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Dear licensees and interested parties: 
 
Alaska’s professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and 
Professional Licensing (CBPL) to “annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of 
each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation.” Alaska’s licensing fee 
statutes go on to say, “If the review indicates that an occupation’s fee collections and regulatory costs are not 
approximately equal, the Department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations…to implement the 
adjustments.”   

The Division conducted a thorough fee analysis and proposes a reduction in licensing fee amounts at this 
time in order to comply with the statute listed above.  Although there was an increase in fees in 2014 and 
2016, the program expenses have stabilized and a suitable surplus is forecast for the coming years.   

The Board of Social Work Examiners reviewed the fee analysis at a meeting on March 13, 2018 and made 
recommendations to decrease certain fees.  The Division took those recommendations under advisement; 
however, the Division has selected a more ambitious reduction plan in order to fulfill the mandate of AS 
08.01.065 and to more closely match revenues with expenditures, allowing a comfortable surplus in the event 
of unexpected costs.  The proposed fee amounts are enclosed and can also be found on the Board’s web page 
at https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/SocialWorkExaminers.aspx 

 
 

 
 
This fee proposal is entering a public comment period.  The Division encourages all licensees and interested 
parties to comment on this proposal through the Division’s Regulations Specialist, whose contact information 
is enclosed on the public notice.  After the comment period closes and the Division reviews all comments 
received, the Division may adopt the regulation as drafted, may amend a proposed fee, or may withdraw the 
regulations in part or in its whole.    

https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/SocialWorkExaminers.aspx
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All comments received will be reviewed and taken into consideration prior to adopting the final regulations.  
The final decision will result in the fee to be implemented before this season’s online license renewal. 

Follow the instructions enclosed to make written comments during the public comment period.  Comments 
must be addressed to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist, PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK  99811 or 
regulationsandpubliccomment@alaska.gov.  

Sincerely,  

Janey McCullough 
Director 
 
Encl. 

mailto:regulationsandpubliccomment@alaska.gov
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 Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions. 

(Words in boldface and underlined indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED 
AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.    
 
12 AAC 02.155 is amended to read: 

 12 AAC 02.155. Board of Social Work Examiners. (a) The following fees are 

established for social workers:  

  (1) application fee for initial license, $100;  

  (2) clinical social worker license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license 

period, $325 [$400];  

  (3) master social worker license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license 

period, $275 [$350];  

  (4) baccalaureate social worker license fee for all or part of the initial biennial 

license period, $225 [$300];  

  (5) biennial clinical social worker license renewal fee, $325 [$400];  

  (6) biennial master social worker license renewal fee, $275 [$350];  

  (7) biennial baccalaureate social worker license renewal fee, $225 [$300];  

  (8) temporary license fee, $75.  

 (b) Notwithstanding 12 AAC 02.020 and 12 AAC 02.030, the initial license renewal fee 

for a clinical social worker, master social worker, or baccalaureate social worker in (a)(5) – (7) of 

this section will not be prorated, except as provided in 12 AAC 02.030(a)(1).  

 (c) The following fees are established for submission of social worker continuing 

education courses for approval under 12 AAC 18.220:  

  (1) initial continuing education course submittal fee, $50 [$100];  
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  (2) continuing education course resubmittal fee, $25 [$50]. (Eff. 5/4/90, Register 

114; am 5/28/93, Register 126; am 4/20/96, Register 138; am 4/11/98, Register 146; am 5/5/99, 

Register 150; am 10/28/2000, Register 156; am 8/12/2001, Register 159; am 6/13/2002, Register 

162; am 6/1/2006, Register 178; am 6/11/2010, Register 194; am 5/18/2014, Register 210; am 

4/24/2016, Register 218; am ___/___/_____, Register _____) 

Authority: AS 08.01.065  AS 08.95.110  AS 08.95.125 

  AS 08.95.030  AS 08.95.120 
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