

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

> P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, Alaska 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Fax: 907.465.2974

Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) Controlled Substance Prescription Database Registration Fees

Proposed Regulations - FAQ

February 2018

1. Why are new fees being proposed?

In 2016, the Alaska State Legislature enacted SB74, expanding the requirements for registration with and participation in the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP). By July 17, 2017, all practitioners with a DEA number and all pharmacists dispensing controlled substances must register and utilize the PDMP according to state law. Practitioners include physicians, physician assistants, advanced practice registered nurses, optometrists, dentists, and veterinarians. Information about these requirements is located on the home pages of each licensing board's web site at professionallicense.alaska.gov, and details were mailed last summer to the addresses of record for each licensee required to participate.

The Department is proposing to establish registration fees to help cover the cost of the PDMP according to AS 17.30.200. Per state law, fees must be set so that the total amount of fees collected by the Department equals the total operational costs of the database minus all federal funds and grants acquired for the operational costs of the database.

2. What are the proposed fees for registration?

Fees proposed:

- 12 AAC 02.107. Prescription drug monitoring program controlled substance prescription database registration. The following fees are established for registration with the database by a pharmacist who dispenses, or a practitioner who prescribes, administers, or directly dispenses a scheduled II, III, or IV controlled substance under federal law as required under AS 17.30.200:
 - (1) initial registration fee, \$50;
 - (2) biennial registration renewal fee, \$50.

3. How are the estimated costs determined?

Below is the fee analysis conducted on the PDMP program. This analysis is very similar to those conducted for any professional licensing program.

PDMP Fees FAQ February 2018 Page 2

The fee analysis statistics were based on the FY2015 number of those pharmacists and practitioners required to register, included the costs of the PDMP software and upgrades, personal services, one-time startup, and travel costs for the PDMP manager authorized by SB74, along with legal and other costs to amend regulations. These costs, as instructed by SB74, were offset by the grant revenues through FY2020.

PDMP Registration Analysis															
	0000047														
Analysis last updated: 08/18/2016 - 01/31/2017 - 05	RSUR2UN - U4FIR2	2011 - 12918													
Effective dates: 06/01/2017															
			D 1			AE0 E									
		\$25 Fee	Proposal			\$50 Fee I				Adjustments					
						Fee with	Projected		Adjustment						
	-	Fee with	Projected		-	Recommend			for		Projected		FY15 Licens	e Statistics	
		Recommende		e/ 01	Fee	ed	after	*/ (7)	Estimated	Projected	Revenue				
Fee Type		d Adjustment		% Change		Adjustment	Adjustment	% Change	Prorated	Units"	Loss				2.252
Pharmacists	25 25 25 25 25 25 25	25	28,900	25%		50	57,800	100%	(25) (25)	52		Pharmacists			1,156
Optometrists Dentists	25	25 25	5,050 22,875	25% 25%	50	50 50	10,100 45,750	100% 100%	(25)	48		Optometrists Dentists			20: 91
APRNs	25	25 25	22,875	25%	50	50	45,750	100%	(25) (25)	48 201		APRNs			1.05
	20	25 25	26,475	25%	50 50 50 50	50	205,950	100%	(25)	304		Physicians			4,11
Physicians Veterinarians	20	25 25	12,975	25%		50	205,950	100%	(25)	118		Veterinarians			4,16
	25								(20)	110					
Delegates **	25	25	-	25%	50	50		100%			-	Delegates **			
Centralized Fees		1				1						-			
			100.0				1 000 57				4 (10 0			FTWARE CO	NIHACT
			\$ 199,250				\$ 398,500				\$ (18,250)		FY2017	78,385.00	
													FY2018	75,000.00	
													FY2019	75,000.00	
Based on the number that each occupation received pro													FY2020	75,000.00	
** Per LAW, the only people who have to pay the fee are tho		S 17.30.200(o): a	a pharmacist who	dispenses or a p	ractitioner who p	prescribes, admir	isters, or directly	i dispenses a so	hedule II, II, or IV				FY2021	75,000.00	
controlled substance under federal law are required to re-	gister														
													TOTAL =	378,385.00	
	Projected	ut Fees	-		\$25 Fee Projected	Proposal	Projected			\$50 Fee Projected		Projected			
Revenues and Expenditures	FY2016/2019	Projected FY2020/2021		FY2014/2015 Actuals	FY2015/2017	Projected FY2018/2019	FY2020/2021		FY2014/2015 Actuals	FY2016/2017	Projected FY2016/2019	FY2020/2021			
Revenue				-		199.250	199.250		-		398,500	398,500			
Expenses				-	(305,885)	,			-	(305,885)					
Adjustments					(,,					()					
Expenses adjusted for 2% biennial increase	(312,003)	/318.243/	/		-	(312,003)	(318,243)			-	(312,003)	(318,243)			
\$125,000 SAMHSA Grant Award in 2015 /5-vear -	250,000	125.000			250,000		125.000			250.000	250.000				
Grant 09012016 - 08/31/2018 (3 Year - FY17-FY19)	84,000				42,000					42,000	84.000				
Fee adjustment for pro-rated renewal	(18,250)	(18,250)	1		(18,250)		(18,250)			/ 18.250	(18,250)	1 (18,250)			
Projected Net	3,747	(211,493)			(32,135)	202,997	[12,243]			(32,135)	402.247	187.007			
		(=,			(,,		(,,			(
Beginning Cumulative Surplus (Deficit)	(32,135)	(28,388)		-	-	(32,135)	170,862				(32,135)	370.112			
Ending Cumulative Surplus (Deficit)	(28,388)	(239,880)		-	(32,135)	170.862	158,620			(32,135)	370.112	557,120			
		(,			(,					(,					
				COMBINE											
ESTIMATED EXPENSES		FY2017	FY2018	D TOTAL											
Cost of Appriss Software		78,385	75,000	153,385	1										
PDMP Mgr - Range 17A (\$100,600-50% PI	HA 50% PDMF	50,300	50,300	100,600	1										
PS Onetime Startup Costs		15,000		15,000											
Travel Costs					1										
Stakeholder and Board Meetings															
Appriss Conference/Training (Less Scho	larship)	4,000	4,000	8,000											
Contractual Services															
Legal Costs to Amend Regulations															
Mail & Postage - Notify Licensees of Req	uirements														
PDMP Software Upgrade to Weekly Reporting		26,700	2,200	28,900											
	-	174,385	131,500		4										
				305.885											

This analysis compares PDMP funding Without Fees, \$25 Fee Proposed, and \$50 Fee Proposed. With current grants expiring in FY2019 and FY2020, the scenario without fees shows a deficit of (\$239,880) at the end of FY2021. It is more likely that the final fee adopted by the division will be closer to \$25.

4. Could the Division (Department) adopt a higher or lower fee than the one currently noticed?

The Division can adopt the proposed fee, a lower fee, or no fee. It cannot adopt a fee higher than what has been proposed unless it issues a new notice and opens new comment period.

5. What do registration fees pay for?

Registration fees offset any remaining expenses that are not covered by the three federal grants the Division has obtained for PDMP operations. Expenses include administrative and investigative personnel, training, and contracts with database vendors.

6. What happens if a registration fee is not adopted?

Because the PDMP is governed by the Board of Pharmacy, any expenses not covered by grants are paid for through pharmacist and pharmacy licensing fees. In 2015, when the fate of grant funding was uncertain,

PDMP Fees FAQ February 2018 Page 3

representatives of the professional associations for pharmacy, dentistry, and medicine met with Director McCullough to discuss their professions' willingness to equally cover the cost of the PDMP due to its value to Alaskans. With their support, SB 74 authorized the Division to set fees for all users.

7. Who and what is a delegate? Do delegates pay a registration fee?

A delegate is an individual licensed, certified, or registered under the Division and signs into the PDMP on behalf of a supervising practitioner to review patient prescription history or to report prescription data. The proposed regulations do not contemplate an initial or renewal registration fee for delegates.

8. What about physicians who currently holds an active Alaska medical license for the purpose of providing Tele-Radiology Services to facilities in Alaska. They hold an active DEA number and live in states other than Alaska; however, they do NOT prescribe medications. Would they be exempt from the requirement to register with the PDMP?

HB 159 made changes to the controlled substance prescription database (PDMP), including mandated registration. AS 17.30.200 specifically indicates that practitioners actively licensed under AS 08.36, AS 08.64, AS 08.68, AS 08.72, AS 08.80, and AS 08.98 that also hold a DEA registration must register with the PDMP. If tele-radiology practitioners are not prescribing scheduled II – IV controlled substances, they are not required to conduct patient prescription history reviews in the PDMP; however, if they are directly dispensing or administering such medications, they are required to review the database.

9. Our borough animal shelter has a DEA license held by one of two shelter managers. The controlled substances are used by our euthanasia-certified animal care staff. Neither shelter manager is a practitioner nor a pharmacist. Will we be required to register with and utilize the PDMP?

The euthanasia services program established under AS 08.02 was not included in HB 159 as a profession with mandated PDMP registration. HB 159 only requires practitioners actively licensed under AS 08.36, AS 08.64, AS 08.68, AS 08.72, AS 08.80, and AS 08.98 that also hold a DEA registration to register and use the PDMP.

10. Does this gain a provider query access via the Appriss Health PDMP Gateway? Or is that separate from this regulation?

These regulations do not pertain to PDMP Gateway; however, the Division is currently discussing data sharing through PDMP InterConnect.

11. What happens if I refuse to pay or don't comply? Do I need to give up practicing and prescribing? It is a consideration?

If practitioners refuse to pay a fee implemented by this Division, this will deem the practitioner noncompliant with licensure requirements specified by board statute. AS 17.30.200 mandates practitioners licensed under AS 08.36, AS 08.64, AS 08.68, AS 08.72, AS 08.80, and AS 08.98 to register with the controlled substance prescription database (PDMP). Setting fees for registering with the database is specifically authorized by AS 17.30.200(s)(2).

12. Do all providers who have an Alaska license need to register? Or only providers who will be prescribing medication in Alaska? Most of our providers live outside of Alaska and don't hold an Alaska DEA?

State law mandates registration of practitioners who dispense federally scheduled II, III, and IV controlled substances and practitioners who prescribe and administer schedule II and III controlled substances. The registration deadline was July 17, 2017. As of that date, any providers meeting this criteria who are not registered are in violation of the law. The Division has sent multiple mailed notices to all licensed providers who may be required to register. You may find additional information located on the home pages of each licensing board's web site at professionallicense.alaska.gov.

13. When will this fee be effective?

After public comment deadline, comments received are compiled and given to the Division Director (Department) for consideration. The Division Director (Department) may adopt the regulation as written/publicly noticed, may amend and adopt them, or choose to take no action, or may withdraw the proposed regulations in part or in its whole. After Division/Department action, the adopted regulations goes to Department of Law (DOL) for final review/approval. DOL either approves or disapproves regulations. Once approved by DOL, it goes to the Lt. Governor for filing. Regulation takes effect on the 30th day after they have been filed by the Lt. Governor.

Do you have a question that is not answered here? Please email jun.maiquis@alaska.gov so it can be added.