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ORDER ADOPTING CHANGES TO
REGULATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE,
COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

The attached three pages of regulations, dealing with occupational licensing fees for
professions regulated by the Board of Nursing, are adopted and certified to be a
correct copy of the regulation changes that the Department of Commerce,
Community, and Economic Development adopts under the authority of AS
08.01.010, AS 08.01.065, AS 08.01.100, AS 08.68.220, and AS 08.68.336 and after
compliance with the Administrative Procedure Act (AS 44.62), specifically including
ncgzice under AS 44.62.190 and 44.62.200 and opportunity for public comment under
AS 44.62.210.

This action is not expected to require an increased appropriation.

In considering public comments, the Department of Commerce, Community, and
Economic Development paid special attention to the cost to private persons of the
regulatory action being taken.

The regulation changes adopted under this order take effect on the 30th day after
they have been filed by the lieutenant governor, as provided in AS 44.62.180.

DATE: 25, 20/8

eau, Alaska’

:ﬂ g4/

J Hough Director ¢

v'smn Corporations, Business and
ofessional Licensing

FILING CERTIFICATION

I, Byron, Mallott, Lieutenant Governor for the State of Alaska, certify that

on R\ (\ , 2018 at )‘A:t Q , I filed the attached regulations

accor d&g to\l:he provisions of AS 44.62.040 — 44.62.120.

Fallott, Cicutenhint Governor

Effective: A,Aj“gf 1, 208 .
Register: 22 Oc,‘{'bgoe,r- 2018




THE STATE

of AL ASKA Department of Commerce, Community,
L Sk BN and Economic Development
GOVERNOR BILL WALKER OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER

P.O. Box 110800
Juneau, AK 99811-0800
Main; 907.465,2500
Fax: 907.465.5442

In accordance with AS 44.17.010, the authority and responsibility for adopting regulations, outside
of the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL), but for the
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development (DCCED), under the Alaska
Administrative Procedure Act, is hereby delegated to:

Micaela Fowler

Legislative Liaison

Office of the Commissioner
DCCED

P.O. Box 110800

Juneau, AK 99811-0800
907-465-2503

micaclafowler@alaska.gov

In accotdance with AS 44.17.010, the authority and responsibility for adopting regulations of the
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, under the Alaska Administrative
Procedure Act, is hereby delegated to:

Janey McCullough
Director
"CBPL

DCCED

P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
907-465-2538

janey.mccullough@alaska.goy

This Delegation of Authority will remain in effect until modified or revoked by a subsequent
delegation. This Delegation supersedes and revokes all delegations preceding it.

Dated the 29" day of January, 2018

Mike Navarre /
Commissioner

Depattment of Commerce, Community,
and Economic Development




Register 227 , Hcfpher 2018 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

$100 [$607;

(8) reexamination application fee, $50;

(9) late renewal penalty fee, $100;

(10) nonrefundable fingerprint processing fee, $75 [$60];

(11) courtesy license fee, $50;

(12) retired nurse status license one-time fee, $100 [$165]. (Eff. 3/6/86, Register
97, am 12/13/87, Register 104; am 6/23/90, Register 114; am 5/20/92, Register 122; am 5/28/93,
Register 126; am 2/13/94, Register 129; am 7/28/95, Register 135; am 7/25/96, Register 139; am
8/26/98, Register 147; am 8/10/2000, Register 155; am 6/21/2001, Register 158; am 6/13/2002,
Register 162; am 6/16/2002, Register 162; am 11/19/2008, Register 188; am 7/7/2010, Register

195; am 2/20/2014, Register 209; am 8/10/2016, Register 219; am &/ | /2018 , Register

227)
Authority:  AS 08.01.010 AS 08.01.100 AS 08.68.220

AS08.01.065

12 AAC 02.282 is amended to read:
12 AAC 02.282. Board of Nursing: fees for certified nurse aides. The following fees
are established for certified nurse aides:
(1) nénreﬁmdable application fee for initial certification, $100 [$50];
(2) examination fee, $55 [$50];
(3) certification fee for all or part of the initial biennial nurse aide certification
period, $100;

(4) biennial nurse aide certification renewal fee, $100;

DOEFite#264+8200490—2— 2



Register 227, Actober 2018 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions.

12 AAC 02.280 is amended to read:
12 AAC 02.280. Board of Nursing: fees for nurses and [,] advanced practice

registered nurses [NURSE PRACTITIONERS, AND CERTIFIED REGISTERED NURSE

ANESTHETISTS]. The following fees are established for nurses and [,] advanced practice

registered nurses [NURSE PRACTITIONERS, AND CERTIFIED REGISTERED NURSE

ANESTHETISTS]:

(1) nonrefundable application fee for

(A) initial registered or practical nursing license, $100; [OR]

(B) advanced practice registered nurse license, $100;

(C) preceptorship registration one-time fee, $100 [$50];

(2) license fee for all or part of the initial biennial registered or practical nursing

license period, $200 [$165];

(3) biennial registered or practical nursing license renewal fee, $200 [$165];

(4) temporary permit fee, $100 [$50];

(5) prescriptive authority or controlled substance authority application one-

time fee, $100 [$50];

(6) advanced practice registered nurse license [PRACTITIONER OR

CERTIFIED REGISTERED NURSE ANESTHETIST AUTHORIZATION] fee for all or part of
the initial biennial license [AUTHORIZATION] period, $100 [$60];

(7) advanced practice registered nurse [PRACTITIONER OR CERTIFIED

REGISTERED NURSE ANESTHETIST] biennial license [AUTHORIZATION] renewal fee,

DOEFie#204-8200490<7__ 1



Register 227 , Ochnber 2018 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

(5) certified nurse aide training program approval fee, $500;

(6) reexamination fee, $50 [$25];

(7) nonrefundable fingerprint processing fee, $75 [$60]. (Eff. 8/26/98, Register
147; am 5/5/99, Register 150; am 2/26/2000, Register 153; am 6/16/2002, Register 162; am
3/7/2008, Register 185; am 1/30/2010, Register 193; am 2/20/2014, Register 209; am

B/ | /2018 ,Register 227)

Authority: AS 08.01.010 AS 08.01.065 AS 08.68.336




MEMORANDUM State of Alaska

Department of Law
To:  The Honorable Byron Mallott Date:  June 27, 2018
Lieutenant Governor

FileNo.: 2018200490

Tel. No.:  465-3600

From: Syugan R. Pollard@w Re:  Regulations re: Occupational
Chief Assistant Attorney General Licensing Fees for Professions
and Regulations Attorney regulated by the Board of Nursing
Legislation and Regulations Section (12 AAC 02.280)

The Department of Law has reviewed the attached regulations by the Department of
Commerce, Community, and Economic Development against the statutory standards of the
Administrative Procedure Act. Based upon our review, we find no legal problems. This
memorandum constitutes the written statement of approval under AS 44.62.060(b) and (c) that
authorizes your office to file the attached regulations. The regulations concern occupational
licensing fees for registered, practical and advance practice registered nurses. The client agency
requests that these regulations be filed in time to be effective by August 1, 2018, or sooner in
time to be effective for the upcoming license renewal in September.

The May 17, 2018 public notice and the June 25, 2018 adoption order both state that this
action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. Therefore, a fiscal note under
AS 44.62.195 is not required.

We have made a minor technical correction as shown on the attached copy of the
regulations.

SRP:srp

e Micaela Fowler, Regulations Contact
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Janey McCullough, Director
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Megyn A. Weigand, Assistant Attorney General
Commercial and Fair Business Section



NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES TO OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING FEES FOR
PROFESSIONS REGULATED BY THE BOARD OF NURSING IN THE REGULATIONS OF
THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

BRIEF DESCRIPTION: The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
proposes to change occupational license fees charged to registered or practical nurses, advanced practice
registered nurses, and certified nurse aides.

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development (Department) proposes to adopt
regulation changes in Title 12, Chapter 02 of the Alaska Administrative Code including the following:

1. 12 AAC 02.280. Board of Nursing: fees for nurses and advanced practice registered nurses, is
proposed to be changed to amend the application, license, renewal, temporary permit, prescriptive
authority or controlled substance authority, retired nurse license, and fingerprint processing fees for
registered or practical nurses (RN/PN) and advanced practice registered nurses (APRN).

2. 12 AAC 02.282. Board of Nursing: fees for certified nurse aides, is proposed to be changed to
amend the application, examination, reexamination, and fingerprint processing fees for certified
nurse aides (CNA).

Under AS 08.01.065, the Department must establish fee levels so that the total amount of fees collected
for an occupation approximately equals the actual regulatory costs for the occupation. The Department
has reviewed the income and expenses for the occupational licensing program for the Board of Nursing
and proposes fee changes that reflect, to the extent possible, the actual costs of the activities related to the
program.

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private persons of
complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Jun Maiquis, Regulations
Specialist, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK
99811-0806. Additionally, the Department will accept comments by facsimile at (907) 465-2974 and by
clectronic mail at RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov. Comments may also be submitted
through the Alaska Online Public Notice System by accessing this notice on the system at
http://notice.alaska.gov/190040, and using the comment link. The comments must be received not later
than 5:00 p.m. on June 18, 2018. Comments received after this deadline will not be considered by the
Department.

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist,
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-
0806 or by e-mail at RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov. The questions must be received at
least 10 days before the end of the public comment period. The Department will aggregate its response
to substantially similar questions and make the questions and responses available on the Alaska Online
Public Notice System and on the Board’s website at
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofNursing.aspx. The
Department may, but is not required to, answer written questions received after the 10-day cut-off date
and before the end of the comment period.

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this
process, please contact Jun Maiquis at (907) 465-2537 or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov
not later than June 11, 2018 to ensure that any necessary accommodation can be provided.

A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and by
contacting Jun Maiquis at (907) 465-2537 or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov, or go to
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/NUR-CNA-Fees-0518.pdf.

After the public comment period ends, the Department will either adopt the proposed regulation changes
or other provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action. The



language of the final regulation may be different from that of the proposed regulation. You should
comment during the time allowed if your interests could be affected. Written comments and questions
received are public records and are subject to public inspection.

Statutory Authority: AS 08.01.010; AS 08.01.065; AS 08.01.100; AS 08.68.220; AS 08.68.336
Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 08.01.010; AS 08.01.065; AS
08.01.100; AS 08.68.220; AS 08.68.336

Fiscal Information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased
appropriation.

DATE: 5'_//f//3 @%W

Jun Maiquls, Regulations Specialist
ivision ofCorporations, Business and

Pr fonal Licensing

For each occupation regulated under the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing,
the Division keeps a list of individuals or organizations who are interested in the regulations of that
occupation. The Division automatically sends a Notice of Proposed Regulations to the parties on the
appropriate list each time there is a proposed change in an occupation's regulations in Title 12 of the
Alaska Administrative Code. If you would like your address added to or removed from such a list, send
your request to the Division at the address above, giving your name, either your e-mail address or mailing
address (as you prefer for receiving notices), and the occupational area in which you are interested.




10.

1.

ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION
(AS 44.62.190(d))

Adopting agency: Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development, Division of
Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing.

General subject of regulation: Occupational licensing fees.

Citation of regulation: 12 AAC 02.280 and 12 AAC 02.282.

Department of Law file number: To be assigned.

Reason for the proposed action: Compliance with state statute.
Appropriation/Allocation: Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing — #2360.

Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to:

A private person: $50 increase for initial RN/PN application fee; $50 increase for initial APRN
application fee; $50 increase for preceptorship registration one-time fee; $35 increase for RN/PN
initial biennial license fee; $35 increase for RN/PN biennial license renewal fee; $50 increase for
temporary permit fee; $50 increase for APRN prescriptive authority or controlled substance authority
one-time fee; $40 increase for APRN initial biennial license fee; $40 increase for APRN biennial
license renewal fee; $65 decrease for retired nurse status license fee; $50 increase for initial CNA
application fee; $5 increase for CNA examination fee; $25 increase for CNA reexamination fee; $15
increase for fingerprint processing fee.

Another state agency: None known.

A municipality: None known.

Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of dollars):
No costs are expected in FY 2018 or in subsequent years.

The name of the contact person for the regulation:

Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist

Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Telephaone: (907) 465-2537

E-mail: jun.maiquis@alaska.gov

The origin of the proposed action: Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing.

Date: 5 //S' / / f Prepared by: ‘7% :

(in Maiqu
ulati Specialist



STATE OF ALASKA )

) ss.
FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT )

AFFIDAVIT OF NOTICE OF PROPOSED ADOPTION OF REGULATIONS
AND KU F ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

I, Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist, of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic
Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, being sworn, state the
following:

As required by AS 44.62.190, notice of the proposed adoption of changes to
12 AAC 02.280 and 12 AAC 02.282, dealing with occupational licensing fees for professions
regulated by the Board of Nursing, has been given by being:

1. published in a newspaper or trade publication;
. furnished to interested persons;
. furnished to appropriate state officials;
. furnished to the Department of Law, along with a copy of the proposed regulations;

2

3

4

5. electronically transmitted to incumbent State of Alaska legislators;

6. furnished to the Legislative Affairs Agency, Legislative Legal and Research Services;
7

. posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System as required by AS 44.62.175(a)(1) and (b) and
44.62.190(a)(1);

8. furnished electronically, along with a copy of the proposed regulations, to the Legislative Affairs
Agency, the chair of the Labor and Commerce Committee of the Alaska Senate and House of
Representatives, the Administrative Regulation Review Committee, and the legislative council.

As required by AS 44.62.190(d), additional re;iulations notice information regarding the proposed
adoption of the reFulation changes described above has been furnished to interested lg;ersons and those in
(S? and (6) of the list above. The additional regulations notice information also has been posted on the
Alaska Online Public Notice System.

DATE: é Aé %{Zﬁ
Juneau, Alaska P

/

N

wls, Regulations Specialist

SUBSCRIBEMAND,SWORN TO before me this _4STH _ day of _Suwe ,2018.
+ sON K \ IR
:’ 2 .§§;{;;ﬁ I-s.s‘;c;?@@g ‘e ,
& RS % A >
:. .': NOTA ?u’-'- :- Nota T
e i ry Public in and for the
:* PUBLIIEY ;o2 State of Alaska
- (D"'- *;' My commission expires: WITH OFFICE



STATE OF ALASKA )
) ss.
FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT )

AFFIDAVIT OF AGENCY RECORD OF PUBLIC COMMENT

I, Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist for the Department of Commerce,
Community, and Economic Development, Division of Corporations, Business and
Professional Licensing, being duly sworn, state the following:

In compliance with AS 44.62.215, the Department of Commerce, Community, and
Economic Development has kept a record of its use or rejection of factual or other
substantive information that was submitted in writing as public comment and that
was relevant to the accuracy, coverage, or other aspect of the Department of
Commerce, Community, and Economic Development regulations on dealing with
occupational licensing fees for professions regulated by the Board of Nursing.

DATE: J/ZS'/ 8

Juneau, Alaska

|

ﬂrr\

J uw Regulations Specialist

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me thism day of &m)é , 2018.

“||Illll,'

........
.

State of Alaska

“
5o % % Notal¥ Public in and for the
§ My commission expires: AT OFFTcE

. .
-------



ANCHORAGE DAILY NEWS Mineat

AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION s

Account #: 268972

Order#
ST OF AK/DEC/OCCU Cost

PO BOX 110806
JUNEAU, AK 998110806

STATE OF ALASKA
THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT

Joleesa Stepetin

being first duly sworn on oath deposes and says
that he/she is a representative of the Anchorage
Daily News, a daily newspaper. That said
newspaper has been approved by the Third
Judicial Court, Anchorage, Alaska, and it now
and has been published in the English language
continually as a daity newspaper in Anchorage,
Alaska, and it is now and during all said time
was printed in an office maintained at the
aforesaid place of publication of said newspaper.
That the annexed is a copy of an advertisement
as it was published in regular issues (and not in
supplemental form) of said newspaper on

May 17, 2018

and that such newspaper was regularly
distributed to its subscribers during all of said
period. That the full amount of the fee charged
for the foregoing publication is not in excess of
the rate charged private individuals.

Signed

Subscribed and sworn to before me
this 17th day of May, 2018

9 WSOV]
Notary Pu\t;i/f in and for //

The State™of Alaska.

Third Division

Anchorage, Alaska

MY COMMISS|ON EXPIRES

Notary Pubtic
BRITNEY L. THOMPSON

State of Alaska
My Commission Explres Feb 23, 2018

0001421527
$483.08

Product
Placement 0300
Position 0301

NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES TO OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING FEES
FOR PROFESSIONS REGULATED BY THE BOARD OF NURSING IN-THE
REGULATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, AND
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic
Development gDepartment) proposes to adopt regulation changes In
{éﬂg vJIn'g Chapter 02 of the Alaska Administrative’ Code including the

1.12 AAC 02.280. Board of Nursing: fees for nurses and
advanced practice registered nurses, is proposed to be changed
to amend the afapnca fon, license, renewal, tempora it,
rescriptive authority or controlled substance aithority, retired nurse
icense, and fingerprint processing fees for registered or s;ractical
nurses (RN/PN) and advariced practice registered nurses (APRN).

2.12 AAC 02.282, Board of Nursing: fees for certified nurse
aldes, Is proposed to be changed to amend the application,
examination, .reexamination, and fingerprint processing fees for
certified nurse aides (CNA).

Under AS 08.01.065, the Department must establish fee levels so that
the total amount of fees collected for an occuBatfon approximatel
equals the actual regulatory costs-for the occupation. The Departmen
has reviewed the income and expenses for the occufpational llcensing
program for the Board of Nursing and proposes fee changes tha
geﬂtﬁce:t, to trhae extent possible, the actual costs of the activities related
0 program.

You ma){ comment on the proposed regulation chanﬁﬁs, including the
potential costs to tE.rfvate persons of complying with the proposed
changes, by submitting written comments to Jun Maiquis, ReFu ations
Specialist, “ Division of Corporations, Business and Professional

‘Licensing, P.0O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806. Addltlona_llgy, the

Department will accept comments by facsimile at (907) 465-2974° and
by electronic mall  at RegulatlonsAndPubllcComment@alaska.%)v.
Comments may also be submitted through the Alaska Online Public
Notice System by accessing this notice on the syfstem at
http://notice.alaska.gov/190040, and using the comment link. The
comments must be received not later than 5:00 p.m. on June
18, 2018. Comments recelved after this deadline will not be
considered by the Department..

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to
Jun Maituis, Regulations Specialist, Division of Corporations, Business
and Professlonal Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806
or l;x‘ e-mall at RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov. The
a:ne ons must be received at least 10 days before the

e public comment period. The Department will aggregate its
response to substantially similar questions and make the questions and
responses available on e Alaska Online Public Notice System and on

the oard’s website at
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/Bo
ardofNursing.aspx. The Dg{)artment may, but is not required to, answer
written questions received after the 10-day cut-off date and before the
end of the comment period.

If you are a person with a disabill% who needs a special
accommodation in order to participate in this process, please contact
n Maiquis u_aLtu,‘ 907) -2537

B 0}9E11U07) |EJ3U3
VIDHIWNC
v NI3QISIH -

jouRysejesoe@oulsn || pajdasay 9N / esiA |
88¢¢-22S sajewysy sal4
sileday e [R18)\ o SOIBUIYS
 JOOY Paydlld 0} JOOY 1e|J HBAUOD e UONR|USA JOOY e
e JA\d * JaqQqny INAd3 e umoq Yool e Huyooy Jej J10H e
SIBBA Z€ JAAQ Jo) eysely Buijooy
© S]00J J0 S8dA} (I e [BIUSPISAY e |RIDISLIWIOY

INIH004 SNY

ANC-Anchorage Daily News




STATE OF ALASKA
FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT

AFFIDAVIT OF DEPARTMENT CONSIDERATION OF
BOARD RECOMMENDATIONS

I, Jun MaiBuis, Regulations Specialist for the Department of Commerce, Community, and

Economic Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing,
being duly sworn, state the following:

As required by AS 08.01.065(c), the Department of Commerce, Community, and
Economic Development has considered the recommendations of the Board of Nursing
before adopting changes to the fees in 12 AAC 02.280 and 12 AAC 02.282.

DATE: éé YAA’

Juneau, Alaska

WS, Regulations Specialist

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this @Sy day of _Sune

, 2018.

‘.ﬂllll,'

. ,
t““(\ wa eSe/. ""0

..
........

] G_;o-. ion £, *. »
& 2 aeSi10N By ce.
SR e,

s q Notary Public in and for the
z :E “OTAR N State of Alaska

My commission expires: _(OTtHy OFFLCE




