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cc with enclosures: Linda Miller, Department of Law

Judy Herndon, LexisNexis



ORDER CERTIFYING THE CHANGES TO REGULATIONS OF
THE STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION AND EARLY DEVELOPMENT

The attached four pages of regulations, dealing with fees, are certified to be a correct copy of the
regulation changes that the State Board of Education and Early Development adopted at its
March 29, 2017, meeting under the authority of AS 14.07.060 and AS 14.57.010 and after
compliance with the Administrative Procedure Act (AS 44.62), specifically including notice
under AS 44.62.190 and 44.62.200 and opportunity for public comment under AS 44.62.210.

This action is not expected to require an increased appropriation.

On the record, in considering public comments, the State Board of Education and Early
Development paid special attention to the cost to private persons of the regulatory action being
taken.

The regulation changes described in this order take effect on the 30th day after they have been
filed by the lieutenant governor, as provided in AS 44.62.180.

Date: //{W/// 6) /{ﬂ/ 7
Juneau, Alaska M(/ i ZM

Sana Eﬁrd eputy Commissioner
Department of Education and Early Development

FILING CERTIFICATION

I, Byron Mallott, Lieutenant Governor for the State of Alaska, certify that on

N\m \E} , 201Xat @ M )4 .m.,, I filed the attached regulations according to the

provisi(}m of AS 44.62.040 - 44.62.120.

Effective: TJune l"f/, 2ol7
Register: 222, J_u./? 017




DELEGATION OF AUTHORITY

Under AS 44.17.010, the authority and responsibility for adopting regulations of the Department
of Education & Early Development under the Alaska Administrative Procedure Act are

delegated to Sana Efird, Deputy Commissioner.

Date: 12!15![( i

Dr. Michael Johnsqﬁ, Commissioner

Subscribed and sworn to before me at /\N\NUW Q\\[/ on

(Daguinlonr \3, 101 |
\ MQ Q:ﬁﬂQma

Notary Public inhnd for the State of Alaska

f

i STATE OF ALASKA NCIE
i OFFICIAL SEAL S+ 0%
1 Angel Collins '-.s,.;_“*,f,»
’ NOTARY PUBLIC

: My Commission Expires With Office




Register 222. ,1,4(7 2017 EDUCATION AND EARLY DEV.
4 AAC 58.01(/)‘ 1s amended to read:

(a) The admission fee to the Alaska State Museum is $7 [$5] per visit. The admission fee
to the Sheldon Jackson Museum is $5 [$3] per visit. However, during the period in the summer
months in which the Alaska State Museum and Sheldon Jackson Museum have extended hours,
the admission fee to the Alaska State Museum is $12 and the admission fee to the Sheldon
Jackson Museum is $7 [$5]. The museums may not charge an admission fee to a person who is
younger than 19 years of age. A $1 discount is available to visitors who are 65 years of age or

older.
J AAC 58,010 () 15 arendad fo read:
(b) The fee for an annual pass to the Alaska State Museum and the Sheldon Jackson

Museum is $35 [$25]. An annual pass allows the holder to visit both museums without paying an

additional admission fee. An annual pass is valid for the calendar year in which it is issued.

fce
(1) if the museum determines that the waiver is in the publiednterest; or

(2) for a special program presented at thesriuseum, including an exhibit opening,

a reception, or a lecture.

(d) For extraerdinary services rendered by staff, the Alaska State Museum and Sheldon

ackson Museum may charge for actual material costs and staff time. The charge for staff

M Bbtudon: EcitZiy 4 RAC §8,018 (D andk (A ame. concheoncych )




Register222 , Jiuly 2017 EDUCATION AND EARLY DEV.

f:w-l.m_cér. 5
A Rutrlatians 4 ARC 5%.010(e) - (g) ane. cnmnhangedy)

traveling exhibition. The fee must be equivalent to the museum's costs in providing the

exhibition.

(f) The Alaska State Museum and the Sheldon Jackson Museunxshall charge a $25 fee
for use of a photograph in publishing, video production, exhibits¢product presentations, interior
design, digital format, advertising, or similar use, includigg for-profit work done by a consultant
or commercial design firm on behalf of a governmet agency or a non-profit institution. The fee
charged under this subsection is for one-time p6n-exclusive use and is levied in addition to other
processing and service charges. The fee gharged under this subsection applies whether the
photographic image is provided by fhe state museums or is made by the user. The museum shall
waive, in whole or in part, a feg’for photographic use if the director of the departmental division

that oversees libraries, arghives, and museums determines that it is in the public interest.

(g) The AlpSka State Museum and the Sheldon Jackson Museum shall charge a $150 fee
for the loan ofan artifact to a museum. The fee charged under this subsection is levied in
addition tg’other charges incurred by the Alaska State Museum or the Sheldon Jackson Museum
for coniservation, insurance, packing, shipping, and courier services. The museum shall waive, in

ole or in part, a loan fee if the director of the departmental division that oversees libraries,

at sbacsa-th Lils j)

4 ARC ‘;8 [o X T WS %d_q_p(, mq'm"‘?é‘{:‘;‘?&m Yo reaal’ 6
m Q had ovarc.-u..s libranes, archives ond «.u;o,um,j m R
Stata Library) (h) The/divis mn shall charge a fee for the rental of space within the/Andrew P, 2

Archives, o0k '
ashevaroff Building that covers the actual costs associated with hosting an event or

rogram. The division may waive applicable fees if the director determines that the event

or program is consistent with the mission and duties of the division, as described in @' %’ §
¥

2 -




Register 222, July 2017 EDUCATION AND EARLY DEV.

' 1—4.4—7-.-0-!0?AS 14.56.020/‘1111(1 AS 40.21.020. Rental requests shall be made on a form

prescribed by the department. Rental fees and requirements under this subsection are as

He Toos ore as follows

follows:

(1)}rentals during regular business hours:
Vi P

Atrium Lecture Hall Classroom
Base fee $75 per hour $50 per hour $25 per hour
~ &9
Se't;‘_,:ﬁnrft;l(’eg-)_\ $100 per hour $50 per hour
down ofrental
period
Janitorial $150 for events $150 for events
services with less than 100 | with less than 100
people in people in
attendance attcudnnceh 3 4%
$225 for events $225 for events
with 100 or more | with 100 or more p
people in people in
attendance attendance
Security $50 per hour $50 per hour
services %
Facility $100 $100
services

oar

Yha {eﬂ,s e as FO”@&)J

(2)Irentals outside of business hours:
7 A

Atrium Lecture Hall Classroom
Base fee $300 per hour $100 per hour $25 per hour
> @)
Scffup?take@ $100 per hour $50 per hour
down pfFental -0
period
Janitorial $150 for events $150 for events
services with less than 100 | with less than 100
people in people in
attendancef( ) attendance} :3
$225 for events $225 for events
with 100 or more | with 100 or more
people in people in
attendance attendance
Security $100 per hour $100 per hour $100 per hour
services

e MW anch AA-«AM.LM@
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s

Facility $200 200 $100 per hour
services
W Qoefrntaaha_-
¥

(3) A certificate of liability insurance is required if the program or event will

mﬁuuwmb)})
e be attended by more than 75 persons or if alcohol is going to be served Certlflcateg/

[ i3
< due to the division one week before a scheduled event and must mect the

following coverage limits:

S (CA) for all cIoivs resul-l'mg from a. ¢ q\ﬁ[g)
eneh occurrenc/e\- $1,000 OOOA

) *
mednc*t] $5, 000

1£ (__éor' all cloums oloring Hha palicy penad #7 )
Ak

3) general aggregate- $2,000,000
7 7\

(0 Bottfece, andh W«RW
e

(D) 2
k‘ C‘l;damagc to premises rente}l\- $300,000. (Eff. 2/20/87, Register 101;
- 3
am 10/21/89, Register 112; am 4/19/95, Register 134; am 5/10/98, Register 146;

< am 5/3/2000, Register 154; am 11/26/2011, Register 200; am 8/28/2015, Register

215; am /1412017 , Register 222)

Authority: AS 14.07.060  AS 14.57.010



MEMORANDUM State of Alaska

Department of Law

To:  Hon. Byron Mallott Date:  May 12, 2017

Lieutenant Governor
FileNo.:  J(J2016201042

Tel. No.:  465-3600

From: Steven C. Weaver ><{ C% Re:  State Board of Education and Early

Sr. Assistant Attorney General Development regulations re: fees for
and Assistant Regulations Attorney the Alaska State Museum, Sheldon
Legislation and Regulations Section Jackson Museum, and Father Andrew

P. Kashevaroff State Library,
Archives, and Museum Building
(4 AAC 58.010(a), (b), (h))

We have reviewed the attached regulations from the State Board of Education and Early
Development against the statutory standards of the Administrative Procedure Act. I have
reviewed this project under a specific delegation dated May 4, 2017 from the Regulations
Attorney. The regulations update fees for the Alaska State Museum and Sheldon Jackson
Museum and establish fees for the use of space at the Father Andrew P. Kashevaroff State
Library, Archives, and Museum building.

We find no legal problems. This memorandum constitutes the written statement of
approval under AS 44.62.060(b) and (c) that authorizes your office to file the attached
regulations.

The February 5, 2017 public notice, the February 23, 2017 supplemental public notice,
and the April 5, 2017 certification of adoption order all state that this action is not expected to
require an increased appropriation. Therefore, a fiscal note under AS 44.62.195 is not required.



Hon. Byron Mallott, Lieutenant Governor May 12,2017
Our file: JU2016201042 Page 2

We have made some technical corrections to conform the regulations in accordance with
AS 44.62.125. The corrections are shown on the attached copy of the regulations.

SCwW
cc w/enc: (via email)

Hon. Michael Johnson, Commissioner
Department of Education and Early Development

Eric Fry, Regulations Contact
Department of Education and Early Development

Patience Frederiksen, Director
Division of Libraries, Archives, and Museums
Department of Education and Early Development

Rebecca E. Hattan, Assistant Attorney General
Labor and State Affairs Section



MEMORANDUM

TO:

FROM:

project.

SCW

cc w/enc:

Hon. Byron Mallott
Lieutenant Governor

Susan R. Pollard

Chief Assistant Attorney General
and Regulations Attorney

Legislation/Regulations Section

DATE:

FILE NO.:

TELEPHONE NO.:

SUBJECT:

State of Alaska

Department of Law
May 4, 2017
JU2016201042
(907) 465-3600

Specific delegation of authority
regarding regulations review on
State Board of Education and
Early Development regulations
re: fees for the Alaska State
Museum, Sheldon Jackson
Museum, and Father Andrew P.
Kashevaroff State Library,
Archives, and Museum Building
(4 AAC 58.010(a), (b), (h))

By this memorandum, I am delegating my authority as Regulations Attorney under
AS 44.62 to Assistant Attorney General Steven C. Weaver for the above-referenced regulations
project. Under this delegation of authority, Steven Weaver has my full authority under AS 44.62
to conduct the legal review under AS 44.62 and take necessary actions on this regulations

If you have questions, please let me know.

Scott C. Meriwether, AAC Coordinator
Office of the Lieutenant Governor

Steven C. Weaver

Sr. Assistant Attorney General and
Assistant Regulations Attorney

Legislation/Regulations Section



NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES TO STATE MUSEUM FEES
IN THE REGULATIONS OF
THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION AND EARLY DEVELOPMENT

BRIEF DESCRIPTION: Sets fees to rent space at the Andrew P. Kashevaroff State Library,
Archives, and Museums building in Juneau; sets admission fees and various service fees at the
Alaska State Museums.

The Department of Education and Early Development proposes to adopt regulation changes to
Title 4 of the Alaska Administrative Code dealing with fees at the Alaska State Museums,
including the following:

4 AAC 58.010 is proposed to be amended to allow the Alaska State Museums to charge fees to
recover costs for the rental of space at the Andrew P. Kashevaroff State Library, Archives, and
Museums building in Juneau. The division may waive the fees.

4 AAC 58.010 is proposed to be amended to set fees for admission to the Alaska State Museum
in Juneau and the Sheldon Jackson Museum in Sitka, and for various services from the Alaska
State Museums. The museums may waive the fees.

The Department of Education and Early Development invites the public to submit written
comments during the written comment period, which begins with the date of this notice and ends
on March 8, at 4:30 p.m. The written comment period closes in advance of the meeting of the
State Board of Education and Early Development at which the board will consider the adoption
of the proposed regulations. This allows the Department of Education and Early Development an
opportunity to prepare changes based on written comment and to distribute any proposed
changes to the board for its consideration prior to the meeting.

You may comment in writing on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs
to private persons of complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to
the Commissioner’s Office, Department of Education and Early Development, Attn: Regulations
Review, 801 West Tenth Street, Suite 200, PO Box 110500, Juneau, Alaska 99811-0500.

You also may submit written comments by facsimile at (907) 465-4156; by electronic mail to
eric.fry(ealaska.pov; and online at the website of the Department of Education and Early
Development at hitps://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfm. Written comments also may be
submitted through the Alaska Online Public Notice System by accessing this notice on the
system and using the comment link.

All written comments must be received not later than 4:30 p.m. on March 8

After the written comment period has ended, you may submit oral comments to the State
Board of Education and Early Development at a hearing to be held by the board on March
27 at the first-floor board room at 801 West 10" Street, Juneau, Alaska. The hearing will be
held from 1:10 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. but may be extended to accommodate those present before
1:00 p.m. who have not had an opportunity to comment before 2:00 p.m.



You also may submit oral comments at this hearing, during this time only, via the Legislative
Information Office streaming by calling 1-844-586-9085 if you are outside of Juneau. For
participation from Juneau, call 586-9085.

This meeting will be streamed through the Legislative Information Office over
http://www.alaskalegislature.tv/ beginning at 1:00 p.m. March 27 (audio only),

You also may submit oral comment by visiting your local Legislative Information Office (LIO).
The following LIO’s will participate: Anchorage, 716 W 4™ Ave., Suite 100; Barrow, 119 Bank
Bldg.; Bethel, 301 Willow St.; Cordova, 418 First St., Suite A; Delta Junction, Colombo
Building, Suite 204, 1380 Richardson Hwy.; Dillingham, Kangiiqutaq Bldg.; Fairbanks, 1292
Sadler Way, Suite 308; Glennallen, 186 Glenn Hwy.; Homer, 270 West Pioneer Ave., Suite B;
Juneau, Room 111 Terry Miller Bldg.; Kenai, 145 Main St. Loop, Suite 217; Ketchikan, 1900
First Ave., Suite 310; Kodiak, 305 center Ave., Suite 1; Kotzebue, 373 2" St., Pillautuq Centre;
Mat-Su, 600 E Railroad Ave.; Nome 103 Front St.; Petersburg, 11B Gjoa St.; Seward, 302
Railway Suite 107; Sitka, 201 Katlian St., Suite 103; Tok, W 1% St., UAF-Tok Unit 1; Unalaska,
029 Airport Beach Rd. Space No. 03-01; Valdez, State Office Building, Room 13; and Wrangell,
223 Front St.

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Eric Fry at
eric.frydalaska.gov or the Department of Education and Early Development, Attn: Eric Fry, 801
West 10th Street, Suite 200, PO Box 110500, Juneau, Alaska 99811-0500. If a question is
relevant to the proposed change in the regulations and the question is received by February 24,
which is 10 days before the end of the public comment period, the department will make a good-
faith effort to answer the question before the end of the public comment period. The Department
of Education and Early Development will aggregate its response to substantially similar
questions and make the questions and responses available on the Alaska Online Public Notice
System and on the website of the Department of Education and Early Development at
htips://education.alaska.pov/regs/comment.cin.

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in
this process, please contact Melissa Bell at (907) 465-2802 or melissa.bell(@alaska.gov not later
than March 17, to ensure that any necessary accommodation can be provided.

Copies of the proposed regulation changes are available on the Alaska Online Public Notice
System, on the website of the Department of Education and Early Development at
https://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfin, and by contacting Eric Fry at
eric.fry(@alaska.gov or 907-465-2851.

After the public comment period ends, the Department of Education and Early Development will
either adopt the proposed regulation changes or other provisions dealing with the same subject,
without further notice, or decide to take no action. The language of the final regulation may be
different from that of the proposed regulation. You should comment during the time allowed if
your interests could be affected.



Statutory authority: AS 14.07.060, AS 14.57.010

Statutes being implemented, interpreted, or made specific: AS 14.07.060, AS 14.57.010
Fiscal information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased
appropriation.



ﬂkww»—a

ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION
(AS 44.62.190(d))

Adopting agency: Department of Education and Early Development
General subject of regulation: Fees at the Alaska State Museums
Citation of regulation (may be grouped): 4 AAC 58.010
Department of Law file number, if any: JU2016201042

Reason for the proposed action:

Compliance with federal law or action (identify):

Compliance with new or changed state statute

Compliance with federal or state court decision (identify):

Development of program standards

X) Other (identify): Increase revenue from state museums admission fees and recover
costs of usage of state museum facilities in Juneau

SN N N N
N’ N N N

Appropriation/Allocation: None
Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to:

A private person: People who want to rent space at the Andrew P. Kashevaroff Building
in Juneau might be subject to a fee to recover the Division of Libraries, Archives and
Museums’ costs. Visitors to the Alaska State Museum in Juneau and the Sheldon Jackson
Museum in Sitka will pay $2.00 to $5.00 more for admission, depending on the season.
The increase in admission fees is expected to garner $51,000 a year.

Another state agency: Entities that want to rent space at the Andrew P. Kashevaroff
Building in Juneau might be subject to a fee to recover the Division of Libraries,
Archives and Museums’ costs.

A municipality: Entities that want to rent space at the Andrew P. Kashevaroff Building in
Juneau might be subject to a fee to recover the Division of Libraries, Archives and
Museums’ costs.

Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of
dollars): none

Initial Year = Subsequent
FY 18 Years
Operating Cost $_0 $
Capital Cost $_0 $




1002 Federal receipts $_ 0 $
1003 General fund match $ 0 $
1004 General fund $_0 $
1005 General fund/

program $_0 $
Other (identify) $_0 $

The name of the contact person for the regulation:

Name: Patience Frederiksen

Title: Director, Libraries, Archives and Museums
Address: 395 Whittier Street, Juneau, Alaska
Telephone: 907-465-2911

E-mail address: patience.frederiksen@alaska.gov

10. The origin of the proposed action:

X Staff of state agency
Federal government
General public
Petition for regulation change
Other (identify):
11.  Date: 44/ /J
February 3, 2017 Prepared by: /3

Name: Eric Fry
Title: Information Officer/Regulations Contact
Telephone: 907-465-2851



AFFIDAVIT OF NOTICE OF PROPOSED REGULATION
AND FURNISHING OF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

I, Eric Fry, Regulations Contact for the Department of Education and Early Development, being
sworn, state the following:

As required by AS 44.62.190, notice of the proposed change to fees has been given by being

(D
@)
€)
(4)
©)
(6)

(7
()

published in a newspaper or trade publication;

furnished to interested persons;

furnished to appropriate state officials;

furnished to the Department of Law, along with a copy of the proposed regulation;
furnished electronically to incumbent State of Alaska legislators;

furnished to the Legislative Affairs Agency, Division of Legal and Research
Services;

posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System as required by

AS 44.62.175(a)(1) and (b) and 44.62.190(a)(1);

furnished electronically, along with a copy of the proposed regulation, to the
Legislative Affairs Agency, the chair of the Education Committee of the Alaska
Senate and House of Representatives, the Administrative Regulation Review
Committee, and the legislative council.

As required by AS 44.62.190, additional regulation notice information regarding the proposed
adoption of the regulation changes described above has been furnished to interested persons and
those in (5) and (6) of the list above. The additional regulation notice information also has been
posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System.

Y §\7

Date: é;’/ .,)
Eric Fry, Regulations Contact
Subscribed and sworn to before me at = c: al S on

20177

Pt et

NotaryPublicy

STATE OF ALASKA #""‘*"
OFFICIAL SEAL %
Jennifer A. High

NOTARY PUBLIC
My Commission Expires With Offlce




AFFIDAVIT OF ORAL HEARING

I, Eric Fry, Regulations Contact for the Department of Education and Early Development, being
sworn, state the following:

On March 27,2017, at 1:15 p.m. at 395 Whittier Street in Juneau, Alaska, a public hearing was
held under AS 44.62.210 for the purpose of taking oral testimony in connection with the
adoption of changes to fees and via telephone by 1-844-586-9085, and through the following
LIO sites: Anchorage, 716 W 4™ Ave., Suite 100; Barrow, 119 Bank Bldg.; Bethel, 301 Willow
St.; Cordova, 418 First St., Suite A; Delta Junction, Colombo Building, Suite 204, 1380
Richardson Hwy.; Dillingham, Kangiiqutaq Bldg.; Fairbanks, 1292 Sadler Way, Suite 308;
Glennallen, 186 Glenn Hwy.; Homer, 270 West Pioneer Ave., Suite B; Juneau, Room 111 Terry
Miller Bldg.; Kenai, 145 Main St. Loop, Suite 217; Ketchikan, 1900 First Ave., Suite 310;
Kodiak, 305 center Ave., Suite 1; Kotzebue, 373 2™ St., Pillautuq Centre; Mat-Su, 600 E
Railroad Ave.; Nome 103 Front St.; Petersburg, 11B Gjoa St.; Seward, 302 Railway Suite 107,
Sitka, 201 Katlian St., Suite 103; Tok, W 1% St., UAF-Tok Unit 1; Unalaska, 029 Airport Beach
Rd. Space No. 03-01; Valdez, State Office Building, Room 13; and Wrangell, 223 Front St.

Date: 5// Zf‘ /7

.
4% j
Eric Fry, Regulations Contact

Subscriped and sworn to before me at -Dﬂ? % ot A= d\U\COd";a\ on
d/2e/n
y y

Notary@c in‘and for the State of Alaska

STATE OF ALASKA :
OFFICIAL SEAL &
Jennifer 4 High
My é\iOTARY PUBLIC -
Ommission Expireg With




NOTICE OF CHANGE OF VENUE OF ORAL HEARING REGARDING
STATE MUSEUM FEES IN THE REGULATIONS OF THE
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION AND EARLY DEVELOPMENT

The Department of Education and Early Development proposes to adopt regulation changes to
Title 4 of the Alaska Administrative Code dealing with fees at the Alaska State Museums,
including the following:

4 AAC 58.010 is proposed to be amended to allow the Alaska State Museums to charge fees to
recover costs for the rental of space at the Andrew P. Kashevaroff State Library, Archives, and
Museums building in Juneau. The division may waive the fees.

4 AAC 58.010 is proposed to be amended to set fees for admission to the Alaska State Museum
in Juneau and the Sheldon Jackson Museum in Sitka, and for various services from the Alaska
State Museums, The museums may waive the fees.

You may comment in writing on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs
to private persons of complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to
the Commissioner’s Office, Department of Education and Early Development, Attn: Regulations
Review, 801 West Tenth Street, Suite 200, PO Box 110500, Juneau, Alaska 99811-0500.

You also may submit written comments by facsimile at (907) 465-4156; by electronic mail to
eric.fry(@alaska.gov; and online at the website of the Department of Education and Early
Development at hitps://education.alaska.gov/regs/comment.cfm. Written comments also may be
submitted through the Alaska Online Public Notice System by accessing this notice on the
system and using the comment link.

All written comments must be received not later than 4:30 p.m. on March 8, 2017,

You may submit oral comments in person to the State Board of Education and Early
Development at a hearing to be held by the board on March 27, 2017, at the classroom in
the Andrew P. Kashevaroff Building at 395 Whittier Street, Juneau, Alaska. The hearing
will be held from 1:10 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. but may be extended to accommodate those present
before 1:00 p.m. who have not had an opportunity to comment before 2:00 p.m.

You also may submit oral comments at this hearing, during this time only, via the Legislative
Information Office streaming by calling 1-844-586-9085 if you are outside of Juneau. For
participation from Juneau, call 586-9085.

This meeting will be streamed through the Legislative Information Office over
http://www.alaskalegislature.tv/ beginning at 1:00 p.m. March 27 (audio only).

You also may submit oral comment by visiting your local Legislative Information Office (LIO).
The following LIO’s will participate: Anchorage, 716 W 4% Ave., Suite 100; Barrow, 119 Bank
Bldg.; Bethel, 301 Willow St.; Cordova, 418 First St., Suite A; Delta Junction, Colombo
Building, Suite 204, 1380 Richardson Hwy.; Dillingham, Kangiiqutaq Bldg.; Fairbanks, 1292



Sadler Way, Suite 308; Glennallen, 186 Glenn Hwy.; Homer, 270 West Pioneer Ave., Suite B;
Juneau, Room 111 Terry Miller Bldg.; Kenai, 145 Main St. Loop, Suite 217; Ketchikan, 1900
First Ave., Suite 310; Kodiak, 305 center Ave., Suite 1; Kotzebue, 373 27 St., Pillautuq Centre;
Mat-Su, 600 E Railroad Ave.; Nome 103 Front St.; Petersburg, 11B Gjoa St.; Seward, 302
Railway Suite 107; Sitka, 201 Katlian St., Suite 103; Tok, W 1% St., UAF-Tok Unit 1; Unalaska,
029 Airport Beach Rd. Space No. 03-01; Valdez, State Office Building, Room 13; and Wrangell,
223 Front St.

After the public comment period ends, the Department of Education and Early Development will
either adopt the proposed regulation changes or other provisions dealing with the same subject,
without further notice, or decide to take no action. The language of the final regulation may be
different from that of the proposed regulation. You should comment during the time allowed if
your interests could be affected.

Statutory authority: AS 14.07.060, AS 14.57.010

Statutes being implemented, interpreted, or made specific: AS 14.07.060, AS 14.57.010
Fiscal information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased
appropriation.



AFFIDAVIT OF AGENCY RECORD OF PUBLIC COMMENT

I, Eric Fry, Regulations Contact for the Department of Education and Early Development, being
duly sworn, state the following:

In compliance with AS 44.62.215, the Department of Education and Early Development has kept
a record of its use or rejection of factual or other substantive information that was submitted in
writing as public comment and that was relevant to the accuracy, coverage, or other aspect of the
Department of Education and Early Development regulation on fees. The Department of
Education and Early Development did not receive any factual or other substantive information
that was submitted orally as public comment and that was relevant to the accuracy, coverage, or
other aspect of the Department of Education and Early Development regulation on fees.

Date: ﬂ - f/-— \ 7

Goiv A

Eric Fry, Regulations Contact

Subscribed and sworn to before me at Q'EDH J S on
20!

O ) s

NotaryPuiblic in and for the State of Alaska

STATE OF ALASKA
OFFICIAL SEAL 2
Jennifer A. High




blaska Department of Education
& Early Development
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Commissioner’s Office

AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION

STATE OF ALASKA
THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT

Emma Dunlap

being first duly sworn on oath deposes and
says that he/she is a representative of the
Alaska Dispatch News, a daily newspaper.
That said newspaper has been approved
by the Third Judicial Court, Anchorage,
Alaska, and it now and has been published
in the English language continually as a
daily newspaper in Anchorage, Alaska, and
it is now and during all said time was
printed in an office maintained at the
aforesaid place of publication of said
newspaper. That the annexed is a copy of
an advertisement as it was published in
regular issues (and not in supplemental
form) of said newspaper on

February 05, 2017

and that such newspaper was regularly
distributed to its subscribers during all of
said period. That the full amount of the fee
charged for the foregoing publication is not
in excess of the rate charged private
individuals.

Signed

Subscribed and sworn to before me
this 6th day of February, 2017

Office over
i

Notary Public in and for

The State of Alaska.

Third Division

Anchorage, Alaska

MY COMMISSION EXPIRES

otary Publlc
BRITNEY L. THOMPSON

State of Alaska
My Commission Expires F

eb 23, 201

9

NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES TO STATE MUSEUM FEES
IN THE REGULATIONS OF
THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION AND EARLY DEVELOPMENT

BRIEF DESCRIPTION: Sets fees to rent facilities at the Andrew P.

Kashevaroff State Library, Archives, and Museums building in Juneau;

ﬁ/‘ets admission fees and various service fees at the Alaska State
useums.

The Department of Education and Early Development proposes to
adopt rﬁulat!on changes ta 7itle 4 of the Alaska Administrative Code
dealing with fees at the Alaska State Museums, including the following:

4 AAC 58.010 Is proposed to he amended to allow the Alaska State
Museums to charge fees to recover costs for the rental of space at the
Andrew P, Kashevaroff State Library, Archlvies, apd Museums bullding in
Juneau, The division may walve the fees.

4 AAC 58.010 is proposed to be amended to set fees for admission to
the Alaska State Museum in Juneau and the Sheldon Jackson Museum
in Sitka, and for various services from the Alaska State Museums. The
museums may waive the fees.

The Department of Education and Early Development invites the public
to submit written commeths during the written comm%m perlod, which
begins with the date of this notice and ends on March 8, at 4:30 P.m.
THE written comment period cleses In advance of the meeting of the
State Board of Education and Early Development at which the board
will consider the atoption of the groposed regulations. This allows the
Dapartment of Educatlon and Early Development an od;{pﬂrtunity to
prepare changes based on written comment and to distribute "any
mgéﬁgd changes to the board for its consideration prior to the

Yoy may comment in wrltiq% on the proposed regulation chan%es,
including the potential costs to private persons of complying with the
prt}gosed changes, by submitting ‘written comments to the
Commissioner’s = Offlce, Department of Education and Earf
Develcgment Attn: Regulstions Review, 801 West Tenth Street, Sui
200, PO Box 110500, Jurieau, Alaska 99811-0500.

You also may submit written comments by facsimile at (907) 465-4156;
by electronic mail to ericfry@alaska,gov; and online at the website of
the Degartmen of Education and Early Development at
https://e ucation.alsskat.ﬁov/r gtst;"comment.c m. Written comments
also may be submittad through the Alaska Online Public Notice ,sY(stem
by accessing this notlce on the system and using the comment link.

All written comments must be received not later than 4:30
p.m. on March 8

After the written comment perlod has ended, you may submit
oral commaents to the S fBoard of Education and Earl
Development at a hearing to be heid hz the hoartd on Marc
27 at the firstfloor hoard room 801 West 10th S
Juneau, Alaska. The hearlng will be held from 1:10 p.m. to 2:00 p.m.
but may be extended to accommodate those present before 1 p.m.
who have not had an opportunity to comment before 2 p.m,

You also may submit oral comments at this hearing, durlng this time
Onlg, via the Legislative Information Office streaming by calllng 1-844-
584-9085 If gau are outside of Juneau. For participation from Juneau,
call 586-9085.

This meeting will be stri aragd through the Leﬁlslative Information
p/iwww.alaskalegisiature.ty/  beginning at 1:00 p.m.

V' el A U W
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Commissioner’s Office

AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION

STATE OF ALASKA
THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT

Emma Dunlap

being first duly sworn on oath deposes and
says that he/she is a representative of the
Alaska Dispatch News, a daily newspaper.
That said newspaper has been approved
by the Third Judicial Court, Anchorage,
Alaska, and it now and has been published
in the English language continually as a
daily newspaper in Anchorage, Alaska, and
it is now and during all said time was
printed in an office maintained at the
aforesaid place of publication of said
newspaper. That the annexed is a copy of
an advertisement as it was published in
regular issues (and not in supplemental
form) of said newspaper on

February 23, 2017

and that such newspaper was regularly
distributed to its subscribers during all of
said period. That the full amount of the fee
charged for the foregoing publication is not
in excess of the rate charged private
individuals.

Signed

Subscribed and sworn to before me
this 23rd day of February, 2017

Notary Public in and for

The State of Alaska.

Third Division

Anchorage, Alaska

MY COMMISSION EXPIRES

v Aa3)
— ‘:.- =

4 Notary public
BRITNEY L. THOMPSON

State of Alaska
!lyo'ummlssion Expires Feb 23, 2019
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NOTICE OF CHANGE OF VENUE TO SUBMIT ORAL COMMENTS IN
PERSON REGARDING STATE MUSEUM FEES IN THE
REGULATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION AND EARLY
DEVELOPMENT

The Dej ent of Education and Early Davelopment proposes to
adoPt ation changes to Title 4 of the Alaska Administrative Code
dealing with fees at the Alaska State Museums, including the following:

4 AAC 58.010 is proposed to be amended to allow !'he Alaska State
Museums to charge fees to recover costs for the rental of space at the
Andrew P, Kashevaroff State Library, Archives, and Museums bullding inr
Juneau. The division may waive the fees.

4 AAC 58.010 is proposed to be amended to set fees for admission to
the Alaska State Museum in Juneau and the Sheldon Jackson Museum
in Sitka, and for various services from the Alaska State Museums. The
museums may waive the fees.

You may comment in wrltinl% on the proposed regulation chan%e A
inciuding the potential costs 10 private persons of complﬁlng with the
_gropose changes, by submitting ‘written comments to _the
commissioner's -~ Office, partment of Education and Early
Development, Attn: Regulations Review, 801 West Tenth Street, Suite
200, FC Box 110500, Juneay, Alaska 99811-0500.

You also may submit written comments by facsimile at (907) 465-4156;
by electronic mail to eric.ig@alaska.gov; and online at the webslte of
the Deparfment of Education and rly Development at
hitps://educati n.qlaska[ﬁov/regs/comment. M. Wiltten comments
also may be submitted through the Alaska Online Public Notice System
by accessing this notice on the system and using the comment link.

All written comments must be recelved not later than 4:30
p.m. on March 8, 2017.

X?“ may submit oral comments In person to the iﬁn Board
Education and Eargf pevelopmant at a hearing to be held by

on March 27, 2017, at the classrcom In the Andrew
P, Kashevaroff Bulldl tgat 395 Whittier Street, .luns%g. Alaska.
The hearing will he held from 1:10 p.m. to 2:00&3.m. t max be
extended t0 accommodate those Present before 1:00 p.m. who have

not had ap opportunity to comment before 2:00 p.m.

You aé’?o may subrg& oral comraants at this heaqn' during this time
on 8 slative Informatlon Office streaming by calling 1-844-
gﬁzgaoggtg Lﬁgiare ou!smg of Juneau. For partictp?kio% %rum uneal,

This mesting will be streamed through the Legislative Information
C% over Awww.alaskalegislature.tv/ beginning at 1:00 p.m.
March 27 (audio only),

You also may submit oral comment by visiting your local Legislative
Information Dffice (LIO). The followin§ 0's will Inarticlpate: Anchorage,
716 W 4th Ave., Suite 100; Barrow, T19 Bank Bldg.; Bethel, 301 Willow
St.; Corcdova, 418 First St Sulte A; Delta Junction, Colombo Building,
sulte” 204, 1380 Richardson Hwy. Dillingham, Kangilqutaq Bldg:;
Fairbanks, 1292 Sadler Way, Suite 308; Glennallen, 186 Glenn Hwy.;
Hamer, 270 West Ploneer Ave., Suite B; Juneau, Room 111 Terry Miller
Bldg.; Kenai, 145 Maln St. Loop, Suite 217; Ketchikan, 1900 First Ave.,
Sulte 310; Kodlak, 305 center Ave., Suite 1; Kotzebue, 373 2nd St.,
pillautug Centre; Mat-5u, 600 E Rallroad Ave.; Nome 103 Front St..
Petersburg, 11B (.-}Ioa St: Seward, 302 Rallway Suite 107, Sitka, 201
Katlian St, Sulte 103; Tok, W 1st St UAF-Tok Unit 1; Unalaska, 029|
Airport Beach Rd. Space NO, 03-01; Valdez, State Office’Bullding, Room
13; and Wrangell, 223 Front 5t.

After th? public comment ?ariod 8nds, the Department of Education
and Early Development will either adopt the proposed regulation
changes or ather provisions dealing with the same subject, without
furthér notice, or decide to take n .acﬁ%. The language of the final
regulation may be ditferent from that of the propesed regulation. You
sl%gult%dcommant during the time allowed If your interests could be
affected.

statutory authorty: AS 14.07.060, AS 14.57.010 )
statutes bn!g& impiemented, interpreted, or made specific:
AS 14.07.060, AS 14.57.010 :

Fiscal Information: The proposed regulation changes are not
expected to require an increased appropriation.

Published: February 23, 2017




AFFIDAVIT OF BOARD ACTION

I, Eric Fry, Regulations Contact for the Department of Education and Early Development, being
duly sworn, state the following:

The attached motion dealing with fees was passed by the State Board of Education and Early
Development during its March 29, 2017, meeting.

Date: WAl 4/~L ’)7

Eric Fry, Regulations Contact

Subscribed and sworn to before me at ekl = on

26 1M
N/

Notary Pubticin Cnddfor the STate of Alaska

STATE OF ALASKA 77
OFFICIAL SEAL  Alzins
Jennifer A, High \R .
NOTARY puBLIC  \R&E7
My Commission Expires With O

ffice




State Board of Education and Early Development Meeting
March 29, 2017
Excerpt from Unapproved Minutes

Rebecca Himschoot moved and Second Vice-Chair Harmon seconded the following motion:
After considering all public comment, I move that the State Board of Education and Early
Development adopt proposed amendments to 4 AAC 58.010, Fees. The motion passed
unanimously in a roll call vote.



