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ORDER ADOPTING CHANGES TO REGULATIONS
OF THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION & PUBLIC FACILITIES

The attached 16 pages of regulations, dealing with commercial vehicle enforcement, are adopted
and certified to be a correct copy of the regulation changes that the Department of Transportation
& Public Facilities adopts under the authority of AS 44.62 and after compliance with the

Administrative Procedure Act (AS 44.62), specifically including notice under AS 44.62.190 and
44.62.200 and opportunity for public comment under AS 44.62.210.

This action is not expected to require an increased appropriation.

In considering public comments, the Department of Transportation & Public Facilities paid
special attention to the cost to private persons of the regulatory action being taken.

The regulation changes adopted under this order take effect on the 30th day after they have been
filed by the lieutenant governor, as provided in AS 44.62.180.

M ALY
Marc j, Commissioner
Depart of Transportation and

Public Facilities

Date: 23 October 261¥

' FILING CERTIFICATION
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I, Valerie Nurr’araaluk Davidson, Lieutenant Governor for the State of Alaska

/l 7/7 07) (_Q , 2Q} ? . at f_;lﬂ.m., [ filed the attached regu

provisions of AS 44.62.040 - 44.62.120.
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paluk Davidson, Lieutehant
Governor
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FOR DELEGATION OF THE LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR’S AUTHORITY

I, VALERIE NURR’ARAALUK DAVIDSON, LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR OF THE

STATE OF ALASKA, designate the following state employees to perform the
Administrative Procedures Act filing functions of the Office of the Lieutenant Governor:

Claire Richardson
Scott Meriwether
April Simpson
Kady Levale

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have
signed and affixed the Seal of the State of
Alaska, in Anchorage, on October 2% |
2018.

ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

VALERIE NURR’ARAALUK DAVIDSON
LIEUTENANT GOVERNOR
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17 AAC 25.012(e) is amended to read:

(e) On all routes

(1) a semitrailer [SEMITRAILERS] used in combination [ON ALL ROUTES]

may not exceed 53 feet in length;

(2) a load or equipment may not overhang more than four feet bevond the

rear of a semitrailer used in combination; and

(3) combinations may not have more than two cargo-carrying vehicles in the

combination.

17 AAC 25.012 is amended by adding a new subsection to read:

(2) Equipment is not included in the vehicle size limitations contained in (a), (¢), (d),

and (e) of this section, except as specifically provided. (Eff. 8/13/95, Register 135; am

10/7/2001, Register 160; am 11/16/2004, Register 172; am 12/31/2006, Register 180; am

4/9/2009, Register 190; am 12/30/2010, Register 196; am 11/26/2015, Register 216; am

12/ G /20, Register 728)

Authority: AS 19.05.010 AS 19.10.060 AS 44,42.030
AS 19.05.020 AS 44,42,020 AS 45,75.050
AS 19.05.040

17 AAC 25.013(a)(4) is amended to read:
(4) except as provided in (5) of this subsection, for a vehicle or combination of vehicles,
including load and equipment, the weight on axles or axle groups may not exceed, and the

distance between axles may not be less than, the following:



Register‘@,E&\m_j 2019 TRANS. AND PUBLIC FACILITIES

Weight (Pounds) Distance

Single Axle 20,000 8 feet and 1 inch
minimum spacing*
2-Axle Group 38,000 3 feet and 6 inches
minimum spacing
3-Axle Group 42,000 3 feet and 6 inches
minimum spacing
4-Axle Group 50,000 3 feet and 6 inches

minimum spacing

* Any axle spaced less than 8 feet and 1 inch from any other axle, measured between the centers
of the nearest axles, is considered as part of an axle group. In multi-axle groups, all axles must
carry at least 6,000 pounds if the axle group weight is more than 50 percent of the legal group
weight. Lift axles or variable suspension axles are allowed in the drive axle group of the power
vehicle, but may not be used to determine the [FOR CALCULATION OF] legal allowable
vehicle gross weight prescribed by the Bridge Gross Weight Formulas in (a)(6) of this

section.

17 AAC 25.013(a)(6) is amended to read:

(6) the maximum gross vehicle weight for a vehicle or vehicle combination may not

exceed the amount prescribed by [THAT WEIGHT DETERMINED FROM] the following

formulas, referred to as the Bridge Gross Weight Formulas:

« « « ((( Publisher: No change to 17 AAC 25.013(a)(6)(A), (B).)))

17 AAC 25.013(g) is amended to read:
(g) A vehicle subject to the provisions of this section that uses an auxiliary power unit or
an idle reduction technology unit in order to promote reduction of fuel use and emissions

because of engine idling, will [may] be allowed up to an additional 550[400] pounds total in
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power unit axle weights, gross vehicle weights, or bridge formula weight limits. Certification of
the weight of the auxiliary power unit must be available to law enforcement officers if the
vehicle is found in violation of applicable weight laws. The additional weight allowed may not
exceed 550{400] pounds or the weight certified, whichever is less. To be eligible for this
exception, the operator of the vehicle must be able to prove by

(1) written certification, the weight of the auxiliary power unit or idle reduction
technology unit; and

(2) demonstration or certification, that the auxiliary power unit or idle reduction
technology unit is fully functional at all times. (Eff. 8/13/95, Register 135; am 10/7/2001,
Register 160; am 12/31/2006, Register 180; am 4/9/2009, Register 190; am 12/30/2010, Register

196; am 04/12/2013, Register 206; am 11/26/2015, Register 216; am 17 /(» /20\8, Register 22%)

Authority: AS 19.05.010 AS 19.10.060 AS 44.42.030
AS 19.05.020 AS 44.42.020 AS 45.75.050
AS 19.05.040

17 AAC 25.015(b) is amended to read:

(b) A saddlemount combination with an overall length not exceeding 97 feet may operate
on the state highway system and may include one full mount in the combination. The
saddlemount combination must be in compliance with 23 C.F.R. 658.13, revised as of April 1,

2017 [2007] and adopted by reference.

17 AAC 25.015(c) is amended to read:
(c) An automobile carrier may operate on the state highway system under the

requirements of 23 C.F.R. 658.13, revised as of April 1, 2017 [2009] and adopted by reference.
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17 AAC 25.015(d) is amended to read:
(d) A boat transporter may operate on the state highway system under the requirements of
23 C.F.R. 658.13, revised as of April 1, 2017 [2009] and adopted by reference.
(Eff. 8/13/95, Register 135; am 10/7/2001, Register 160; am 12/31/2006, Register 180; am

4/9/2009, Register 190; am 12/30/2010, Register 196; am (L /b /20\} Register 218)

Authority:  AS 19.05.010 AS 19.10.060 AS 44.42.030
AS 19.05.020 AS 44.42.020 AS 45.75.050
AS 19.05.040

The introductory language of 17 AAC 25.200(a) is amended to read:

(a) A person driving a commercial motor vehicle, or a company whose business involves
the operation of a commercial motor vehicle, upon a highway or vehicular way or area, shall
comply with the transportation of hazardous materials, hazardous substances, or hazardous waste
regulations adopted by the United States Department of Transportation and contained in the
following provisions, as revised as of October 1, 2016 [2014] and adopted by reference, except

as otherwise provided in (b) of this section:

o o« « (((Publisher: No change to 17 AAC 25.200(a)(1) —(8).)))

(Eff. 11/16/2004, Register 172; am 12/31/2006, Register 180; am 4/9/2009, Register 190; am/ -
12/30/2010, Register 196; am 04/12/2013, Register 206; am 11/26/2015, Register 216; am
A7 /6 /793, Register 729 )

Authority:  AS 19.05.010 AS 19.10.060 AS19.10.340
AS 19.05.020 AS 19.10.310 AS 19.10.370
AS 19.05.040



Register H_ﬁ,‘.jﬂ,,k_g 2019 TRANS. AND PUBLIC FACILITIES
The introductory language of 17 AAC 25.210(a) is amended to read:

(a) A person driving a commercial motor vehicle, or a company whose business involves
the operation of a commercial motor vehicle, upon a highway or vehicular way or area, shall
comply with the regulations relating to the management, maintenance, operation, or driving of
commercial motor vehicles, adopted by the United States Department of Transportation and
contained in the following provisions, as revised as of October 1, 2016 [2014] and adopted by

reference, except as otherwise provided in (b) of this section:

+ « « (((Publisher: No change to 17 AAC 25.210(a)((1) —(10).)))

17 AAC 25.210(b)(4) is repealed:
(4) repealed 1L / & /20,

17 AAC 25.210(d) is amended to read:

(d) A motor carrier that conducts operations in intrastate commerce, and only in intrastate
commerce, shall file a motor carrier identification report [(FORM MCS-150)] with the FMCSA
and receive an intrastate USDOT identification before the motor carrier begins operations. On
each self-propelled commercial motor vehicle, as defined in 49 C.F.R. 390.5, adopted by
reference in (a) of this section, the motor carrier shall display the identification number, along
with the additional information required by 49 C.F.R. 390.21, adopted by reference in (a) of this

section.

17 AAC 25.210(e) is amended to read:
(e) For a motor carrier that previously filed a motor carrier identification report required
under (d) of this section, the motor carrier shall file an updated motor carrier identification report

[(FORM MCS-150)] with the FMCSA every 24 [12] months.
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17 AAC 25.210(g) is amended to read:

(g) A report [MOTOR CARRIER] required under (d) or (e) of this section [TO FILE A
MOTOR CARRIER IDENTIFICATION REPORT] shall be filed [FILE THAT REPORT] with
the FMCSA electronically[, OR WITH THE DIVISION'S COMMERCIAL VEHICLE
CUSTOMER SERVICE CENTER IN PERSON, BY FACSIMILE TRANSMISSION, OR BY

MAIL].

17 AAC 25.210(h) is repealed:
(h) repealed 2 /& /206,

17 AAC 25.210(j)(4) is amended to read:

(4) is not transporting hazardous materials for which a placard is required under 49
C.F.R. Part 172, adopted by reference in 17 AAC 25.200(a), or operating a vehicle designed or
used to transport more than 15 [16 OR MORE] individuals, including the driver.
(Eff. 11/16/2004, Register 172; am 12/31/2006, Register 180; am 4/9/2009, Register 190; am
12/30/2010, Register 196; am 04/12/2013; Register 206; am 11/26/2015, Register 216; am

AL/ /198, Register 218)

Authority: AS 19.05.010 AS 19.10.060 AS 19.10.340
AS 19.05.020 AS 19.10.310 AS 19.10.370
AS 19.05.040

Editor's note: The website for electronic filing with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety

Administration (FMCSA) is www.fmesa.dot.gov/urs. Questions relating to the motor

carrier identification report form may be directed to FMCSA at 1-800-832-5660. [THE

ADDRESS FOR FILING, IN PERSON OR BY MAIL, A MOTOR CARRIER

IDENTIFICATION REPORT REQUIRED UNDER 17 AAC 25.210(D) — (H) IS STATE OF
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ALASKA, DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION AND PUBLIC FACILITIES, DIVISION
OF MEASUREMENT STANDARDS AND COMMERCIAL VEHICLE ENFORCEMENT,
COMMERCIAL VEHICLE CUSTOMER SERVICE CENTER, 11900 INDUSTRY WAY,
BUILDING M, SUITE 2, ANCHORAGE, AK 99515. THE FACSIMILE NUMBER FOR
FILING A MOTOR CARRIER IDENTIFICATION REPORT IS (866) 345-1241, TOLL-FREE
FOR FILERS WITHIN THE STATE, 365-1243 FOR FILERS WITHIN THE ANCHORAGE
AREA, OR (907) 365-1243 FOR FILERS OUTSIDE THE STATE. THE INTERNET SITE
FOR ELECTRONIC FILING WITH THE FMCSA IS WWW.FMCSA.DOT.GOV. THE
MOTOR CARRIER IDENTIFICATION REPORT FORM ( MCS-150) IS AVAILABLE FROM
THE COMMERCIAL VEHICLE CUSTOMER SERVICE CENTER AT THAT ADDRESS, OR
CAN BE REQUESTED BY CALLING (800) 478-7636 TOLL-FREE FOR CALLERS WITHIN
THE STATE, 365-1200 FOR CALLERS WITHIN THE ANCHORAGE AREA, OR (907) 365-
1200 FOR CALLERS OUTSIDE THE STATE. THE FORM MAY ALSO BE DOWNLOADED
FROM WWW.FMCSA DOT.GOV, AND IS ALSO AVAILABLE ON THE DEPARTMENT
OF TRANSPORTATION AND PUBLIC FACILITIES WEBSITE, AT

HTTP://WWW.DOT.STATE.AK.US/MSCVE.]

The introductory language of 17 AAC 25.220(a) is amended to read:

(a) A person driving a commercial motor vehicle, or a company whose business involves
the operation of a commercial motor vehicle, upon a highway or vehicular way or area, shall
comply with the regulations relating to the management, operation, or driving of commercial
motor vehicles, adopted by the United States Department of Transportation and contained in the
following provisions of 49 C.F.R. Part 395 (hours of service of drivers), as revised as of October

1, 2016 [2014] and adopted by reference, except as provided in (b) of this section:
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\?
« « « ((( Publisher: No change to 17 AAC 25.220(a) (14{5).)))

17 AAC 25.220(c)(4) is amended to read:
(4) is not transporting hazardous materials for which a placard is required under 49
C.FR. Part 172, adopted by reference in 17 AAC 25.200(a), or operating a vehicle designed or

used to transport more than 15 [16 OR MORE] individuals, including the driver.

17 AAC 25.220 is amended by adding a new subsection to read:

(d) A driver operating in intrastate commerce is exempt from the requirements of 49 C fp...

@ Part 395 if all of the following apply:

(1) the driver operates a property-carrying commercial motor vehicle for which a

commercial driver's license is not required under 49 C.F.R. Part 383, as revised as of October 1,
2016;

(2) the driver’s primary employment duties involve maintaining the Trans-Alaska
Pipeline System and operation of the commercial motor vehicle is incidental to those duties;

(3) the driver does not drive more than 15 hours in a 24 hour period, regardless of
the number of motor carriers using the drivers’s services;

(4) the driver does not drive after accumulating 168 on-duty hours in 14
consecutive days, regardless of the number of employers using the driver’s services; and

(5) the motor carrier that employs the driver maintains and retains for a period of
6 months accurate and true time records showing:

1 4

(A) Fhe time the driver reports for duty each day;

t
(B) Phe total number of hours the driver is on duty each day;
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£
(C) The time the driver is released from duty each day; and

(D) S‘f;he total time for the preceding 7 days in accordance with 49 C.F.R.
395.8(5)(2) for drivers used for the first time or intermittently. (Eff. 11/16/2004, Register 172; am
12/31/2006, Register 180; am 4/9/2009, Register 190; am 12/30/2010, Register 196, am
04/12/2013, Register 206; am 11/26/2015, Register 216; am (2. /o /7018, Register 228)

Authority:  AS 19.05.010 AS 19.05.040 AS 19.10.370
AS 19.05.020 AS 19.10.060

17 AAC 25.250(a) is amended to read:

(a) The definitions in 49 C.F.R. 390.5, adopted by reference in 17 AAC 25.210(a), apply
in 17 AAC 25.200 — 17 AAC 25.250, except that for vehicles operating in intrastate commerce
that have a gross vehicle weight, gross vehicle weight rating, gross combination weight, or gross
combination weight rating less than 26,001 pounds, "commercial motor vehicle" has the meaning
given in AS 19.10.399, with the exception of commercial motor vehicles transporting hazardous
materials for which a placard is required under 49 C.F.R. Part 172, adopted by reference in 17
AAC 25.200(a), or a commercial motor vehicle designed or used to transport more than 15
individuals [16 OR MORE PASSENGERS], including the driver.

(Eff. 11/16/2004, Register 172; am 11/26/2015, Register 216; am L /b /703, Register 22%)

Authority:  AS 19.05.010 AS 19.10.060 AS 19.10.370
AS 19.05.020 AS 19.10.310 AS 19.10.399
AS 19.05.040 AS 19.10.340

17 AAC 25.320(b) is amended to read:

(b) As it considers necessary to assure that the requirements listed in (a) of this section

are met, the department will, as conditions for a permit issued under (a)(1) or (2) of this section,
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establish time limitations for movement, designate routes, limit the number of trips, or otherwise
restrict the movement of oversize or overweight vehicles and loads. The movement of permitted
oversize or overweight vehicles or loads must comply with the conditions of the permit and
requirements for towing vehicles, pilot cars, warning signs and lights, hours of darkness, and
other safety considerations specified in the department's Administrative Permit Manual: Oversize

and Overweight Permits, revised as of February 2017 [March 2012], and adopted by reference.

(Eff. 10/7/2001, Register 160; am 11/16/2004, Register 172; am 12/31/2006, Register 180; am
12/30/2010, Register 196, am 04/12/2013, Register 206; am 11/26/2015, Register 216; am

\L /b /20%, Register 218 )

Authority: AS 19.05.010 AS 19.10.060 AS 44.42.030
AS 19.05.020 AS 44.42.020 AS 45.75.050
AS 19.05.040

Editor's note: Copies of the Department of Transportation and Public Facilities’ Administrative
Permit Manual: Oversize and Overweight Permits, adopted by reference in 17 AAC 25.320, are
available for inspection at the offices of the Department of Transportation and Public Facilities,
Division of Measurement Standards and Commercial Vehicle Enforcement, 11900 Industry

Way, Building M, Suite 2, Anchorage, Alaska 99515, or may be viewed at

http://dot.alaska.gov/mscve/.

The Department of Transportation and Public Facilities, Division of Measurement
Standards and Commercial Vehicle Enforcement, Commercial Vehicle Customer Service Center
1s located at 11900 Industry Way, Building M, Suite 2, Anchorage, Alaska, telephone: [(800)

478-7636 TOLL-FREE FOR CALLERS WITHIN THE STATE AND OUTSIDE THE

10
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ANCHORAGE AREA;] 365-1200 [FOR CALLERS WITHIN THE ANCHORAGE AREA;

(907) 365-1200 FOR CALLERS OUTSIDE THE STATE].

17 AAC 25.335(a) is amended to read:

(a) The department will weigh vehicles in their as-found condition and will grant weight
allowances, as described in this section, to the weight limits set out in 17 AAC 25.013. [IF THE
AS-FOUND CONDITION EXCEEDS THE ALLOWANCES DESCRIBED IN THIS
SECTION, THE ALLOWANCE WEIGHTS WILL BE INCLUDED IN THE FINE
CALCULATIONS AND NOT SUBTRACTED FROM THE VIOLATION. AN ADDITIONAL
ALLOWANCE OF UP TO 400 POUNDS WILL BE ADDED TO A POWER UNIT'S AXLE
WEIGHTS OR THE ALLOWABLE GROSS VEHICLE WEIGHTS FOR TRUCKS OR
TRUCK TRACTORS EQUIPPED WITH AN AUXILIARY POWER UNIT OR IDLE

REDUCTION UNIT IF THE REQUIREMENTS OF 17 AAC 25.013(G) ARE MET.]

17 AAC 25.335(b) is repealed and readopted to read:

(b) The department will observe the following procedures if enforcing the gross weight
requirements in 17 AAC 25.013
(1) from October 1 through April 30 of each year, in addition to the amount
allowed in 17 AAC 25.013, an additional 1,500 pound allowance will be granted for snow and
ice build-up, if evidence of that build-up exists; this allowance is the maximum allowance
regardless of the make-up of the vehicle combinatiof'@)
(2) whenever the department finds a violation, it will give a warning, issue the

driver of the vehicle a citation, or inspect the vehicle,and

11
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(3) if the vehicle gross weight is over the amount allowed in 17 AAC 25.013 and
paragraph (1) of this subsection by more than 1,000 pounds, the vehicle will directed to a

location to unload the excess weight from the vehicle.

17 AAC 25.335(c) is repealed and readopted to read:
(c) The following procedures will be observed while enforcing the axle group weight
requirements set out in 17 AAC 25.013:
(1) whenever the department finds a violation, it will give a warning, may issue
the driver of the vehicle a citation, or may inspect the vehicle and note the violation on the
inspection form;

(2) if the weight of an axle group on a vehicle is over the amount allowed in

me than 1,000 pounds, but no more than 2,000 pounds, and can be corrected at

the weigh station by shifting the load, the load must be corrected by shifting before the vehicle
will be allowed to proceed;

(3) if the weight of an axle group on a vehicle is over the amount allowed in 17
AAC 25.013 by more than 1,000 pounds but no more than 2,000 pounds and cannot be corrected
at the weigh station by shifting the load, the driver of the vehicle will be directed to a location to
unload the excess weight from the vehicle;

(4) if the weight of an axle group on a vehicle is over the amount allowed in 17
AAC 25.013 by more than 2,000 pounds, the driver of the vehicle will be directed to a location
to unload the excess weight from the vehicle; however, if the weight of that axle group is over
the legally allowed amount by more than 125 percent of the legally allowed amount and cannot

be corrected by shifting the load, the driver may be directed to park the vehicle at the weigh

12
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station or enforcement site until the vehicle's weight can be reduced to within the amount
allowed in 17 AAC 25.013 or until a permit under 17 AAC 25.320 is obtained.
(Eff. 10/7/2001, Register 160; am 4/9/2009, Register 190; am 12/30/2010, Register 196; am

IL /o /249, Register 21%)

Authority:  AS 19.05.010 AS 19.10.060 AS 45.75.050
AS 19.05.020 AS 44.42.020 AS 45.75.131
AS 19.05.040 AS 44.42.030

17 AAC 25.380(f) is repealed:
(f) repealed |2 /% /20% . (Eff. 10/7/2001, Register 160; am 11/16/2004, Register 172;
am 4/9/2009, Register 190; am 04/12/2013, Register 206; am 02/10/2016, Register 217; am

\L /lo_ /10, Register 228)

Authority:  AS 19.05.010 AS 19.10.060 AS 44.42.030
AS 19.05.020 AS 44.42.020 AS 45.75.050

AS 19.05.040

The editor’s note for 17 AAC 25.400 is changed to read:

Editor's note: The address for registering in person or by mail, as required under
17 AAC 25.400 is State of Alaska, Department of Transportation and Public Facilities, Division
of Measurement Standards and Commercial Vehicle Enforcement, Commercial Vehicle
Customer Service Center, 11900 Industry Way, Building M, Suite 2, Anchorage, AK 99515. The

facsimile number for filing a Unified Carrier Registration form [MOTOR CARRIER

IDENTIFICATION REPORT] is (907) 365-1243 [(866) 345-1241, TOLL-FREE FOR FILERS
WITHIN THE STATE, 365-1243 FOR FILERS WITHIN THE ANCHORAGE AREA, OR

(907) 365-1243 FOR FILERS OUTSIDE THE STATE]. The approved Internet site for

13
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electronic filing is www.ucr.in.gov. The Unified Carrier Registration form is available from the
Commercial Vehicle Customer Service Center at the above-noted address, or may be requested
by calling [(800) 478-7636 TOLL-FREE FOR CALLERS WITHIN THE STATE,] (907) 365-
1200 [FOR CALLERS WITHIN THE ANCHORAGE AREA, OR (907) 365-1200 FOR
CALLERS OUTSIDE THE STATE]. The form may also be downloaded from

http://www.dot.state.ak.us/mscve

17 AAC 25.900 (5) is amended to read:

5) "cargo-carrying length" means the portion of the cargo carrying unit of a vehicle
g €argo ca u a

with two or more such units, measured from the front of the first unit to the rear of the last

unit, including the hitch(es) between the units, with the exception of the upper coupler on a

beverage semitrailer and the B-train assembly between the first and second semitrailers

[OVERALL LENGTH OF A TRAILER, EXCLUDING THE COUPLING DEVICE, UPON

WHICH A LOAD CAN BE CARRIED];

17 AAC 25.900 (6) is amended to read:

(6) "cargo-carrying unit [VEHICLE]" means any portion of a vehicle combination,

other than the truck tractor, used for carrying cargo, including a trailer, semitrailer, or the

cargo carrying section of a single-unit truck [A TRUCK, TRAILER, SEMITRAILER, OR

OTHER VEHICLE CAPABLE OF CARRYING A LOAD]

17 AAC 25.900 (34) is repealed:
(34) repealed 'L /0 /70,

14
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17 AAC 25.900 (45) is amended to read:
(45) "trailer" means a

(A) full trailer, which is any vehicle other than a pole trailer designed to be

drawn by another motor vehicle and constructed such that no part of its weight. except for

the towing device, rests upon the self-propelled towing vehicle, including the use of a

converter dolly on a semitrailer;

(B)pole trailer, which is any motor vehicle designed to be drawn by another

motor vehicle and attached to the towing motor vehicle by means of a ‘reach’ or ‘pole.’ or

by being ‘boomed’ or otherwise secured to the towing vehicle, for transporting long or
D g h L mng n gor

irregularly shaped loads such as poles, pipes or structural members; or

(C) semitrailer, which is any vehicle, other than a pole trailer, designed to be

drawn by another vehicle and is constructed so that some part of its weight rests upon the

self propelled towing vehicle. [TOWED CARGO-CARRYING VEHICLE WITH ONE OR

MORE AXLES CONFIGURED SO THAT NO SIGNIFICANT PORTION OF ITS TOTAL

WEIGHT RESTS UPON THE TOWING VEHICLE];

17 AAC 25.900(50) is amended to read:

(50) "vehicle" means a wheeled device capable of transporting persons or property on a
highway; ["VEHICLE" INCLUDES] including anything permanently attached to the wheeled
device. [THAT IS NOT INCLUDED IN THE DEFINITION FOR "EQUIPMENT" IN THIS

SECTION;]

15
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. . Paragiaphs
17 AAC 25.900 is amended by adding a new subsectiens to read:

(52) "B-train assembly" means a rigid frame extension attached to the rear frame of the

first semitrailer which allows for a fifth wheel connection point for the second semitrailer;

(53) "B-train length" means the B-train assembly is included in the measurement of a
singly used semitrailer;

(54) "converter dolly" means a vehicle consisting of a chassis equipped with one or more
axles, a fifth wheel, and/or equivalent mechanism and drawbar, the attachment of which converts
a semitrailer to a full trailer. (Eff. 8/13/95, Register 135; am 10/7/2001, Register 160; am
11/16/2004, Register 172; am 4/9/2009, Register 190; am 12/30/2010, Register 196; am

12 /b /201%, Register 228)

Authority: AS 19.05.010 AS 19.10.060 AS 44.42.030
AS 19.05.020 AS 44.42.020 AS 45.75.050
AS 19.05.040

16



MEMORANDUM State of Alaska

Department of Law
To:  The Honorable Valerie Nurr'araaluk Date:  November 5, 2018
Davidson
Lieutenant Governor FileNo.:  JU2017200674
Tel. No.:  465-3600
From:  Susan R. Pollardﬁg(‘[2 Re:  Department of Transportation and

Chief Assistant Attorney General Public Facilities; Regulation re:

and Regulations Attorney commercial vehicle enforcement: 17
Legislation and Regulations Section AAC 25.012, .013, .015, .200, .210 -

.250, .320, .335, .380. .400 and .900.

The Department of Law has reviewed the attached regulations of the Department of
Transportation and Public Facilities against the statutory standards of the Administrative
Procedure Act. Based upon our review, we find no legal problems. This memorandum
constitutes the written statement of approval under AS 44.62.060(b) and (c) that authorizes your
office to file the attached regulations. The regulations were adopted by the Department after the
close of the public comment period. The regulations concern updates to commercial motor
vehicle regulations, clarification of gross weight calculations, adoption of updated federal
regulations, and adoption by reference of the Administrative Permit Manual: Oversize and
Overweight Permits (February 2017).

The May 8, 2018 public notice and the October 23, 2018 adoption order both state that
this action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. Therefore, a fiscal note under
AS 44.62.195 is not required.

We have made some technical corrections to conform the regulations in accordance with
AS 44.62.125. The corrections are shown on the attached copy of the regulations. The
regulations will be effective 30 days after filing by your office.

SRP:1bp

cc: Honorable Marc Luiken, Commissioner
Department of Transportation & Public Facilities

Katherine Hensley, Program Coordinator I1
Department of Transportation and Public Facilities

Jolene Julian, Administrative Officer 11
Department of Transportation and Public Facilities

Jeff Stark, Assistant Attorney General
Department of Law



NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES ON COMMERCIAL VEHICLE ENFORCEMENT
IN THE REGULATIONS OF DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION AND
PUBLIC FACILITIES

The Department of Transportation and Public Facilities proposes to adopt regulation changes in
Title 17 of the Alaska Administrative Code, dealing with commercial vehicle enforcement,
including the following:

17 AAC 25.012, added clarifying language.

17 AAC 25.013, clarifying the title of the formula used to calculate gross weight and updating
the auxiliary power unit weight allowance.

17 AAC 25.015, updating the Chapter 23 adopted by reference to April 1, 2017 version.

17 AAC 25.200, adopt October 1, 2016 version of federal regulations for the transportation of
hazardous materials, hazardous substances, or hazardous waste.

17 AAC 25.210, adopt October 1, 2016 version of federal regulations for safe operation of
commercial motor vehicles. Adopted regulations, incorporated by reference, include:
updates to the Medical Certification and National Registry of Medical Examiners and
Electronic Log Devices. Repealed revised federal language. Removed language relating
to the motor carrier identification report in anticipation of the Unified Registration
System, which includes amending the period to update from 12 months to 24 months.

17 AAC 25.220, adopt October 1, 2016 version of federal regulations for hours of service.
Includes an exemption for incidental drivers.

17 AAC 25.250, amended definition to have more than 15 individuals.

17 AAC 25.320, adopt February 2017 version of the Administrative Permit Manual: Oversize
and Overweight Permits.

17 AAC 25.335, clarify actions to be taken in reference to weight allowances. Repealed sections
that are no longer applicable.

17 AAC 25.380, repealed fees for bridge design section reviews and callouts.
17 AAC 25.400, update contact numbers for Unified Carrier Registration program.

17 AAC 25.900, add definition for B-train assembly, B-train length, and converter dolly, modify
definition for cargo-carrying vehicle, cargo-carrying length, and trailer, and repeal definition for
semitrailer.

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private
persons of complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Daniel



Byrd at 11900 Industry Way, Building M, Suite 2, Anchorage, Alaska 99515. Additionally, the
Department of Transportation and Public Facilities will accept comments by facsimile at (907)
365-1221 and by electronic mail at MSCVE.chapter25regs(@alaska.gov. The comments must be
received not later than 5:00 p.m. on June 15, 2018.

Oral or written comments also may be submitted at a hearing to be held on June 7, 2018, in the
Conference Room, 11900 Industry Way, Building M. Suite 2, Anchorage, Alaska, 99515. The
hearing will be held from 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. and might be extended to accommodate those
present before 3:30 p.m. who did not have an opportunity to comment.

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Daniel Byrd at 11900
Industry = Way, Building M, Suite 2, Anchorage, Alaska 99515 or
MSCVE.chapter2Sregs@alaska.gov. Questions must be received at least 10 days before the end
of the public comment period. The Department of Transportation and Public Facilities will
aggregate its response to substantially similar questions and make the questions and response
available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System. The Department of Transportation and
Public Facilities may, but is not required to, answer written questions received after the 10-day
cut-off date and before the end of the comment period.

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in
this process, please contact Daniel Byrd at (907) 365-1210 no later than June 1, 2018 to ensure
that any necessary accommodations can be provided.

A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice
System and by contacting Daniel Byrd at 11900 Industry Way, Building M, Suite 2, Anchorage,
Alaska 99515 or (907) 365-1210.

A copy of material proposed for adoption by reference is available through the electronic link to
the applicable electronic links on the Alaska Online Public Notice System at
http://aws.state.ak.us/OnlinePublicNotices/.

After the public comment period ends, the Department of Transportation and Public Facilities
will either adopt the proposed regulation changes or other provisions dealing with the same
subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action. The language of the final regulations
may be different from that of the proposed regulations. You should comment during the time
allowed if your interests could be affected.

Statutory Authority: AS 19.05.010; AS 19.05.020; AS 19.05.040; AS 19.10.060; AS
19.10.310; AS 19.10.340; AS 19.10.370; AS 19.10.399; AS 44.42.020; AS 44.42.030,
AS 45.75.050; AS 45.75.131

Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 19.05.010; AS 19.05.020;
AS 19.05.040; AS 19.10.060; AS 19.10.310; AS 19.10.340; AS 19.10.370; AS 19.10.399; AS
44.42.020; AS 44.42.030; AS 45.75.050; AS 45.75.131

Fiscal Information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased
appropriation.



DATE: ___os|og [2615 |Q._ Q \/fgr—j

May 8, 2018 Daniel V. Smith, Director
DOT&PF / MSCVE



NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES ON COMMERCIAL VEHICLE ENFORCEMENT
IN THE REGULATIONS OF DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION AND
PUBLIC FACILITIES

BRIEF DESCRIPTION

The Department of Transportation and Public Facilities proposes to adopt, amend, and repeal
regulations in Title 17 of the Alaska Administrative Code dealing with commercial vehicle
enforcement, including the following:

17 AAC 25.012, added clarifying language.

17 AAC 25.013, clarifying the title of the formula used to calculate gross weight and updating
the auxiliary power unit weight allowance.

17 AAC 25.015, updating the Chapter 23 adopted by reference to April 1, 2017 version.

17 AAC 25.200, adopt October 1, 2016 version of federal regulations for the transportation of
hazardous materials, hazardous substances, or hazardous waste.

17 AAC 25.210, adopt October 1, 2016 version of federal regulations for safe operation of
commercial motor vehicles. Adopted regulations, incorporated by reference, include:
updates to the Medical Certification and National Registry of Medical Examiners and
Electronic Log Devices. Repealed revised federal language. Removed language relating
to the motor carrier identification report in anticipation of the Unified Registration
System, which includes amending the period to update from 12 months to 24 months.

17 AAC 25.220, adopt October 1, 2016 version of federal regulations for hours of service.
Includes an exemption for incidental drivers.

17 AAC 25.250, amended definition to have more than 15 individuals.

17 AAC 25.320, adopt February 2017 version of the Administrative Permit Manual: Oversize
and Overweight Permits.

17 AAC 25.335, clarify actions to be taken in reference to weight allowances. Repealed sections
that are no longer applicable.

17 AAC 25.380, repealed fees for bridge design section reviews and callouts.

17 AAC 25.400, update contact numbers for Unified Carrier Registration program.

17 AAC 25.900, add definition for B-train assembly, B-train length, converter dolly, and rear
overhang, modify definition for cargo-carrying vehicle, cargo-carrying length, and trailer, and

repeal definition for semitrailer.

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private



persons of complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Daniel
Byrd at 11900 Industry Way, Building M, Suite 2, Anchorage, Alaska 99515. Additionally, the
Department of Transportation and Public Facilities will accept comments by facsimile at (907)
365-1221 and by electronic mail at MSCVE.chapter25regs@alaska.gov. The comments must be
received not later than 5:00 p.m. on June 15, 2018.

Oral or written comments also may be submitted at a hearing to be held on June 7, 2018, in the
Conference Room, 11900 Industry Way, Building M. Suite 2, Anchorage, Alaska, 99515. The
hearing will be held from 2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. and might be extended to accommodate those
present before 3:30 p.m. who did not have an opportunity to comment.

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Daniel Byrd at 11900
Industry Way, Building M, Suite 2, Anchorage, Alaska 99515 or
MSCVE.chapter2Sregs@alaska.gov. Questions must be received at least 10 days before the end
of the public comment period. The Department of Transportation and Public Facilities will
aggregate its response to substantially similar questions and make the questions and response
available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System. The Department of Transportation and
Public Facilities may, but is not required to, answer written questions received after the 10-day
cut-off date and before the end of the comment period.

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in
this process, please contact Daniel Byrd at (907) 365-1210 no later than June 1, 2018 to ensure
that any necessary accommodations can be provided.

A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice
System and by contacting Daniel Byrd at 11900 Industry Way, Building M, Suite 2, Anchorage,
Alaska 99515 or (907) 365-1210.

A copy of material proposed for adoption by reference is available through the electronic link to
the applicable electronic links on the Alaska Online Public Notice System at
http://aws.state.ak.us/OnlinePublicNotices/.

After the public comment period ends, the Department of Transportation and Public Facilities
will either adopt the proposed regulation changes or other provisions dealing with the same
subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action. The language of the final regulations
may be different from that of the proposed regulations. You should comment during the time
allowed if your interests could be affected.

Statutory Authority: AS 19.05.010; AS 19.05.020; AS 19.05.040; AS 19.10.060; AS
19.10.310; AS 19.10.340; AS 19.10.370; AS 19.10.399; AS 44.42.020; AS 44.42.030;
AS 45.75.050; AS 45.75.131

Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 19.05.010; AS 19.05.020;
AS 19.05.040; AS 19.10.060; AS 19.10.310; AS 19.10.340; AS 19.10.370; AS 19.10.399; AS
44.42.020; AS 44.42.030; AS 45.75.050; AS 45.75.131

Fiscal Information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased
appropriation.



DATE: o S[or |20 \(QL.Q |//Q -

May 8: 2018 Daniel V. Smith, Director
DOT&PF / MSCVE



ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION
(AS 44.62.190(d))’

Adopting agency: DOT&PF, Division of Measurement Standards and Commercial Vehicle
Enforcement

General subject of regulation: Adopt current versions of federal regulations, and amendments
to clarify intent and to conform to federal requirements relating to commercial motor vehicle

operations
Citation of regulation (may be grouped): 17 AAC 25.012-25.013, 17 AAC 25.015, 17 AAC
25.200-25.220, 17 AAC 25.250, 17 AAC 25.320, 17 AAC 25.335, 17 AAC 25.380, 17 AAC
25.400, 17 AAC 25.900

Department of Law file number, if any:

Reason for the proposed action:

(X) Compliance with federal law or action (identify): 49 C.F.R.
( ) Compliance with new or changed state statute

( ) Compliance with federal or state court decision (identify):

( ) Development of program standards

() Other (identify):

Appropriation/Allocation:

Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to:

A private person:_ None
Another state agency:_ None
A municipality: None

Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of
dollars):

Initial Year = Subsequent

FY Years
Operating Cost $ $
Capital Cost $ $
1002 Federal receipts $ $
1003 General fund match ~ $ $
1004 General fund $ $




10.

11.

1005 General fund/
program $ $
Other (identify) $ $

The name of the contact person for the regulation:

Name: Daniel Byrd

Title: Chief, Permits & CVE

Address: 11900 Industry Way, Building M. Suite 2
Anchorage, AK 99515

Telephone:_907-365-1210

E-mail address: MSCVE.chapter25regs@alaska.gov

The origin of the proposed action:

X Staff of state agency
X Federal government
General public
Petition for regulation change
Other (identify): o~ =
Date: S, / & / /& Prepared by: >

Name (printed): _ Katherine Hensley

Title (printed):__Program Coordinator II

Telephone:  907-365-1215




ANCHORAGE

AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION

Account #: 383016

ST OF AK/DOTPF Order# 0001421197 Product ANC-Anchorage Daily News
MEASUREMENT STD & COMM VEHICLE Cost $522.02 Placement 0300
ENF Position 0301
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Subscribed and sworn to before me
this 11th day of May, 2018

Notary Public

The State of Alaska.
Third Division
Anchorage, Alaska

MY COMMIS??é};)PT(%} q

I. f o . ;':-!‘LF..?_-.:_.—:-

Notary Public
BRITNEY L. THOMPSON
State of Alaska -
My Commission Expires Feb 23, 2019 |
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AFFIDAVIT OF AGENCY RECORD OF PUBLIC COMMENT

I, Daniel Byrd, Chief of Permits and Commercial Vehicle Enforcement, for the Department of
Transportation & Public Facilities, being duly sworn, state the following:

In compliance with AS 44.62.215, the Department of Transportation & Public Facilities has kept
a record of its use or rejection of factual or other substantive information that was submitted in
writing and orally? as public comment and that was relevant to the accuracy, coverage, or other
aspect of the Department of Transportation & Public Facilities regulations on Chapter 25,
commercial vehicle enforcement.

Date: 7/3 //57

b —

Daniel Byrd, ‘(Hief of Permits and Commercial
Vehicle Enforcement

Subscribed and sworn to before me at Ah chova ﬁ e A} G.S Ui on
W) ¥

(Novat ¢ Dihia

Notary Public in and for the State of Alaska




AFFIDAVIT OF NOTICE OF PROPOSED REGULATION
AND FURNISHING OF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

I, Katherine Hensley, Program Coordinator II, of the Department of Transportation & Public
Facilities, being sworn, state the following:

As required by AS 44.62.190, notice of the proposed adoption of changes to Chapter 25,
Commercial Vehicle Enforcement has been given by being

(1)
@)
3)
(4)
()
(6)

(7
®)

published in a newspaper or trade publication;

furnished to interested persons;

furnished to appropriate state officials;

furnished to the Department of Law, along with a copy of the proposed regulation;
furnished electronically to incumbent State of Alaska legislators;

furnished to the Legislative Affairs Agency, Division of Legal and Research
Services;

posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System as required by

AS 44.62.175(a)(1) and (b) and 44.62.190(a)(1);

furnished electronically, along with a copy of the proposed regulation, to the
Legislative Affairs Agency, the chair of the Transportation Committee of the Alaska
Senate and House of Representatives, the Administrative Regulation Review
Committee, and the legislative council.

As required by AS 44.62.190, additional regulation notice information regarding the proposed
adoption of the regulation changes described above has been furnished to interested persons and
those in (5) and (6) of the list above. The additional regulation notice information also has been
posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System.

Date: .‘j”/‘éL 5{»20/2)

Katherine Hensley, Program E}ofdinator II

Subscribed and sworn to before me at A nchara j e A Jqslf N on

\.Jb\'v

"“/, 20 &

(Rt & ke

Notary Public in and for the State of Alaska




AFFIDAVIT OF ORAL HEARING

I, Katherine Hensley, Program Coordinator II, of the Department of Transportation & Public
Facilities, being sworn, state the following:

On June 7, 2018, at 2:00 p.m., in the Conference Room at 11900 Industry Way, Building M,
Suite 2, Anchorage, I presided over a public hearing held under AS 44.62.210 for the purpose of
taking testimony in connection with the adoption of changes to Title 17, Chapter 25, commercial
vehicle enforcement regulations.

Date: 744,%/ é/ .20/ 8
g

Katherine Hensley, Program Coordinator II

Subscribed and sworn to before me at A nchorage /4 )Q sk on
=) & : v

Dot ¢ Dt

Notary Public in and for the State of Alaska




