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ORDER CERTIFYING THE CHANGES TO
REGULATIONS OF THE ALASKA PUBLIC OFFICES COMMISSION

The attached ten pages of regulations, dealing with mitigating factors and penalty assessment,
are certified to be a correct copy of the regulation changes that the Alaska Public Offices
Commission adopted at its October 25, 2016, meeting, under the authority of AS 15.13.030,
15.13.390; AS 24.45.021, 24.45.141; AS 24.60.220, 24.60.240, 24.60.260; AS 39.50.050,
39.50.060, 39.50.070, 39.50.080, and 39.50.135 and after compliance with the Administrative
Procedure Act (AS 44.62), specifically including notice under AS 44.62.190 and 44.62.200 and
opportunity for public comment under AS 44.62.210.

This action is not expected to require an increased appropriation.

Although no public comments were received, the Alaska Public Offices Commission paid
special attention to the cost to private persons of the regulatory action being taken.

The regulation changes described in this order take effect on the 30th day after they have been
filed by the lieutenant governor, as provided in AS 44.62.180.

Date: /]O)&mlab\ 'Q,'ZD‘U
Anchorage, Alaska ] s .

Heather R. Hebdon, Interim Executive Director
Alaska Public Offices Commission

FILING CERTIFICATION

I, Byron Mallott, Lieutenant Governor for the State of Alaska, certify that on

; 2011:1 at 9 \:) & .m., I filed the attached regulations according to

the provisions of AS 44.62.040 - 44.62.120. \

n Mallott, Lieutehant Governor

Effective: ’Dp(_‘pm\{].er 21 . 2016

Register: 220, Janua Q) 20107




Register 220, Janunary 2017 ADMINISTRATION
2 AAC 50.855(b) is amended to read:
(b) Notwithstanding (a) of this section, [THE STAFF SHALL]

(1) for late filing of a statement or report required under AS 24.60.200 -

24.60.260 or AS 39.50, the staff shall document the violation and

(A) shall waive the assessed penalty if

(i) the late filing is an initial report due from a first-time filer

who is also a first-time member of a board or commission who was not

notified of the required filing by the staff of that board or commission; or

(ii) the late filing is from a member of the national guard or

military reserves called to active duty during the period from 60 days before

the due date to 60 days after the due date;

(B) shall reduce the assessed penalty to 25 percent of the maximum

penalty under AS 24.60.240 or AS 39.50.135 if the person is a first-time filer and the

late filing is a candidate disclosure statement;

(C)_shall reduce the assessed penalty to 50 percent of the maximum

penalty if
(i) the person is not a first-time filer; or
(i) the late filing is a final statement due after leaving office;
and

(D) shall reduce the assessed penalty to 75 percent of the maximum

penalty for all other late filings under this paragraph;

(2) for late filing of or an error in a registration, statement, or report
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Register 220, :Eﬂu.y 2017 ADMINISTRATION

required under AS 15.13, the staff shall document the violation and

(A) may not assess a penalty if

(i) the person is a first-time filer;

(ii) there were multiple or multi-day technical issues with the

electronic filing system, or a day-long technical issue on the filing due date,

that prevented the person from timely filing;

(iii) the late filing is from a member of the national guard or

military reserves called to active duty during the period from 60 days before

the due date to 60 days after the due date;

(iv) for a statement of contributions, the reporting error was

the person's first error, and the contribution was reported by the recipient of

the contribution within 30 days after the due date for the statement of

contributions: or

(v) for an independent expenditure report, the reporting error

was the person's first error, and the filing is not a report required to be filed

within 24 hours;

(B) shall reduce the penalty to 25 percent of the maximum penalty if

(i) the election cycle is the person's first election cycle and the

report is the person's first late-filed report: or

(ii) the person self-reports the missing information to the staff

and discloses the information to the public within seven days after the date of

self-reporting; the penalty stops accruing on the date the person self-reported

2



Register 220, Tanuary 2017 ADMINISTRATION

the error by notifving the staff of the error: filing the late or missing

information without notifying the staff of the error does not constitute self-

reporting: and

(C)_shall reduce the penalty to 50 percent of the maximum penalty if

(i) the election cycle is the person's first election cycle: or

(ii) the amount missing or erroneously reported on a filing is

under $100;

(3)_for incomplete filings of all types, the staff shall document the violation

and

(A) may not assess a penalty if the missing or incomplete information

was readily available to the public through another forum;

(B)_shall reduce the penalty to 50 percent of the maximum penalty if

the missing or incomplete information was not readily available to the public

through another forum, but the incomplete report is the first alleged viclation

against the person; and

(C) shall assess the maximum penalty for all other incomplete reports

not addressed under (1) or (2) of this subsection;

(4) the staff may not assess a penalty if the amount of the reporting error or

the amount of a transaction missing in a report is less than $100 [WAIVE AN ASSESSED

PENALTY IF A DEFICIENCY IS INSIGNIFICANT] and is promptly corrected
(A) without receiving a notice from the staff; or

(B) within the time allowed by any notice of deficiency from the staff; or

3



Register 220 , Janua oy 2017 ADMINISTRATION

(5) for reports required under AS 15.13.110(a)(2) or (b), the staff shall assess

a penalty of not more than $500 per day for each day a deficiency exists before the relevant

election and reduce the penalty to $50 per day for each day a deficiency remains

uncorrected after the relevant election, if the staff has received no evidence of an

ageravating factor under 2 AAC 50.865(d); the amount of a penalty assessed under this

paragraph is limited to not more than five times the amount of the expenditure or

contribution erroneously reported or unreported [(2) REDUCE AN ASSESSED PENALTY

BY 50 PERCENT IF

(A) THE AMOUNT OF THE PENALTY IS LESS THAN $100;

(B) THE PERSON AGAINST WHOM THE PENALTY IS ASSESSED
SHOWS BY MEANS OF AN AFFIDAVIT THAT ONE OR MORE MITIGATING
FACTORS SET OUT IN 2 AAC 50.865(b)(1) - (5§) WOULD JUSTIFY REDUCING
THE PENALTY; AND

(C) STAFF HAS RECEIVED NO EVIDENCE OF AN
AGGRAVATING FACTOR UNDER 2 AAC 50.865(d)].

(Eff. 12/22/2011, Register 200; am 1/16/2015, Register 213; am (2 /2] /2016 , Register 220)

Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 24.60.220 AS 39.50.060
AS 15.13.390 AS 24.60.240 AS 39.50.070
AS 24.45.021 AS 24.60.260 AS 39.50.080
AS 24.45.141 AS 39.50.050 AS 39.50.135



Register 22, M 2017 ADMINISTRATION
2 AAC 50.860(b) is amended to read:

(b) The staff shall review any facts disputed in an appeal, including facts relevant to
mitigating and aggravating factors. For any appeal of a penalty less than $250, if the staff has no
evidence of an aggravating factor, the staff may determine that facts shown in mitigation under

2 AAC 50.865(b)(1) - (4) [2 AAC 50.865(b)(1) - (5)] justify reducing the penalty by 50 percent,

and may calculate the reduced penalty. If the person who appealed the penalty assessment agrees
to the revised penalty assessment and pays the amount due no later than 30 days after receiving
the revised penalty assessment, the appeal will be considered withdrawn, and the matter

resolved. If, after applying the mitigating factors in 2 AAC 50.865(a) or (b), the staff

reduces the assessed penalty to $100 or less and the person who appealed pavs the revised

penalty no later than 30 days after receiving the revised penalty assessment, the appeal will

be considered withdrawn, and the matter resolved. If the person who appealed does not agree

to the revised penalty, the staff shall provide a written recommendation to the commission and
serve a copy on the person who appealed.

(Eff. 12/22/2011, Register 200; am 1/16/2015, Register 213; am [ /2| /2016, Register 220 )
Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 24.60.220 AS 39.50.050

AS 24.45.021

2 AAC 50.865 is amended to read:
2 AAC 50.865. Mitigating factors; aggravating factors. (a) A civil penalty determined
under 2 AAC 50.855 may be reduced by up to 50 percent if

(1) a person required to file a statement or other filing

5



Register2zo ,M 2017 ADMINISTRATION
(A) has a good filing history; in this subparagraph, "good filing history"
means
(i) [(1)] no late filings in the immediately preceding five years;
and

(ii) for groups. no more than $500 in non-administrative

activity shown on the group's overdue report [(2) NO ACTIVITY SHOWN

ON THE OVERDUE REPORTT; or
(B) is an inexperienced filer; in this subparagraph, "inexperienced filer"
means a person required to file reports under this chapter if that person has been subject

to a registration or reporting requirement for less than 365 days, or a person engaged in

the person's first election cycle;

(2) atechnical error at the commission, including a communication, facsimile

machine, computer program, electronic filing system, or other equipment problem may have

contributed to the late or incomplete filing;

(3) any unreported or mistakenly reported information had a value of $100 or
less; or

(4) any unreported or mistakenly reported information had a value higher than
$100 but no more than $1,000, and a factor listed in (b) of this section also applies.

(b) A civil penalty determined under [SET OUT IN] 2 AAC 50.855 may be reduced by

a percentage greater than 50 percent, or waived entirely based on the following factors:
(1) the person required to file, or a family member of the person required to file,

experienced a personal emergency, including a call for military service, a natural disaster, a civil

6



Register @,M 2017 ADMINISTRATION
disturbance, or an incapacitating illness that prevented the person from filing on or before the
due date; this mitigating factor is only available to a natural person;
(2) asignificant cause of the late filing is commission staff error, including
(A) furnishing reporting materials too late for filing on or before the due
date;
(B) giving incorrect oral or written information to a person required to
submit a statement or other filing; or
(C) failing to deliver required notices when due; [OR
(D) CONFIRMED TECHNICAL PROBLEMS WITH OPERATION OF
COMMISSION EQUIPMENT, INCLUDING THE ELECTRONIC FILING
PROGRAM;]
(3) [A MUNICIPAL CLERK OR THE CLERK'S DESIGNEE FAILED TO
NOTIFY A MUNICIPAL OFFICIAL, AS PROVIDED IN 2 AAC 50.850(f), THAT THE
MUNICIPAL OFFICIAL'S FILING IS DELINQUENT OR INCOMPLETE,;
(4)] alate or erroneous report included only administrative costs [IN A GROUP
REPORT];
(4) [(5)] alate or incomplete report did not cause significant harm to the public,
and aggravating factors under (d) of this section do not exist; for purposes of this paragraph, a
late or incomplete report did not cause significant harm to the public if
(A) the dollar amount missing from a form or disclosure is $100 or less;
(B) the dollar amount for the information missing from a form or

disclosure is more than $100 but no more than $1,000, and the person required to file

7
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[FILER] self-reported the error; for purposes of this subparagraph, the error is self-

reported if the person notified the staff of the error, but filing the late or missing

information without notifying the staff does not constitute self-reporting: or

(C) the missing or incomplete information is readily available to the

public through another forum;
(5) [(6)] the civil penalty assessment is significantly out of proportion to the

degree of harm to the public for not having the information; for purposes of this paragraph,

absent the presence of aggravating factors in (d) of this section, an assessed penalty is

significantly out of proportion if it exceeds the value of the transactions that were not

reported or were reported late, or, in the case of seven-day or 24-hour reports, exceeds

twice the value of the transactions that were not reported or were reported late; or

(6) [(7)] aunique circumstance justifies reducing or waiving the penalty.
(¢) The commission will not accept any of the following as mitigating factors to reduce

the amount of a penalty:

(1) relying on another person or mailroom to mail, postmark, or submit the
statement on or before a due date;

(2) forgetting to file;

(3) being a volunteer;

(4) having no change in reportable information from previous filed statements;

(5) relying on the responsible person's staff to remind the person of the filing

deadline or to complete or file the report;

(6) being too busy to file;



Register 220 , Janu 2017 ADMINISTRATION

(7) [EXPERIENCING STAFF TURNOVER, UNLESS THE TURNOVER
CREATED TURMOIL SERIOUS ENOUGH TO JUSTIFY A FINDING OF UNIQUE
CIRCUMSTANCES;

(8)] absence caused by travel, unless the travel was unplanned or unavoidable,
including travel for a personal emergency, or weather-related travel problems.

(d) A civil penalty determined under 2 AAC 50.855 may be increased to the maximum
amount allowed under the applicable statute if a person required to file a statement or other filing
has

(1) failed to substantially comply with financial disclosure requirements by
omitting a significant source of income, interest in real property, business interest, loan, trust, or
other substantial financial interest; in this paragraph, "substantial financial interest" means an
interest with a value greater than $1,000; or

(2) apoor reporting history; indicators of a poor reporting history include any of
the following:

(A) more than one late filing in the immediately preceding five years;
(B) evidence suggesting deliberate non-reporting;
(C) failure to cooperate with the staff;

(D) a violation of any provision of AS 15.13. AS 24.45. AS 24.60.200 -

24.60.260, AS 39.50, or this chapter in the preceding five vears. (Eff. 12/22/2011,

Register 200; am 12 / 2/ / 20(6, Register 220)
Authority: AS 15.13.030 AS 24.45.141 AS 39.50.050
AS 15.13.390 AS 24.60.220 AS 39.50.135

9
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AS 24.45.021 AS 24.60.240

10



MEMORANDUM

To:  Hon. Byron Mallott
Lieutenant Governor

!1 ,‘ »"") -

—_— ! -

X\ ( I~
From: Steven C. Weaver .~ \L-..h_.og, r Re:

Sr. Assistant Attorney General
and Assistant Regulations Attorney
Legislation and Regulations Section

State of Alaska

Department of Law

November 18, 2016
JU2015200944
465-3600

Alaska Public Offices Commission
regulations update re: mitigation
factors and penalty assessment
procedures (2 AAC 50.855(b); 2 AAC
860(b); 2 AAC 50.865)

We have reviewed the attached regulations from the Alaska Public Offices Commission
against the statutory standards of the Administrative Procedure Act. I have reviewed this project
under a specific delegation dated November 17, 2016 from the Regulations Attorney. The
regulations update mitigation factors and penalty assessment procedures regarding various late or

erroneous documents.

We find no legal problems. This memorandum constitutes the written statement of
approval under AS 44.62.060(b) and (c) that authorizes your office to file the attached

regulations.

The December 6, 2015 public notice and the November 15, 2016 certification of adoption
order both state that this action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. Therefore, a

fiscal note under AS 44.62.195 is not required.

SCW
cc w/enc: (via email)

Heather R. Hebdon, Interim Executive Director
Alaska Public Offices Commission

Megan Collie, Regulations Contact
Department of Administration

Mary Lynn Macsalka, Assistant Attorney General
Labor and State Affairs Section



MEMORANDUM State of Alaska

Department of Law
T0: Hon. Byron Mallott pATE: November 17,2016
Lieutenant Governor

FILENO.: JU2015200944

TELEPHONE NO.: 465-3600

FROM: Susan R. Poliar@W? suBJecT: Specific delegation of authority
Chief Assistant Aftorney General regarding regulations review on
& Regulations Attorney Alaska Public Offices
Legislation/Regulations Section—Juneau Commission regulations re:

mitigation factors and penalty
assessment procedures (2 AAC
50.855(b); 2 AAC 50.860(b);
2 AAC 50.865)

By this memorandum, [ am delegating my authority as Regulations Attorney
under AS 44.62 to Assistant Attorney General Steven C. Weaver for the above-referenced
regulations project. Under this delegation of authority, Steven Weaver has my full authority
under AS 44.62 to conduct the legal review under AS 44.62 and take necessary actions on this
regulations project.

If you have questions, please let me know.

SCW

cc w/enc: Scott C. Meriwether, AAC Coordinator
Office of the Lieutenant Governor

Steven C. Weaver
Sr. Assistant Attorney General & Assistant Regulations Attorney
Legislation/Regulations Section



AFFIDAVIT OF COMMISSION ACTION

I, Heather R. Hebdon, Interim Executive Director for the Alaska Public Offices Commission,
being duly sworn, state the following:

The attached motion dealing with mitigating factors and penalty assessment was passed by the
Alaska Public Offices Commission during its October 25, 2016, meeting.

Date: ’Y‘\DU—UVg,L-,o}‘ \6', 20IL

Lot iR e

Heather R. Hebdon, Interim Executive Director

Subscribed and sworn to before me at Anchorage, Alaska, on NO\’ P

15, 2.0 |

Nota‘fjl’!ublic in and Yor the State of Alaska

Wiy,
S MARl, ;///,

16\\\\\

*

W
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Alaska Public Offices Commission Meeting
October 25, 2016
Excerpt from Unapproved Minutes

Commission member Ronald King moved and Commission member Irene Catalone seconded
the following motion:
“I move to readopt the regulations revisions as proposed.”

The motion carried unanimously.



STATE OF ALASKA )

3" JUDICIAL DISTRICT )

AFFIDAVIT OF NOTICE OF PROPOSED REGULATION
AND FURNISHING OF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

I, Paul Dauphinais, Executive Director, of the Alaska Public Offices Commission, being sworn,
state the following:

As required by AS 44.62.190, notice of the proposed adoption of changes to 2 AAC 50.855 -
.865has been given by being

(1) published in a newspaper or trade publication;

(2) furnished to interested persons;

(3) furnished to appropriate state officials;

(4) furnished to the Department of Law, along with a copy of the proposed regulation;

(5) furnished electronically to incumbent State of Alaska legislators;

(6) furnished to the Legislative Affairs Agency, Division of Legal and Research
Services,

(7) posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System as required by
AS 44.62.175(a)(1) and (b) and 44.62.190(a)(1);

(8) furnished electronically, along with a copy of the proposed regulation, to the
Legislative Affairs Agency, the chair of the State Affairs Committee of the Alaska
Senate and House of Representatives, the Administrative Regulation Review
Committee, and the legislative council.

As required by AS 44.62.190, additional regulation notice information regarding the proposed
adoption of the regulation changes described above has been furnished to interested persons and
those in (5) and (6) of the list above. The additional regulation notice information also has been
posted on the Alaska Online Public Notice System.

Date: (\/\,Cl Vch { i }O[L{’ Anchorage, Ala / W

Paul Dauphina‘ié, Ex&@% Director

Alaska Public Offices Commission

Subscribed and sworn to before me at

Mavih 1,20

Bl lhe $tate of Alaska
[NOTARY SEAL] My . T e Coonn,

Z.
Z
’é %L/——-—-
=
"h

’/// BEFE®_ W\
’”Ilullll\\\\\\



NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES ON MITIGATION CRITERIA AND PENALTY
ASSESSMENT PROCEDURES IN THE REGULATIONS OF
THE ALASKA PUBLIC OFFICES COMMISSION

The Alaska Public Offices Commission proposes to adopt regulation changes in Title 2, chapter
50, of the Alaska Administrative Code, dealing with mitigation criteria and penalty assessment
procedures, including the following:

Article 4 of chapter 50 of Title 2 of the Alaska Administrative Code is proposed to be
changed as follows: Organization the language of three sections in this article are revised
to make the regulations easier to understand and execute. Substantive changes proposed
include:

2 AAC 50.855: Penalty assessment procedures for waiving penalties are defined for
specific statutes, AS 39.50 and AS 24.60, AS 15.13, so that all filers have the opportunity
for waiving or reducing penalties; also defines limits to some penalties.

2 AAC 50.860: The revision provides that the assessment of certain penalties will not be
heard by the Commission.

2 AAC 50.865: The revision expands the definition of an inexperienced filer, takes into
account new technical issues, defines self-reporting, and sets limits on the level of
penalties to be considered out of proportion to the alleged violation.

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private
persons of complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Maria
Bulfa at Alaska Public Offices Commission, 2221 E. Northern Lights, Suite 128, Anchorage, AK
99508. Additionally, the Alaska Public Offices Commission will accept comments by facsimile
at 907-276-7018 and by electronic mail at doa.apoc.regs@alaska.gov. The comments must be
received not later than 5:00 p.m. on January 29, 2016.

Oral comments may be submitted at a hearing to be held on February 11, 2016, at Suite 128,
Conference Room, 2221 E. Northern Lights, Anchorage, AK 99508. The hearing will be held
from 9:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. and might be extended to accommodate those present before 10:15
a.m. who did not have an opportunity to comment.

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Maria Bulfa at (907) 276-
4176, or maria.bulfa@alaska.gov, at Alaska Public Offices Commission. The questions must be
received at least 10 days before the end of the public comment period. The Alaska Public
Offices Commission will aggregate its response to substantially similar questions and make the
questions and responses available on its website at http://doa.alaska.gov/apoc/.

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in
this process, please contact Maria Bulfa at (907) 276-4176, or maria.bulfa@alaska.gov, not later than
January 20, 2016, to ensure that any necessary accommodation can be provided.




AFFIDAVIT OF ORAL HEARING

[, Kenneth Kirk, Chair of the Alaska Public Offices Commission, being sworn, state the
following:

On February 11, at 9:00 a.m. until 10:30 a.m., in Room 128, 2221 E. Northern Lights Blvd.,
Anchorage, Alaska, I presided over a public hearing held under AS 44.62.210 for the purpose of
taking testimony in connection with the adoption of changes to 2 AAC 50.855 .865 relating to

mitigation criteria and penalty assessment procedures.

Kenneth I(u(( Chair
Alaska Public Offices Commission

Date: 1- 22 - ¢

Subscribed and sworn to before me at Anchova ﬁ;yﬁ , AleSk _a_ on
Feb. 20 1w : .

g, PRE
S Bu (e

4’/]/4 Notary Pubti¢/Tn and for th¢ State of Alaska
\. 2
o

w,

=S+
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Z S My commission expires; C e Oinisgw—
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES ON MITIGATION CRITERIA AND PENALTY
ASSESSMENT PROCEDURES IN THE REGULATIONS OF
THE ALASKA PUBLIC OFFICES COMMISSION

The Alaska Public Offices Commission proposes to adopt regulation changes in Title 2, chapter
50, of the Alaska Administrative Code, dealing with mitigation criteria and penalty assessment
procedures, including the following:

Article 4 of chapter 50 of Title 2 of the Alaska Administrative Code is proposed to be
changed as follows: Organization the language of three sections in this article are revised
to make the regulations easier to understand and execute. Substantive changes proposed
include:

2 AAC 50.855: Penalty assessment procedures for waiving penalties are defined for
specific statutes, AS 39.50 and AS 24.60, AS 15.13, so that all filers have the opportunity
for waiving or reducing penalties; also defines limits to some penalties.

2 AAC 50.860: The revision provides that the assessment of certain penalties will not be
heard by the Commission.

2 AAC 50.865: The revision expands the definition of an inexperienced filer, takes into
account new technical issues, defines self-reporting, and sets limits on the level of
penalties to be considered out of proportion to the alleged violation.

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private
persons of complying with the proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Maria
Bulfa at Alaska Public Offices Commission, 2221 E. Northern Lights, Suite 128, Anchorage, AK
99508. Additionally, the Alaska Public Offices Commission will accept comments by facsimile
at 907-276-7018 and by electronic mail at doa.apoc.regs@alaska.gov. The comments must be
received not later than 5:00 p.m. on January 29, 2016.

Oral comments may be submitted at a hearing to be held on February 11, 2016, at Suite 128,
Conference Room, 2221 E. Northern Lights, Anchorage, AK 99508. The hearing will be held
from 9:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. and might be extended to accommodate those present before 10:15
a.m. who did not have an opportunity to comment.

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Maria Bulfa at (907) 276-
4176, or maria.bulfa@alaska.gov, at Alaska Public Offices Commission. The questions must be
received at least 10 days before the end of the public comment period. The Alaska Public
Offices Commission will aggregate its response to substantially similar questions and make the
questions and responses available on its website at http://doa.alaska.gov/apoc/.

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in
this process, please contact Maria Bulfa at (907) 276-4176, or maria.bulfa@alaska.gov, not later than
January 20, 2016, to ensure that any necessary accommodation can be provided.




A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice
System and by contacting Maria Bulfa at (907) 276-4176, or maria.bulfa@alaska.gov.

After the public comment period ends, the Alaska Public Offices Commission will either adopt
the proposed regulation changes or other provisions dealing with the same subject, without
further notice, or decide to take no action. The language of the final regulation may be different
from that of the proposed regulation. You should comment during the time allowed if your
interests could be affected.

Statutory Authority: AS 15.13.030; AS 24.45.021; AS 24.60.220; AS 39.50.050

Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 15.13; AS 24.45; AS 24.60.200-AS
24.60.260; AS 39.50.

Fiscal information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased
appropriation.

Date: ////5” /(

MQ 52 o

Pau‘r’Daup\hinai{ Executive Director

—=
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ADDITIONAL REGULATION NOTICE INFORMATION
(AS 44.62.190(d))’

Adopting agency:__Alaska Public Offices Commission

General subject of regulation: Penalty Assessment, Disputing Penalty, Mitigating Factors
Citation of regulation (may be grouped):_ 2AAC 50.855. .860, .865

Department of Law file number, if any:_ JU201520094

Reason for the proposed action:

vavv

(
(
(
(
(

Compliance with federal law or action (identify):
Compliance with new or changed state statute
Compliance with federal or state court decision (identify):
Development of program standards

) Other (identify): Standardizes procedures and is responsive to Legislative Audit

findings.

Appropriation/Allocation: Department of Administration/Alaska Public Offices
Commission

Estimated annual cost to comply with the proposed action to:

A private person:_ 0
Another state agency:_0
A municipality:_ 0

Cost of implementation to the state agency and available funding (in thousands of
dollars):

Initial Year  Subsequent

FY, 1% Years

Operating Cost $. 0 $_0
Capital Cost $ 0 $0
1002 Federal receipts $ $
1003 General fund match ~ $ $
1004 General fund $ $
1005 General fund/

program $ $

Other (identify) $ $




10.

11.

The name of the contact person for the regulation:

Name:_Maria Bulfa

Title:_Law Office Assistant II

Address:_2221 E. Northern Lights Blvd. Anchorage. AK 99508
Telephone:_907-276-4176

E-mail address:_maria.bulfa@alaska.gov

The origin of the proposed action:

X Staff of state agency
Federal government
General public
Petition for regulation change
Other (identify):

i

Date: 11-19-15 Prepared by: /(AC Sté

sngmtuxe]
Name (printed): Paul Dauphinais
Title (printed): Executive Director
Telephone: 907-276-4176
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STATE OF ALASKA
THIRD JUDICIAL DISTRICT

Emma Dunlap

being first duly sworn on oath deposes and
says that he/she is a representative of the
Alaska Dispatch News, a daily newspaper.
That said newspaper has been approved
by the Third Judicial Court, Anchorage,
Alaska, and it now and has been published
in the English language continually as a
daily newspaper in Anchorage, Alaska, and
it is now and during all said time was
printed in an office maintained at the
aforesaid place of publication of said
newspaper. That the annexed is a copy of
an advertisement as it was published in
regular issues (and not in supplemental
form) of said newspaper on

December 06, 2015

and that such newspaper was regularly
distributed to its subscribers during all of
said period. That the full amount of the fee
charged for the foregoing publication is not
in excess of the rate charged private
individuals.

Signed

Subscribed and sworn to before me
this 9th day of December, 2015

Notary Pubti
The State of Alaska.
Third Division
Anchorage, Alaska
MY COMMISSION

2]33) 3019

Notary publie

BRITNEY L THOMPSON
State of Alagka

sion Expires Feb 23, 2019

My Commis

NOTICE OF PROPOSED CHANGES ON MITIGATION CRITERIA
AND PENALTY ASSESSMENT PROCEDURES IN THE
REGULATIONS OF
THE ALASKA PUBLIC OFFICES COMMISSION

The Alaska Public Offices Commission proposes to adopt regulation
changes in Title 2, chapter 50, of the Alaska Administrative Code,
dealing with mitigation criteria and penalty assessment procedures,
including the following:

Article 4 of chapter 50 of Title 2 of the Alaska Administrative Code is
proposed to be chan?ed as follows: Organization the language of three
sections in this article are revised to make the regulations easier to
understand and execute. Substantive changes proposed include:

2 AAC 50.855: Penalty assessment procedures for waMRg penalties
are defined for specific statutes, AS 39.50 and AS 24.60, AS 15.13, SO
that all filers have the opportunity for waiving or reducing penaities;
also defines limits to some penalties.

2 AAC 50.860: The revision provides that the assessment of certain
penalties will not be heard by the Commission.

2 AAC 50.865: The revision expands the definition of an inexperienced
filer, takes into account new technical Issues, defines self-reporting,
and sets limits on the level of penalties to be considered out 0
proportion to the alleged violation.

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the
potential costs to rlvatwersons of complying with the progosed
changes, by submi inF tten comments to Maria Bulfa at Alaska
Public Offices Commission, 2221 E. Northern Lights, Suite 128,
Anchorage, AK  99508. Additionally, the Alaska Public Offices
Ccommission will accept comments by facsimile at 907-276-7018 and by
electronic mail at doa.apoc.regs@alaska.gov. The comments must be
received not later than 5:00 p.m. on January 29, 2016.

Oral comments may be submitted at a hearing to be held on February
11, 2016, at Suite 128, Conference Room, 2221 E, Northern Lights,
Anchorage, AK 99508. The hearing will be held from 9:00 a.m. to 10:30
am, an n‘:jfht be extended to accommodate those present before
10:15 a.m. who did not have an opportunity to comment.

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to
Maria Bulfa at (907) 276-4176, or maria.bulfa@alaska.gov, at Alaska
Public Offices Commission. The questions must be received at least 10
d?xs before the end of the public comment period. The Alaska Public
Offices Commission will aggregate its response to substantially similar
questions and make the questions and responses available on its
website at http://doa.alaska.gov/apoc/.

If you are a person with a disability who needs a special
accommodation in order to g)articipate in this process, please contact
Maria Bulfa at (907) 276-4176, or maria.bulfa@alaska.gov, not later than
Januladr(;ald 20, 2016, to ensure that any necessary accornmodation can be
provided.

A copy of the proposed regulation changes Is available on the Alaska
Online Public Notice System and by contacting Maria Bulfa at (907) 276-
4176, or maria.bulfa@alaska.gov.

After the public comment period ends, the Alaska Public Offices
Commission will either adopt the proposed regulation changes or other
provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or
decide to take no action. The language of the final regulation may be
different from that of the proposed regulation. You should comment
during the time allowed if your interests could be affected.

Statutory Authority: AS 15.13.030; AS 24.45.021; AS 24.60.220; AS
39.50.050

Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 15.13;
AS 24.45; AS 24.60.200-AS 24.60.260; AS 39.50.

Fiscal information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected
to require an increased appropriation.

Date: 11/19/15

Paul Dauphinais, Executive Director

Published: December 6, 2015
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~ The Alaska Public Offices Commission proposes to adopt regulation changes in Title 2, chapter 50, of the Alaska Administrative
Code, dealing with mitigation criteria and penalty assessment procedures, including the following:

Article 4 of chapter 50 of Title 2 of the Alaska Administrative Code is proposed to be changed as follows:
The language of three sections in this article are revised to make the regulations easier to understand and execute.
Substantive changes proposed include:

2 AAC 50.855: Penalty assessment procedures for waiving penalties are defined for specific statutes, AS 39.50 and
AS 24.60, AS 15.13, so that all filers have the opportunity for waiving or reducing penalties; also defines limits to
some penalties:

2 AAC 50.860: The revision provides that the assessment of certain penalties will not be heard by the Commission.

2 AAC 50.865: The revision expands the deﬁmtlon of an inexperienced filer, takes into account new technical
issues, defines self-reporting, and sets limits on the level of penalties to be considered out of proportion to the alleged
violation.

You may comment on the proposed regulation changes, including the potential costs to private persons of complying with the
proposed changes, by submitting written comments to Maria Bulfa at Alaska Public Offices Commission, 2221 E. Northern
Lights, Suite 128, Anchorage, AK 99508. Additionally, the Alaska Public Offices Commission will accept comments by
facsimile at 907-276-7018 and by electronic mail at doa.apoc.regs@alaska.gov. The comments must be received not later
than 5:00 p.m. on January 29, 2016.

Oral comments may be submitted at a hearing to be held on February 12, 2016, at Suite 128, Conference Room, 2221 E.
Northern Lights, Anchorage, AK 99508. The hearing will be held from 9:00 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. and might be extended to
accommodate those present before 10:15 a.m. who did not have an opportunity to comment.

You may submit written questions relevant to the proposed action to Maria Bulfa at (907) 276-4176, or maria.bulfa@alaska.
gov, at Alaska Public Offices Commission. The questions must be received at least 10 days before the end of the public
comment period. The Alaska Public Offices Commission will aggregate its response to substantially similar questions and
make the questions and responses available on its website at hitp://doa.alaska.gov/apoc/.

Ifyou are a person with a disability who needs a special accommodation in order to participate in this process, please contact
Maria Bulfa at (907) 276-4176, or maria.bulfa@alaska.gov, not later than January 20, 2016, to ensure that any necessary
accommodation can be provided. .

A copy of the proposed regulation changes is available on the Alaska Online Public Notice System and by contacting Maria
Bulfa at (907) 276-4176, or maria.bulfa@alaska.gov. :

After the public comment period ends, the Alaska Public Offices Commission will either adopt the proposed regulation
changes or other provisions dealing with the same subject, without further notice, or decide to take no action. The language
of the final regulation may be different from that of the proposed regulation. You should comment during the time allowed
if your interests could be affected.

Statutory Authority: AS 15.13.030; AS 24.45.021; AS 24.60.220; AS 39.50.050

Statutes Being Implemented, Interpreted, or Made Specific: AS 15.13; AS 24.45; AS 24.60.200-AS 24.60.260; AS
39.50.

Fiscal information: The proposed regulation changes are not expected to require an increased appropriation.

Date:

Paul Pauphinais, Executive Director. . .
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STATE OF ALASKA, )
) SS:
Gateway Borough )

Kathy Williams, being duly sworn says:
That she is a representative of the
Ketchikan Daily News, a daily newspaper
published at Ketchikan, in said Borough
and State, and that the publication of
which the annexed is a printed and true
copy, was published in said newspaper at
least once per week for one week,
commencing on the 28th day of
November 2015 and ending on the 28th
day of November, 2015.

Nz
Subscribed a%d:vavorn to before me this
52?3\1%\ , day of

\{\ 0 uom\h@\ . 2015

S &

'| - i
k@wu W00 rma
Notary Public for Alaska - c
My Commission Expires (RPN l

S

Official §aal
Tena Williams

Notary Public - State of Alaska
My Comm. Expirés
January 12, 2019

NOTICE QOF PROPOSED
CHANGES ON
MITIGATION CRITERIA
AND PENALTY
ASSESSMENT
PROCEDURES IN THE
REGULATIONS OF
THE ALASKA PUBLIC
OFFICES COMMISSION
The Alaska Public Offices
Commission proposes to
adopt regulatmn changes
in Title 2, chapter 50, of
the Alaska Administrative
Code, dealing with miti-
gation criteria and penalty
assessment  procedures,
including the following:
Article 4 of chapter 50 of
Title 2 of the Alaska Ad-
ministrative Code is pro-
osed to be changed as
ollows: Organization the
language of three sections
in this article are revised
to make the regulations
easier to understand and
execute. Substantive
changes proposed in-
clude:
2 AAC 50.855: Penalty
assessment  procedures
for waiving penalties are
defined for specific stat-
utes, AS 39.50 and AS
24.60, AS 15.13, so that
all filers have the oppor-
tunity for waiving or re-
ducing penalties; also de-
fines limits to some penal-
ties.
2 AAC 50.860: The revi-
sion provides that the as-
sessment of certain penal-
ties will not be heard by
the Commission.
2 AAC 50.865: The revi-
sion expands the defini-
tion of an inexperienced
filer, takes into account
new technical issues, de-
fines self-reporting, and
sets limits on the level of
penalties to be considered
out of proportion to the
alleged violation.
You may comment on the
proposed regulation
changes, including the po-
tential costs lo private

persons of complying
with the proposed
changes, by submitting

writ?en

comm . tg

ference Room, 2221 E.
Northern Lights, Anchor-
age, AK 99508. The hear-
ing will be held from 9:00
am. to 10:30 am, and
might be extended to ac-
commodate those present
before 10:15 a.m. who did
not have an opportunity
to comment. 1
You may submit written
questions relevant to the
roposed action to Maria
ulfa at (907) 276-4176,
or
mgrig.bu!ﬁg@glagl_cg.?gv,
at Alaska Public Offices
Commission. The ques-
tions must be received at
least 10 days before the
end of the public com-
ment period. The Alaska
Public Offices Commis-
sion will aggregate its re-
sponse to substantiall
similar questions an
make the questions and
responses available on its
website i at
: 0

If you are a person with a
disability who needs a
special accommodation in
order to participate in this

rocess, please contact
aria Bulfa at (907)

276-4176, or
ria.b

not later than January
20, 2016, to ensure that
any necessary accommo-
dation can be provided.

A copy of the proposed
regulation changes 1S
available on the Alaska
Online Public Notice Sys-
tem and by contacting
Maria Bulfa at (907)
2.‘76-14176, ‘ or

After the public comment
period ends, the Alaslfa
pubne Offices Commis-
sion will either adopt the
proposed regulation
changes or other provi:
sions dealing with the
same subject, without fur-
ther notice, or decide to
take no action. The lan-
guage nf the final womel=,
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