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Chapter 44 

Heating Assistance Programs 

 

Article 1 

Federal Heating Assistance Program 

 

7 AAC 44.040(a)(3) is amended to read: 

7 AAC 44.040. Eligibility requirements; income calculations. 

 (a)  A household is eligible to participate in the heating assistance program only if   

…  

  (3) the household's annual [UNSUBSIDIZED] home heating costs exceed $200; 

and   

 

7 AAC 44.040(c) is amended to read: 

 (c)  The department will calculate the household's gross monthly income by counting 

total cash receipts before taxes, earned and unearned, derived from any source by any member of 

the household in the calendar month before the date of signature on the completed application. 

The department will prorate income from self-employed occupations, [AND] seasonal 

Notes to reader: 

 

1. Except as discussed in note 2, new text that amends an existing regulation is bolded and underlined. 

 

2. If the lead-in line above the text of each section of the regulations states that a new section, subsection, 

paragraph, or subparagraph is being added, or that an existing section, subsection, paragraph, or subparagraph is 

being repealed and  readopted (replaced), the new or replaced text is not bolded or underlined. 

 

3. [ALL-CAPS TEXT WITHIN BRACKETS] indicates text that is to be deleted. 

 

4. When the word “including” is used, Alaska Statutes provide that it means “including, but not  limited to.” 

 

5. Only the text that is being changed within a section of the current regulations is included in this draft. Refer to 

the text of that whole section, published in the current Alaska Administrative Code, to determine how a 

proposed change relates within the context of the whole section and the whole chapter. 
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employment, and irregular work schedules during the 12-month period before the date of 

signature on the completed application over a 12-month period to determine the household's 

gross monthly income.   

(Eff. 1/24/80, Register 73; am 6/22/80, Register 74; am 12/23/80, Register 77; am 5/21/81, 

Register 78; am 6/2/82, Register 82; am 3/30/84, Register 89; am 3/24/85, Register 93; am 

11/1/89, Register 112; am 12/22/94, Register 132; am 10/1/99, Register 151; am 9/9/2000, 

Register 155; am 10/1/2009, Register 191; am 10/1/2010, Register 195; am 11/5/2011, Register 

200; am 2/20/2014, Register 209 ; am ___/___/___, Register ____) 

Authority:  AS 47.05.010    

 

7 AAC 44.055(a)(1) is amended to read: 

7 AAC 44.055. Subsidized rental housing utility deposit. 

 (a)  The department will award heating assistance for the minimum amount needed to 

establish natural gas and electric utility service required to participate in subsidized rental 

housing if   

  (1) the housing program fully covers [WILL FULLY SUBSIDIZE] the 

household's annual home heating costs;   

(Eff. 10/1/99, Register 151; am 10/1/2009, Register 191; am 10/1/2010, Register 195; am 

___/___/___, Register ____) 

Authority:  AS 47.05.010    

 

7 AAC 44.060(1) is repealed and readopted to read: 

7 AAC 44.060. Vendor agreement. 

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/stattx16/query=%5bJUMP:'AS4705010'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/stattx16/query=%5bJUMP:'AS4705010'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit
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A vendor must sign an agreement with the department, which includes the following conditions, 

for the vendor to be a recipient of heating assistance payments in the manner described in 7 AAC 

44.050:   

 (1) the vendor shall apply all heating assistance payments to energy services or deliveries 

supplied after October 1 of the program year unless the payment is being used to prevent a 

disconnect of service or to reconnect service to the eligible household; 

 

7 AAC 44.060(5) is amended to read: 

 (5) if the vendor receives payment under 7 AAC 44.050(a)(2), the vendor shall submit 

proof to the department that each payment is credited to the household; a refund of any 

remaining heating assistance must be made to the household or to the department for delivery to 

the household if   

  (A) the household closes its account with the vendor; [OR]   

  (B) the applicant dies and no surviving household member continues to use the 

account; or  

  (C) a credit has been sitting on the customer’s account for more than one 

year. 

(Eff. 1/24/80, Register 73; am 12/23/80, Register 77; am 5/21/81, Register 78; am 6/2/82, 

Register 82; am 6/30/83, Register 86; am 11/1/89, Register 112; am 12/22/94, Register 132; am 

10/1/99, Register 151; am 10/1/2009, Register 191; am ___/___/___, Register ____) 

Authority:  AS 47.05.010    

 

7 AAC 44.070(3) is amended to read: 

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/stattx16/query=%5bJUMP:'AS4705010'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit
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7 AAC 44.070. Opportunity for hearing. 

An opportunity for a hearing will be granted to an applicant who requests a hearing in writing 

within 30 days after mailing of the notice described in 7 AAC 44.030(c) and whose   

…  

  (3) amount of heating assistance was modified by the department for a reason 

other than a change in the benefit rate under 7 AAC 44.080(n) [(m)] or the limitation set by the 

total heating cost points set in 7 AAC 44.080(o) [(n)] that is a result of year-to-year program 

changes applying to all applicants.   

(Eff. 1/24/80, Register 73; am 12/23/80, Register 77; am 5/21/81, Register 78; am 6/2/82, 

Register 82; am 6/30/83, Register 86; am 3/30/84, Register 89; am 3/24/85, Register 93; am 

11/1/89, Register 112; am 12/22/94, Register 132; am 10/1/99, Register 151; am 10/1/2009, 

Register 191; am 10/1/2010, Register 195; am 11/5/2011, Register 200; am ___/___/___, 

Register ____) 

Authority:  AS 47.05.010    

 

7 AAC 44.080(g) is amended to read: 

7 AAC 44.080. Amount of assistance. 

 (g)  The department will multiply the community heating cost points determined under 

(a) - (f) of this section by the first one of the following factors that describes the household's 

dwelling. If more than one factor applies, the department will use the factor listed first:   

  (1) the factor of 1.4 if the household resides in a mobile home or boat with heated 

living space of 980 square feet or more;   

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/stattx16/query=%5bJUMP:'AS4705010'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit
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  (2) the factor of 0.4 if the household resides in [A TRAVEL TRAILER OR 

MOBILE HOME LESS THAN 35 FEET IN LENGTH, OR IN A] a recreational vehicle, tent, or 

pickup camper;   

  (3) the factor of 0.15 if the household resides in a one-room dwelling such as a 

studio apartment, hotel, or boarding home;   

  (4) the factor of 0.35 if the household resides on a boat with heated living space 

less than 980 square feet;   

  (5) the factor of 0.55 if the household resides in a one-bedroom dwelling, or a 

one-room house or cabin without bedrooms;   

  (6) the factor of 1.3 if the household resides in a three-or-more-bedroom single-

family, duplex, or triplex home;   

  (7) the factor of 0.7 if the household resides in a two-bedroom unit in an 

apartment building of four or more attached units, or resides in a mobile home with less than 

980 square feet of heated living space regardless of the number of bedrooms;   

  (8) the factor of 1.0 if the household resides in a two-bedroom single-family 

home.   

 

7 AAC 44.080(l) is amended to read: 

 (m) [(l)] Households with heating cost points determined under (a) - (l) [(k)] of this 

section to be less than 2.0 are not eligible.  

 

7 AAC 44.080(m) is amended to read: 
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 (n) [(m)] The department will round the total heating cost points computed in (a) - (l) 

[(k)] of this section to the nearest whole number and multiply by the benefit rate to determine the 

amount of the household heating assistance. The department will establish the benefit rate 

annually based upon  

 

7 AAC 44.080(n) is amended to read:  

 (o) [(n)] The total heating cost points determined under (n) [(m)] of this section may not 

exceed 35 points. 

 

7 AAC 44.080(o) is amended to read:  

 (p) [(o)] If the household meets the conditions set out in this subsection, the department 

may reduce the amount of heating assistance available under (n) [(m)] and (o) [(n)] of this 

section by the amount of the unpaid balance that the household owes the department for 

previously awarded heating assistance to which the household was not entitled. The department 

will use this method of recoupment of overpayments only if the household has not responded to 

the department's request for repayment or the household defaults on its repayment agreement. 

 

7 AAC 44.080(p) is amended to read:  

 (q) [(p)] Notwithstanding (a) - (p) [(o)] of this section, heating assistance is subject to the 

availability of federal money and any state money that may be appropriated to supplement 

federal money. 

 

7 AAC 44.080 is amended to add a new subsection to read: 
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 (l) Households residing in any type of subsidized housing who are responsible for paying 

all or a portion of their heating costs directly to a vendor and who also receive a utility allowance 

as part of their housing cost calculation shall have their points reduced by 50 percent regardless 

of the amount of the utility allowance for heat.   

(Eff. 1/24/80, Register 73; am 12/23/80, Register 77; am 5/21/81, Register 78; am 6/2/82, 

Register 82; am 6/30/83, Register 86; am 3/30/84, Register 89; am 3/24/85, Register 93; am 

11/1/89, Register 112; am 12/22/94, Register 132; am 10/1/99, Register 151; am 10/1/2009, 

Register 191; am 10/1/2010, Register 195; am 11/5/2011, Register 200; am ___/___/___, 

Register ____) 

Authority:  AS 47.05.010    

 

7 AAC 44.090(a) is amended to read: 

7 AAC 44.090. Time frame for assistance payments. 

 (a)  The heating assistance program begins awarding payments under 7 AAC 44.020 on 

the first state of Alaska business day in November [1] of each year.   

 

7 AAC 44.090(b) is amended to read:   

 (b)  Expedited eligibility determination and assistance payment awards under 7 AAC 

44.030(d) begin on the first state of Alaska business day in November [1] of each year and run 

through April 30 of the following year.   

(Eff. 6/24/80, Register 73; am 12/23/80, Register 77; am 5/21/81, Register 78; am 6/2/82, 

Register 82; am 6/30/83, Register 86; am 3/30/84, Register 89; am 11/1/89, Register 112; am 

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/stattx16/query=%5bJUMP:'AS4705010'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit
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12/22/94, Register 132; am 10/1/99, Register 151; am 10/1/2009, Register 191; am ___/___/___, 

Register ____) 

(Eff. 6/24/80, Register 73; am 12/23/80, Register 77; am 5/21/81, Register 78; am 6/2/82, 

Register 82; am 6/30/83, Register 86; am 3/30/84, Register 89; am 11/1/89, Register 112; am 

12/22/94, Register 132; am 10/1/99, Register 151; am 10/1/2009, Register 191; am ___/___/___, 

Register ____) 

Authority:  AS 47.05.010    

 

7 AAC 44.230(a)(3) is amended to read: 

7 AAC 44.230. Eligibility requirements; income calculations. 

 (a)  A household is eligible to participate in the heating assistance program only if   

…  

  (3) the household's annual [UNSUBSIDIZED] home heating costs exceed $200; 

and    

 

7 AAC 44.230(c) is amended to read: 

 (c)  The department will calculate the household's gross monthly income by counting 

total cash receipts before taxes, earned and unearned, derived from any source by any member of 

the household in the calendar month before the date of signature on the completed application. 

The department will prorate income from self-employed occupations, [AND] seasonal 

employment, and irregular work schedules during the 12-month period before the date of 

signature on the completed application over a 12-month period to determine the household's 

gross monthly income.   

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/stattx16/query=%5bJUMP:'AS4705010'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit
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(Eff. 8/12/2008, Register 187; am 11/22/2008, Register 188; am 10/1/2010, Register 195; am 

11/5/2011, Register 200; am 2/20/2014, Register 209; am ___/___/___, Register ____) 

Authority:  AS 47.05.010  AS 47.25.622  AS 47.25.623   

 

7 AAC 44.290(a)(1) is amended to read: 

7 AAC 44.290. Subsidized rental housing utility deposit. 

 (a)  The department will award heating assistance for the minimum amount needed to 

establish natural gas and electric utility service required to participate in subsidized rental 

housing if    

  (1) the housing program fully covers [WILL FULLY SUBSIDIZE] the 

household's annual home heating costs;   

(Eff. 8/12/2008, Register 187; am 11/22/2008, Register 188; am 10/1/2010, Register 195; am 

___/___/___, Register ____) 

Authority:  AS 47.05.010  AS 47.25.622  AS 47.25.623   

 

7 AAC 44.300(1) is repealed and readopted to read: 

7 AAC 44.300. Vendor agreement. 

A vendor must sign an agreement with the department, which includes the following conditions, 

for the vendor to be a recipient of heating assistance payments in the manner described in 7 AAC 

44.260: 

 (1) apply all heating assistance payments to energy services or deliveries supplied after 

October 1 of the program year unless the payment is being used to prevent a disconnect of 

service or to reconnect service to the eligible household; 

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/stattx16/query=%5bJUMP:'AS4705010'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit
http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/stattx16/query=%5bJUMP:'AS4705010'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit
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7 AAC 44.300(5) is amended to read: 

 (5) if the vendor receives payment under 7 AAC 44.260(a)(2), the vendor shall submit 

proof to the department that each payment is credited to the household; a refund of any 

remaining heating assistance must be made to the household or to the department for delivery to 

the household if   

  (A) the household closes its account with the vendor; [OR]    

  (B) the applicant dies and no surviving household member continues to use the 

account; or [.] 

  (C) a credit has been sitting on the customer’s account for more than one 

year.  

(Eff. 8/12/2008, Register 187; am ___/___/___, Register ____) 

Authority:  AS 47.05.010  AS 47.25.622  AS 47.25.623   

 

7 AAC 44.310(3) is amended to read: 

7 AAC 44.310. Opportunity for hearing 

An opportunity for a hearing will be granted to an applicant who requests a hearing in writing 

within 30 days after mailing of the notice described in 7 AAC 44.220(c) and whose    

…  

  (3) amount of heating assistance was modified by the department for a reason 

other than a change in the benefit rate under 7 AAC 44.340(n) [(m)] or the limitation set by the 

total heating cost points set in 7 AAC 44.340(o) [(n)] that is a result of year-to-year program 

changes applying to all applicants.   

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/stattx16/query=%5bJUMP:'AS4705010'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit
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(Eff. 8/12/2008, Register 187; am 11/22/2008, Register 188; am 10/1/2009, Register 191; am 

10/1/2010, Register 195; am ___/___/___, Register ____) 

Authority:  AS 47.05.010  AS 47.25.624  AS 47.25.625   

  AS 47.25.622 

 

7 AAC 44.340(g) is amended to read: 

7 AAC 44.340. Amount of assistance. 

 (g)  The department will multiply the community heating cost points determined under 

(a) - (f) of this section by the first one of the following factors that describes the household's 

dwelling. If more than one factor applies, the department will use the factor listed first:   

  (1) the factor of 1.4 if the household resides in a mobile home or boat with heated 

living space of 980 square feet or more;   

  (2) the factor of 0.4 if the household resides in [A TRAVEL TRAILER OR 

MOBILE HOME LESS THAN 35 FEET IN LENGTH, OR IN] a recreational vehicle, tent, or 

pickup camper;   

  (3) the factor of 0.15 if the household resides in a one-room dwelling such as a 

studio apartment, hotel, or boarding home;   

  (4) the factor of 0.35 if the household resides on a boat with heated living space 

less than 980 square feet;   

  (5) the factor of 0.55 if the household resides in a one-bedroom dwelling, or a 

one-room house or cabin without bedrooms;   

  (6) the factor of 1.3 if the household resides in a three-or-more-bedroom single-

family, duplex, or triplex home;   

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/stattx16/query=%5bJUMP:'AS4705010'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit
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  (7) the factor of 0.7 if the household resides in a two-bedroom unit in an 

apartment building of four or more attached units, or resides in a mobile home with less than 

980 square feet of heated living space regardless of the number of bedrooms;   

  (8) the factor of 1.0 if the household resides in a two-bedroom single-family 

home.   

 

7 AAC 44.340(l) is amended to read: 

 (m) [(l)]  Households with heating cost points determined under (a) - (l) [(k)] of this 

section to be less than 2.0 are not eligible. 

 

7 AAC 44.340(m) is amended to read: 

 (n) [(m)]  The department will round the total heating cost points computed in (a) – (l) 

[(k)] of this section to the nearest whole number and multiply by the benefit rate to determine the 

amount of the household heating assistance. The department will establish the benefit rate 

annually based upon   

… 

7 AAC 44.340(n) is amended to read: 

 (o) [(n)] The total heating cost points determined under (n) [(m)] of this section may not 

exceed 35 points.   

 

7 AAC 44.340(o) is amended to read: 

 (p) [(o)] If the household meets the conditions set out in this subsection, the department 

may reduce the amount of heating assistance available under (n) [(m)] and (o) [(n)] of this 
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section by the amount of the unpaid balance that the household owes the department for 

previously awarded heating assistance to which the household was not entitled. The department 

will use this method of recoupment of overpayments only if the household has not responded to 

the department's request for repayment or the household defaults on its repayment agreement.   

   

7 AAC 44.340(p) is amended to read: 

 (q) [(p)] Notwithstanding (a) – (p) [(o)] of this section, heating assistance is subject to the 

availability of state money appropriated each year. If insufficient money is appropriated, each 

applicant that is a household with a gross monthly income that is no more than 225 percent of the 

Alaska poverty level will be served on a first-come, first-served basis subject to the availability 

of money for benefits. If the department determines, after the close of the application period set 

out in 7 AAC 44.210(c), that available money exceeds the total amount that can be expended, the 

department may distribute all or part of the surplus on a pro rata basis to households that have 

been determined eligible to receive assistance under this section.   

 

7 AAC 44.340 is amended by adding a new subsection to read: 

 (l) Households residing in any type of subsidized housing who are responsible for paying 

all or a portion of their heating costs directly to a vendor and who also receive a utility allowance 

as part of their housing cost calculation shall have their points reduced by 50 percent regardless 

of the amount of the utility allowance for heat.   

(Eff. 8/12/2008, Register 187; am 11/22/2008, Register 188; am 10/1/2009, Register 191; am 

10/1/2010, Register 195; am 11/5/2011, Register 200; am ___/___/___, Register ____) 

Authority:  AS 47.05.010  AS 47.25.624  AS 47.25.625   

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/stattx16/query=%5bJUMP:'AS4705010'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit
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  AS 47.25.622 

7 AAC 44.350. Time frame for assistance payments. 

7 AAC 44.350(a) is amended to read: 

7 AAC 44.350. Time frame for assistance payments 

 (a)  The heating assistance program begins awarding payments under 7 AAC 44.210 on 

the first state of Alaska business day in November [1] of each year.   

 

7 AAC 44.350(b) is amended to read: 

 (b)  Expedited eligibility determination and assistance payment awards under 7 AAC 

44.220(d) begin on the first state of Alaska business day in November [1] of each year and run 

through April 30 of the following year.    

(Eff. 8/12/2008, Register 187; am 11/22/2008, Register 188; am ___/___/___, Register ____) 

Authority:  AS 47.05.010  AS 47.25.622  AS 47.25.623   

 

Article 3 

General Provisions 

7 AAC 44.900 is repealed and readopted to read: 

7 AAC 44.900. Definitions. 

In this chapter, unless the context requires otherwise,   

 (1) "adult" means an individual 18 years of age or older;    

 (2) "applicant" means an individual who has submitted to the department an identifiable 

application for heating assistance for the individual's household and who represents the 

household;   

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/stattx16/query=%5bJUMP:'AS4705010'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit
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 (3) "Alaska poverty level" means the level set out in the federal poverty guidelines for 

Alaska established annually by the United States Department of Health and Human Services at 

73 Fed. Reg. 3971 - 3972 (January 23, 2008), as amended from time to time, and adopted by 

reference;   

 (4) "completed application" means an application, on a form authorized by the 

department, that contains the applicant's name, mailing and physical address, and signature or 

witnessed mark, as well as the information requested by the department to determine eligibility;   

 (5) "department" means the Department of Health and Social Services;    

 (6) "dwelling" means the physical structure that the household has identified on the 

heating assistance application as the sole physical structure for which heating assistance is 

requested;   

 (7) "emancipated minor" means an individual under 18 years of age who has been 

declared emancipated by the superior court of this state under AS 09.55.590, or by a court of 

another jurisdiction under procedures granting the individual the equivalent status;   

 (8) "fee agent" means a department-paid volunteer who is authorized by the department 

to assist applicants in completing applications and related forms;   

 (9) "heating assistance" means financial assistance awarded under this chapter;    

 (10) "heating assistance season" means the annual period that begins September 1 and 

runs through April 30 of the following year during which applications for heating assistance are 

accepted by the department;   

 (11) "home heating costs" means an amount that the household pays for its own home 

heating needs either directly, or indirectly through rent;   
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 (12) "household" means an individual or a group of individuals who are living together as 

one economic unit and for whom residential heating is customarily purchased in common, or 

who make undesignated payments for heat in the form of rent;   

 (13) "identifiable application" means a written request for heating assistance under 7 

AAC 44.010 - 7 AAC 44.090 or 7 AAC 44.200 - 7 AAC 44.350 that is submitted by an 

individual who the department is able to clearly identify.   

 (14) “irregular work schedules” means income from workers who are employed in jobs 

with a rotating schedule, fluctuating payroll schedules, seasonal layoffs and others careers where 

income is not consistent on a monthly basis; 

 (15) “mobile home” means  a manufactured home or large house trailer designed for 

year-round living in one place.    

 (16)  “recreational vehicle” means a motor vehicle or trailer, such as a motor home, 

equipped with living space and amenities found in a home, such as a bathroom, kitchen and beds, 

designed to be used for  travel.  

 (17) "seasonal employment" means employment with a regular work season of 11 months 

or less that is compensated on a salary basis;    

 (18) "self-employed occupations" means occupations in which an individual receives 

income from the production or sale of goods or services as determined under 7 AAC 45.445;   

 (19) "shelter costs" means the total for the household of   

  (A) the regular monthly rent or mortgage obligation for the shelter that the 

household occupies;   

  (B) the cost of 30 days of heating fuel or the amount of the natural gas utility bill; 

and   
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   (C) the amount of the electric bill;   

 (20) "subsidized housing" means housing subsidized by a government, housing authority, 

or non-profit entity, in which tenants pay only a set portion of their adjusted monthly income for 

rent or home heat;   

 (21) "United States citizen" means a citizen of one of the 50 states, the District of 

Columbia, Puerto Rico, Guam, or the Virgin Islands, or a United States national, including a 

national from American Samoa or Swain's Island;   

 (22) "vendor" means an individual, business, or private or public agency that sells home 

heating related energy;   

 (23) "verification" means documentation or third-party information that establishes the 

accuracy of statements on the application;     

(Eff. 1/24/80, Register 73; am 12/23/80, Register 77; am 5/21/81, Register 78; am 11/1/89, 

Register 112; am 12/12/94, Register 132; am 10/1/99, Register 151; am 8/12/2008, Register 187; 

am 11/22/2008, Register 188; am 11/5/2011, Register 200; am 2/20/2014, Register 209; am 

___/___/___, Register ____) 

Authority:  AS 47.05.010  AS 47.25.622     

 

http://www.legis.state.ak.us/basis/folioproxy.asp?url=http://wwwjnu01.legis.state.ak.us/cgi-bin/folioisa.dll/stattx16/query=%5bJUMP:'AS4705010'%5d/doc/%7b@1%7d?firsthit

