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July 31, 2018

Dear licensees and interested parties:

Alaska’s professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and
Professional Licensing (CBPL) to “annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of
each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation.” Alaska’s licensing fee
statutes go on to say, “If the review indicates that an occupation’s fee collections and regulatory costs are not
approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations. ..to implement the
adjustments.”

The Division has conducted a thorough fee analysis and has determined that fee increases are necessary to
comply with the statute listed above, to prevent the program from going into a deficit position, and to
continue to deliver the current level of service to the Construction Contractors and Home Inspectors
licensing program. Program expenses have slowly been depleting the surplus for several years, and it is now
time to set the fees more in line with expenses. Although fees were increased in FY2014, they were not set
high enough to stem the program’s depleting surplus. Barring any unforeseen circumstances, this increase will
stabilize the program for the foreseeable future and will prevent the need for an even larger increase later.

The proposed fee amounts are enclosed and can also be found on the program’s web pages at
https://www.commerce.alaska.cov/web/cbpl/Professionall icensing/ConstructionContractors.aspx &

https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/Professionallicensing/Homelnspectors.aspx.

This fee proposal is entering a public comment period. The Division encourages all licensees and interested
parties to comment on this proposal through the division’s Regulations Specialist, whose contact information
is enclosed on the public notice. After the comment period closes and the Division reviews all comments
received, the Division may adopt the regulation as drafted, may amend a proposed fee, or may withdraw the
regulations in part or in its whole.

All comments received will be reviewed and taken into consideration prior to adopting the final regulations.
The final decision will result in the fee to be implemented during next spring’s license renewal.

Follow the instructions enclosed to make written comments during the public comment period. Comments
must be addressed to Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, PO Box 110800, Juneau, AK 99811, or
RegulationsAndPublicComment(@alaska.gov.

Sincerely,

i

Janey McCullough
Director

Encl.


https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/ConstructionContractors.aspx
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/HomeInspectors.aspx
mailto:RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov
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Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions.

(Words in boldface and underlined indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED
AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.)

12 AAC 02.180(a) is amended to read:
12 AAC 02.180. Construction contractors. [(a)] The following fees are established for

general, mechanical, and all specialty construction contractors:

(1) nonrefundable application fee for initial registration or residential contractor
endorsement, $100 [$65];

(2) certificate of registration and license enforcement support fee, for all or part of
the initial biennial registration period, $250 [$235];

(3) biennial certificate of registration renewal and license enforcement support
fee, $250 [$235];

(4) fee for change from one specialty to another specialty, or from specialty to
mechanical, or from mechanical to specialty, contractor registration, $35;

(5) name change, $65;

(6) bonding research, $30;

(7) residential contractor endorsement fee, for all or part of the initial biennial
endorsement period, $250 [$235];

(8) biennial residential contractor endorsement renewal fee, $250 [$235];

(9) repealed I . [RESIDENTIAL CONTRACTOR

ENDORSEMENT EXAMINATION FEE, $95.]

(10) fee for change from a specialty or mechanical contractor reqgistration to

a general contractor reqistration, or a general contractor registration to a specialty

contractor or mechanical contractor registration, $75.
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12 AAC 02.180(b) is repealed:

(b) Repealed / / . [WHEN A REGISTRANT UPGRADES FROM A

SPECIALTY OR MECHANICAL CONTRACTOR REGISTRATION TO A GENERAL
CONTRACTOR REGISTRATION, OR DOWNGRADES FROM A GENERAL
CONTRACTOR REGISTRATION TO A SPECIALTY OR MECHANICAL CONTRACTOR
REGISTRATION, THE FOLLOWING FEES WILL BE ASSESSED:

(1) WHEN, AS A RESULT OF THE CHANGE, THE REGISTRANT’S
REGISTRATION PERIOD AT THE TIME OF THE CHANGE IS REDUCED, $65;

(2) WHEN, AS A RESULT OF THE CHANGE, THE REGISTRANT’S
REGISTRATION PERIOD AT THE TIME OF THE CHANGE IS EXTENDED, $95;

(3) REPEALED 11/15/96.] (Eff. 9/27/86, Register 99; am 11/20/86, Register
100; am 10/1/88, Register 107; am 5/4/90, Register 114; am 5/20/92, Register 122; am 8/20/93,
Register 127; am 10/29/94, Register 132; am 11/15/96, Register 140; am 11/27/98, Register 148;
am 10/28/2000, Register 156; am 3/25/2004, Register 169; am 5/18/2014, Register 210; am

/ / , Register )

Authority:  AS 08.01.065 AS 08.18.041

12 AAC 02.235 is amended to read:
12 AAC 02.235. Home inspectors. The following fees are established for home
inspectors and associate home inspectors:
(1) nonrefundable application fee for initial license, $100 [$65];

(2) certificate of registration and license enforcement support fee, for all or part
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of the initial biennial licensing period, $250 [$235];

(3) biennial certificate of registration renewal and license enforcement support
fee, $250 [$235];

(4) bonding and research, $30;

(5) fee for adding an additional type of authorized inspection to a registration,

$30. (Eff. 3/25/2004, Register 169; am 5/18/2014, Register 210; am / / , Register
_ )
Authority: ~ AS 08.01.065 AS 08.18.022 AS 08.18.041
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