

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development

DIVISION OF CORPORATIONS, BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING

P.O. Box 110806 Juneau, AK 99811-0806 Main: 907.465.2550 Fax: 907.465.2974

October 31, 2016

Dear licensees and interested parties:

Alaska's professional licensing statutes (AS 08.01.065) require the Division of Corporations, Business and Professional Licensing (CBPL) to "annually review each fee level to determine whether the regulatory costs of each occupation are approximately equal to fee collections related to that occupation." Alaska's licensing fee statutes go on to say, "If the review indicates that an occupation's fee collections and regulatory costs are not approximately equal, the department shall calculate fee adjustments and adopt regulations...to implement the adjustments."

The Division has conducted a thorough fee analysis and has determined that fee increases are necessary to comply with the statute listed above: to prevent the program from going into a deficit position and to continue to deliver the current level of service of the dental licensing program. Program expenses have slowly been depleting its surplus for several years, and the program will be very close to deficit by the end of this fiscal year. Although fees were increased in FY2015, they were not set high enough to stem the program's depleting surplus. Barring any unforeseen circumstances, this increase will stabilize the program and prevent the need for an even larger increase later.

The Board of Dental Examiners reviewed the fee analysis at its September 23, 2016, meeting and unanimously agreed with the changes proposed by the Division. The proposed fee amounts are enclosed and can also be found on the Board's web page at https://www.commerce.alaska.gov/web/cbpl/ProfessionalLicensing/BoardofDentalExaminers.aspx.

This fee proposal is entering a public comment period. The Division encourages all licensees and interested parties to comment on this proposal through the Division's Paralegal, whose contact information is enclosed on the public notice. After the comment period closes and the Division reviews all comments received, the Division may adopt the regulation as drafted, may amend a proposed fee, or may withdraw the regulations in part or in its whole.

All comments received will be reviewed and taken into consideration prior to adopting the final regulations. The final decision will result in the fee to be implemented during next spring's license renewal.

Follow the instructions enclosed to make written comments during the public comment period. Comments must be addressed to Marilyn Zimmerman, Paralegal, PO Box 110806, Juneau, AK 99811, or RegulationsAndPublicComment@alaska.gov.

Sincerely,

Janey Hovenden

Director

Encl.

Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions.

(Words in **boldface and underlined** indicate language being added; words [CAPITALIZED AND BRACKETED] indicate language being deleted.)

12 AAC 02.190 is amended to read:

12 AAC 02.190. Board of Dental Examiners. (a) The following fees for dental

hygienists are established:

- (1) nonrefundable application fee for
 - (A) initial license, \$100;
 - (B) courtesy license, \$50;
 - (C) initial restorative function endorsement, \$100 [\$60];
 - (D) local anesthetic permit, **\$100** [\$60];
- (2) repealed 12/13/2014;
- (3) license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, **\$200** [\$150];
- (4) biennial license renewal fee, **\$200** [\$150];
- (5) local anesthetic permit, **\$100** [\$60];
- (6) credential review fee, \$110;
- (7) local anesthetic permit renewal fee, \$100 [\$60];
- (8) courtesy license fee, \$50;
- (9) restorative function endorsement fee, for all or part of the initial endorsement period, \$60;
 - (10) restorative function endorsement renewal fee, \$60.
 - (b) The following fees for dentists are established:
 - (1) nonrefundable application fee for

Register____,___2017 **PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS**

	(A) initial license by examination, \$600;
	(B) repealed 12/13/2014;
	(C) courtesy license, \$50;
	(D) repealed 12/13/2014;
	(E) parenteral sedation or general anesthetic permit, \$100;
	(2) nonrefundable application and review fee for license by credentials, \$1,000;
	(3) repealed 12/13/2014;
	(4) license fee for all or part of the initial biennial license period, \$450 [\$350];
	(5) repealed 12/13/2014;
	(6) biennial license renewal fee, <u>\$450</u> [\$350];
	(7) repealed 12/13/2014;
	(8) repealed 12/13/2014;
	(9) parenteral sedation permit fee for all or part of the initial biennial permit
period, \$1,00	0;
	(10) biennial parenteral sedation permit renewal fee, §350 [\$250];
	(11) repealed 12/13/2014;
	(12) general anesthetic permit fee for all or part of the initial biennial permit period,
\$1,000;	
	(13) biennial general anesthetic permit renewal fee, \$350 [\$250];
	(14) courtesy license fee, \$50.
(c) Th	e following fees are established for submission of dental and dental hygiene continuing
education cou	urses for approval under 12 AAC 28.410:

(1) initial continuing education course submittal fee, **§50** [\$40];

Register____,___2017 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS

(2) continuing education course resubmittal fee, \$50 [\$30]. (Eff. 11/20/86, Register 100; am 10/1/88, Register 107; am 2/18/93, Register 125; am 5/28/93, Register 126; am 10/29/94, Register 132; am 11/15/96, Register 140; am 4/19/97, Register 142; am 11/24/2000, Register 156; am 6/21/2001, Register 158; am 4/10/2003, Register 166; am 12/24/2006, Register 180; am 12/27/2007, Register 184; am 12/12/2008, Register 188; am 4/17/2011, Register 198; am 12/13/2014, Register 212; am ___/___, Register ____)

Authority: AS 08.01.065 AS 08.32.070 AS 08.32.081

AS 08.01.100 AS 08.32.071 AS 08.36.250

AS 08.32.030