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ORDER ADOPTING CHANGES TO 
REGULATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, 

COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

The attached two page of regulations, dealing with occupational licensing fees for 
p1·ofessions regulated by the Boiud of Social Work Examiners, are adopted and 
certified to be a correct copy of the regulation changes that the Department of 
Commerce, Community, and Economic Development adopts under the authority of 
AS 08.01.065, AS 08.95.030, AS 08.95.110, AS 08.95.120, and AS 08.95.125 and 
after compliance with the Administrative Procedure Act (AS 44.62), specifically 
including notice under AS 44.62.190 and 44.62.200 and opportunity for public 
comment under AS 44.62.210. 

This action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. 

In considering public comments, the Department of Commerce, Community, and 
Economic Development paid special attention to the cost to private persons of the 
regulatory action being taken. 

The regulation changes adopted under this order take effect on the 30th day after 
they have been filed by the lieutenant governor, as provided in AS 44.62.180. 

FILING CERTIFICATION 

Lieutenant Governor for the State of Alaska, certify that 

on~~--......,..,....~-• 2018 at \ \ lJ> %; .m., 

g to the provisions of AS 44.62.040 -

Effective: Mal .2~ 
7 

JtJ13 

Register: J-21.a , .1.d7 :J() t5 

attached regulations 



THE STATE 

q1\LASKA 
GOVERNOR BILL WAI.KER 

Department of Commerce, Community, 
and Economic Development 

OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER 

P.O. Box. 110800 
Juneau. AK 99811-0800 

Moin: 907.465.2500 
Fax: 907.465.5442 

In accordance with AS 44.17.010, the authority and responsibility for adopting regulations, outside 
of the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL), but for the 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development (DCCED), under the Alaska 
Administrative Procedure Act, is hereby delegated to: 

Micaela Fowler 
Legislative Liaison 
Office of the Commissioner 
DCC ED 
P.O. Box 110800 
Juneau, AK 99811-0800 
907-465-2503 
tnicacla. owler@alaska.gov 

In accordance with AS 44.17 .010, the authority and responsibility for adopting regulations of the 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, under the Alaska Administrative 
Procedure Act, is hereby delegated to: 

Janey McCullough 
Director 

'CBPL 
DCCED 
P.O. Box 110806 
Juneau, AK 99811-0806 
907-465-2538 
janey.mccullough@.'llaska.gov 

This Delegation of Authority will remain in effect until modified or revoked by a subsequent 
delegation. This Delegation supersedes and revokes all delegations preceding it. 

Dated the 29th day of January, 2018 

Commissioner 
Department of Commerce, Community, 
and Economic Development 



Register 226 , ...:::J<A0 2018 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS 

Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions. 

12 AAC 02.155 is amended to read: 

12 AAC 02.155. Board of Social Work Examiners. (a) The following fees are 

established for social workers: 

(1) application fee for initial license, $100; 

(2) clinical social worker license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license 

period, $325 [$400]; 

(3) master social worker license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license 

period, $275 [$350]; 

( 4) baccalaureate social worker license fee for all or part of the initial biennial 

license period, $225 [$300]; 

(5) biennial clinical social worker license renewal fee, $325 [$400]; 

(6) biennial master social worker license renewal fee, $275 [$350]; 

(7) biennial baccalaureate social worker license renewal fee, $225 [$300]; 

(8) temporary license fee, $75. 

(b) Notwithstanding 12 AAC 02.020 and 12 AAC 02.030, the initial license renewal fee 

for a clinical social worker, master social worker, or baccalaureate social worker in (a)(5)- (7) of 

this section will not be prorated, except as provided in 12 AAC 02.030(a)(l). 

( c) The following fees are established for submission of social worker continuing 

education courses for approval under 12 AAC 18.220: 

(1) initial continuing education course submittal fee, $50 [$100]; 

(2) continuing education course resubmittal fee, $25 [$50]. (Eff. 5/4/90, Register 



Register 22 ~ , J<... ( 7 2018 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS 

114; am 5/28/93, Register 126; am 4/20/96, Register 138; am 4/11 /98, Register 146; am 5/5/99, 

Register 150; am 10/28/2000, Register 156; am 8112/2001, Register 159; am 6/13/2002, Register 

162; am 6/1/2006, Register 178; am 6/11/2010, Register 194; am 5/18/2014, Register 21 O; am 

4/24/2016 Register 2 18; am S /:)4 I 2o f6 Register 2Z6 

Authority: AS 08.01.065 AS 08.95.110 AS 08.95.125 

AS 08.95.030 AS 08.95.120 

~et-Ffte#20 [ 8-20~ 2 



MEMORANDUM 

To: Hon. Byron Mallott 
Lieutenant Governor 

From: Steven C. Weave~-~ C ~ 
Sr. Assistant Attorney General 
and Assistant Regulations Attorney 

Legislation and Regulations Section 

State of Alaska 
Department of Law 

Date: April 25, 2018 

File No.: 2018200240 

Tel. No.: 465-3600 

Re: Department of Commerce, 
Community, and Economic 
Development regulations re: 
occupational licensing fees for 
professions regulated by the Board of 
Social Work Examiners (12 AAC 
02.155) 

We have reviewed the attached regulations from the Department of Commerce, 
Community, and Economic Development against the statutory standards of the Administrative 
Procedure Act. I have reviewed this project under a specific delegation dated April 25, 2018 
from the regulations attorney. The regulations update occupational licensing fees for professions 
regulated by the Board of Social Work Examiners. 

We find no legal problems. This memorandum constitutes the written statement of 
approval under AS 44.62.060(b) and (c) that authorizes your office to file the attached 
regulations. 

The March 22, 2018 public notice and the April 24, 2018 adoption order both state that 
this action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. Therefore, a fiscal note under 
AS 44.62.195 is not required. 



Hon. Byron Mallott, Lieutenant Governor 
Our file: 2018200240 

April 25, 2018 
Page2 

We have made a technical correction to the footer of the regulations in accordance with 
AS 44.62.125, as shown on the attached copy. 

sew 

cc w/enc: (via email) 

Hon. Mike Navarre, Commissioner 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Micaela Fowler, Regulations Contact 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Janey McCullough, Director 
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 

Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist 
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 



MEMORANDUM 

TO: 

FROM: 

Hon. Byron Mallott 
Lieutenant Governor 

Susan R. Pollard~ 
Chief Assistant Attorney General 

and Regulations Attorney 
Legislation/Regulations Section 

State of Alaska 
Department of Law 

DATE: April 25, 2018 

FILE NO.: 2018200240 

TELEPHONE NO.: 

SUBJECT: 

(907) 465-3600 

Specific delegation of authority 
regarding regulations review on 
Department of Commerce, 
Community, and Economic 
Development regulations re: fees 
for professions regulated by the 
Board of Social Work Examiners 
(12 AAC 02.155) 

By this memorandum, I am delegating my authority as Regulations Attorney under 
AS 44.62 to Assistant Attorney General Steven C. Weaver for the above-referenced regulations 
project. Under this delegation of authority, Steven Weaver has my full authority under AS 44.62 
to conduct the legal review under AS 44.62 and take necessary actions on this regulations project. 

sew 

cc w/enc: 

If you have questions, please let me know. 

Scott C. Meriwether, AAC Coordinator 
Office of the Lieutenant Governor 

Steven C. Weaver 
Sr. Assistant Attorney General and 

Assistant Regulations Attorney 
Legislation/Regulations Section 



NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES TO OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING FEES FOR 
PROFESSIONS REGULATED BY THE BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK EXAMINERS IN 

THE REGULATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, 
AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

BRIEF DESCRIPTION: The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
proposes to change occupational license fees charged to social workers. 

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development (Department) proposes to adopt 
regulation changes in Title 12, Chapter 02 of the Alaska Administrative Code including the following: 

12 AAC 02.155. Board of Social Work Examiners, is proposed to be changed to amend the license, 
renewal, and continuing education course submittal and resubmittal fees for social workers. 

Under AS 08.01.065, the Department must establish fee levels so that the total amount of fees collected 
for an occupation approximately equals the actual regulatory costs for the occupation. The Department 
has reviewed the income and expenses for the occupational licensing program for the Board of Social 
Work Examiners and proposes fee changes that reflect, to the extent possible, the actual costs of the 
activities related to the program. 

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private persons of 
complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Jun Maiquis, Regulations 
Specialist, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 
99811-0806. Additionally, the Department will accept comments by facsimile at (907) 465-2974 and by 
electronic mail at RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov. Comments may also be submitted 
through the Alaska Online Public Notice System by accessing this notice on the system at 
http://notice.alaska.gov/189282, and using the comment link. The comments must be received not later 
than 5:00 p.m. on April 23, 2018. Comments received after this deadline will not be considered by the 
Department. 

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist, 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-
0806 or by e-mail at RegulationsAndPublicCornment@alaska.gov. The questions must be received at 
least 10 days before the end of the public comment period. The Department will aggregate its response 
to substantially similar questions and make the questions and responses available on the Alaska Online 
Public Notice System and on the Board's website at 
https ://www .commerce.alaska.gov/web/ cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/SocialW orkExaminers.aspx. The 
Department may, but is not required to, answer written questions received after the IO-day cut-off date 
and before the end of the comment period. 

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this 
process, please contact Jun Maiquis at (907) 465-2537 or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov 
not later than April 16, 2018 to ensure that any necessary accommodation can be provided. 

A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and by 
contacting Jun Maiquis at (907) 465-2537 or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov, or go to 
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/CSW-Fees-0318.pdf. 

After the public comment period ends, the Department will either adopt the proposed regulation changes 
or other provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action. The 
language of the final regulation may be different from that of the proposed regulation. You should 
comment during the time allowed if your interests could be affected. Written comments and questions 
received are public records and are subject to public inspection. 

Statutory Authority: AS 08.01.065; AS 08.95.030; AS 08.95.110; AS 08.95.120; AS 08.95.125 
Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 08.01.065; AS 08.95.030; AS 
08.95.110; AS 08.95.120; AS 08.95.125 



Fiscal Information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased 
appropriation. 

DATE: ~<_£_,_~~/~~-/3' __ 

For each occupation regulated under the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, 
the Division keeps a list of individuals or organizations who are interested in the regulations of that 
occupation. The Division automatically sends a Notice of Proposed Regulations to the parties on the 
appropriate list each time there is a proposed change in an occupation's regulations in Title 12 of the 
Alaska Administrative Code. If you would like your address added to or removed from such a list, send 
your request to the Division at the address above, giving your name, either your e-mail address or mailing 
address (as you prefer for receiving notices), and the occupational area in which you are interested. 

ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION 
(AS 44.62.190(d)) 

1. Adopting agency: Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development- Division of 
Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing. 

2. General subject of regulation: Occupational licensing fees. 

3. Citation of regulation: 12 AAC 02.155. 

4. Department of Law file number: To be.assigned . 

5. Reason for the proposed action: Compliance with state statute. 

6. Appropriation/Allocation: Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing -#2360. 

7. Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to: 
A private person: $75 decrease for initial biennial license fee; $75 decrease for biennial license 
renewal fee; $50 decrease for initial continuing education course submittal fee; $25 decrease for 
continuing education course resubmittal fee. 
Another state agency: None known. 
A municipality: None known. 

8. Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of dollars): 
No costs are expected in FY 2018 or in subsequent years. 

9. The name of the contact person for the regulation: 
Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Telephone: (907) 465-2537 
E-mail: jun.maiquis@alaska.gov 

10. The origin of the proposed action: 

11. Date: .6 /2-1/t &' 



STATE OF ALASKA ) 
) SS. 

FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT ) 

AFFIDAVIT OF NOTICE OF PROPOSED ADOPTION OF REGULATIONS 
AND FURNISHING OF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

I, Jun Maiquis, Re~lations Specialist, of the Department of Conunerce Community, and Economic 
Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, being sworn, state the 
following: 

As required by AS 44.62.190, notice of the proposed adoption of changes to 
J 2 AAC 02.155 dealing with occupational licensing fees for professions regulated by the Board of 
Social Work Examiners, has been given by being: 

1. published in a newspaper or trade publication; 

2. furnished to interested persons; 

3. furnished to appropriate state officials; 

4. furnished to the Department of Law, along with a copy of the proposed regulations; 

5. electronically transmitted to incumbent State of Alaska legislators; 

6. furnished to the Legislative Affairs Agency, Legislative Legal and Research Services; 

7. posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System as required by AS 44.62.175(a)(l) and (b) and 
44.62.190( a)(l ); 

8. furnished electronically, along with a copy of the pro po ed regulations, to the Legislative Affairs 
Agency, the chair of the Labor and Commerce Committee of the Alaska Senate and House of 
Representatives, the Administrative Regulation Review Committee, and the legislative council. 

As required by AS 44.62.190(d) additional regulations notice information regarding the proposed 
adoption of the regulation changes described above has been furnished to interested persons and those in 
(5) and (6) of the list above. The additional regulations notice information also has been posted on the 
Afaska Online Public Notice System. 

DATE: 'f / 2'{ la 
Juneau, Alaska ~/ ~ ' 

f/l/{47~/ 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this 

Notary Public in and for th.e_ D ,.. ~ 
State of Alaska V\-1 t) ffl'c.L. 
My commission expires: 



STATE OF ALASKA ) 
) SS. 

FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT ) 

AFFIDAVIT OF AGENCY RECORD OF PUBLIC COMMENT 

I, Jun Maiqui , Regulation Specialist for the Department of Commerce, 
Community-I and Economic Development, Divi ion of Corporations, Business and 
Profes ionru Licensing being duly sworn, state the following: 

In compliance with AS 44.62.215, the Department of Commerce, Community, and 
Economic Development has kept a record of its use or rejection of factual or other 
substantive information that was submitted in writing as public comment and that 
was l'elevant to the accuracy coverage, or other aspect of the Department of 
Commerce, Community, and Economic DeveloRment regulations on dealing_~ith 
occupational licensing fees for professions regtilated by the Board of Social Work 
Examiners. 

DATE: 
Juneau, Alaska 

tlations Specialist 

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this ;>y day of *fl'/ '2018. 

Notary Public in and fo~· t ~ 
State of Alaska ,/',, 
My commission expire . ___ l.....A-____ _ 



ANCIIO AGI~ I RECEIVED 
Jun(Jt1L-~ 

AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION 
MAR 3 0 2018 

Account#: 268972 

ST OF AK/DEC/OCCU 
PO BOX 110806 
JUNEAU, AK 998110806 

STATE OF ALASKA 
THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT 

Joleesa Stepetin 

being first duly sworn on oath deposes and says 
that he/she is a representative of the Anchorage 
Daily News, a daily newspaper. That said 
newspaper has been approved by the Third 
Judicial Court, Anchorage, Alaska, and it now 
and has been published in the English language 
continually as a daily newspaper in Anchorage , 
Alaska, and it is now and during all said time 
was printed in an office maintained at the 
aforesaid place of publication of said newspaper. 
That the annexed is a copy of an advertisement 
as it was published in regular issues (and not in 
supplemental form) of said newspaper on 

March 22, 2018 

and that such newspaper was regularly 
distributed to its subscribers during all of said 
period. That the full amount of the fee charged 
for the foregoing publication is not in excess of 
the rate cha ed private individuals. 

Subscribed and sworn to before me 
this 22nd day of March, 2018 

Notary Publ' i and for 
The State laska. 
Third Division 
Anchorage, Alaska 

BRITNEY L. THOMPSON 
State of Alasl'.2. 

My commission Expires Feb 23, 2019 

Order# 
Cost 

0001418511 
$448.22 

Product 
Placement 
Position 

CBPL 

ANC-Anchorage Daily News 
0300 
0301 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES TO OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 
FEES FOR PROFES$10NS REGULATED BY THE BOARD OF SOCIAL 
WORK EXAMINERS IN THE REGULATIONS O.F THE DEPARTMENT 
OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, 'AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Ttle Department of commerce, Community, and Economic 
!Development (Dep.a~ment) proposes to adopt regu1at1011. changes In 
Title 12, Chapter 02 of tl1e Alaska Administrative Code including the 
followin&,: 

12 AAC 02.155. Board of Social Work Examiner$ I~ proppsed to 
1 be changed to amend the license, renewal, and cont1hwng education 

cou·rse submittal arid resub.mlttal fees for social workei's. 

l!Jnder AS 08.01 .065~ the Departme?int must establish fee levels se that 
the total <1mount or fees collecte for an occupation approximately 
equals tile actual regulatory 'Costs or the occupation. The De~rtment 
has re.;tleWed tl1e income· and expenses for the occupational licensing 
program for the Board of social work examiners and proposes fee 
changes that reflect, to, the .extent possible, the actual costs of the 
activities related to the program. · 

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the 
potential costs· to private persons of complying with the propo.sed 
changes, by·submlttlng written comments to Jun Malquis, Regufations 
Specialist, Divlsfon of corporations. eusi(less <rnd Professional 
Licensing, P.a. Box 1l0806, JtmeaubAK 99811-0806. Additionally, the 
Department will accept .comments y facsln111e at (907) 465-2974 and 
by electronic m·a11 ~t RegulatlonsAndPublicC.omment@alaska.gov. 
CQmf11ents r:naY also l:le sutimitted thro.ugh the Alas~a Online Pullltc 
Notice System by accessing this notlce on the sYSten;i at 

1 http:1111otlce.a1as1<a.goV1189282, .and µ_sing the comment link. The 
comments must fie received not later than s:oo P. '11· on April 
23, 2011. comments received' after this deadline will not 6e consre1.ered 
bythe Department. 

I I 

You may supmit written questions relevant to the proposed action to 
Jl.Jn Maiguis

1 
Regulations Specialist. Division of corporation; Business 

and Profess onar Licensing P.O. Box 11.0806, Juheau AK 9Y811•0806 
or by e-m<1fl at Regula~lensAnd. PlJbllcComment@araska.gov. The 
questions must be r~celved at least 10 days before the end of 
the public comment period. The Department will aggregate its 
response to substantially slmllar questions and make the questrons and 
responses avallable oi:i the Alaska onllne Publie Notice System and Ol'J 
the 13oard's website at 
httPs://WWW:comm:erce.afaska.gov/web/cbpl/Profes$iona1Llcenslng{So 
cialWorkEXlilminefs.asP.x. The Department maY;, but Is net requlrea to, 
'answer Written auestlohs recelyed after the 10-day cut·off ,date and 
before the end ot the comment period. 

If you <1re a person with a disability who needs a special 
.accommodation In order. to participate In this process. please contact 
Jun Maiqµls at (907) 465-2537 or 
RegulatlonsAndPubliccomment@alaska.gov not later than April 16, 
2018 to ensure that any necessary accemmodatlo.n can be p_rovided. 

A copy of the proposed. regufatlon changes Is avallable on tlie Alaska 
Onllne Public Notice System and by contacting.Jun Maiquls ~t(907) 465-
25;37 or RegulatlonSAndPllbllcComment@alaska.gov, or go to. 
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/CSW·Fee -
0318 pdf - -- - --
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STATE OF ALASKA 

FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT 

AFFIDAVIT OF DEPARTMENT CONSIDERATION OF 
BOARD RECOMMENDATIONS 

I , Jun Mai_guis, Regulation Specialist for the Department of Commerce Community, and 
Economic Development, Di vi 1011 of Corporations, Business and Profe sional Licensmg, 
being duly sworn, state the following: 

As required by AS 08.0l.065(c), the Department of Commerce, Community, and 
Economic Development has considered the recommendations of the Board of Social 
Work Examiners before adopting changes to the fees in 12 AAC 02.155. 

DATE: ~_.y_/2_4.f.....,..../=--1---.-~_ 
Juneau, Alaska 

NotaryPu~ U{ 
State of Alaska 
My commission expires: D C-0 


