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ORDER CERTIFYING THE CHANGES TO 
REGULATIONS OF THE BOARD OF MARINE PILOTS 

The attached four pages of regulations, dealing with general requirements for 
marine pilot license, availability of pilots, duties of pilots, and definitions, are 
hereby certified to be a correct copy of the regulation change that the Board of 
Marine Pilots adopted at its May 17, 2016 teleconference meeting, under the 
authority of AS 08.62.040, AS 08.62.100, AS 08.62.160, and AS 08.62.190 and after 
compliance with the Administrative Procedure Act (AS 44.62), specifically including 
notice under AS 44.62.190 and 44.62.200 and opportunity for public comment under 
AS 44.62.210. 

This action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. 

On the record, in considering public comments, the Board of Marine Pilots paid 
special attention to the cost to private persons of the regulatory action being taken. 

The regulation changes described in this order take effect on the 30th day after they 
have been filed by the lieutenant governor, as provided in AS 44.62.180. 

DATE: J~~lf 

FILING CERTIFICATION 

I, Lieutenant Governor for the State of Alaska, certify that 

on \. , 2016 at ~;~ .m., I filed the attached 

regulations according to the provisions of AS 44.62.040 - 44.62.1 

Effective: Oc..fober 9 J .J.-o rh . 

Register: 12-0 
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ti> 
Chapter 56. Board of Marine Pilots. 

12 AAC 56.029(2) is amended to read: ~ 
(2) show that the applicant has held a valid deputy marine pilot license in ~ask~ 

/i CJ;,4 

for a minimum of three [CALENDAR] years while remaining eligible for license renewal during 

this period of service without use of the familiarization trips under AS 08.62.120; 

(Eff. 11/1/93, Register 128; am 5/29/96, Register 138; am 3/21/99, Register 149; am 10/24/2002, 

Register 164; am 10/25/2002, Register 164; am 9/12/2006, Register 179; am 5/26/2007, Register 

182· am l/29/2009, Register 189· am~ j _ j).l>(b Register ~20 ) 

Authority: AS 08.62.040 AS 08.62.100 

12 AAC 56.205(b) is repealed and readopted to read: 

(b) Except as provided in ( d) of this section, 

( 1) in Akutan of the W estem Alaska Region, an agent, owner, or master of a 

vessel shall inform the appropriate pilot organization of a vessel movement at least 48 hours 

before the movement in order to provide sufficient time for a pilot to arrive at the vessel by the 
(tl~JJ) 

available means of trans ortationf 1 pilot will be considered unavailable for service only if the 
und.iu- "; ~~a.~r~~ 

48-hour notice required this subs~~ is given and a pilot does not show up at the vessel to 
~(~c:~~JJ) 

render servicer If the agent, owner, or master of a vessel requests a pilot, and the pilot attempts 
/~ 

> 

to reach the vessel but cannot do so within 48 hours due to factors beyond the pilot's control, and 

the vessel then leaves without the pilot, the vessel or the vessel's owner may be charged for the 
((( ... flC)"(.1.>(~ .. C..A.4e. )./.) 

actual expenses incurred by the pilot in attempting to reach the vesse~.Tf the 48-hour notice is 

~ fw''",~J'-""f>I" -> 

not given as requi recTlY this and a pilot is not able to reach the vessel to render pilot 

~9162GQ264 (Adep.ted 5,ll '71+6-~ 1 
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services, the vessel or the vessel's owner may be charged for the transportation costs incurred by 

the pilot in attempting to reach the vessel and the pilotage charge and all other charges that would 

have been incurred had the pilot reached the vessel and provided pilotage services; 

(2 in the Pribilof Islands, Port Clarence, and the Kuskokwim Bay Region of the 

ind:_.. d..in ;, B.?.+h.ii.IJ 
Western A aska Region, an agent, owner, or master of a vessel shall inform the appropriate pilot 

organization of a vessel movement at least 96 hours before the movement in order to provide 
~( .fl.uw.vv.--.. ~))) 

sufficient time for a pilot to arrive at the vessel by the available means of transportationJ A pilot 
Ul\<:-.\v _; {_.:?'-~~-A.-'.J-«-~-r h-.l) 

will be considered unavailable for service only if the 96-hour notice required this s1.1bseetia\ is 
f Jlutv<..A..A-.. -:vu.. }J) 

given and a pilot does not show up at the vessel to render servic~ If the agent, owner, or master 

of a vessel requests a pilot, and the pilot attempts to reach the vessel but cannot do so within 96 

hours due to factors beyond the pilot's control, and the vessel then leaves without the pilot, the 

vessel or the vessel's owner may be charged for the actual expenses incurred by the pilot in 

{~~Ji ~ c:CV°tl~~ 
attempting to reach the vessea, If the 96-hour notice is not given as reqmred by this 1iliS~ . 

and a pilot is not able to reach the vessel to render pilot services, the vessel or the vessel's owner 

may be charged for the transportation costs incurred by the pilot in attempting to reach the vessel 

and the pilotage charge and all other charges that would have been incurred had the pilot reached 

~ 
the vessel and provided pilotage services; r 

(3) in all other locations of the Western Alaska Region, an agent, owner, or 

master of a vessel shall inform the appropriate pilot organization of a vessel movement at least 

72 hours before the movement in order to provide sufficient time for a pilot to arrive at the vessel 
C((.~ JJJ 

by the available means of transpo1tationt ~ pilot will be considered unavailable for service only 
~ ~; y<>.r~(L\.~h 

if the 72-hour notice required ~ this is given and a pilot does not show up at the 
(({ ~~.A..t. )J) 

vessel to render servic~ {f the agent, owner, or master of a vessel requests a pilot, and the pilot 
..) 
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attempts to reach the vessel but cannot do so within 72 hours due to factors beyond the pilot's 

control, and the vessel then leaves without the pilot, the vessel or the vessel's owner may be 
fli.. h.v~./Lt:X.J...M.. ))} 

charged for the actual expenses incurred by the pilot in attempting to reach the vesse~ if the 72-
unc& yo.ro....:}r<l..~h ; 

hour notice is not given as required this and a pilot is not able to reach the vessel to 

render pilot services, the vessel or the vessel's owner may be charged for the transportation costs 

incurred by the pilot in attempting to reach the vessel and the pilotage charge and all other 

charges that would have been incurred had the pilot reached the vessel and provided pilotage 

services. 

(Eff. 1117/93, Register 128; am 4/7/95, Register 134; am 8/9/97, Register 143; am 5/31/2000, 

Register 154· am 2/ 12/2005 Register 173· am JQ_;j__/ ;2.Clf> Register .210 ) 

Authority: AS 08.62.040 AS 08.62.190 

12 AAC 56.960(d) is amended to read: 

( d) If a vessel piloted by a state licensed pilot is involved in a collision, allision, or 

grounding [GOES AGROUND, COLLIDES WITH ANOTHER VESSEL OR DOCK, MEETS 

WITH ANY CASUALTY, OR IS DAMAGED IN ANY WAY], the pilot shall, no later than 72 

hours after returning ashore after the incident, file with the marine ilot coordinator an incident 
~ 

report as described in 12 AAC 56.965. The marine pilot coordinator ill in the coordinator's 
~===~~~- IC-It-A.;))) 

discretion investigate the reported incident. 

(Eff. 6/11171, Register 38; am 6/19/74, Register 50; am 5112/78, Register 66; am 7/24/83, 

Register 87; am 12/26/86, Register 100; am 8/29/87, Register 103; am 7/26/90, Register 115; am 

11/7/93, Register 128; am 5/17/95, Register 134; am 6/16/96, Register 138; am 1/23/99, Register 

149; am 3/15/2002, Register 161; am I 0 I _!}_)1.off::, , Register 220 ) 

3 
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Authority: AS 08.62.040 AS 08.62.160 

12 AAC 56.990(a)(34) is amended to read: in '--le; C,f:R. JOJ07 

(34) "year" as used AS 08.62.093(b)(l) - (4~ [ S 08.62.093(b)~an 
~ same as year in 46 C.F.R_. 'i0:.107, olsewtJ:ere, yeaa- meaRs 365 da!)1s ~10.103]; 

(Eff. 6/11/71 , Register 38; am 6/19/74, Register 50; am 5/12/78, Register 66; am 7/24/83, 

the [~ .. )}) 
::::::: 

Register 87; am 12/26/86, Register 100; am 8/29/87, Register 103; am 7/26/90, Register 115; am 

5/13/92, Register 122; am 417/93, Register 126; am 10/2/93, Register 127; am 7115/95, Register 

135; am 6/16/96, Register 138; am 6/17/96, Register 138; am 1/23/99, Register 149; am 3/21/99, 

Register 149; am 5/31/2000, Register 154; am 3/15/2002, Register 161; am 10/24/2002, Register 

164; am 5/26/2007, Register 182; am 1/29/2009, Register 189; am 11/4/2009, Register 192; am 

l 0/28/20 l 0, Register 196; am j_Q_/ j_j~o(fo , Register :izo ) 

Authority: AS 08.62.040 AS 08.62.160 

-: 

-JU2010600264 (Aelo13tecl S/17/ l ~ 4 


