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ORDER ADOPTING CHANGES TO 
REGULATIONS OF THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE, 

COMMUNITY, AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 

The attached five pages of i·egulations, dealing with occupational licensing fee for 
professions regulated by the Board of Barbers and Hafrdresse1·s, are adopted and 
certified to be a correct copy of the regulation changes that the Department of 
Commerce, Community, and Economic Development adopts under the authority of 
AS 08.01.065 and AS 08.13.185 and after compliance with the Administrative 
Procedure Act (AS 44.62), specifically including notice under AS 44.62.190 and 
44.62.200 and opportunity for public comment under AS 44.62.210. 

This action is not expected to require an increased appropriation. 

In considering public comments, the Department of Commerce, Community, and 
Economic Development paid special attention to the cost to private persons of the 
regulatory action being taken. 

The regulation changes adopted under this order take effect on the 30th day after 
they have been filed by the lieutenant governor, as provided in AS 44.62.180. 

DATE: {);.wk.;?3.aDf> 
uneau, Alaska I 

FILING CERTIFICATION 

I, Byron Mallott, Lieutenant Governor for the State of 

on fu,t . 2016 at \.\'¥) Jr .m., I filed the 

accordin;tt~e provisions of AS 44.62.040 - 44.62.120. 

Effective: J \Ane « ?..Dlh 
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Register: ~ C~ i JtA!J :2-ofb . 

Alaska, certify that 

attached regulations 
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Delegation of Authority 

In accordance with r\S 44.17 .010, the authority and responsibility for adopting regulations, outside 

of the Division of Corporations, Bushcss and Professional Ucensing (CBPL), but for the 

Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development (DCCED), under the Alaska 

Administrative Procedure Act, is hereby delegated to: 

Micaela f-owler 

Legislati\·e Liaison 

Office of the Commiss'.oner 

DCC ED 

P.O. Box 110800 

Juneau, AK 99811 -0800 

907-465-2503 

In accordance with AS 44.17.010, the authority and responsibility for adopting regulations of rhe 

Division of Corporations, Business ar.d Professional Licensing, under the Alaska Administrative 

Procedure Act, is hereby delegated to: 

Janey f-lovcndcn 

Director 

CBPL 

DCC ED 

P.O. Box 110806 

J uncau, :\K 99811-0801) 

907-465-2538 



Regi ster~ ,Jv\.lf 2016 PROFESSIONAL REGULATIONS 

Chapter 02. General Occupational Licensing Functions. 

12 AAC 02.140 is amended to read: 

12 AAC 02.140. Board of Barbers and Hairdressers. (a) The following fees are 

established: 

(1) nonrefundable application fee for 

(A) initial license [BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1, 2015, $80; 

(B) INITIAL LICENSE AFTER AUGUST 31, 2015], $150; 

ill} [(C)] courtesy license, $80; 

(2) temporary permit fee, 

[(A) BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1, 2015, $80; 

(B) AFTER AUGUST 31, 2015,] $100; 

(3) fee for student permit, student instructor permit, or apprenticeship 

[(A) BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1, 2015 THAT IS VALID FOR 

(i) ONE YEAR, $25; 

(ii) TWO YEARS, $50; 

(B) AFTER AUGUST 31, 2015] that is valid for 

.{Af [(i)] one year, $100; 

ill} [(ii)] two years, $125; 

(4) barber, hairdresser, esthetician, nail technician [ADVANCED 

MANICURIST] , or instructor written examination fee, 

-Fite#H:f20 15296~ 

[(A) BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1, 2015, $35; 

(B) AFTER AUGUST 31, 2015,] $60; 
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(5) barber, hairdresser, esthetician, or instructor practical examination fee, $60; 

( 6) temporary license fee, 

[(A) BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1, 2015, $80; 

(B) AFTER AUGUST 31, 2015,] $100; 

(7) written examination fee for practitioners of body piercing or practitioners of 

tattooing and permanent cosmetic coloring, $60; 

(8) temporary shop license fee, 

[(A) BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1, 2015, $80; 

(B) AFTER AUGUST 31, 2015,] $100; 

(9) courtesy license for practitioners of body piercing or for practitioners of 

tattooing and permanent cosmetic coloring, $80. 

period: 

(b) The following license fees are established for all or part of the initial biennial license 

( 1) barber or hairdresser, 

[(A) BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1, 2015, $140; 

(B) AFTER AUGUST 31, 2015,) $180; 

(2) esthetician, 

[(A) BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1, 2015, $140; 

(B) AFTER AUGUST 31, 2015,] $180; 

(3) instructor, 

[(A) BEFORE SEPTEMBER I, 2015, $220; 

(B) AFTER AUGUST 31, 2015,] $260; 

(4) shop owner, 

2 
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[(A) BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1, 2015, $220; 

(B) AFTER AUGUST 31, 2015,] $260; 

$60]; 

(5) school and school owner combined, 

[(A) BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1, 2015, $620; 

(B) AFTER AUGUST 31, 2015,] $660; 

(6) nail technician [MANICURIST, 

(A) BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1, 2015, $140; 

(B) AFTER AUGUST 31, 2015], $180; 

(7) repealed b I S ;).D/h [ADV AN CED MANICURIST ENDORSEMENT, 

(8) practitioner of tattooing and permanent cosmetic coloring, 

[(A) BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1, 2015, $140; 

(B) AFTER AUGUST 31, 2015,] $180; 

(9) practitioner of body piercing, 

[(A) BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1, 2015, $140; 

(B) AFTER AUGUST 31, 2015,] $180:. [;] 

(c) The following biennial license renewal fees are established: 

(1) barber or hairdresser, 

[(A) BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1, 2015, $140; 

(B) AFTER AUGUST 31, 2015,] $180; 

(2) esthetician, 

[(A) BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1, 2015 , $140; 

(B) AFTER AUGUST 31, 2015,J $180; 

Fil 6#HJ20 l 5200ffi'"~ 3 
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$60]; 

(3) instructor, 

[(A) BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1, 2015, $220; 

(B) AFTER AUGUST 31, 2015,] $260; 

(4) shop owner, 

[(A) BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1, 2015, $220; 

(B) AFTER AUGUST 31, 2015,] $260; 

(5) school and school owner combined, 

[(A) BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1, 2015, $620; 

(B) AFTER AUGUST 31 , 2015,] $660; 

(6) nail technician [MANICURIST, 

(A) BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1, 2015, $140; 

(B) AFTER AUGUST 31 , 2015], $180; 

(7) repealed b I 8 1:201(, [ADVANCED MANICURIST ENDORSEMENT, 

(8) practitioner of tattooing and permanent cosmetic coloring, 

[(A) BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1, 2015, $140; 

(B) AFTER AUGUST 31, 2015,] $180; 

(9) practitioner of body piercing, 

[(A) BEFORE SEPTEMBER 1, 2015, $140; 

(B) AFTER AUGUST 31, 2015,] $180. (Eff. 11/20/86, Register 100; am 

10/ 1/88, Register 107; am 5/28/93, Register 126; am 5/17/95, Register 134; am 5/30/97, Register 

142; am 7/30/99, Register 151 ; am 11114/99, Register 152; am 1/14/2001, Register 157; am 

6/21 /2001 , Register 158; am 12/6/2002, Register 164; am 617/2009, Register 190; am 6/28/2009, 

..f'-ik#JJ I20 l52-G~ 4 
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Register 190; am 8/5/2011, Register 199; am 5/15/2013, Register 206; am 8/15/2015, Register 

215· am 8/ 16/20 15, Register 215; am -1.J 8 /2.'()/{, Register .:2/S ) 

Authority: AS 08.01.065 AS 08.13.185 
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