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ORDER ADOPTING CHANGES TO 
REGULATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, 

COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

The attached one page of regulations, dealing with occupational licensing fees fo1· 
professions regulated by the Board of Massage Therapists, is adopted and certified 
to be a correct copy of the regulation changes that the Department of Commerce, 
Community, and Economic Development adopts under the authority of AS 
08.01.010, AS 08.01.065, and AS 08.61.090 and after compliance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act (AS 44.62), specifically including notice under AS 
44.62.190 and 44.62.200 and opportunity for public comment under AS 44.62.210. 

This action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. 

In considering public comments, the Department of Commerce, Community, and 
Economic Development paid special attention to the cost to private persons of the 
regulatory action being taken. 

The regulation changes adopted under this order take effect on the 30th day after 
they have been filed by the lieutenant governor, as provided in AS 44.62.180. 

DATE: ~~ '-/, J/>J 7 
June , Alhska 

FILING CERTIFICATION 

Lieutenant Governor for the State of Alaska, certify that 

on -~~----l,,...::-!----' 2017 at \t ~ 'Q .m., I filed the attached regulations 

the provisions of AS 44.62.040 - 44.62.120. 

Effective: \111ne IL/ . d ot7-
'=-7 7 

Register: 1-2 Z, :tCA \ '7 '20 1.7 



THE STATE 

(~~LASKA 
GOVERNOR B !LI , W t\LKCR 

Department of Commerce, Commu nit)1 , 

and Economic IDevelopment 
Offl CE or THE COMMISSIONER 

P.O. Box 110800 
Juneou. Alaska 99811 ·0800 

Moin: 907.465.2500 
P1og1om~ lax: 907.465.5442 

ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF COM1\1ERCE, C01\1MUNITY, AND 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

Delegation of Authority 

In accordance with AS 44.17.010, the authority and responsibility for adopting regulations, outside 
of the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL), but for the 
Department of Commerce, Communiry, and Economic Development (DCCED), under the Alaska 
Administrati,·e Procedure Act, is hereby delegated to: 

I\.ficaela Fowler 
Legislati\' e Liaison 
Office of the Commissioner 
DCC ED 
P.O. Box 110800 
Juneau, AK 99811-0800 
907-465-2503 

In accordance with AS 44.17 .010, the authority and responsibility for adopting regulations of the 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, under the Alaska Administrative 
Procedure J\ct, is hereby delegated to: 

Janey Hovcndcn 
Director 
CBPL 
DCC ED 
P.O. Box 110806 
J uncau, AK 99811-0806 
907-465-2538 



Departtnent of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Office of the Commissioner 
Page2 

This Delegation of Authority will remain in effect until modified or revoked by a subsequent 
delegation. This Delegation supersedes and revokes all delegations preceding it. 

Dated the 16th day of 't-.farch, 2015 

Chris Hladick 
Commissioner 
Department of Commerce, Community, 
and Economic De\'elopment 



Register~, 7 v-.ly 2017 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS 

Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions. 

12 AAC 02.396 is amended to read: 

12 AAC 02.396. Board of Massage Therapists. The following fees are established for 

massage therapists: 

(1) nonrefundable application fee for initial license, $200; 

(2) massage therapy license fee for all or part of the initial biennial licensing 

period, $290 [$350]; 

(3) massage therapy biennial license renewal fee, $290 [$350]; 

(4) nonrefundable fingerprint processing fee, $60. (Eff. 8/01/2015, Register 215; 

am _J_; J'j_I 2J!JJ_, Register 222...-) 

Authority: AS 08.01.010 AS 08.01.065 AS 08.61.090 

1 



MEMORANDUM 

To: The Honorable Byron Mallott 
Lieutenant Governor 

From: 

(hand delivery) 

Susan R. Pollard cjf<f 
Chief Assistant Attorney General 
and Regulations Attorney 

Legislation and Regulations Section 

State of Alaska 
Department of Law 

Date: May 12, 2017 

FileNo.: JU2017200216 

Tel. No.: 465-3600 

Re: Department of Commerce, 
Community and Economic 
Development: 12 AAC 02.396: 
Occupational Licensing Fees for 
Professions Regulated by The Board 
of Massage Therapists 

We have reviewed the attached Department of Commerce, Community and Economic 
Development changes to these regulations regarding occupational licensing fees for professions 
regulated by the Board of Massage Therapists. 

The Department of Law has reviewed the attached regulations against the statutory 
standards of the Administrative Procedure Act. Based upon our review, we find no legal 
problems. This memorandum constitutes the written statement of approval under 
AS 44.62.060(b) and (c) that authorizes your office to file the attached regulations. 

The regulations were adopted by the Department of Commerce, Community and 
Economic Development after the close of the public comment period. 

The April 2, 2017 public notice and the May 4, 2017 adoption order both state that this 
action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. Therefore, a fiscal note under 
AS 44.62.195 is not required. 

We have made a minor technical correction to conform the regulations in accordance 
with AS 44.62.125. The correction is shown on the attached copy of the regulations. 

SRP/ads 
Enclosures 

cc: w/encls. 
Hon. Chris Hladick, Commissioner, Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic 

Development (via email) 
Micaela Fowler, AAC Contact, Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic 

Development (via email) 
Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist, Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic 

Development (via email) 
Robert C. Auth, Assistant Attorney General, Commercial and Fair Business Section (via email) 



NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES TO OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING FEES FOR 
PROFESSIONS REGULATED BY THE BOARD OF MASSAGE THERAPISTS IN THE 

REGULATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, AND 
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

BRIEF DESCRIPTION: The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
proposes to change occupational license fees charged to massage therapists. 

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development (Department) proposes to adopt 
regulation changes in Title 12, Chapter 02 of the Alaska Administrative Code, dealing with occupational 
licensing fees for professions regulated by the Board of Massage Therapists, including the following: 

12 AAC 02.396, Board of Massage Therapists, is proposed to be changed to alter the license and 
renewal fees for massage therapists. 

Under AS 08.01.065, the Department must establish fee levels so that the total amount of fees collected 
for an occupation approximately equals the actual regulatory costs for the occupation. The Department 
has reviewed the income and expenses for the occupational licensing program for the Board of Massage 
Therapists and proposes fee changes that reflect, to the extent possible, the actual costs of the activities 
related to the program. 

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private persons of 
complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Jun Maiquis Regulations 
Specialist, Division of Corporations Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 
99811-0806. Additionally the Department will accept comments by facsimile at (907) 465-2974 and by 
electronic mail at RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov. Comments may also be submitted 
through the Alaska Online Public Notice System by accessing this notice on the system at 
http://notice.alaska.gov/ 185213, and using the comment link. The comments must be received not later 
than 5:00 p.m. on May 2 2017. Comments received after this deadUne will not be considered by the 
Department. 

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist, 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P .0. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-
0806 or by e-mail at jun.maiquis@alaska.gov. The questions must be received at least 10 days before 
the end of the public comment period. The Department will aggregate its response to substantially 
similar questions and make the questions and responses available on the Alaska Online Public Notice 
System and on the Board's website at 
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofMassageTherapists.aspx. The 
Department may, but is not required to, answer written questions received after the 10-day cut-off date 
and before the end of the comment period. 

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this 
process, please contact Jun Maiquis at (907) 465-2537 or jun.maiquis@alaska.gov not later than April 25, 
2017 to ensure that any necessary accommodation can be provided. 

A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and by 
contacting Jun Maiquis at (907) 465-2537 or jun.maiquis@alaska.gov, or go to 
https ://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/MAS-F ees-0317. pdf. 

After the public comment period ends, the Department will either adopt the proposed regulation changes 
or other provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action. The 
language of the final regulation may be different from that of the proposed regulation. You should 
comment during the time allowed if your interests could be affected. Written comments and questions 
received are public records and are subject to public inspection. 

Statutory Authority: AS 08.01.010; AS 08.01.065; AS 08.61.090 
Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 08.01.010; AS 08.01.065; AS 
08.61.090 



Fiscal Information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased 
appropriation. 

DATE: 3/~ /17 
Jun 
Div 

For each occupation regulated under the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, 
the Division keeps a list of individuals or organizations who are interested in the regulations of that 
occupation. The Division automatically sends a Notice of Proposed Regulations to the parties on the 
appropriate list each time there is a proposed change in an occupation's regulations in Title 12 of the 
Alaska Administrative Code. If you would like your address added to or removed from such a list, send 
your request to the Division at the address above, giving your name, either your e-mail address or mailing 
address (as you prefer for receiving notices), and the occupational area in which you are interested. 

ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION 
(AS 44.62.190(d)) 

1. Adopting agency: Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development- Division of 
Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing. 

2. General subject of regulation: Occupational licensing fees. 

3. Citation of regulation: 12 AAC 02.396. 

4. Department of Law file number: To be assigned. 

5. Reason for the proposed action: Compliance with state statute. 

6. Appropriation/Allocation: Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing - #2360. 

7. Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to: 
A private person: $55 decrease for initial biennial license and biennial license renewal fees. 
Another state agency: None known. 
A municipality: None known . 

8. Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of dollars): 
No costs are expected in FY 2017 or in subsequent years. 

9. The name of the contact person for the regulation: 
Sara Chambers, Division Operations Manager 
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing 
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development 
Telephone: (907) 465-2144 
E-mail: sara.chambers@alaska.gov 

10. The origin of the proposed action: Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing. 

11. Date: 3/~0/17 Prepared by: . 4~ \ 



STATE OF ALASKA ) 
) SS. 

FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT ) 

AFFIDAVIT OF NOTICE OF PROPOSED ADOPTION OF REGULATIONS 
AND FURNIS UNG OF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

J, Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist, of the Department ofConunerce, Community, and Economic 
Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, being sworn, state the 
following: 

As required by AS 44.62.190, notice of the proposed adoption of changes to 
12 AAC 02.396, dealing with occupational licensing fees for professions regulated by the Board of 
Massage Therapists has been given by being: 

1. published in a newspaper or trade publication; 

2. furnished to interested persons; 

3. furnished to appropriate state officials; 

4. furnished to the Department of Law, along with a copy of the proposed regulations; 

5. electronically transmitted to incumbent State of Alaska legislators; 

6. furnished to the Legislative Affairs Agency, Legislative Legal and Research Services; 

7. posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System as required by AS 44.62.l 75(a)(l) and (b) and 
44.62.190(a)(l); 

8. furnished electronically, along with a copy of the proposed regulations, to the Legislative Affairs 
Agency, the chair of the Labor and Commerce Committee of the Alaska Senate and House of 
Representatives, the Administrative Regulation Review Committee, and the legislative council. 

As required by AS 44.62.190(d), additional regulations notice information regarding the p.roposed 
adoption of the regulation changes desc1ibed above has been furnished to interested persons and those in 
(5) and (6) of the list above. The additional regulations notice info1mation also has been posted on the 
Alaska Online Public Notice System. 

DATE: s I s-/J7 
Juneau 'Alaska 



STATE OF ALASKA ) 
) SS. 

FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT ) 

AFFIDAVIT OF AGENCY RECORD OF PUBLIC COMMENT 

I Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist for the Department of Commerce, 
Comm~nity,. a~d E~onomi~ Development, Division of Corporations, Business and 
Professional Licensmg, bemg duly sworn, state the followmg: 

In compliance with AS 44.62.215 the Department of Commerce, Community, and 
Economic Development has kept a record of its use or rejection of factual or other 
substantive information that was submitted in w1·iting as public comment and that 
was relevant to the accm'acy, cove1·age, or othel' aspect of the Department of 
Commerce, Community, ana Economic Develo2ment regulations on dealing with 
occupational licensing fees for professions regulated by the Board of Massage 
Therapists. 

DATE: 
Juneau, Alaska 

· s, Regulations Specialist 

SUBSCRIBED A~.£.WORij TO before me this 5-thday of fYl tif V , 2017. 
•• Ame ,, / .... •:-..,\e ....... s '', ~ .,• ~,e:.··~·,on Ex~ : · . . .... pd( ., ~-. :....'> ''"o • .. .. q, ·§.~ ,s- •• .. :o.-·o ... 1 • •. ¥-:. ('." : :'-' .. ~..,. ·. :. 

•• ,,_ .rt'~ . • -: :~ ~0'" 1C ; : _____,.____ ____ __:_ _______ _ _ 
; \ ~\)f>"\J "' /_fl E Notary Public in and for the LJ!!' 
~ ~-. ~"/ 0: State of Alaska CY/~ /T'C{_ 

" .. , ··... With ?,\~flJ.,...... My commission expires: _______ _ .. ,,,~;a·i~··0, ........ 
'1•••11u•••' "' 



STATE OF ALASKA 

FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT 

AFFIDAVIT OF DEPARTMENT CONSIDERATION OF 
BOARD RECOMMENDATIONS 

I Jun Maiguis, Regulations Specialist for the Department of Commerce, Community, and 
Economic Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensmg, 
being duly sworn, state the following: 

As required by AS 08.0l.065(c), the Department of Commerce, Community, and 
Economic Development has considered the recommendations of the Board of Massage 
Therapists before adopting changes to the fees in 12 AAC 02.396. 

DATE: 

SUBSCRIBED AND S~,.Q~~~.~~?,e'ftn~ .. me this >7hday of __ ___,,. ______ , 2017 . 
., ... n~.<·~ol' EJCPlre ·••. .., 

.. '"'· • . .,.., ;s • • , .. " ·,.::; . v .. •<O:<:- ... 1 ·.T .. :a .. g a~ ·. : .. :o ~'j.- c : -
: :,.. or\. "'-s :~: : :~ ...!>..~ . ~y :_y: 

• ~ i\)Y CZ,• .. 
~ •• .<) , 0: (/) .. .. . ~ ..::: . flJ .. ... , "· o"' .··-....: .. .. ', lf.··. Wit'°' ... • ~ .. .. .. , ... ........ oft.. .. .. 

"',,,.State , .... ~ 
"•• 111 ••• 



268972 
0001402831 
$428.30 

F~ECEIVEL 
Juneau 

APR 0 7 2017 

CBPL 
AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION 

STATE OF ALASKA 

THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT 

Emma Dunlap 
being first duly sworn on oath deposes and 
says that he/she is a representative of the 
Alaska Dispatch News, a daily newspaper. 
That said newspaper has been approved 
by the Third Judicial Court, Anchorage, 
Alaska, and it now and has been published 
in the English language continually as a 
daily newspaper in Anchorage, Alaska, and 
it is now and during all said time was 
printed in an office maintained at the 
aforesaid place of publication of said 
newspaper. That the annexed is a copy of 
an advertisement as it was published in 
regular issues (and not in supplemental 
form) of said newspaper on 

April 02 , 2017 

and that such newspaper was regularly 
distributed to its subscribers during all of 
said period. That the full amount of the fee 
charged for the foregoing publication is not 
in excess of the rate charged private 
individuals. 

Signed 

Subscribed and sworn to before me 
this 3rd day of April , 2017 

8t11~ DWiwip&vu 
Not= and for 
The State of Alaska. 
Third Division 
Anchorage, Alaska 
MY COMMISSION EXP RES 

Notary Pub!ic 
BRITNEY L. THOMPSON 

State of Alaska 
My Commission Expires Feb 23, 2019 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES TO OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 
FEES FOR PROFESSIONS REGULATED BY THE BOARD OF 

MASSAGE THERAPISTS IN THE REGULATIONS OF THE 
DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, A.ND ECONOMIC 

DEVELOPMENT -

m
e Departmerlt of commerce. community, and Economic Development 
epartme)"lt) proposes to adopt regulation changes In Title 12, Chapter 

2 of the Alaska Administrative Code~ deal!ng wl!Fi occupational llcenslng 
fees for professions regulated by •he Board of Massage Therapists, 
Jncludlng the followlng: 

12 AAC 02.396, Board of Massage Therapist$ is proposed 
to be changed, to alter the license and renewal fees for 
massage therapists. . 

l:Jnder AS 08.01 .065, the Department must establish fee levels so that the 
total atnount of fees collected for an occupation approximately equals 
the actual regulatbry cosl"S for the occupation. The Department has 
reviewed the Income and expenses for the occupational licensing 
program for the Board of Massage Therapists and proposes tee changes 
thaf reflect. to the extent posSlble, the actual costS of the activities 
related to the program. 
You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, Including th 
potentfal costs tQ ~rlvate persons or comi>IYing With the proposed 
changes. by su)lmi ·ng written comments to Jun Malqul!l, Regu_ratlon 
Sf)ecralist, DlllisJon o ~orporatlons.1 Business and PrOfflSSlonal LR:enslng1 P,O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 998·11-0806. Additronally, th,e Departrnenc 
will accept comments by facsimile at (907) 465-2974 and by electronic 
mail at RegulatJdnsAhdPubllcCommenl@alaska.gov. comments may also 
be submitted through the Alaska Online Public Notice sYstem by 
accessing this notice on the system at http://notice.alaska.goV/18521J.i 
and using the comment !lhk. The comments must be received not 
later than s:oo p.m. on May 2, 2011. Comments received after this 
deadline wlll not be considered by the Department. 
Y-0u may subrnlt written questions relevant to the proposed action to Jun 
MaiQuls, Re_gulatlons Specialist. OIVislon of comoratlons, Business an 
Pl"ofess1onarucehs1ng, P.O. Box 110806. J1.meau, AK 99811-0806 or by e-
mail at lun.malqlils@alaska.gov. The guestJons must be received at 
least 1b days before t he end of tlie publlc comment period. The 
Department will aggregate its resp0nse to substantially similar questions 
and make the questions anti responses available on the Alask'a Online 
Public Notice system and on the Board's website at 
https:f/www.cornmerce.alaslCa.gov/web/c.bpl/ProfesslonalLlcenslnsVBoar 
dofMassageTherapists.a~px . The Department.may, but Is not requTred to 
answer written questions received after the 10-day cut-off date and 
before the end ?f tM comment period. 
If you are a person with a disability who needs a special ~commodation 
In order to par

1
t1cJpate In tllls process, pleas

1
e contact Jun arquls at (907) 

465-2537 or un,malquls@alask'a:gov not ater than APrl 25, 2017 to 
ensure that any necessary ac·commodation can be provided. 
A copy of the proposed regulation changes Is avallable on the Alaska 
Online Public Notice $Ystem and bY. contacting Jun Maiquis at (90n 46S-
2S37 or Jun.ma1quts@alaska.gov. or go . t 
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/Web/portals/5/pub/lli1AS-Fees· 
0~17.pdf. 

After the public comment perlOd ends. the Department wlll either adopt 
the proppsed regulation cnanges or other provisions deallng with the 
same subject. wftl'lout further notice, or decide to take no action. The 
language of the final regulation may be dlrferent from that of the 
proposed 'regulation. You should comment during the time 
allowed If your Interests could be affected. Written comments and 
questions received are public records and are subject to public 
Inspection. 
statutory Authorlfy.: AS 08.01.010; AS 08.01.065; AS 08.61 .090 
Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made speclflc: 
AS 08.01 .010; AS 08.01.065; AS 08.61.090 
Fiscal .lnfo""atlon: The proposed regulation changes are not expected 
to require an increased appropriation. 
DATE: 3130117 

Isl 
Jun Ml!IQufs. Regulationsspeclallst 

Division or corporallons, Business and 
Professional Licensing 

For . each occupation regulated under the Division of Corporatlons1 Business and Professional Licensing the Division keeps a list o 
lndtvjduals or organizations wtto ar.e Interested In the regulations of that 
occupation. The Division amomatlcally sends a N.otice of Proposed 
Regulations to the parties on the approP.rl<Jte list each time there Is a 
proposed change In an occupaUon's regulations In Title 12 of the Alaska 
Administrative Code. If you would like your address added to or removed 
from such a list send your request to the Division at the address above, 
giving your name. either your e-mail actdress or malllng address (as you 
prefer for receMng notices). and the occupational area In which you are 
interested. 


