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ORDER ADOPTING CHANGES TO 
REGULATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, 

COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

The attached two pages of regulations, dealing with occupational licensing fees for 
Physicians, Osteopaths, Podiatrists, Physician Assistants and Mobile Intensive Care 
Paramedics regulated by the State Medical Board, are adopted and certified to be a 
correct copy of the regulation changes that the Department of Commerce, Community 
and Economic Development adopts under the authority of AS 08.01.062, AS 
08.01.065, AS 08.64.107, AS 08.64.270, AS 08.64.272, AS 08.64.276, AS 08.64.315, 
and after compliance with the Administrative Procedure Act (AS 44.62), specifically 
including notice under AS 44.62.190 and 44.62.200 and opportunity for public 
comment under AS 44.62.210. 

This action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. 

In considering public comments, the Department of Commerce, Community, and 
Economic Development paid special attention to the cost to private persons of the 
regulatory action being taken. 

The regulation changes described in this order take effect on the 30th day after they 
have been filed by the lieutenant governor, as provided in AS 44.62.180. 

DATE: ~flt. J..0(6 
ne , aska 

Ullough, Di.recto!' 
· 1 io of Corporations, Business and 

rofessional Licensing 

FILING CERTIFICATION 

Effective: 

Register: 

A\Aj 1A 5 .J. 3 01 :itJ1~ 
:i ~ ~ Oc:fv h (,.,,.. ,?-9 t &> , 

of Alaska, certify that 

I filed the attached 



THE STATE 

(:~LASKA Department of Commerce, Community, 
and Economic Development 

OFFICE OF THE COMivIISSIONER 

P.O. Box 110800 
Juneau, AK 99811-0800 

Main: 907.465.2500 
Fax: 90?' .465 .5442 

In accordance with AS 44.17.010, the authority and responsibility for adopting regulations, outside 
of the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL), but for the 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development (DCCED), under the Alaska 
Administrative Procedure Act, is hereby delegated to: 

Micaela Fmvler 
Legislative Liaison 
Office of the Commissioner 
DCC ED 
P.O. Box 110800 
Juneau, AK 99811-0800 
907-465-2503 
mic:td . . fowkl' a abska.g iv 

In accordance \Vith AS 44.17.010, the l'tuthority and responsibility for adopting regulations of the 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, under the Alaska Administrative 
Procedure Act, is. hereby delegated to: 

Janey McCullough 
Direr.tor 

CBPL 
DCCED 
P.O. Box 110806 
Juneau, AK 99811-0806 
907-465-2538 
jmcy.mcculloughcg,aJn:ka.gm· 

This Delegation of Authority will remain in effect until modified or revoked by a subsequent 
delegation. This Delegation supersedes and revokes all delegations preceding it. 

Dated the 29'h day of January, 2018 

1fik~~ 
Commissioner 
Department of Commerce, Community, 
and Economic Development 



Register __2)J__, QJo.kr- 2018 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS 

Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions. 

(Words in boldface and underlined indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED 
AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.) 

12 AAC 02.250 is amended to read: 

12 AAC 02.250. State Medical Board. (a) The following fees are established for 

physicians, podiatrists, and osteopaths: 

(1) nonrefundable application fee for initial license, $400 [$200]; 

(2) temporary permit fee, $200 [$75]; 

(3) initial or extended locum tenens pennit fee, $150 [$100]; 

( 4) license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, $425 [$300]; 

(5) active biennial license renewal fee, $425 [$300]; 

(6) inactive biennial license renewal fee, $275 [$125]; 

(7) retired status license one-time fee, $150 [$50]; 

(8) courtesy license fee, $150 [$100]; 

(9) residency permit nonrefundable application and permit fee, $100 [$50]; 

( 10) nonrefundable application fee for lo cum ten ens permit, $150 [$100]; 

( 11) nonrefundable application fee for courtesy license, $100. 

(b) The following fees are established for physician assistants: 

(1) nonrefundable application fee for initial license, $200 ($150] ; 

(2) temporary license fee, $75 [$50]; 

(3) repealed -!JJO /:J0/8; 

( 4) repealed .2.J3Q_j _70 !&>; 

(5) fee for establishing or changing a collaborative relationship, $125 ($100]; 

( 6) license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, $250 [$200]; 

DBL File#201820056V<.,L.-- 1 



Register~' ()c.-k ber 2018 PROFESSIONAL REGULA TIO NS 

[$50]; 

(7) biennial license renewal fee, $250 [$200]; 

(8) graduate physician assistant nonrefundable application and license fee, $100 

(9) inactive biennial license fee, $175 [$100]. 

(c) The following fees are established for mobile intensive care paramedics: 

(1) nonrefundable application fee for initial license, $100 [$50]; 

(2) temporary permit fee, $75 [$50]; 

(3) provisional license fee, $75 [$50]; 

(4) license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, $75 [$50]; 

(5) biennial license renewal fee, $75 ($50]. (Eff. 11/20/86, Register 100; am 

10/1/88, Register 107; am 5/20/92, Register 122; am 5/28/93, Register 126; am 10/29/94, 

Register 132; am 4/14/96, Register 138; am 11/15/96, Register 140; am 5/30/97, Register 142; 

am 11/27/98, Register 148; am 11/26/ 2000, Register 156; am 11/15/2002, Register 164; am 

11/21/2010 Regi ter 196; am 11/13/2014 Register 212; am _.2_/J_Qj~or8, Register mJ 

Authority: AS 08.01.062 AS 08.64.270 AS 08.64.276 

AS 08.01.065 

AS 08.64.107 

DOL Ftle#201 820~---

AS 08.64.272 AS 08.64.315 
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MEMORANDUM 

To: The Honorable Byron Mallott 
Lieutenant Governor 

From: Susan R. Pollard~ 
Chief Assistant Attorney General 

and Regulations Attorney 
Legislation and Regulations Section 

State of Alaska 
Department of Law 

Date: July31,2018 

File No.: 2018200563 

Tel. No.: 465-3600 

Re: Department of Commerce, 
Community, and Economic 
Development Regulation re: 12 AAC 
02.250: Occupational Licensing Fees: 
Professions Regulated by State 
Medical Board 

The Department of Law has reviewed the attached regulations of the Department of 
Commerce, Community, and Economic Development against the statutory standards of the 
Administrative Procedure Act. Based upon our review, we find no legal problems. This 
memorandum constitutes the written statement of approval under AS 44.62.060(b) and ( c) that 
authorizes your office to file the attached regulations. The regulations were adopted by the 
Department after the close of the public comment period. The regulations concern fees for 
physicians, podiatrists, osteopaths, physician assistants and mobile intensive care paramedics. 

The June 5, 2018 public notice and the July 11, 2018 adoption order both state that this 
action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. Therefore, a fiscal note under 
AS 44.62.195 is not required. 



Hon. Byron Mallott, Lieutenant Governor 
Our file: 2018200563 

SRP 

cc: w/encl. 

Janey McCollough, Director 
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Sara Chambers, Deputy Director 
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Linda Mattson, Regulations Contact 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Deborah Stovem, Executive Administrator 
State Medical Board 
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Megyn Weigand, Assistant Attorney General 
Commercial and Fair Business Section 
Department of Law 

July 31, 2018 
Page 2 of2 



Notice of Proposed Changes to Occupational Licensing Fees for Professions Regulated by 
the State Medical Board in the Regulations of the Department of Commerce, Community, 

and Economic Development 

BRIEF DESCRIPTION: The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
proposes to change occupational license fees charged to physicians, osteopaths, podiatrists, physician 
assistants, and mobile intensive care paramedics. 

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development (Department) proposes to adopt 
regulation changes in Title 12, Chapter 02 of the Alaska Administrative Code, dealing with occupational 
licensing fees, including the following: · 

12 AAC 02.250. State Medical Board, is proposed to be changed to alter the application, license and 
renewal fees for physicians, osteopaths, podiatrists, physician assistants and mobile intensive care 
paramedics. 

Under AS 08.01.065, the Department must establish fee levels so that the total amount of fees collected 
for an occupation approximately equals the actual regulatory costs for the occupation. The Department 
has reviewed the income and expenses for the occupational licensing program for the State Medical 
Board and proposes fee changes that reflect, to the extent possible, the actual costs of the activities related 
to the program. 

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private persons of 
complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Sher Zinn, Regulations 
Specialist, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 
99811-0806. Additionally, the Department will accept comments by facsimile at (907) 465-2974 and by 
electronic mail at RegulatiousA.ndPublicComment@alaska.gov. Comments may also be submitted 
through the Alaska Online Public Notice System by accessing this notice on the system at 
http://notice.alaska.gov/190295, and using the comment link. The comments must be received not later 
than 5:00 p.m. on July 9, 2018. 

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-
0806 or by e-mail at Regulation AndPublic ornment@alaska.,.,ov. The questions must be received at 
least 10 days before the end of the public comment period. The Department will aggregate its response 
to substantially similar questions and make the questions and responses available on the Department's 
website at https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/Professiona!Licensing/StateMecLicalBoard.aspx 
or on the Alaska Online Public Notice System. The Department may, but is not required to, answer 
written questions received after the 10-day cut-off date and before the end of the comment period. 

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this 
process, please contact Sher Zinn at (907) 465-1049 or sher.zinn@alaska.gov not later than June 29, 2018 
to ensure that any necessary accommodations can be provided. 

A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and by 
contacting Sher Zinn at (907) 465-1049 or RegulationsAndPublicNotice@alaska.gov, or go to 
https:l/www .commerce.alaska.gov/w b/portals/5/pub/MED-F eeRegsLetter 2018.pdf. 

After the public comment period ends, the Department will either adopt the proposed regulation changes 
or other provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action. The 
language of the final regulation may be different from that of the proposed regulation. You should 
comment during the time allowed if your interests could be affected. Written comments and questions 
received are public records and are subject to public inspection. 

Statutory Authority: AS 08.01.062; AS 08.01.065; AS 08.64.107; AS 08.64.270; AS 08.64.272; 



AS 08.64.276; AS 08.64.315 

Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 08.01.062; AS 08 .01.065; 
AS 08.64.107; AS 08.64.270; AS 08.64.272; AS 08.64.276; AS 08.64.315 

Fiscal Information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased 
appropriation. 

DATE: W5/ff 
Sher Zinn, R lations Specialist 
Division of orporations Business and 
Professional Licensing 

For each occupation regulated under the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, 
the Division keeps a list of individuals or organizations who are interested in the regulations of that 
occupation. The Division automatically sends a Notice of Proposed Regulations to the parties on the 
appropriate list each time there is a proposed change in an occupation's regulations in Title 12 of the 
Alaska Administrative Code. If you would like your address added to or removed from such a list, send 
your request to the Division at the address above, giving your name, either your e-mail address or mailing 
address (as you prefer for receiving notices), and the occupational area in which you are interested. 

ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION 
(AS 44.62.190(d)) 

1. Adopting agency: Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development- Division of 
Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing. 

2. General subject of regulation: Occupational licensing fees. 

3. Citation of regulation: 12 AAC 02.250. 

4. Department of Law file number: To be assigned . 

5. Reason for the proposed action: Compliance with state statute. 

6. Appropriation/Allocation: Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing - #2360. 

7. Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to: 
A private person: $200 increase for physician, osteopath and podiatrist nonrefundable application 
fee; $125 increase for a temporary permit fee; $50 increase for a locum tenens permit fee; $125 
increase for a physician, osteopath, and podiatrist initial biennial license and biennial license renewal 
fee; $150 increase for a physician, osteopath, and podiatrist inactive biennial license renewal fee; 
$100 increase for a retired status license fee; $50 increase for a courtesy license fee; $50 increase 
for a residency application and permit fee; $50 increase for a nonrefundable application fee for a 
locum tenens permit; $50 increase for a physician assistant nonrefundable application fee; $25 
increase for a physician assistant temporary license fee; $25 increase for a physician assistant 
collaborative relationship; $50 increase for a physician assistant initial biennial license and biennial 
license renewal fee; $50 increase for a graduate physician assistant nonrefundable application and 
license fee; $75 increase for a physician assistant inactive biennial license fee; $50 increase for a 
mobile intensive care paramedic (MICP) nonrefundable application fee; $25 increase for a MICP 
temporary permit fee; $25 increase for a MICP provisional license fee; $25 increase for a MICP initial 
biennial license and biennial license renewal fee. 
Another state agency: None known. 
A municipality: None known. 



8. Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of dollars): No 
costs are expected in FY 2018 or in subsequent years. 

9. The name of the contact person for the regulation: 
Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Telephone: (907) 465-1049 
E-mail: sher.zinn@alaska.gov 

10. The origin of the proposed action: Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing. 

11. Date: hf2/1 Y Prepared by: , Cl/u) . ~' ~ ~ 
SherZinn cJ 
Regulations Specialist 
(907) 465-1049 



STATE OF ALASKA ) 
) SS. 

FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT ) 

AFFIDAVIT OF NOTICE OF PROPOSED ADOPTION OF REGULATIONS 
AND FURNISHING OF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

I, Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic 
Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, being sworn, state the 
following: 

As required by AS 44.62.190, notice of the proposed adoption of changes to 12 AAC 02.250, dealing 
with occupational licensing fees for Physicians, Osteopaths, Podiatrists, Physician Assistants and 
Mobile Intensive Care Paramedics, regulated by the State Medical Board has been given by being: 

1. published in a newspaper or trade publication; 

2. furnished to interested persons; 

3. furnished to appropriate state officials; 

4. furnished to the Department of Law, along with a copy of the proposed regulation; 

5. furnished electronically to incumbent State of Alaska legislators; 

6. furnished to the Legislative Affairs Agency, Division of Legal and Research Services; 

7. posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System as required by AS 44.62.175(a)(1) and (b) 

and 44.62.190(a)(1); 

8. furnished electronically, along with a copy of the proposed regulation, to the Legislative Affairs 

Agency, the Chair of the Labor and Commerce Committee of the Alaska Senate and House of 

Representatives, the Administrative Regulation Review Committee, and the legislative council. 

As required by AS 44.62.190, additional regulation notice information regarding the proposed adoption 
of the regulation changes described above has been furnished to interested persons and those in (5) and 
(6) of the list above. The additional regulation notice information also has been posted on the Alaska 
Online Public Notice System. 

Date: 

her Zinn, R Mions peciali t 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this __ / .;._( _ day of , ) (,. (1 ' 2018. 

~ 
Notary Public in and for th_e S'fa~la ka 
My commission expires: ~ ~~C .e... 



STATE OF ALASKA ) 
) SS. 

FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT ) 

AFFIDAVIT OF AGENCY RECORD OF PUBLIC COMMENT 

I, Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic 
Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, being sworn, state the 
following: 

In compliance with AS 44.62.215, the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic 
Development has kept a record of its use or rejection of factual or other substantive information that 
was submitted in writing as public comment and that was relevant to the accuracy, coverage, or other 
aspect of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development regulations on 
dealing with occupational licensing fees for professions regulated by the State Medical Board. 

Date: 17 /;; /; ~ 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this __ /_( _ _ day of J l< /If 

~ 
'2018. 

Notary Pu~li.c in an~ for ~$ta?11.f\laska 
My comrruss10n expires: ( 0 H:J CR 



STATE OF ALASKA ) 
) SS. 

FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT ) 

AFFIDAVIT OF DEPARTMENT CONSIDERATION OF 
BOARD RECOMMENDATIONS 

I, Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic 
Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, being sworn, state the 
following: 

As required by AS 08.01.06S(c), the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic 
Development has considered the recommendations of the State Medical Board before adopting 
changes to the fees in 12 AAC 02.250. 

Date: 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this _ _ /_/_day of _ _ j~lA_li__,y,__ _ __ _,, 2018. 

,,11111,, ,,. """" ,,, ,, s 'T •• 
,'n:\ .. . . .. .. . .. •, .. ~ .· ·. .. 

.... 171 • • • ,,:.. .. .. 
.. 'V • ~,,_ '"'..:- • () , 

.... ~ ... ~~~ "rJ ~ "' ·. -:. - _.;;,. ~o ~ ·.<lo)-
- . 0 ..... ? . :::i • -)>· OJ 1-) 3·-·-
~ ::::. ,.,, . J - .:ro -. ~· ~~ .,_. "' . - -·-· ('ti """--... ~ <tJ .-... 
:,~ " ~ (5 :'J o·."D .. 
.. cJ'l ·. - ,,.~ .. .A: .... 'If " . 'f o~·, ,.~, .... 
', ~ ". . so)\_ •• ;,...,,y " 

.. .. •• r:·CJ .... 
I 'lot''•oo••' ~ .. ,, ...,.... ~ ,, ,,, 

''''""''' 

Notary Public in and for ~lw/5ij~ la ka 
My commission expires: VI . ( c..e 



I 
RECEIVED 

Juneau 

JUN 11 2018 

CBPL 

AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION 

Account#: 268972 

ST OF AK/DEC/OCCU 
PO BOX 110806 
JUNEAU, AK 99811 0806 

STATE OF ALASKA 
THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT 

Jaleesa Stepetin 
being first duly sworn on oath deposes and says 
that he/she is a rep resentative of the Anchorage 
Daily News, a daily newspaper. That said 
newspaper has been approved by the Third 
Judicial Court, Anchorage , Alaska, and it now 
and has been published in the English language 
continually as a daily newspaper in Anchorage, 
Alaska, and it is now and during all said time 
was printed in an office maintained at the 
aforesaid place of publication of said newspaper. 
That the annexed is a copy of an advertisement 
as it was published in regular issues (and not in 
supplemental form) of said newspaper on 

June 06, 2018 

and that such newspaper was regularly 
distributed to its subscribers during all of said 
period. That the fu ll amount of the fee charged 
for the foregoing publication is not in excess of 

the cote ohe<1Jed ,,;vete ;,d;v;doal•. £.. , 
s ;goed~~ ~ 

J:i:aste0etin 

Subscribed and sworn to before me 
this 6th day of June , 2018 

&ttttw~ J1omp!?llY1 
Notary Pullin and fo; 
The State of Alaska . 
Third Division 
Anchorage, Alaska 

Order# 

Cost 

0001422506 
$448.22 

Product 

Placement 

Position 

ANG-Anchorage Daily News 

0300 
0301 

Notice of Proposed Changes to occupational Licensing Fees 
for Professions Regulated by the State Medical Boardln the 

Regulations of the O"epartment of commerce, community, and 
Economic Development 

The Department of commerce, community, and Economic 
Development (Department) proposes to adopt regulatfon changes In 
Title 12. ChaDter 02 ·of the Alaska· Administrative Code, dealing with 
occupational ncenslng fees, Including the following: 

12 AAC 02.2so. State Medlcal Board, Is proposed to be changed to 
alter t11e application. license and renewal fees for PhY.sTclans, 
osteop!lths, podiatrists, physician assistants ahd mobile Intensive care 
paramedics, · 

under AS OB.01.065~ the Department must establish fee levels so that 
\he total amount or fees collected for an occupation approXlmately 
equals the a~Q~I regulatory costs for the occupation. Tl~e pepartment 
has reviewed the Income and expenses for the occupational llcenslng 
program fo( the S~te Medical Board and proposes fee ctianges thal 
teflect, to the extent possible, the actual costs of the activities related 
to the program. ' 

vqu may comment on the proposed regulation ctianges, Including the 
potential costs tQ private persons of · complyf hg ·with the proposed 
cMnges, by ~ubmitting written comments to Siler Zinn, Regulations 
Specrallst. Dl\llslon or corporations Business and Professional 
Licensing, P.O. aox 110806, Juneau

6 
p.k 99811-0806. Addltfona1ly1 the 

Department will accept comments y facslrnlle at (907) 465-2974 arid 
by elec;tronlc mail at RegulatlonsAndPubllcCornment@alaska.gov. 
comments may also be submitted through the Alaska onllne Puolic 
Notice S~tem by accessing this notice on the system at 
http:/tnotlce.alaska.gov/190295 ... and using the comment link. The 
comments must t:>e recelveu not laterlhan s:oo p.m. on July 9, 
2018. 

You rnax submit written questions relevant to the preposed action to 
Sher Zinn. Regµlatlon.s specialist, Dlvislon·of corporations, Busthess and 
Professional Llcen$lng, P.O. eox 110806, Juneau, AK 99811·0806·or bye­
mail at RegulationsAndPubllccomrnent@alaska.gov. The questions 
must be received at1east·10 days before ttie end of the public 
comment period. The Department will aggregate Its response to 
substantially similar questions and make the 9uestlons and responses 
available on the Department s website at 
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/Web/cbpl/Prdfesslonallicenslng/Sta 
teMedlcalBoard.aspx . 

' or on the Alas.Ka ©nllne Public Notl~e System. The Department rnaY. but 
is not required to, answer written Questions received after the 10-day 
cut·off date and 'before the end of the comment period. 

If you are a person with a disabllltv who needs a special 
accommodation tn order to participate In this process. please contact 
Sher Zinn at (907) 465-1049 or sher.zlnn@alaska.gov not later than June 
29, 2018 to ensure that any necessary accommodations can be 
provided. 

A copy of the proposed regulation changes Is available on the Alaska 
Online Public Notrce System and bY. confactlng Sher Zinn at (907) 465-
1049 or RegulatlonsAndPublfoNotlce@aJaska.gov, or go to 
https: I lwww. comi:nerce. al a ska .gov / web(portals/S/put5/M ED­
FeesRegsLetter-2018.pdf. 

After the public comment period ends, the Department will either 
adopt the proposed regulation changes or other provisions dealin With 
the same sub ei;t. Witflout further notrce o eplde 


