

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Fax: 907.465.2974

April 30, 2018

Dear licensees and interested parties:

Alaska's professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL) to "annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation." Alaska's licensing fee statutes go on to say, "If the review indicates that an occupation's fee collections and regulatory costs are not approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations...to implement the adjustments."

The Division conducted a thorough fee analysis and proposes a <u>decrease</u> in licensing fee amounts for the Behavior Analyst program in order to comply with the statute listed above. HB 361 enacted the Behavior Analyst program effective September 16, 2014. Because the costs of the program were to be spread across such a small number of licensees, the initial fees were proposed based on the known costs of similarly sized licensing programs. The Division has been able to hold down costs, administering the program at far less expense than anticipated. To that end, we recommend reducing licensing fees at this time.

The proposed fee amounts are enclosed and can also be found on the Departments's web page at https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BehaviorAnalysts.aspx

This fee proposal is entering a public comment period. The Division encourages all licensees and interested parties to comment on this proposal through the Division's Regulations Specialist, whose contact information is enclosed on the public notice. After the comment period closes and the Division reviews all comments received, the Division may adopt the regulation as drafted, may amend a proposed fee, or may withdraw the regulations in part or in its whole.

All comments received will be reviewed and taken into consideration prior to adopting the final regulations. The final decision will result in the fee to be implemented prior to the upcoming license renewal.

Follow the instructions enclosed to make written comments during the public comment period. Comments must be addressed to Sher Zinn, Regulations Specialist, PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811 or regulationsandpubliccomment@alaska.gov.

Sincerely,

Janey McCullough

Director

Encl.

Register	_, 2018 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS
	Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions.
	dface and underlined indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED ETED] indicate language being deleted.)
12 AAC 02.39	00 is amended to read:
12 AA	C 02.390. Behavior analysts. The following fees are established for behavior
analysts and assistant behavior analysts:	
	(1) nonrefundable application fee for initial license, \$200;
	(2) behavior analyst license fee for all or part of the initial biennial licensing
period, <u>\$250</u> [\$500];	
	(3) behavior analyst biennial license renewal fee, <u>\$250</u> [\$500];
	(4) assistant behavior analyst license fee for all or part of the initial biennial
licensing period, <u>\$150</u> [\$200];	
	(5) assistant behavior analyst biennial license renewal fee, §150 [\$200];
	(6) temporary license fee, \$100;
	(7) nonrefundable fingerprint processing fee, \$60. (Eff. 12/26/2014, Register
212; am 8/24/2016, Register 219; am/, Register)	
Authority:	AS 08.01.010 AS 08.15.020 AS 08.15.080

AS 08.01.065