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ORDER ADOPTING CHANGES TO
REGULATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE,
COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

The attached three pages of regulations, dealing with occupational licensing fees for
professions regulated by the Board of Dental Examiners, are adopted and certified
to be a correct copy of the regulation changes that the Department of Commerce,
Community, and Economic Development adopts under the authority of AS
08.01.065, AS 08.01.100, AS 08.32.030, AS 08.32.070, AS 08.32.071, AS 08.32.081
and AS 08.36.250 and after compliance with the Administrative Procedure Act (AS
44.62), specifically including notice under AS 44.62.190 and 44.62.200 and
opportunity for public comment under AS 44.62.210.

This action is not expected to require an increased appropriation.

In considering public comments, the Department of Commerce, Community, and
Economic Development paid special attention to the cost to private persons of the
regulatory action being taken.

The regulation changes adopted under this order take effect on the 30th day after
they have been filed by the lieutenant governor, as provided in AS 44.62.180.

DATE: %Wé L0/

Juneau, Alaska

fyenden, Director
of Corporations, Business and
rofessional Licensing

FILING CERTIFICATION

I, Byron Mallott, Lieutenant Governor for the State of Alaska, certify that
on \L.: , 2016 at \O\G & .m., I filed the attached regulations

according to the provisions of AS 44.62.04(0 — 44.62.120.

Byron Mallott, Lieuténant Governor

Effective: _Janua f7 |5, 2047
Register: 221 ol 20(7
-




S\ THE STATE Department of Commerce, Community,
BN of A I A gK A and Economic Development
a8 ) A (8 OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER

OV Ly B 57 A SIS T P.O. Box 110800
GOVERNOR BILL WALKER Mo ol N

Main: 907.465.2500
Programs lax: 207.465.5442

ALASKA DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, AND
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

Delegation of Authority

In accordance with AS 44.17.010, the authority and responsibility for adopting regulations, outside
of the Division of Cotpotations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL), but for the
Department of Commerce, Communiry, and Economic Development (DCCED), under the Alaska
Administrative Procedure Act, is hereby delegated to:

Micaela Fowler

Legislative Liaison

Office of the Commissioner
DCCED

P.O. Box 110800

Juneau, AK 99811-0800
907-465-2503

20 e RS ¢ sl R '

In accordance with AS 44.17.010, the authority and responsibility for adopting regulations of the
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, under the Alaska Administrative
Procedure Act, is hereby delegated to:

Janey Hovenden
Director

CBPL.

DCCED

P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
907-465-2538




Department of Commetce, Community, and Economic Development
Office of the Comtnissioner
Page 2

This Delegation of Authority will remain in effect until modified or revoked by a subsequent
delegation. This Delegation supetsedes and revokes all delegations preceding it.

Dated the 16™ day of March, 2015
//
/ 4
e’ ;(.[ £ 7 ¢
~—7 . 0 )

Chris Hladick
Commisstonet

Department of Commerce, Community,
and Economic Development



Register _ 22/ 5 }4/—0(! / 2017 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions.

12 AAC 02.190 is amended to read:
12 AAC 02.190. Board of Dental Examiners. (a) The following fees for dental
hygienists are established:
(1) nonrefundable application fee for
(A) initial license, $100;
(B) courtesy license, $50;
(C) initial restorative function endorsement, $100 [$60];
(D) local anesthetic permit, $100 [$60];
(2) repealed 12/13/2014;
(3) license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, $200 [$150];
(4) biennial license renewal fee, $200 [$150];
(5) local anesthetic permit, $100 [$607];
(6) credential review fee, $110;
(7) local anesthetic permit renewal fee, $100 [$60];
(8) courtesy license fee, $50;
(9) restorative function endorsement fee, for all or part of the initial endorsement
period, $60;
(10) restorative function endorsement renewal fee, $60.
(b) The following fees for dentists are established:
(1) nonrefundable application fee for

(A) initial license by examination, $600;

~POL. MJ.WOO%}? 1
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Register 22 | /é}lpr]} 2017 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

(B) repealed 12/13/2014;
(C) courtesy license, $50;
(D) repealed 12/13/2014;
(E) parenteral sedation or general anesthetic permit, $100;
(2) nonrefundable application and review fee for license by credentials, $1,000;
(3) repealed 12/13/2014;
(4) license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, $450 [$350];
(5) repealed 12/13/2014;
(6) biennial license renewal fee, $450 [$350];
(7) repealed 12/13/2014;
(8) repealed 12/13/2014;
(9) parenteral sedation permit fee for all or part of the initial biennial permit
period, $1,000;
(10) biennial parenteral sedation permit renewal fee, $350 [$250];
(11) repealed 12/13/2014;
(12) general anesthetic permit fee for all or part of the initial biennial permit period,
$1,000;
(13) biennial general anesthetic permit renewal fee, $350 [$250];
(14) courtesy license fee, $50.
(c) The following fees are established for submission of dental and dental hygiene continuing
education courses for approval under 12 AAC 28.410:

(1) initial continuing education course submittal fee, $50 [$40];

‘DOL-File#JU201620093 T 2
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Register _ 22./ ,!—/-)—'gm/ 2017 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

( (2) continuing education course resubmittal fee, $50 [$30]. (Eff. 11/20/86, Register
100; am 10/1/88, Register 107; am 2/18/93, Register 125; am 5/28/93, Register 126; am 10/29/94,
Register 132; am 11/15/96, Register 140; am 4/19/97, Register 142; am 11/24/2000, Register 156;
am 6/21/2001, Register 158; am 4/10/2003, Register 166; am 12/24/2006, Register 180; am

12/27/2007, Register 184; am 12/12/2008, Register 188; am 4/17/2011, Register 198; am

\ 12/13/2014, Register 212; am | /15 /2017, Register 22()

Authority:  AS 08.01.065 AS 08.32.070 AS 08.32.081
AS 08.01.100 AS 08.32.071 AS 08.36.250
AS 08.32.030
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MEMORANDUM

To:

From:

Hon. Byron Mallott Date:
Lieutenant Governor

File No.:

' Tel. No.:

s A7y F xJ
\\'\' k -) " lk'\\
{ J
Steven C. Weaver .- \| oo | Re:

Sr. Assistant Attorney Ge
and Assistant Regulations Attorney
Legislation and Regulations Section

State of Alaska

Department of Law

December 9, 2016
JU2016200931
465-3600

Department of Commerce,
Community, and Economic
Development regulations re:
occupational licensing fees for
professions regulated by the Board of
Dental Examiners (12 AAC 02.190)

We have reviewed the attached regulations from the Department of Commerce,
Community, and Economic Development against the statutory standards of the Administrative
Procedure Act. I have reviewed this project under a specific delegation dated December 8, 2016
from the Regulations Attorney. The regulations update occupational licensing fees for
professions regulated by the Board of Dental Examiners.

We find no legal problems. This memorandum constitutes the written statement of
approval under AS 44.62.060(b) and (c) that authorizes your office to file the attached
regulations.

The November 1, 2016 public notice and the December 6, 2016 adoption order both state
that this action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. Therefore, a fiscal note
under AS 44.62.195 is not required.



Hon. Byron Mallott, Lieutenant Governor December 9, 2016
Our file: JU2016200931 Page 2

We have made some technical corrections to the regulations in accordance with
AS 44.62.125, as shown on the attached copy.

SCW
cc w/enc: (via email)

Hon. Chris Hladick, Commissioner
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Micaela Fowler, Regulations Contact
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Janey Hovenden, Director
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Jun Maiquis, Regulations Specialist
Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

Harriet Dinegar Milks, Assistant Attorney General
Commercial and Fair Business Section



MEMORANDUM State of Alaska

Department of Law
10: Hon. Byron Mallott DATE: December 8, 2016
Lieutenant Governor

FILENO.: JU2016200931

TELEPHONE NO.: 465-3600

~nd
FROM: Susan R. PollardJ suBJecT: Specific delegation of authority
Chief Assistant Attorney General regarding regulations review on
and Regulations Attorney Department of Commerce,
Legislation/Regulations Section Community, and Economic

Development regulations re: fees
for professions regulated by the
Board of Dental Examiners

(12 AAC 02.190)

By this memorandum, I am delegating my authority as Regulations Attorney
under AS 44.62 to Assistant Attorney General Steven C. Weaver for the above-referenced
regulations project. Under this delegation of authority, Steven Weaver has my full authority
under AS 44.62 to conduct the legal review under AS 44.62 and take necessary actions on this
regulations project.

If you have questions, please let me know.

SCW

cc w/enc: Scott C. Meriwether, AAC Coordinator
Office of the Lieutenant Governor

Steven C. Weaver
Sr. Assistant Attorney General
Legislation/Regulations Section



NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES TO OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING FEES FOR
PROFESSIONS REGULATED BY THE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS IN THE
REGULATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, AND
ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

BRIEF DESCRIPTION: The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
proposes to change occupational license and continuing education fees charged to dentists and hygienists.

The Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development (Department) proposes to adopt
regulation changes in Title 12, Chapter 02, of the Alaska Administrative Code, dealing with occupational
licensing fees for professions regulated by the Board of Dental Examiners, including the following:

12 AAC 02.190, Board of Dental Examiners, is proposed to be changed to alter the application fees,
license fees, permit fees, renewal fees, and continuing education fees for dentists and hygienists.

Under AS 08.01.065, the Department must establish fee levels so that the total amount of fees collected
for an occupation approximately equals the actual regulatory costs for the occupation. The Department
has reviewed the income and expenses for the occupational licensing program for the Board of Dental
Examiners and proposes fee changes that reflect, to the extent possible, the actual costs of the activities
related to the program.

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private persons of
complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Marilyn Zimmerman,
Paralegal, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK
99811-0806. Additionally, the Department will accept comments by facsimile at (907) 465-2974 and by
electronic mail at RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov. Comments may also be submitted
through the Alaska Online Public Notice System by accessing this notice on the system at
http://notice.alaska.gov/183421, and using the comment link. The comments must be received not later
than 5:00 p.m. on December 2, 2016. Comments received after this deadline will not be considered by
the Department.

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Marilyn Zimmerman, Paralegal,
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-
0806, or by e-mail at marilyn.zimmerman@alaska.gov. The questions must be received at least 10 days
before the end of the public comment period. The Department will aggregate its response to
substantially similar questions and make the questions and responses available on the Alaska Online
Public Notice System or on the Department’s website at
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofDentalExaminers.aspx. The
Department may, but is not required to, answer written questions received after the 10-day cut-off date
and before the end of the comment period.

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this
process, please contact Marilyn Zimmerman at (907) 465-2532 or marilyn.zimmerman@alaska.gov not
later than November 23, 2016, to ensure that any necessary accommodations can be provided.

A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and by
contacting Marilyn Zimmerman at (907) 465-2532 or marilyn.zimmerman@alaska.gov, or go to
https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/portals/5/pub/DEN-Fees-2017.pdf.

After the public comment period ends, the Department will either adopt the proposed regulation changes
or other provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action. The
language of the final regulation may be different from that of the proposed regulation. You should
comment during the time allowed if your interests could be affected. Written comments and questions
received are public records and are subject to public inspection.



Statutory Authority: AS 08.01.065; AS 08.01.100; AS 08.32.030; AS 08.32.070; AS 08.32.071;
AS 08.32.081; AS 08.36.250

Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 08.01.065; AS 08.01.100;
AS 08.32.030; AS 08.32.070; AS 08.32.071; AS 08.32.081; AS 08.36.250

Fiscal Information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased

e 31| 2016 MW
DATE: ___IP)3] |20 | Y
Marilyn\‘Zil meyman, Paralegal

Division of Corporations, Business and
Professional Licensing

For each occupation regulated under the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing,
the Division keeps a list of individuals or organizations who are interested in the regulations of that
occupation. The Division automatically sends a Notice of Proposed Regulations to the parties on the
appropriate list each time there is a proposed change in an occupation's regulations in Title 12 of the
Alaska Administrative Code. If you would like your address added to or removed from such a list, send
your request to the Division at the address above, giving your name, either your e-mail address or mailing
address (as you prefer for receiving notices), and the occupational area in which you are interested.

ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION
(AS 44.62.190(d))

1. Adopting agency: Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development — Division of
Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing.

2. General subject of regulation: Occupational licensing fees.

3. Citation of regulation: 12 AAC 02.190.

4. Department of Law file number: To be assigned.

5. Reason for the proposed action: Compliance with state statute.

6. Appropriation/Allocation: Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing — #2360.

7. Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to:
A private person: Increase will range from $10 to $100 depending on type of license.
Another state agency: None known.
A municipality: None known.

8. Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of dollars): No
costs are expected in FY2017 or in subsequent years.

9. The name of the contact person for the regulation:
Sara Chambers, Division Operations Manager
Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing
Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development
Telephone: (907) 465-2144
E-mail: sara.chambers@alaska.gov

10. The origin of the proposed action: Qvi7si%700rporations. Business and Professional Licensing.

Date: _/0 lil 1&1& Prepared by: “‘M
Marilyh|Zimmerman, Paralegal

(907( 465-2532




STATE OF ALASKA )

ss.
FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT )

AFFIDAVIT OF NOTICE OF PROPOSED ADOPTION OF REGULATIONS
AND FURNISHING OF ADDITIONAL INFORMATIO

I, Marilyn Zimmerman, Paralegal, of the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic
Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing, being sworn, state the

following:

As required by AS 44.62.190, notice of the proposed adoption of changes to 12 AAC 02.190,
dealing with occupational licensing fees related to the Board of Dental Examiners, has been given

by being:
1. published in a newspaper or trade publication;
. furnished to interested persons;
. furnished to appropriate state officials;
. furnished to the Department of Law, along with a copy of the proposed regulations;

2

3

4

5. electronically transmitted to incumbent State of Alaska legislators;

6. furnished to the Legislative Affairs Agency, Legislative Legal and Research Services;
7

. posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System as required by AS 44.62.175(a)(1) and (b) and
44.62.190(a)(1);

8. furnished electronically, along with a copy of the proposed regulations, to the Legislative Affairs
Agency, the chair of the Labor and Commerce Committee of the Alaska Senate and House of
Representatives, the Administrative Regulation Review Committee, and the legislative council.

As required by AS 44.62.190(d), additional regulations notice information regarding the proposed
adoption of the regulation changes described above has been furnished to interested persons and those in
(5) and (6) of the list above. The additional regulations notice information also has lg)een posted on the
Alaska Online Public Notice System.

paTE: 12]7)20]k
Junead, Alaska

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN %@ hsfore me this__ T dayof_Decenmben ,2016.
\““(\“ HOS/\.;"c,‘

:‘*@%;;;‘2.‘;;.’5;; Ql_s.\oo',z '
- Notary Public in and for the
= State of Alaska

My commission expires: _W/ O-ffree
b
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STATE OF ALASKA ;
SsS.
FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT )

AFFIDAVIT OF AGENCY RECORD OF PUBLIC COMMENT

I, Marilyn Zimmerman, Paralegal for the Department of Commerce, Community,
and Economic Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional
Licensing, being duly sworn, state the following:

In compliance with AS 44.62.215, the Department of Commerce, Community, and
Economic Development has kept a record of its use or rejection of factual or other
substantive information that was submitted in writing as public comment and that
was relevant to the accuracy, coverage, or other aspect of the Department of
Commerce, Community, and Economic Development regulations on dealing with
occupational licensing fees related to the Board of Dental Examiners.

DATE: | 1} 7)aplb

Juneau, Alaska a

W T A R

Marilyn Zi rman, Paralegal

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this _ = day of Decemben | 2016.

|ll'lll..
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SO Ay S .
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i TOTARy " : State of Alaska \
3% PUBLIC *_: My commission expires: W/ Sfice
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AFFIDAVIT OF PUBLICATION

NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES TO OCCUPATIONAL
STATE OF ALASKA HCENSING CEES FOR PROFESSIONS REGULATED BY TUE BoARD
THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC
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Dun L e R
nla e r anges |
E”.““"“. LITeR Title 12, Chapger %az, of thepAlapscl)ca xtmminlstratisﬁ-}g Code, deal)ngg with
being first duly sworn on oath deposes and occupational licensirig fees for professions regulated by the Board of
says that he/she is a representative of the Dental Examiners, including the following;
8 i 12 AAC 02.190, Board of Dental Examiners, is proposed
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That said newspaper has been approved ggml‘,tt sfe:rf'd {]en g}l]?sléees, and continuing education fees for
by the Third Judicial Court, Anchorage, LI oo Vge iy S
f > naer .01 e ment must es Sh tee levels SO tha
ke g e SN 1S S o e e ol S
H H i ] CLI n.
Tt el T choemats ki 81 s revined thiEome 0 experes o 1 occipatna orin
i e, Alaska, and propos e
,da_"y newspaperiln iy o.rag. X g\ag reflect, to the extent possible, the actual gos?sp of the activities
it is now and during all said time was related to the program. i
Pte i B O e oAl IEy et on e opcenc gt sharges i iy
i icati i al co n
el e e ey o change, by submifing writor comments o Viarbn 2,
ISaco (o] I i VISIOn O I = Lisine:;
newspaper. That the annexed is a copy Licensing. P.0. Box 110806 Junaat, Ak 99811:0806 Additionally, the
s dverlisament as [ was pubishsc in Foalios YW fcopi: Commelts by Bt b st U7 se-zy
regular issues (and not in supplemental cawcngems 5223% aLso b% susglnmectlh%gmg gcg‘e ﬁr\‘lasga Onm;?e r,;;j 'gt:
H acce! o] e
form) of said newspaper on ! m//no%e.alaskay ov/133‘121,g and using the comment link. The
ments must recelved not later than 500 p.m. on
ber 2, 2016. Comments received after this deadline will not be
considered by the Department.

November 01, 2016 ’
You may submit written guestions relevant to the proposed action to
Marilyn Zimmerman, Paralegal, Division of Corporations, Business and
Professional Licensing, P.O. Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811-0806, or
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If you are a person with a disability who needs a special
accommodation in order to participate in this process, please contact
Matilyn Zimmerman at (907) 465-2532 or
marilyn.zimmerman@alaska.gov not later than November 23, 2016, to
ensure that any necessary accommodations can be provided.

Signed
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STATE OF ALASKA
FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT

RATION OF

AFFIDAVIT OF DEPARTMENT CONSIDE]
BOARD RECOMMENDATIONS

I, Marilyn Zimmerman, Paralegal for the Department of Commerce, Community, and
Economic Development, Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing,

being duly sworn, state the following:

As required by AS 08.01.065(c), the Department of Commerce, Community, and
Economic Development has considered the recommendations of the Board of Dental
Examiners before adopting changes to the fees in 12 AAC 02.190.

DATE: )9«|7)“&> T
Juneau, Alaska L a
Mwﬂ,@wmm

Marilyin Zymrmerman, Paralegal

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me this _+ day of _Decemben , 2016.
~"‘;\‘ "\.9§.’.‘.”'7:s: 2% IdRepp A Nodkiua yn
@l ission é;[;-?o % Notary Public in and for the
SO RS State of Alaska
SN g - My commission expires: wl| dFffice
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