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DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND 
PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 

 
P.O. Box 110806 

Juneau, AK 99811-0806 
Main: 907.465.2550 

Fax: 907.465.2974 
 
August 13, 2018 
 
 
Dear licensees and interested parties: 
 
Alaska’s professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and 
Professional Licensing (CBPL) to “annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of 
each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation.” Alaska’s licensing fee 
statutes go on to say, “If the review indicates that an occupation’s fee collections and regulatory costs are not 
approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations…to implement the 
adjustments.”  

The Division conducted a thorough fee analysis and proposes a reduction in licensing fee amounts at this 
time in order to comply with the statute listed above. The Division reviewed the analysis with the Board of 
Marine Pilots at a meeting on July 18, 2018.  The Board unanimously agreed with the Division’s 
recommendation of reducing the licensing fees as proposed. The proposed fee amounts are enclosed and can 
also be found on the Board’s web page at 
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofMarinePilots.aspx . 

This fee proposal is entering a public comment period. The Division encourages all licensees and interested 
parties to comment on this proposal through the Division’s Regulations Specialist, whose contact information 
is enclosed on the public notice. After the comment period closes and the Division reviews all comments 
received, the Division may adopt the regulation as drafted, may amend a proposed fee, or may withdraw the 
regulations in part or in its whole.   

All comments received will be reviewed and taken into consideration prior to adopting the final regulations. 
The final decision will result in the fee to be implemented during the next licensing renewal. 

Follow the instructions enclosed to make written comments during the public comment period. Comments 
must be addressed to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist, PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811, or 
RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov.  

 
 
Sincerely,  

Janey McCullough 
Director 
 
Encl. 
 

https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofMarinePilots.aspx
mailto:RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov


Register           ,                  2018  PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS 
 
 

8/8/18 Draft 1 

 Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions. 

(Words in boldface and underlined indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED 
AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.    
 
12 AAC 02.240 is amended to read: 

 12 AAC 02.240. Board of Marine Pilots. The following fees are established for all 

license and registration categories of marine pilots and vessel agents:  

  (1) nonrefundable application fee for  

   (A) initial deputy marine pilot license, including the application fee for the  

 regional comprehensive local knowledge examination, $300 [$500];  

   (B) core examination, extension of route examination, marine pilot  

 license, vessel agent registration, VLCC endorsement, or tonnage upgrade, $100;  

  (2) marine pilot license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, 

$1,500 [$2,500], which will be waived by the department if the applicant is upgrading from a 

deputy marine pilot license and has paid the deputy marine pilot license fee for the same biennial 

license period;  

  (3) biennial marine pilot license renewal fee, $1,500 [$2,500];  

  (4) vessel agent registration fee for all or part of the initial biennial registration 

period, $500 [$1,000];  

  (5) biennial vessel agent renewal fee, $500 [$1,000];  

  (6) core examination fee, $500;  

  (7) deputy marine pilot license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license 

period, $1,500 [$2,500];  

  (8) biennial deputy marine pilot license renewal fee, $1,500 [$2,500];  
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  (9) regional comprehensive local knowledge examination fee, $500;  

 (10) extension of route examination fee, $200. (Eff. 11/20/86, Register 100; am 

10/1/88, Register 107; am 11/28/92, Register 124; am 10/29/94, Register 132; am 11/15/96, 

Register 140; am 11/27/98, Register 148; am 11/15/2002, Register 164; am 10/15/2004, Register 

172; am 12/29/2010, Register 196; am ___/___/_____, Register _____) 

Authority: AS 08.01.065  AS 08.62.140 
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