NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES ON LANDING FEES AT SAND POINT AIRPORT IN THE REGULATIONS OF ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION AND PUBLIC FACILITIES

BRIEF DESCRIPTION

The Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities proposes to adopt regulations to implement landing fees at Sand Point Airport for aircraft weighing more than a defined certified maximum gross takeoff weight (CMGTW).

The Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities proposes to adopt regulation changes in Title 17 of the Alaska Administrative Code, dealing with Chapter 45 Rural Airports, related to landing fees at Sand Point Airport, including the following:

(1) 17 AAC 45 is proposed to be changed as follows:

A new section, 17 AAC 45.128, will be added implementing landing fees at Sand Point Airport for aircraft weighing more than a defined certified maximum gross takeoff weight (CMGTW).

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private persons of complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Rich Sewell, Aviation Policy Planner, Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities, P.O. Box 196900, Anchorage Alaska 99519-6900. Additionally, the Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities will accept comments by facsimile at 907-269-0489 and by electronic mail at StatewideAviation@alaska.gov . The comments must be received no later than 5:00 pm AKDT on October 30, 2015.

Oral or written comments may also be submitted at a public hearing to be held on October 12, 2018 in the Central Region Main Conference Room, Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities, 4111 Aviation Avenue, Anchorage Alaska. The public hearing will be held from 3:00 pm to 6:00 pm, and may be extended to accommodate those present before 6:00 pm who did not have an opportunity to comment.

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action by U.S. mail to Rich Sewell, Aviation Policy Planner, Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities, P.O. Box 196900, Anchorage Alaska 99519-6900, or by email to StatewideAviation@alaska.gov The questions must be received at least 10 days before the end of the public comment period, no later than 5:00 pm AKDT on October 20, 2018 to be included in the Department's responses. The Department will aggregate its responses to substantially similar questions and make the questions and responses available on Alaska Online Public Notice System. The Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities may, but is not required to, answer written questions received after the 10-day cut-off date and before the end of the comment period.

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this process, please contact Rich Sewell at (907) 269-0725 or by email at StatewideAviation@alaska.gov no later than 5:00 pm AKDT October 8, 2018 to ensure that any necessary accommodations can be provided.

For a copy of the proposed regulation changes, contact Rich Sewell, at the U.S. mail address, email, or telephone number above. Or you may obtain an electronic copy of the proposed regulations by going to the webpage http://dot.alaska.gov/stwdav/documents/sand-point-proposed-regs.pdf

After the public comment period ends, the Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities will either adopt the proposed regulation changes or other provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action. The language of the final regulations may be different from that of the proposed regulations. You should comment during the time allowed if your interests could be affected. Written comments received are public records and are subject to public inspection.

Statutory Authority: AS 02.15.020; AS 44.42.030

Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 02.15.060; AS 02.15.090(a); AS 44.42.020(a)

Fiscal Information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased appropriation.

DATE: ___9/28/18

ohn R. Binder III, Deputy Commissioner

Alaska Department of Transportation

and Public Facilities