has been furnished to interested persons and
those in (2), (4) and (6) of the list above. The additional regulation notice information also has been
posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System.

Date: /ﬂ/}?’//‘,’r/

Sher Zinn, R¢gulations Specialist

Subscribed and sworn to before me at \5 (AhOon ]l\« Ck%'v On on
Ockovaen ¥, 200

S\ O, %,
S 2 NOTARY : = 10hocca Q Owrtad
%' PUBLIC ! ,-:-: Notary Public in aiid for the State of Alaska
LY S8 My commission expires (Y OCdhA LD
0y o S 00
LS I o

fegygrnt?



STATE OF ALASKA )
) ss.
FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT )

AFFIDAVIT OF AGENCY RECORD OF PUBLIC COMMENT

I, Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic
Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, being sworn, state
the following:

In compliance with AS 44.62.215, the Board of Dental Examiners has kept a record of its use or
rejection of factual or other substantive information that was submitted in writing as public
comment and that was relevant to the accuracy, coverage, or other aspect of the Board of Dental
Examiners regulations on dealing with continuing education, license requirements, and additional

requirements for sedation permits.

Date: /0/5/ & | 5 -

Sher ZinnyFegulations Specialist

Subscribed and sworn to before me at . _\ AYNO (yan ]L\/\CLS‘\/\( O on

Ochovoen %, 20\¢
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% NOTARY - Notary Public in and Yor the State of Alaska
% PUB . = o . . ~ 2
- U’Z‘ LIc * s My commission expires: {x },L)dn Q%g 0
."fv"); 4 ofic?.., \l-@ &



