THE STATE Department of Commerce, Community,

of and Economic Development
ALASKA DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND

PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

GOVERNOR BIiLL WALKER

P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
Main: 907.465.2550
Fax: 907.465.2974

March 30, 2017

Dear licensees and interested parties:

Alaska’s professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and
Professional Licensing (CBPL) to “annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of each
occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation.” Alaska’s licensing fee statutes go
on to say, “If the review indicates that an occupation’s fee collections and regulatory costs are not approximately
equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations. ..to implement the adjustments.”

The Division has conducted a thorough fee analysis and this analysis was reviewed with the Board of Massage
Therapy on March 6 and 7. In order to thoroughly analyze for fee setting, the Division typically looks at the past
to predict future revenue and expenses. Since there was limited history to draw from, the Board was invaluable in
helping with future estimates. The Board took into consideration potential unknown expenses, especially for
investigation costs, but also the strong feedback from licensees and others to reduce the licensing fees. The Board
unanimously agreed to recommend reducing the licensing fees for new and renewal applications by $55.00.

Although the Board was advised to keep the fees the same until true and actual costs could be determined, the
Division is proceeding with the reductions as recommended by the board. The proposed fee amounts are
enclosed and can also be found on the Board’s web page

at https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/Professionall icensing/BoardofMassageTherapists.aspx .

This fee proposal is enteting a public comment period. The Division encourages all licensees and interested patties
to comment on this proposal through the Division’s Regulations Specialist, whose contact information is enclosed
on the public notice. After the comment period closes and the Division reviews all comments received, the
Division may adopt the regulation as drafted, may amend a proposed fee, or may withdraw the regulations in part
or in its whole.

All comments received will be reviewed and taken into consideration prior to adopting the final regulations. The
final decision will result in the fee to be implemented during the next licensing renewal.

Follow the instructions enclosed to make written comments during the public comment period. Comments must
be addressed to Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist, PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811,

or RegulationsAndPublicComment(@alaska.gov.

Sincerely,

|

Janey Hovenden
Director

Encl.


https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofMassageTherapists.aspx
mailto:RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov

Register , 2017 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions.

(Words in boldface and underlined indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED
AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.)

12 AAC 02.396 is amended to read:
12 AAC 02.396. Board of Massage Therapists. The following fees are established for

massage therapists:

(1) nonrefundable application fee for initial license, $200;

(2) massage therapy license fee for all or part of the initial biennial licensing
period, $295 [$350];

(3) massage therapy biennial license renewal fee, $295 [$350];

(4) nonrefundable fingerprint processing fee, $60. (Eff. 8/01/2015, Register 215;
am___/ | Register )

Authority:  AS 08.01.010 AS 08.01.065 AS 08.61.090
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