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ORDER ADOPTING CHANGES TO 
REGULATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, 

COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

The attached two pages of regulations, dealing with occupational licensing fees for 
Audiologists, Hearing Aid Dealers, Speech-Language Pathologists, and Speech­
Language Pathologist Assistants regulated by the Department of Commerce, 
Community, and Economic Development, are adopted and certified to be a correct 
copy of the regulation changes that the Department of Commerce, Community and 
Economic Development adopts under the authority of AS 08.01.065, AS 08.11.010, 
AS 08.11.015, AS 08.11.020, AS 08.11.025, AS 08.11.030, AS 08.11.043, AS 
08.11.050, AS 08.55.010, AS 08.55.020, and AS 08.55.040, and after compliance with 
the Administrative Procedure Act (AS 44.62), specifically including notice under AS 
44.62.190 and 44.62.200 and opportunity for public comment under AS 44.62.210. 

This action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. 

In considering public comments, the Department of Commerce, Community, and 
Economic Development paid special attention to the cost to private persons of the 
regulatory action being taken. 

The regulation changes described in this order take effect on the 30th day after they 
have been filed by the lieutenant governor, as provided in AS 44.62.180. 

DATE: 5 JOI 

FILING CERTIFICATION 

Lieutenant Governor for the State of Alaska, certify that 

on _ ___,,..,.....~..J.d-'"------• 2018 at i-;o~ .m., I filed the attached 

s ace rding to the provisions of AS 44.62.040 - 44.6 .120. 

Effective: 

Register: 



GOVERNOR BILL \\1 ALKER 

Department of Commerce, Community, 
and Economic Development 

OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER 

P.O. Box 110800 
Juneau, AK 99811-0800 

Main: 907.465.2500 
Fax: 907.465.5442 

In accordance with AS 44.17 .010, the authority and responsibility for adopting regulations, outside 
of the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL), but for the 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development (DCCED), under the Alaska 
Administrative Procedure Act, is hereby delegated to: 

Micaela Fowler 
Legislative Liaison 
Office of the Commissioner 
DC CED 
P.O. Box 110800 
Juneau, AK 99811-0800 
907-465-2503 
micada.f 'i lcr@nlaska.gov 

In accordance 'vith AS 44.17 .010, the authority and responsibility for adopting regulations of the 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, under the Alaska Administrative 
Procedure Act, is. hereby delegated to: 

Janey McCullough 
Director 

'CBPL 
DCC ED 
P.O. Box 110806 
Juneau, AK 99811-0806 
907-465-2538 
jnney.mccull ugh@ala kn..go 

This Delegation of Authority will remain in effect until modified or revoked by a subsequent 
delegation. This Delegation supersedes and revokes all delegations preceding it. 

Dated the 29th day of January, 2018 

Commissioner 
Department of Coininercc, Community, 
and Economic Development 
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Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions. 

12 AAC 02.130 is amended to read: 

12 AAC 02.130. Audiologists, hearing aid dealers, speech-language pathologists, and 

speech-language pathologist assistants. The following fees are established for audiologists, 

hearing aid dealers, speech-language pathologists, and speech-language pathologist assistants: 

( 1) application fee for initial license or registration, $250 [$150]; 

(2) temporary license fee for audiologists or speech-language pathologists, $225 

[$100]; 

(3) audiologist or speech-language pathologist license fee for all or part of the 

initial biennial license period, $225 [$150]; 

(4) biennial audiologist or speech-language pathologist license renewal fee, $225 

[$150]; 

(5) hearing aid dealer license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license 

period, $225 [$150]; 

(6) hearing aid dealer biennial license renewal fee, $225 [$150]; 

(7) delinquent fee for delayed renewal, $50; 

(8) speech-language pathologist assistant registration fee for all or part of the 

initial biennial registration period, $225 [$100]; 

(9) biennial speech-language pathologist assistant registration renewal fee, $225 

[$100]. (Eff. 9127/86, Register 99; am 1011/88, Register 107; am 5/28/93, Register 126; am 

9/11/94, Register 131; am 8/29/98, Register 147; am 11/14/99, Register 152; am 8/10/2000, 

Register 155; am 10/12/2000, Register 156; am 8/26/2004, Register 171; am 1/20/2005, Register 

'9~#201820051 5 t2 1 
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173; am 7/20/2006, Register 179; am 8/24/2016, Register 219; am J_/_ / _/ ;Jo;S> , Register 

~'l7 ) 

Authority: AS 08.01.065 

AS 08.11.010 

AS 08.11.015 

AS 08.11.025 

AS 08.11.030 

AS 08.11.043 

AS 08.11.020 AS 08.11.050 

AS 08.55.010 

AS 08.55.020 

AS 08.55.040 



MEMORANDUM 

To: The Honorable Byron Mallott 
Lieutenant Governor 

From: Susan R. Pollard~ 
Chief Assistant Attorney General 

and Regulations Attorney 
Legislation and Regulations Section 

State of Alaska 
Department of Law 

Date: June 27, 2018 

File No.: 2018200515 

Tel. No.: 465-3600 

Re: Regulation re: 12 AAC 02.130: 
Occupational Licensing Fees for 
Audiologists, Speech Pathologists, 
Hearing Aid Dealers 

The Department of Law has reviewed the attached regulations of the Department of 
Commerce, Community, and Economic Development against the statutory standards of the 
Administrative Procedure Act. Based upon our review, we find no legal problems. This 
memorandum constitutes the written statement of approval under AS 44.62.060(b) and (c) that 
authorizes your office to file the attached regulations. The regulations concern biennial licensing 
fees for audiologists, speech pathologists, and hearing aid dealers. The agency requests that the 
regulations be filed in time to be in effective by August 15, 2018 or sooner in time to become 
effective for upcoming license renewal. 

The regulations were adopted by the Department after close of the public comment 
period. The public notice and the adoption order both state that this action is not expected to 
require an increased appropriation. Therefore, a fiscal note under AS 44.62.195 is not required. 

We have made a minor technical correction to conform the regulations in accordance 
with AS 44.62.125. 

SRP:srp 

cc: Micaela Fowler, Regulations Contact 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Janey McCullough, Director 
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist 
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Megyn A. Weigand, Assistant Attorney General 
Commercial and Fair Business Section 



NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES TO OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING FEES FOR 
AUDIOLOGISTS, HEARING AID DEALERS, SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGISTS, AND 

SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGIST ASSISTANTS IN THE REGULATIONS OF 
THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

BRIEF DESCRIPTION: The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development proposes 
to change occupational license fees charged to audiologists, hearing aid dealers, speech-language pathologists, 
and speech-language pathologist assistants. 

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development (Department) proposes to adopt 
regulation.changes in Title 12, Chapter 02 of the Alaska Administrative. Code including the following: 

12 AAC 02.130. Audiologists, hearing aid dealers, speech-language pathologists, and speech-language 
pathologist assistants, is proposed to be changed to alter the application, license, registration, renewal, and 
temporary license fees for audiologists, hearing aid dealers, speech-language pathologists, and speech­
language pathologist assistants. 

Under AS 08.01.065, the Department must establish fee levels so that the total amount of fees collected for an 
occupation approximately equals the actual regulatory costs for the occupation. The Department has reviewed 
the income and expenses for the occupational licensing programs mentioned above and proposes fee changes 
that reflect, to the extent possible, the actual costs of the activities under these occupational licensing programs. 

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private persons of 
complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806. 
Additionally, the Department will accept comments by facsimile at (907) 465-2974 and by electronic mail at 
RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov. Comments may also be submitted through the Alaska Online 
Public Notice System by accessing this notice on the system at http://notice.alaska.gov/190042, and using the 
comment link. The comments must be received not later than 5:00 p.m. on June 20, 2018. Comments 
received after this deadline will not be considered by the Department. 

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, Division 
of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806 or by e-mail 
at RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov. The questions must be received at least 10 days before the 
end of the public comment period. The Department will aggregate its response to substantially similar 
questions and make the questions and responses available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and on 
the Department's website at 
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/AudiologistsandSpeech­
LanguagePathologists.aspx. The Department may, but is not required to, answer written questions received after 
the 10-day cut-off date and before the end of the comment period. 

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this process, 
please contact Sher Zinn at (907) 465-1049 or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov not later than June 
13, 2018 to ensure that any necessary accommodation can be provided. 

A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and by 
contacting Sher Zinn at (907) 465-1049 or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov, or go to 
https ://www .commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/ AUD-F ees-2018 .pdf. 

After the public comment period ends, the Department will either adopt the proposed regulation changes or 
other provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action. The language 
of the final regulation may be different from that of the proposed regulation. You should comment during the 
time allowed if your interests could be affected. Written comments and questions received are public records 
and are subject to public inspection. 

Statutory Authority: AS 08.01.065; AS 08.11.010; AS 08.11.015; AS 08.11.020; AS 08.11.025; AS 
08.11.030; AS 08.11.043; AS 08.11.050; AS 08.55.010; AS 08.55.020; AS 08.55.040 
Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 08.01.065; AS 08.11.010; AS 08.11.015; 



AS 08.11.020; AS 08.11.025; AS 08.11.030; AS 08.11.043; AS 08.11.050; AS 08.55.010; AS 08.55.020; AS 
08.55.040 

Fiscal Information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased appropriation. 

Sher Zinn, Re ' ations Specialist 
Division of© rporations, Business and 
Professional Licensing 

For each occupation regulated under the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, the 
Division keeps a list of individuals or organizations who are interested in the regulations of that occupation. 
The Division automatically sends a Notice of Proposed Regulations to the parties on the appropriate list each 
time there is a proposed change in an occupation's regulations in Title 12 of the Alaska Administrative Code. 
If you would like your address added to or removed from such a list, send your request to the Division at the 
address above, giving your name, either your e-mail address or mailing address (as you prefer for receiving 
notices), and the occupational area in which you are interested. 

ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION 
(AS 44.62.190(d)) 

1. Adopting agency: Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development- Division of 
Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing. 

2. General subject of regulation: Occupational licensing fees. 

3. Citation of regulation: 12 MC 02.130. 

4. Department of Law file number: To be assigned . 

5. Reason for the proposed action: Compliance with state statute. 

6. Appropriation/Allocation: Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing - #2360. 

7. Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to: 
A private person: $100 increase for initial application; $125 increase for temporary license; $75 - $125 
increase for initial biennial license or registration; $75 - $125 increase for biennial license or registration 
renewal. 
Another state agency: None known. 
A municipality: None known. 

8. Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of dollars): No 
costs are expected in FY 2018 or in subsequent years. 

9. The name of the contact person for the regulation: 
Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Telephone: (907) 465-1049 
E-mail: sher.zinn@alaska.gov 

10. The origin of the proposed action: 

11. Date: C..5~~//,r-
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing. 

r/// 2 -
Prepared by: , k:'.'J-1'LJZ.t- .. ~~/C-. 

Sher Zinn 
Regulatio Specialist 



STATE OF ALASKA ) 
) SS. 

FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT ) 

AFFIDAVIT OF NOTICE OF PROPOSED ADOPTION OF REGULATIONS 
AND FURNISHING OF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

I, Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic 
Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, being sworn, state the 
following: 

As required by AS 44.62.190, notice of the proposed adoption of changes to 12 AAC 02.130, dealing 
with occupational licensing fees for Audiologists, Hearing Aid Dealers, Speech-Language Pathologists, 
and Speech-Language Pathologist Assistants regulated by the Department of Commerce, Community, 
and Economic Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, has been 
given by being: 

1. published in a newspaper or trade publication; 

2. furnished to interested persons; 

3. furnished to appropriate state officials; 

4. furnished to the Department of Law, along with a copy of the proposed regulation; 

5. furnished electronically to incumbent State of Alaska legislators; 

6. furnished to the Legislative Affairs Agency, Division of Legal and Research Services; 

7. posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System as required by AS 44.62.175(a)(1) and (b) 

and 44.62.190(a) (1 ); 

8. furnished electronically, along with a copy of the proposed regulation, to the Legislative Affairs 

Agency, the Chair of the Labor and Commerce Committee of the Alaska Senate and House of 

Representatives, the Administrative Regulation Review Committee, and the legislative council. 

As required by AS 44.62.190, additional regulation notice information regarding the proposed adoption 
of the regulation changes described above has been furnished to interested persons and those in (5) and 
(6) of the list above. The additional regulation notice information also has been posted on the Alaska 
Online Public Notice System. 

Date: f;k#r 

JS tH day of ---',S:x.;_~~-··_'.· ____ _,, 2018. 

No:~ in and for the State of AJ.,ka 
My commission expires: IAJ / tJ/&f".:tCE_. 



STATE OF ALASKA ) 
) SS . 

FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT ) 

AFFIDAVIT OF AGENCY RECORD OF PUBLIC COMMENT 

I, Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic 
Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, being sworn, state the 
following: 

In compliance with AS 44.62.215, the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic 
Development has kept a record of its use or rejection of factual or other substantive information that 
was submitted in writing as public comment and that was relevant to the accuracy, coverage, or other 
aspect of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development regulations on 
dealing with occupational licensing fees for Audiologists, Hearing Aid Dealers, Speech-Language 
Pathologists, and Speech-Language Pathologist Assistants regulated by the Department of Commerce, 
Community, and Economic Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional 
Licensing. 

Date: 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this J'S'TH day of_~~w.)=-""'e;'--_____ , 2018. 

Notary Public m and for the State of Alaska 
My commission expires: IN/ ()f/:J:c.~ 



OR G ,._1- •I /' 

Juneau 

AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION 

Account#: 268972 

ST OF AK/DEC/OCCU 
PO BOX 110806 
JUNEAU, AK 998110806 

STATE OF ALASKA 
THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT 

Jaleesa Stepetin 
being first duly sworn on oath deposes and says 
that he/she is a representative of the Anchorage 
Daily News, a daily newspaper. That said 
newspaper has been approved by the Third 
Judicial Court, Anchorage, Alaska, and it now 
and has been published in the English language 
continually as a daily newspaper in Anchorage, 
Alaska, and it is now and during all said time 
was printed in an office maintained at the 
aforesaid place of publication of said newspaper. 
That the annexed is a copy of an advertisement 
as it was published in regular issues (and not in 
supplemental form) of said newspaper on 

May 17, 2018 

and that such newspaper was regularly 
distributed to its subscribers during all of said 
period. That the full amount of the fee charged 
for the foregoing publication is not in excess of 
the rate charged private individuals. 

s;goed ~#}~:,_, 
Jn!s~teo~ 

Subscribed and sworn to before me 
this 17th day of May, 2018 

Third Division 
Anchorage, Alaska 

"*" NJfl.: BRITNEYL.THOMPION 
stat• ol Alaska 

•v comm1111on EJlplrn Feb 23, 2019 

Order# 
Cost 

0001421547 

$488.06 

Product ANC-Anchorage Daily News 
Placement 0300 

Position 0301 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES TO OCCUPATIONAL L.ICENSING 
FEES FOR AUDIOLOGISTS, HEARING AID DEALERS, SPEECH· 

LANGUAGE PATHOLOGISTS, AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE 
PATHOLOGIST ASSISTANTS IN THE REGULATIONS OF 

THE Dl!PARTMENT Of COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, AND 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

The Department of commerce, community, and E;conomfc 
Development (Department) proposes to adopt regulation changes in 
"Title 12, Chapter 02 of the Alaska Administrative Code rncludlng the 
following:. 

' 12 AAC 02.130. Audlologlsts, hearing aid dealers, speech· 
lal)guage pathologlsts, and speeclHanguage pathologtst 
anTstants, ls proposed to be changed to alter tne aPP.llcatton

1 
license, 

r11gistratlon, renewal. and temporary ircense 'fees for aud ologlsts. 
heating aid deaters, speech·language path\)logists, and speech· 
language pathologist assistants. 

under AS 08.01 .065, the Department must estllblish fee levels so that 
the total amount of fees collected for an occui.latlon apgroxlmately 
equals the <1ctual regulatory costs for the occupatloh. The apartment 
has reviewed the Income and expenses (or the occupational Ueenslng 
programs rnehtloned above and propose~,fee . changes that reflect, to 
the extent possible, the actual costs 61 the activltles under these 
occupational Ucensing programs. 

You may. comment on the proposed regulation changes, Including the 
potential costS to private persons .of complying wllh the proposed 
Ch<1nges, by submitting wntten comments to Siler Zinn, Reg1.Jlations 
Specrallst, Division 01 corporations, Business and Professional 
Licensing, P.Q. Box 110806, JuneaubAK 99811-0806. Additionally, the 
Department will accept comments y facsimile at (907) 465-2974 and 
by electronic mall at RegulatlonsAndPubllcComment@alaska.gov. 

, ' Comments may also be submitted through the P,.laska' Online Public 
Notice S,ystem by accessing this notjce on the system at 
http://notrce.alaska,gov.190042, and using the comrn.ent link. The 

, comments must IJe, received not later than s:oo p.m. on June 
20, 2011. Comments received after this deadline will not be 

' considered oythe Department. 

You may submft written questions relevant to the proposed ·action to 
Sher Zinn, Regulations ·specialist, Division of Corporations, Business and 
Professional t:icensjng P.O. Sox 110806, Junea·u, AK 99811-0806 or by 
e-mail at RegulationsAndPubllccomment®<1laska.gov. The questions 
must be received at least 10 days before the end of the publlc 
comment period. The Department will aggregate Its response to 
substantl<1llY similar questions and make the guesttons and responses 
a~ilable on the AlasJ<a Online Public Notice system and on the 
Department's - website . at 
httbs://www.cornmerce.alaska.gov/web/tbpl/Professlonalllcenslng/Au 

' dlologlstsandSP.eecl'i-Lang,uagePathologlsts.aspx. The Department mav. 
but.ls notrequlred to, answer written ·questions received after the 1 CJ. 
·ctay cut-off data and before the end oft.lie comment period. 

. .. 

If you are a person with a dlSC1bllltY who needs a special 
accommodation i~ order to participate In tfJls process, JJlease contact 
Sher Zlnh at (907) 465·1049 er 
Re uratlonsAndP!.l~lfccomment@alaska .gov dnot rater than June 13, 

~NlllnSNOJ 

v ne.cessary 'accomrno atlon can be provided, 

SOlS38S'tf 

r ll!~f9pnfts 
WNlf9 - sqn JObi!dnq !u1Pl!119 
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mtwa·-.......... ,m ll!!na nalo10 
I £1 l ·-· sqt 1au1111d 1uawaJmw 
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11/9 ................................... .lljl somqsy 
sus· 1 us ........................ ,qo soisaqsy 
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