THE STATE

Department of Commerce, Community,

OJALASKA and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND
GOVERNOR BILL WALKER PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
Main: 907.465.2550
Fax: 907.465.2974

August 6, 2018

Dear licensees and interested parties:

Alaska’s professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and
Professional Licensing (CBPL) to “annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of
each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation.” Alaska’s licensing fee
statutes go on to say, “If the review indicates that an occupation’s fee collections and regulatory costs are not
approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations...to implement the
adjustments.”

The Division conducted a thorough fee analysis and proposes a decrease in licensing fee amounts for the
Concert Promoters program in order to comply with the statute listed above. Fees have not been adjusted
since FY2011 when they were increased to cover the program’s significant deficit. The deficit has been
eliminated and now is the time to reduce licensing fees so that a large surplus is not created and so that the
revenue and expenditures are more closely aligned to comply with AS 08.01.065.

The proposed fee amounts are enclosed and can also be found on the Concert Promoter’s web page at
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/Professionallicensing/ConcertPromoters.aspx

This fee proposal is entering a public comment period. The Division encourages all licensees and interested
parties to comment on this proposal through the Division’s Regulations Specialist, whose contact information
is enclosed on the public notice. After the comment period closes and the Division reviews all comments
received, the Division may adopt the regulation as drafted, may amend a proposed fee, or may withdraw the
regulations in part or in its whole.

All comments received will be reviewed and taken into consideration prior to adopting the final regulations.
The final decision will result in the fee to be implemented prior to the upcoming license renewal.

Follow the instructions enclosed to make written comments during the public comment period. Comments
must be addressed to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist, PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 or
regulationsandpubliccomment(@alaska.gov.

Sincerely,

iy

Janey McCullough
Director

Encl.


https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/ConcertPromoters.aspx
mailto:regulationsandpubliccomment@alaska.gov

Register , 2018 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions.

(Words in boldface and underlined indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED
AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.)

12 AAC 02.170 is amended to read:
12 AAC 02.170. Concert promoters. The following fees are established for concert

promoters:

(1) application fee for initial registration, $125;

(2) certificate of registration fee, for all or part of the initial biennial registration
period, $500 [$800];

(3) biennial certificate of registration renewal fee, $500 [$800]. (Eff. 9/27/86,
Register 99; am 10/1/88, Register 107; am 5/28/93, Register 126; am 10/29/94, Register 132; am

11/15/2002, Register 164; am 12/29/2010, Register 196; am / / , Register )

Authority:  AS 08.01.065 AS 08.92.020 AS 08.92.080
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